Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DLR county council election poster safety rules.

• 28-04-2019 2:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭

Be sure to publicly shame any scumbags on twitter and question canvassers why they have decided to disobey the warnings, which have been issued for a good 10 years now. The ESB have also given warnings for years about putting them on poles.

Also if you saw any "public meeting" posters up before the date allowed for election posters ask them why the subject of the meeting was in such tiny font size compared to the name and political party. These scumbags are knowingly going against the intent of the law, thinking they are smart by exploiting a loophole. The fact the meeting subject is almost always in small text is proof the meeting is a sham and they do not care about advertising it.

https://www.dlrcoco.ie/sites/default/files/atoms/files/election_posters_dlr.pdf

Guidelines on the Erection and Removal of Election Posters:
    1. Election posters should only be erected (a) not earlier than 30 days before the poll date
    or (b) from the date the Minister makes the order for the holding of the poll, whichever is the shorter period. The time limit for Referendum posters is not restricted to 30 days. These posters are allowed from the date the polling day order is signed. The effective date for the erection of posters for the Local Elections 2019 is from Wednesday, 24th April 2019 until Friday, 31st May 2019.
    2. In accordance with the Litter Pollution Act 1997, as amended, election posters and ties must be removed within 7 days after polling date. Failure to do so may result in prosecution. The associated fixing arrangement particularly plastic ties must be removed at the same time the poster is being removed.
    3. No adhesive or metal fixings are permitted.
    4. The Party or individual responsible for the poster must be clearly indicated on the poster.
    5. Posters must not be erected on:
    (a) lamp standards with overhead line electricity feed, traffic signal poles, bridge
    parapets and overpasses, pedestrian bridges, barriers or railings, roundabouts,
    roadside traffic barriers and must not block or obstruct motorists view of
    pedestrians or other traffic
    (b) statutory signage of any type
    (c) motorways
    6. There should be a minimum clearance of 2.5 metres (8ft) from the lower edge of any poster to ground level on footpaths and 3.2metres (10ft) on cycle lanes and no posters should be placed higher than 6.5 metres (20ft) from the ground.
    7. Political parties/independent candidates are reminded that no claims for damages arising from placing, displaying or removal of their posters will lie with the Council and they may consider it appropriate to take out Public Liability Insurance in this regard
    8. Where the Council incurs costs in the removal of posters these costs may be recovered.

Election posters that do not comply with these conditions or that are erected
    on Council property prior to the declaration of an election will be removed by
    the Council. In the event of a breach of the Litter Pollution Act 1997 – 2009,
    prosecutions may be initiated.

https://www.dlrcoco.ie/en/council-democracy/local-elections-2019

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Most of those rules already broken. Not sure how much, it at all, the rules will be enforced.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Sully wrote: »
    Most of those rules already broken. Not sure how much, it at all, the rules will be enforced.

the council have taken down some I reported in previous years. They have them blocking the view of traffic lights for cars, and others so low they obstruct the view of small children who use those lights going to school.

https://twitter.com/dlrcc/status/1121801773243437057

Please report any hazardous posters to info@dlrcoco.ie or phone 01 205 4700

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭homer911

I'm making a list of all the candidates I see with election posters, and NOT voting for them

• Registered Users Posts: 68,793 ✭✭✭✭L1011

homer911 wrote: »
    I'm making a list of all the candidates I see with election posters, and NOT voting for them

So you'll end up voting for a lunatic then.

Basically every serious candidate is going to have posters - as well plenty of the lunatics, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,438 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Ironoically, a first-time candidate for one of the major parties put up a load of posters in early April about a sham 'meeting', left them up for about a week afterwards, eventually took them down but now has no personal posters on show. Must have blown the budget on the 'meeting' posters and/or didn't have them designed so they could be reused for the election by slapping a 'Vote No. 1' sticker over the details of the meeting.

If its FG, they appear to be leaving it late across the entire country. Haven't see one up anywhere.

These posters are an absolute eyesore, ignoring for a minute the amount of plastic they use.

L1011 wrote: »
    If its FG, they appear to be leaving it late across the entire country. Haven't see one up anywhere.

loads in my area, the bogus "public meeting" ones were on 3 ESB poles on the same road, only only 1 other on a non esb pole, still below safety height guidelines for election posters, which of course is exactly what they are, illegal election posters, lets call a spade a spade. This was back when nobody else had them up, so they had the pick of the poles, but still went on ESB ones clearly marked with high voltage signs and danger warnings.

Perhaps the CC in your area has took them down.

Not sure why you brand them as lunatics for not putting them up, I think a poll was showing 77% of people were against them. Good few "lunatics" out there who appear to be getting good support for not succumbing to partaking in this intrusive act. The mimicking of statutory road signs is the most sinister act I have seen, which has come about in recent years, vile to think these sickos approved it. This cannot be blamed on some brainless gobsh!te they employed, and is certainly illegal.
    Road Traffic Act 1961, Section 95, Subsection 14 (a) (14) A person shall not provide any such sign, device, notice or light as is not a traffic sign if, on provision thereof, it is visible from a public road and—

(a) it is capable of being confused with a traffic sign, http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1961/act/24/section/95/enacted/en/html

#PosterFree Candidates & Towns/Areas [Lists Below]
    Interactive map of below data available on 'Map' on www.posterfree.ie

Number / County / Municipal District / Candidate Name
    1 Carlow Carlow Brian O'Donoghue
    2 Carlow Carlow Kevin Byrne
    3 Carlow Carlow Will Paton
    4 Carlow Tullow Maria Ansbro
    5 Clare Clare PJ Kelly
    6 Clare East Clare Alan O'Callaghan
    7 Clare East Clare Joe Cooney
    8 Clare East Clare Michael Begley
    9 Clare East Clare Pat Burke
    10 Clare East Clare Pat Hayes
    11 Clare East Clare Tony O'Brien
    12 Clare Killaloe Barry O'Donovan
    13 Clare Killaloe Becka Doyle
    14 Clare West Clare Bill Chambers
    15 Clare West Clare Bill Slattery
    16 Clare West Clare Christy Curtin
    17 Clare West Clare Gabrial Keating
    18 Clare West Clare Ian lynch
    19 Cork Cork City North West Sandra Condon
    20 Cork Cork East-Fermoy June Murphy
    21 Donegal Donegal Justin Coughlin
    22 Donegal Donegal Seamus Maguire
    23 Donegal Donegal SeO'Beirne
    24 Donegal Donegal Tom Conaghan
    25 Donegal Glenties Seamus Rodgers
    26 Donegal Letterkenny Michael McBride
    27 Dublin Clondalkin Shakeel Jeeroburkan
    28 Dublin Lucan Guss O'Connell
    29 Dublin Pembroke Simon Cox
    30 Dublin PEMBROKE — SOUTH DOCK Susan Gregg Farrell
    31 Dublin Sandyford & Glencullen Chris Curran
    32 Dublin Swords James Fitzpatrick
    33 Fingal Rush/Lisk Roslyn Fuller
    34 Galway Athenry Gabe Cronnelly
    35 Galway Athenry Oranmore Josette Farrell
    36 Galway Conamara-South Noel Thomas
    37 Galway Connemara South Dh Cual
    38 Galway Galway Thomas Welby
    39 Galway Galway City Central Mike Cubbard
    40 Galway Galway City West John Crowley
    41 Galway Portumna Ivan Canning
    42 Galway South Galway Cormac MacGowan
    43 Ireland South Ireland South Mick Wallace
    44 Kerry Castleisland Charlie Farrelly
    45 Kerry Killarney Brendan Cronin
    46 Kerry Killarney Niall Botty O'Callaghan
    47 Kerry Tralee Anne Marie Fuller
    48 Kerry Tralee Yvonne Dineen
    49 Kildare Celbridge/Leixlip Tony Murray
    50 Kildare Naas Ger Dunne
    51 Kilkenny Callan - Thomastown- Graiguenamanagh Michael McGrath
    52 Kilkenny Kilkenny Breda Gardner
    53 Kilkenny Kilkenny Joe Malone
    54 Kilkenny Kilkenny Malcolm Noonan
    55 Kilkenny Kilkenny Matt Doran
    56 Kilkenny Kilkenny Trish Finegan
    57 Laois Graiguecullen-Porarlington Aidan Mullins
    58 Laois Graiguecullen-Porarlington Eoin Barry
    59 Laois Portlaois Noel Tuohy
    60 Leitrim Carrick On Shannon Finoal McGuire
    61 Leitrim Leitrim Jamie Murphy
    62 Limerick Limerick East Dereck Mulcahy
    63 Limerick Newcastle West Michael Collins
    64 Longford Ballymahon John Kenny
    65 Longford Longford George Breaden
    66 Longford Longford Seamus Butler
    67 Louth Ardee Jim Tenanty
    68 Louth Drogheda Jeff Rudd
    69 Louth Dundalk South Maeve Yore
    70 Louth Dundalk South Ollie Morgan
    71 Louth Louth Mark Fitzsimons
    72 Mayo Castlebar Al McDonnell
    73 Mayo Castlebar Blackie Gavin
    74 Mayo Castlebar Cyril Burke
    75 Mayo Castlebar Frank Durcan
    76 Mayo Castlebar Harry Barrett
    77 Mayo Castlebar Henry Kenny
    78 Mayo Castlebar Joe McHale
    79 Mayo Castlebar Martin McLoughlin
    80 Mayo Castlebar Michael Kilcoyne
    81 Mayo Mayo Mark Duffy
    82 Mayo Mayo Tracey Smith
    83 Mayo Swinford Michael Smyth
    84 Mayo West Mayo Brendan Mulroy
    85 Mayo West Mayo Christy Hyland
    86 Meath Navan Alan Lawes
    87 Midlands Northwest Midlands-NorthWest Michael O'Dowd
    88 Midlands-NorthWest Midlands-NorthWest Peter Casey
    89 Monaghan Carrickmacross-Castleblaney Conan Connolly
    90 Monaghan Monaghan Paudge Connolly
    91 Roscommon Athlone Ivan Connaughton
    92 Roscommon Boyle Aidan Sampey
    93 Roscommon Boyle Joe Murphy
    94 Roscommon Boyle John Cummins
    95 Roscommon Roscommon Dominick Connolly
    96 Roscommon Roscommon Donal Kilduff
    97 Roscommon Roscommon Kathleen Shanagher
    98 Roscommon Roscommon Marty McDermott
    99 Roscommon Roscommon Orla Leyden
    100 Roscommon Roscommon Valerie Byrne
    101 Sligo Sligo Marie Casserly
    102 Tipperary Clonmel Eoin O'Flaherty
    103 Tipperary Neenagh Graham King
    104 Tipperary Neenagh Mattie Ryan
    105 Tipperary Neenagh Seamus Morris
    106 Tipperary Thurles Michael Bracken
    107 Tipperary Thurles Seamus Hanafin
    108 Tipperary Thurles Tommy Barrett
    109 Waterford Dungarvan Damien Geoghegan
    110 Waterford Tramore Una Dunphy
    111 Waterford Waterford Joe Conway
    112 Waterford Waterford City West& TRamore Brendan Byrne
    113 Waterford Waterford City West& TRamore Vivienne Burns
    114 West Meath Mullingar Chris Murtagh
    115 Wexford Wexford David Hynes
    116 Wicklow Bray West Joe Behan
    117 Wicklow Wicklow Mary Kavanagh

As I said in another thread anybody suggesting to introduce them today be branded the lunatic.
    rubadub wrote: »
    if there was no tradition of election posters, here or anywhere, and some politician asked permission for them to go up, even supplying an honest photoshoped impression of what it will look like as.

0_CC-POSTER90185458.jpg
    Note the ones deliberately designed to mimic statutory road signs.

image.jpg

image.jpg

oh a roudabout, perfect place to distract drivers.
    election%20posters%20kerry%203.jpg

D5Fk8krUwAEw1Bt.jpg:large
    They would be fcuking torn apart, ridiculed, probably even calls for resignation for such an utterly idiotic and highly dangerous idea!

You're doing some good recycling there rubadub - Gay Mitchell for President (2011), Brian Crowley for Europe :rolleyes:

And of the 117 poster-free candidates you listed, only one (#31, Glencullen & Sandyford) is running in south Dublin.

Not sure why you brand them as lunatics for not putting them up.

Because posters work

A first time candidate without posters is not going to get elected unless they already have a very significant profile. If more than a handful of the list you've quoted get in it'll be an abnormality.

Saw my first FG posters today, in Fingal. Haven't cover the entire area of any county but seen none in the city, Lucan area or North Kildare yet.

coylemj wrote: »
    You're doing some good recycling there rubadub - Gay Mitchell for President (2011), Brian Crowley for Europe :rolleyes:
    dunno what the rolleyes is for, I never said they are recent photos, what difference does it make?

And of the 117 poster-free candidates you listed, only one (#31, Glencullen & Sandyford) is running in south Dublin.
    Great you cleared that up, many reading must have thought all 117 were in south dublin, what with it clearly stated beside them.

A first time candidate without posters is not going to get elected unless they already have a very significant profile.
    They can still get the electoral list and post out info via an post, not certain but I think in the past they got an allowance to do this, i.e. it would be posted free.

Do you honestly think it would be approved if suggested today? with honest artists impressions of what the place will look like. They have proven year after year that they cannot put them up responsibly.

They can still get the electoral list and post out info via an post, not certain but I think in the past they got an allowance to do this, i.e. it would be posted free.

Do you honestly think it would be approved if suggested today? with honest artists impressions of what the place will look like. They have proven year after year that they cannot put them up responsibly.

You can send a single, one-third A4 card to each household (not even per voted as it used to be) for free postage. Yo must pay for the cards. One side is basically the address and nothing else. Most get binned immediately.

It has nothing close to the impact of large headshots that get seen repeatedly.

Basically no outdoor advertising would be allowed if it didn't already exist - but it does.

dunno what the rolleyes is for, I never said they are recent photos, what difference does it make?

Grand so, here's one from the 1918 general election.....

devposter1.jpg
    Great you cleared that up, many reading must have thought all 117 were in south dublin, what with it clearly stated beside them.

Nobody running in SDCC and only one candidate in DLR has signed up to the poster free campaign. And he's a sitting councillor. So not sure what you hope to achieve in a south Dublin county forum by posting a list of candidates scattered over the whole country.

+1 they were late putting up posters in Blackrock and there appears to be an agreement that there will be no personal posters, just a party (FG) poster showing all three candidates - Cllr. Marie Baker, Rebeccca Molloy and Cllr. Barry Ward.

Which probably explains why Molloy (as a first-time candidate) had posters up a few weeks ago announcing a 'meeting' with a spurious theme. Those posters are now taken down and by the looks of it, she won't be able to reuse them.

And (has anyone seen this before?) ...... FG have a mix of posters with the names rotated i.e. they are not all in alphabetic order. Molloy or Ward appear at the top of the column of photos of the three candidates on some posters.

I have just reported a load of posters for being either too low, on lamp posts with power lines, or both.

Lets see what the council does about it, but in my opinion, they have been warned now of these dangers, so if someone injures themselves, they are liable.

I don't know if Mary Fayne put hers up herself, or if she used a contractor, but either way, they don't appear to have owned a step ladder.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

If there is any issues with a candidate's posters, Usually a message to the candidate or Party will get it Rectified relevantly quickly.
    Often posters are erected by contractors. Weather also has a role with some posters coming loose.

If there is any issues with a candidate's posters, Usually a message to the candidate or Party will get it Rectified relevantly quickly.
    Often posters are erected by contractors. Weather also has a role with some posters coming loose.

+1 a lot of the candidates are on Twitter and I can see the ones that I follow responding very quickly to tweets alerting them that one of their posters is flapping about, came adrift altogether or has dropped to street level where it could be a hazard.

this has nothing to do with weather, it is just shoddy work.

and why should i bother to contact all five candidates when a mail to the council should do the same thing.

one of those in question actually lives about 400 metres from where his poster is hanging on a lamp post with power cables above it. I would be surprised if he, or his TD daughter never drive past it.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭eildar

He's not even running.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

Cross reference that list with results on 25 May and you'll see for yourself, posters work.

Also politicians have public meetings year round, the only thing that makes recent ones stand out has been that there have been so many in a short time. However some have been very relevant such as meetings in Shankill about the core bus corridors project, public consultation is ongoing.

Caranica wrote: »
    , posters work.

Also politicians have public meetings year round
    haha, that is exactly the problem(s), people go on like its some sort of defence!! I was only just pointing out both these problems in another thread half an hour ago!
    If I was a new candidate I would welcome my suggestions, a singular government issued booklet giving equal space in it to all candidates. No other form of advertising allowed like shelters or papers (seeing as some oddballs appear to be ticking a box like its a police lineup or something),. They might find some way to circumvent the law, like this new "public meeting" exploitation, but I think it is great that they are revealing themselves as basically law breakers, obviously going against the intent of the law. With this exploitation they can have posters up 365 days of the year.

People keep harping on about how posters "work", if some people are so idiotic that they studies are showing they truly do go into polling station and vote thinking number 1 means whose posters I have seen most than this crazy practice needs protecting against! not using this madness as a bloody defense for it!

At the moment many candidates are showing their complete and utter disrespect for the community, the council safety rules and for the ESB safety rules, which I think have been in place for over a decade now. It is fantastic that they are openly confessing how bad they are, if they do this publicly and are seemingly proud of it, then christ knows what rules, regulations and laws they will be breaking behind closed doors.

haha, that is exactly the problem(s), people go on like its some sort of defence!! I was only just pointing out both these problems in another thread half an hour ago!

It is a defence, and actually more true since they put photos on the ballot paper. It's interesting that in England you can only put posters up on private property and you need written permission from the landowner to do so. Having said that, the single seat constituencies over there mean they have so few candidates compared to ours.

I consider myself to be very politically informed but since my home was moved into a new LEA for this election, posters are actually much more likely to get me to Google a candidate than a leaflet would and I'd put money on not seeing a single canvasser once again.

It is a defence, and actually more true since they put photos on the ballot paper.
    Not sure if you are getting my point at all. The very wealthy ones who can afford to put up 100s or 1000s of posters have an unfair advantage, especially as they are blatantly and obviously condoning putting them up on ESB poles and in other places against CC safety rules, and so can get FAR more posters put up this way, as many are not even having to use ladders so far cheaper & faster.

So the "defence" from established ones appears to be "you cannot ban posters, otherwise the newcomers will have a fairer chance, they do not have the money to obliterate the community with the posters that we can afford, they might be more conscious of breaking rules while we do not give a damn, and the type of moron who votes on facial recognition is unlikely to even know we have been acting illegally and/or telling the council and ESB to go F themselves".

They at least have seemed to tone down the blatantly illegal posters which mimic statutory roadsigns. Wonder if the gardai actually got onto them.

People are proposing use of social media or busstop/bin/whatever outdoor advertising as an alternative. Any candidate who can afford that can afford vastly more posters.

Diamond posters usually turn up in the later weeks/last week of any campaign as a reinforcement message; as they don't have the photos on them they are of little use for recognition.

You should probably redirect your clearly seething anger at this in to something useful!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Monkstown Avenue, it is not possible to put up a poster on this road without breaking the law. Hasn't stopped them, from all political parties. That one road would be a good place for the Council to start.

Www.fixmystreet.ie is the easiest place to report any illegal posters

• Registered Users Posts: 28,994 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Www.fixmystreet.ie is the easiest place to report any illegal posters
    I haven't got great results from DLR using Fix My Street. If you email them to info@dlrcoco.ie they will log any issue on their CRM system and give you back an issue number. FMS was hit and miss for me.

Their truck was out around Balally Luas today cutting down posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,994 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Rita and Gary are hanging low in Dundrum

479270.jpg
    479273.png
    479274.png

It probably won't be an issue for Gary Gannon as his first name and surname are alphabetically in the same ballpark but Rita Harrold needs her head examined for putting her first name in bigger type than her surname on her posters. Hasn't she ever seen a ballot paper?