Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why the sudden hysteria over climate change?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Obsessing over a 16 year old girl might get a grown man imprisoned.

So why are people obsessing over her? I really don't get it. Theres posters here prefacing questions with "what if Greta etc etc" christ almighty and we wonder why there is hysteria :rolleyes:

But hey It's ok in two years time shell be eighteen - she can get a job and help the rest of society. Guess she'll have to stop blaming the adults at stage because she will be one as well ...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I'm told that the whole in the ozone layer is closing/ or has closed?

Closing due to the banning of CFC around the world. It’s great that a little change can have results and we still have fridges!

gozunda wrote: »
    So why are people obsessing over her? I really don't get it. Theres posters here prefacing questions with "what if Greta etc etc" christ almighty and we wonder why there is hysteria :rolleyes:

But hey It's ok in two years time shell be eighteen - she can get a job and help the rest of society. Guess she'll have to stop blaming the adults at stage because she will be one as well ...

So others can’t be blamed when they do wrong to the planet???

• Registered Users Posts: 8,938 ✭✭✭20Cent

Imagine improving the world that we live in. Why do people fear and hate the idea?

Those with economic interests in keeping the status quo muddy the science with fake "think tanks".

So others can’t be blamed when they do wrong to the planet???

Who? The kid? You're making no sense at all.

Think about it and you’ll get it. Actually you may not do I’ll help....
    You said she can’t blame adults when she is one. Yes she can. She has every right to blame others.

20Cent wrote: »
    Those with economic interests in keeping the status quo muddy the science with fake "think tanks".

It makes me wonder who some of those posting here work for. Although maybe they are just professional grumps.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,564 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Now think about it. Like really hard. You might just figure it out ok?

You can't answer it can you? :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

If we accept that climate change is being caused by human activity, then why do people simply not change their own behaviour instead of calling on governments to "do something".
    This is one area where people can effect change by making choices in their own lives. Those schoolkids, who went out marching, should be telling their parents that they won't go flying on their sun holidays, that they will be walking or cycling to school and that they don't want any more gadgets or designer clothes, and they would rather wear an extra jumper and turn down the thermostat a notch or two.
    None of this will happen, of course, because everyone seems to think that 'governments' can solve the problem and their own privileged lifestyles will be unaffected.

It makes me wonder who some of those posting here work for. Although maybe they are just professional grumps.

Have three theories:

They believe in a massive world wide conspiracy amongst scientists who are faking data to turn the world socialist or something.
    They fall for the fake fossil fuel funded think tanks and are useful idiots to them.
    They are just professional grumps who hate it if anyone puts their head above the parapet.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    If we accept that climate change is being caused by human activity, then why do people simply not change their own behaviour instead of calling on governments to "do something".
    This is one area where people can effect change by making choices in their own lives. Those schoolkids, who went out marching, should be telling their parents that they won't go flying on their sun holidays, that they will be walking or cycling to school and that they don't want any more gadgets or designer clothes, and they would rather wear an extra jumper and turn down the thermostat a notch or two.
    None of this will happen, of course, because everyone seems to think that 'governments' can solve the problem and their own privileged lifestyles will be unaffected.

Because it is a problem still so large that it need governments to work together. Someone mentioned the ozone layer earlier if governments hadn't banned CFC's and it was left to the general public to just stop using them it wouldn't have happened.

Roger_007 wrote: »

Most people need help to change decades old habits. They need guidance and assistance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

Have three theories:

They believe in a massive world wide conspiracy amongst scientists who are faking data to turn the world socialist or something.
    They fall for the fake fossil fuel funded think tanks and are useful idiots to them.
    They are just professional grumps who hate it if anyone puts their head above the parapet.

Or they may see a 16 year old who they believe is being taken advantage of, and incorrectly communicating science to people who already know Climate change is real.

Think about it and you’ll get it. Actually you may not do I’ll help....You said she can’t blame adults when she is one. Yes she can. She has every right to blame others.

And we're back to the friggin kid again???Can ye not get over her or does everything have to be directed through her, in her, on her etc etc. The obsession is totally screwed up. You can stop talking about the kid you know..

Eitherway Nope. Your still making no sense whatsoever.

But let me ask you do you blame your parents and grandparents? Even they lived much less resource rich lives than you ever did or will do.

If you believe you can blame others that lived before you - then remember children younger than have the right to turn the blame on you as well.

With regard to individual responsibility - it has been suggested that for the purposes of "Individual consumer choices - the top (three) actions you can take to cut your own emissions, in order of impact, includes having fewer (or no) children (equaling, for someone in a rich country, an estimated 58.6 tons of carbon dioxide equivalent per child, per year), living car-free (about 2.4 tons per year) and avoiding air travel (about 1.6 tons per round-trip transatlantic flight)."

So there your roadmap to stop the progression of blame. Children carry the biggest carbon burden of all our possible environmental sins
    So:
    •Have no children
    •Use no transport that uses fossil fuel energy (and that includes electric cars in Ireland and many other countries)
    •Don't ever ever fly again.

And that's just a start btw.

Then you can turn around to your parents and grandparents look them in the eye and blame them for destroying your world ...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

What's this scam?

It's a modern version of indulgences . The politicians create an atmosphere of fear, uncertainty and doubt and claim they can relieve your unease by taxation so that the climate remains static. And if the weather is too hot, too cold or too mild, well you didn't pay enough tax.

That's only part of the story, the Malthusians have attached themselves to the cause and claim the solution is eliminating the human population see birthstrike for details.

There are the NGOs, Socialists, Financiers and snake oil salesmen who use it as a vehicle for their own ends. No one really cares about the weather except for the fishermen, gardeners, farmers and airline pilots.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

Jeez were back to the friggin kid again???Can ye not get over her or does everything have to be directed through her, in her, on her etc etc

Eitherway Nope. Your still making no sense whatsoever.

But let me ask you do yo you blame your parents and grandparents? Even they lived much less resource rich lives than you ever did or will do.

If you believe you can blame others that lived before you - then rember children younger than have the right to turn the blame on you as well.

With regard to individual responsibility - it has been suggested that for the purposes of "Individual consumer choices - the top (three) actions you can take to cut your own emissions, in order of impact, includes having fewer (or no) children (equaling, for someone in a rich country, an estimated 58.6 tons of carbon dioxide equivalent per child, per year), living car-free (about 2.4 tons per year) and avoiding air travel (about 1.6 tons per round-trip transatlantic flight)."

So there your roadmap to stop the progression of blame. Children carry the biggest carbon burden of all our possible environmental sins
    So:
    •Have no children
    •Use no transport that uses fossil fuel energy (and that includes electric cars in Ireland and many other countries)
    •Don't ever ever fly again.

And that's just a start btw.

Then you can turn around to your parents and grandparents look them in the eye and blame them for destroying your world ...

Your obsession is totally screwed up. You are the one that did she can’t blame other adults when she becomes one herself, and then you complain when you are picked up on it. That is really fcuked up logic from you. She is 16 and you are presumably a grown man. Start acting like one!

I didn’t read all your blathering past balancing my ancestors. The answer to that question is no I do not blame them. The knowledge wasn’t present. However, when it was made available about CFCs, my parents and grandparents bought fridges without CFCs. They learned from the science, which is something that you don’t seem able to do.

Your obsession is totally screwed up. You are the one that did she can’t blame other adults when she becomes one herself, and then you complain when you are picked up on it. That is really fcuked up logic from you. She is 16 and you are presumably a grown man. Start acting like one!
    I didn’t read all your blathering past balancing my ancestors. The answer to that question is no I do not blame them. The knowledge wasn’t present. However, when it was made available about CFCs, my parents and grandparents bought fridges without CFCs. They learned from the science, which is something that you don’t seem able to do.

Seriiusly Wtf are you on about??? You're still obsessing and going on about that kid.

"Balancing your ancestors"?????? Nope none of it makes sense I'm afraid. If you didnt understand that I cant help you tbh. Have a good day.

It's a modern version of indulgences . The politicians create an atmosphere of fear, uncertainty and doubt and claim they can relieve your unease by taxation so that the climate remains static. And if the weather is too hot, too cold or too mild, well you didn't pay enough tax.

That's only part of the story, the Malthusians have attached themselves to the cause and claim the solution is eliminating the human population see birthstrike for details.

There are the NGOs, Socialists, Financiers and snake oil salesmen who use it as a vehicle for their own ends. No one really cares about the weather except for the fishermen, gardeners, farmers and airline pilots.

Taxes are taxes and one of the few certainties in life. Governments collecting money is just them collecting money. They could have just increased income tax and they could have at the time. So using tax as an excuse is silly.

Seriiusly Wtf are you on about??? Nope none of it makes sense I'm afraid. If you didnt understand that I cant help you tbh. Have a good day.

How can you type but not read? What’s the software you are using?

Have three theories:

There's a fourth possibility and the truth is that a bunch of people have mistaken or misunderstood what the scientists are actually saying and are now running around like headless chickens. But hey there you go.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,516 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Have you got the random PM's from goz yet?

How can anyone read but not understand - that's the biggest conundrum? But hey no worries.

This is what you said
    You are the one that did she can’t blame other adults when she becomes one herself, 

That sentence is not only not English - it is indecipherable and not even close to this...
    gozunda wrote:
    Guess she'll have to stop blaming the adults at stage because she will be one as well ...

Nope try typing that again slowly in pencil ...you might get on better the second time lol!

pjohnson wrote: »

Pjs PMs are an absolute hoot lol. I'm still laughing btw ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Seriiusly Wtf are you on about??? Nope none of it makes sense I'm afraid. If you didnt understand that I cant help you tbh. Have a good day.

I wouldn't worry about himself. Considering he can't be bothered to read the links he posted here that actually refute his nonsense.. I doubt you will get anything but nonsense from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,125 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

lol, he has sent me two, in one he inferred that I fancied him. Weirdo.

Nope. I’m not sure he can handle another persons to be obsessed with. Although it’s easier for me to get a restraining order from within Ireland than it is for people living outside the country :D

Pjs PMs are an absolute hoot lol. I'm still laughing btw ;)

Yes I gathered you had had some kind of weird break at the end there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I have :)

Alot of incoherent nonsense. Though so funny.

lol, he has sent me two, in one he inferred that I fancied him. Weirdo.

Ah so its his "thing" then.

Thank Jaysus it wasn't just me.

I have :)

Alot of incoherent nonsense. Though so funny.

Absolutly you're a loss of incoherent nonsense for sure :D