Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why the sudden hysteria over climate change?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

20Cent wrote: »
    How can they jack up the cost of solar?

how many households in real world Ireland are going to be able to provide all their heating, transport and electricity needs from solar ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

cheap shots why i never bother much in here. people are seeing through the lies from ye though. im done here enjoy your circlejerk soyfest

Hard to debate with you when you’re posting cretinous rubbish like this anyways

Nobelium wrote: »
    yeah but your just some bogger as far as the greens are concerned and therefore deserve to be carbon taxed to death.

Urban area dwellers yeah I can't see why they wouldn't go with one if they could afford to buy one, even just for after work or the weekend because 99.9% of Dublin work places don't have

Main problem I see is the people with SUVs and 4x4s which never actually see any intended use, and are just used to ferry around their kids.

As I said I'll go electric when they meet both need and budget, already looking to switch from oil for the heating if possible again based on budget.

Also not a bogger, clues in the name. I decided to live where I am because it suited a number of factors including the fact that if I lived in an estate or an apartment block, I'd probably be doing time now for killing one of the members of the neighbourhood organisations.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

how many households in real world Ireland are going to be able to provide all their heating, transport and electricity needs from solar ?

They can already. The tech is only going to get cheaper and better as time goes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

, solar power less fuel bills.

That is not entirely true, solar power storage presents a huge problem.

Germany which is seen as one of the successful leading examples in renewables has seen stagnant CO2 ommision rates for the best part of half the decade while also relying on importing France's nuclear power to offset times of energy drought and selling off electricity at net negative prices. Heavy taxation on electricity was used here to offset these losses.

Funnily enough nuclear is actually most cost effective and cleanest source of energy but the politicization of it means this would never be a popular choice and one that the public would buy into

• Registered Users Posts: 17,984 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

KSU wrote: »

Funnily enough nuclear is actually most cost effective and cleanest source of energy but the politicization of it means this would never be a popular choice and one that the public would buy into

I would have thought that nuclear power was popular enough these days (it's not the 60's anymore)

They can already. The tech is only going to get cheaper and better as time goes on.

From a man who led investment of nearly a billion into research into the field

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xe3BWPsBTU

Dohnjoe wrote: »
    I would have thought that nuclear power was popular enough these days (it's not the 60's anymore)

Nuclear Phase out is being implemented currently across a number of countries in Europe (Germany, Belgium, Spain, Italy, Switzerland) as well as a host more who have actively opposed nuclear power (including Ireland) and currently have no nuclear power states.

KSU wrote: »
    From a man who led investment of nearly a billion into research into the field

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xe3BWPsBTU

My point is that it will get cheaper and better over time. Is that not true? Everyother technology does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Urban area dwellers yeah I can't see why they wouldn't go with one if they could afford to buy one, even just for after work or the weekend because 99.9% of Dublin work places don't have

Main problem I see is the people with SUVs and 4x4s which never actually see any intended use, and are just used to ferry around their kids.

As I said I'll go electric when they meet both need and budget, already looking to switch from oil for the heating if possible again based on budget.

Also not a bogger, clues in the name. I decided to live where I am because it suited a number of factors including the fact that if I lived in an estate or an apartment block, I'd probably be doing time now for killing one of the members of the neighbourhood organisations.

Your a tiny percentage. In the biggr scheme of things your not really a priority.

A 64kWh electric car would do your required mileage but only new out so will flow down in time.....the 500k cars in Dublin are the target

• Registered Users Posts: 21,637 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    Valentina zharkova. Her science is exact and link again is here. You responded with an unnamed quote and no science fact. She's ahead of her time. She was the only person who predicted this last min solar cycle, and she is predicting even more mins. She is NOT saying poison the earth, plastics etc should all be managed in an eco friendly way. But she is saying it buys us time. And she has been consistently right for the last 10 years. She hasn't had to adjust her graphs because they are accurate. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M_yqIj38UmY

Already debunked.

Post #302
    False.
    In plain English, the small change in sunlight reaching the Earth during a new Maunder minimum wouldn’t be enough to reverse climate change. For the technically minded, even a 3 W per m2 change in irradiance corresponds to a radiative forcing of just 0.5 W per m2 (because the Earth is a sphere and not a flat circle), which is less than the radiative forcing produced by anthropogenic greenhouse gases.

To be blunt: no mini ice age for us. The real story of the impending mini ice age isn’t about climate at all. It is a cautionary tale, of how science should and shouldn’t be communicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

gozunda wrote: »
    This

That has been strongly refuted by the scientists I quoted.

And btw that just an example but they type of hysterical thinking she's pushed. However if you obviously can't see the issue there well ...

And I'll go with the scientists as opposed to some kid from Sweden who has admitted she is obsessed with her own imaginings...

You quote Myles Allen, Professor of Geosystem Science, Leader of ECI Climate Research Programme, University of Oxford.

At end you should also quote “Today’s teenagers are absolutely right to be up in arms about climate change, and right that they need powerful images to grab people’s attention.“ Better still his entire article should be required reading, for everyone.

This is the third time Gozunda has linked to articles that completely refute his nonsense.

He clearly doesn't read what he's posting. An absolute spoofer.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,984 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

A Dublin-based company will start erecting loads of "carbon-sucking" mechanical trees in the US
    https://japantoday.com/category/tech/do-'mechanical-trees'-offer-the-cure-for-climate-change

Quick they need to be contacted to shelve their plans because some people on the internet are "tired" of all this lark over the climate. Also the BBC needs to pull Attenborough because, in the words of some internet users, he "just goes on and on about it, jesus we get it already"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

My point is that it will get cheaper and better over time. Is that not true? Everyother technology does.

cheaper and better for who, and when ? kinda like space travel you mean ? good luck with affording to pay the carbon taxes in the meantime

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Urban use maybe but rural use isn't really an option.

I've a 200km round trip commute with 90% of that on motorway. I also need something to get larger items such as our fridge freezer to the house as most delivery vans refuse to come up it due to the state if it and being so narrow.

Also my car brand new was 20,000 euro cheaper than what might be the equivalent electric car.

I'd gladly go electric but they have to meet both need and budget and at the moment they don't.

The thing is electric in Ireland and in many other countries are far from being Carbon neutral or even close. But yeah coal, gas, peat etc all provide for electricity generation here.

WinnyPoo wrote:
    This is the third time that I've followed Gozunda to sprout nonsense. I clearly don't read what he's posting. I'm an absolute spoofer.

:rolleyes: My very own personal groupy. Awww ...

cheaper and better for who, and when ? kinda like space travel you mean ? good luck with affording to pay the carbon taxes in the meantime

If you had a solar panel roof and a battery you could heat and power your home. It's available now, hardly an unobtainable goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,163 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Urban use maybe but rural use isn't really an option.

I've a 200km round trip commute with 90% of that on motorway. I also need something to get larger items such as our fridge freezer to the house as most delivery vans refuse to come up it due to the state if it and being so narrow.

Also my car brand new was 20,000 euro cheaper than what might be the equivalent electric car.

I'd gladly go electric but they have to meet both need and budget and at the moment they don't.

The Hyundai Kona will do 450KM per charge, is under €40K and you will get whatever you need in the back if you drop the seats.

How many times do you buy a new freezer over the lifetime of a car?
    At your mileage an electric is going ot save your thousands in fuel costs a year...seems like ano brainer tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Change is nothing to be scared of.

However its now climate armageddon. Let's hear no more talk of climate change.

This is the third time Gozunda has linked to articles that completely refute his nonsense.He clearly doesn't read what he's posting. An absolute spoofer.

:rolleyes: My very own personal groupy. Awww ...
    Nothing wrong reminding people three times you've linked articles that hilariously refute you. Three times. Not once, not twice but three times.

WinnyPoo wrote:

Nothing wrong to keep reminding people that three times I keep repeating the same rubbish. Three times. Not once, not twice but three times

:rolleyes: ...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Sweden’s Lack of Electricity Capacity Is Threatening Growth
    “Citizens and companies are worried, irritated and even angry,” said Jonas Kamleh, a strategist for the City of Malmo, the nation’s third biggest. “How could this situation arise in the engineering nation of Sweden?”

The answer is a very ambitious green agenda. Sweden is halfway through a plan to replace the output from four reactors in the industrial south with thousands of wind turbines in the north. But grid connections, some dating back to the 1950s, aren’t up to scratch so the power isn’t shipped to where it’s really needed. And to make matters worse, city demand is surging at a faster-than-expected pace because of the electrification of everything from transport to heating.

source

Lord Deben’s Climate Report Helps Firms That Gave His Business £500,000
    Leaked documents showed that his consultancy, Sancroft International, was paid by clients working in fields covered by the Committee on Climate Change (CCC), the statutory body that he chairs. Lord Deben resisted calls for his resignation, saying that he had followed advice on disclosures from the Lords and CCC and that allegations of conflicts of interest were wholly false. He stayed in office for the launch on Wednesday of the long-awaited recommendations to the government on how to tackle global warming.

Two businesses that have paid large fees to Sancroft are poised to benefit from recommendations in the committee’s report, Net Zero: The UK’s Contribution to Stopping Global Warming.

Johnson Matthey, a sustainable technologies business that paid £290,000 over five years, is a prominent player in batteries for electric vehicles.

Lord Deben’s report encouraged subsidies for this form of transport, saying that “financial incentives will be required in the near term”. Johnson Matthey said that it last engaged Sancroft in 2017 “on a bespoke project related to a sustainability reporting topic”.

source

From China to the US, dwindling subsidies take shine off electric cars

Government grants have been playing a crucial, if not decisive, role in the growth of electric vehicles around the world. By bringing actual purchase prices closer to those of traditional gasoline and diesel engine cars, subsidies have jump-started the industry. According to local media reports based on official documents, the Chinese government’s aggregate subsidies for new energy vehicles exceeds 100 billion yuan ($14.8 billion).

This policy has helped create the world’s largest electric vehicle market. A total of 1.25 million vehicles were sold in 2018, a 62% jump on the previous year and 71 times higher than only five years ago.

With China and the U.S. curtailing these policies -- the Trump administration plans to phase out subsidies entirely by 2020 -- the young EV industry faces a crucial test. China says it is shifting gears to support “high quality development” of the industry, weeding out subcompetitive players and encouraging companies to stand on their own.

source

On Earth Day, gloomy predictions haven’t come to pass

This Earth Day, it almost feels like we should be carving some turkey. Why? Because we have a lot to be thankful for since the first Earth Day event occurred 49 years ago.

We should be thankful that the gloom-and-doom predictions made throughout the past several decades haven’t come true. Fear-mongering about explosive population growth, food crises and the imminent depletion of natural resources have been a staple of Earth Day events since 1970. And the common thread among them is that they’ve stirred up a lot more emotions than facts.

there is more

36 jailed for huge French carbon tax fraud

Ford and Trudeau take carbon tax fight to court

Australia Federal Election 2019: Labor at war over cost of climate policies
    Labor is battling internal divisions over its inability to detail how much its climate policies will cost the economy and jobs.

The West Australian spoke to more than a dozen Labor MPs and candidates yesterday about why the party could not detail the cost of its 45 per cent emissions reduction target and what they really thought of it.

One senior Labor MP, who asked not to be named, told The West Australian it was “not smart” to leave the question open in voters’ minds.

“It should be modelled in some way, shape or form by us,” the MP said.

“When you are putting forward any signature policy and you can’t cost it, it does allow for a fear campaign to grow.”

source

The "just and sustainable" economy aka "green new deal" promoted by socialists and non governmental organisations fronting for the green industrial complex is just a wealth transfer scheme by government fiat.

It is a most interesting coincidence that activists become more hysterical when the puppet masters iron rice bowls are threatened as the general population becomes more skeptical after 3 decades decades of continuous alarm over global warming with nothing to show for their efforts as it still snows, the ice caps are still there and the islands are still not underwater, yet the energy taxes keep rising?

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Governments are ripping down trees and hedgerows left, right and centre. Then telling us that we need to reduce our omissions. It's all about tax and what their buddies in the UN/EU are telling them to do.

WinnyPoo wrote: »

Nothing wrong to keep reminding people that three times I keep repeating the same rubbish. Three times. Not once, not twice but three times

:rolleyes: ...
    Three times you posted links that refute the nonsense coming from your keyboard. Your giving me much enjoyment.

I can't wait til you post another link you don't read lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Governments are ripping down trees and hedgerows left, right and centre. Then telling us that we need to reduce our omissions. It's all about tax and what their buddies in the UN/EU are telling them to do.

I've noticed that lately.
    Huge amounts of hedgerows being removed by farmers.
    They must be in some scheme devised by the geniuses in the EU

• Registered Users Posts: 23,638 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Three times you posted links that refute the nonsense coming from your keyboard. Your giving me much enjoyment.

Not following too closely but has he dropped the "I'm a scientist" angle

pjohnson wrote: »

Not following too closely but has he dropped the "I'm a scientist" angle

I actually can't keep up myself with he claims.
    Though it wouldn't surprise me if he did.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

The screaming eejits claiming all over the media saying we all about to die in 12 years / 12 years to save earth or whatever. That's just an example but yeah there is hysteria. Go take a look online. I presume yer not looking to be hand fed?

We have only until tomorrow night going by this nutter.

https://canadafreepress.com/article/we-only-have-three-and-a-half-days-to-stop-climate-change

WinnyPoo wrote:
    Three times or more I keep posting the same absolute crap that refutes my own nonsense. I didnt even read the links lol. I do like ****e and giggles and taking the piss though. Can't wait til I post even more rubbish for everyone to read lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

She isn't jet-setting. She has travelled all over Europe so far without leaving the ground.

She has motivated millions of younger people to take an interest in the environment. All these will be heading in to the workplace and towards university in a few short years, I trust that they will be much more considerate towards developing practical solutions than those currently in a position to promote action.

She's very shy of reporters when they want to ask her a few questions her minders quickly whisk her away. When she was asked on facebook why she didn't go to China she replied that she can't get there by train. If you think she's doing this by herself you must be truly deluded. https://rail.cc/en/train/beijing-to-stockholm