Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2019 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

Miles 1-10 12:22 12:57 13:05 13.05 12:43 12.43 12.36 12.32 12.46 12:32
    The plan was 13 min miles for the 1st half of the marathon. Absolutely loved the first ten miles. Great crowds, super weather. Loved the park. I was going slightly faster than planned but I felt BRILLIANT! Consciously adjusted pace.

Miles 11-13.1 13.09 12.57 13.01
    All going well until I saw that fecking half way bridge. I was going SO well - and then I decided to stop and take a photo of it to text it to my sons…how stupid was that?! Once I stop I find it so so hard to get going no matter what the distance. In my head I had wanted to pick it up a bit speed wise after half way - but no…I do the opposite and stop to take a stupid photo! I then stopped to have a drink.

Mile 14 - 20 13:45 13:05 13:58 13:54 13:29 15.30 13.33
    A combination of walking and running for much of this. All psychological. In no pain, felt fine. In my head, I had stopped. In my head I wanted to make sure I ran in the last 3 miles of the race so for some reason I decided to walk - run here. I have no idea why. I was very frightened of the hills people spoke about - maybe I thought if I run - walk I would be ok with the hills and would make it to the end - why did I read that over 20 per cent of people who started the London Marathon don’t finish? That freaked me out.

Mile 21-26.2 13.25 15.41 14.35 13.13 14.12 12.36 12.36
    Heartbreak hill - I don’t get it - the hill before that was much worse. Aside for the floor being sticky I didn’t see the issue with Roebuck Road. The last 1.2 miles was fantastic! The crowds were great. I learned you cant run and cry at the same time!

So I got there! I ran 18 miles completely and walk-ran the rest. 5 hours 51 mins and 42 seconds. Goal achieved time wise. I will be back next year - assuming I get through this lottery. I know now I can do it. I know now that the hills aren’t something to be afraid of. I wont give up until I can run the full 26.2 miles non stop.

Your report gave me the shivers. What an amazing journey you've been on. Huge congratulations on your marathon debut. I just know it's only the beginning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

frash wrote: »
    "never again" became "ok - maybe I'll do it again but I'm definitely not doing it next year"

Just signed up for 2020

Me too :D:D:D

Will need to divert any post coming to the house for a bit...my OH might get a shock when he sees the bank statements:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,738 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Enjoy those long runs lie ins in the morning folks!

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭clickhere

Hi to you all, hope recovery is going well. I have tried twice to post a race report, and each time i think it timed out. I have really enjoyed reading all the fantastic race reports you have all submitted. Anyone in KBC who wants to promote the marathon should just put them all into a program and distribute it. If they don,t give you goosebumps and bring a tear to your eye, your not human. I had previously done a marathon back in 2014 in a time of 04:16, so was hoping for a time of around 04:10. I hadn't done much running in the previous years because of health reasons and being lazy. I've always went out and supported friends and family in the marathon and after watching last year decided i would like to run another one. I had started doing some running at the start of the year, so id be ready for when the novices plan started. when we started the plan, Mr Guappa suggested that i should try and do the Boards plan as he taught i would be able for it. So its the Boards plan that i went with. Marathon morning i got up at 6.30 and had some breakfast of overnight oats and tea. I had my bag packed from the night be four and my running gear laid out. My flip belt was filled with 6 gels and 3 Zero tabs broken into half's in a small plastic bag. The taxi came and picked me up at 7.45 with 2 friends and left us at Stephens green. We walked on down to the bag drop had a bit of a warm up and some stretching. It was time for the loo and get down to wave 3. When we got to wave 3 it was just starting to move off and we were right at the back. I hadn't planed to start like this, but have to say it was a very relaxing to begin the run. I could stretch,walk, and jog with plenty of space. I only really started running as i crossed the start line. The first few kms went past very quickly and the gaps started to open. I had decided to take a gel every 35 to 40 minutes and sip on water with zero tabs all the way around. It wasn't long until i was entering the park and the crowds were just getting bigger. The first marker was 10k and i arrived in 56:49 and feeling good. The advice was that it was all up hill until we reentered the park at Mount Sackville school and to take it easy. It was a nice stretch from there until Laurences hill up into Ballyfermot and i could push the pace up a bit. I got to meet family and friends all along here and it really gives you a nice lift. I was feeling really good heading up the Crumlin road to Walkinstown and could hear the mentors in my ear "dont go out too quick". I had arrived at the half way mark 01:58:38 ,things were looking good. I was enjoying the run and the conditions were just perfect. The big battle was ahead in the 2nd half and i struggled really badly at Clonskeagh and Roebuck in 2014. The refueling was going well with the gels and the water and no tummy problems. The kms were been ticked off and soon i was heading in to Milltown and got a big surprise with a big shout out from my brother. Had i gone out too quick,i was about to find out. It was the last 6 miles and it was make or break time. when i got to Clonskeagh you could see that a lot of people were struggling and you had to zig zag to pass groups of people walking on the hills. I just kept pumping out the legs and was passing people all the time. The last big hurdle was coming up, get past Roebuck and we were heading for home. I could feel it in the legs climbing the hill ,but i was still moving at a decent pace. Finally i hit Foster Avenue and knew the hills were finished and the legs started to loosen out a bit. I started playing a game in my head trying to picture where id be 6 or 7 kms from my home if i was on a LSR. I was convincing my self that it was only a short little run to home. Things were getting real and i kept knocking off 1km at a time. Soon i was heading down Nutley Lane and on to Merrion Rd. I was heading down the home straight and the body seemed to be moving ok. The crowds were just getting bigger and noisier as we got near the finish. Northtumberland rd to Mount st was something special. I remembered one of the mentors giving the advice to not run in the center of the road ,but to move over to the barrier where the crowds are, and they will drive you home. I did and i have to say they carried me home. I crossed the line and checked the watch 03:58:50 , i could not believe i had done a sub 4 hour marathon. I waddled around to the bag drop and headed for Mcgrattans . When i got there all the family were outside saying it was packed. I said i would just go in to say a big thank you to my mentors. Sorry to say i walked around and stared at a few people but they diddnt look like boardies. I never even knew that it had an upstairs. Mr Guappa, Huazzah ReeReeG i would just like to say a Hugh thank you for all your help and advice over the course of the journey. You made a 58 year old very happy. It has been a real pleasure to be part of the 2019 Novices team. If someone could help and add me to the final table. chip time 03:58:49. Thank You. P.S. Im sorry for the report being a bit all over the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

clickhere wrote: »
    If someone could help and add me to the final table. chip time 03:58:49.

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    8358 |passinginterest|03:59:30|3.59.08
    |Naked Lepper|04:05:00|04:06:00
    2125|Treviso|03:29:59|3.26.31
    11484|Fraggle07|04:59:59|04:57:55
    12222|DBB|04:59:59|05:19:15
    |UNKNOWNABILITY|03:28:59|03:36.02
    19432|kemcloughlin|05:59:59|5:51:42
    11248|karlos80|04:10:00|04:15:30
    |pd79|05:10:00|05:15:00
    19938|doc76|04:59:59|05:05:17
    |py|03:59:59|04:28:48
    11277|Rega|04:15:00|4.01.51
    |Sunday Runner|04:20:00|
    |Fowler87|04:22:00|
    20290|Wombled|05:09:00|5:08:57
    7506|DeepBlue|03:49:59|3:48:17
    |Lombardo123|03:59:59|3.57.02
    18488|rizzee|04:39:59|04:13:58
    9705|Lambay Island|03:30:00|03:25:20
    5806|akenno|03:59:59|4:00:09
    |Frash|04:35:00|
    11990 |3boyz|04:35:00|04:35:33
    11675|saffron22|04:15:00|4.05.55
    332|mister paul|03:27:59|3:31:53
    |jackc101|04:15:00|
    |wpd|04:59:59|
    |Prospector1989|04:30:00|
    18223 |DolG|05:15:00|04:50:32
    |goldsalmon33|03:55:00|
    |DaaaaaaaaaaN|03:55:00|03:56:05
    20349 |Sorbet|04:40:00|04:47:18
    7222|Marathon19|03:58:58|03:59:22
    |Clareview|04:29:59|
    19839|greentea is just wrong|05:15:00|5.26.51
    |Laineyfrecks|03:49:59|03:42:47
    |Eabha19|04:30:00|4:29:06
    |Ais_Byrne7|04:59:59|
    18428 |Soulsun|05:00:00|
    |TillyDCM|04:59:59|
    11033|Clickhere|04:10:00|03:58:49
    |kyomi|03:59:59|03:57:13
    |ByrneDCMbrian|03:59:59|
    |limerick91|04:09:00|
    19124 |Bananaleaf|04:50:00|
    |Rojo|04:20:00|

Cheers Deepblue,thanks very much for that. Delighted to see you had a great day.super time.

clickhere: That's a really great run, and I'm delighted that you are so pleased with it. It's easy for me to say beforehand that sub 4 might be there for you, but you went out and got it. Congratulations :)

Wombled: Congratulations on nailing your target - talk about cutting it tight :)
    Mile 27 5.55 best feeling in the world
    Yep! Your plans for the next while mirror mine - the best of luck with them!

Clareview: That's an incredible amount to have raised for charity - well done! Well done also on seeing it through on Sunday - sounds like it was tough going for the closing stretch. I'm glad to read that you will continue running - it is pretty addictive!

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Wombled

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    clickhere: That's a really great run, and I'm delighted that you are so pleased with it. It's easy for me to say beforehand that sub 4 might be there for you, but you went out and got it. Congratulations :)

Wombled: Congratulations on nailing your target - talk about cutting it tight :)Yep! Your plans for the next while mirror mine - the best of luck with them!

Best of luck with your plans too Mr Guappa , Thank you so much, I am sure our paths will cross again. You have been absolutely amazing on this thread. You are one very wise man

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

|TillyDCM|04:59:59|
    19124 |Bananaleaf|04:50:00|05:19:35

jackc101 wrote: »
    Right, report time!

Target 04:15:00
    Result 04:18:58
    Missed my target by a bit but delighted.

I knocked a huge chunk off my Cork time; 17 mins 45 seconds to be precise.

Sorry you missed your goal but as you say, it wasn't by a huge amount. That PB is pretty huge, though! Massive well done.

Rojo wrote: »

I loved running before signing up here but my whole attitude to it has changed. Not chasing times all the time and running at the easier paces has really liberated me to enjoy it even more!

Target time 04:20
    Chip Time 04:08:07

I had an absolute ball for the run. Getting my name printed on my t-shirt made me feel like a superhero. I bounced along whenever I heard someone call out Ronan. Aisling had organised all our friends and family to be at various parts of the course so we were never too far from seeing a friendly face, which really spurred me on. I don't know how I missed you guys in Milltown though! The support in general was something else. Never experienced anything like it.

I'm still in disbelief that its done. Was the quickest 4 hours and 8 minutes ever!

Brilliant. You really smashed it but, more importantly, I'm so happy you had such a ball doing it. Congratulations!

DBB wrote: »

The Aftermath
    I've done a marathon. I think I'm still struggling to believe that. Lads, really...me? Doing a MARATHON? Lol!
    But there's disappointment. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to run the race I had trained for, that I was ready for, and that I was capable of running. But I think I'll get over that. Probably am getting over that by now.
    What I'm by far the most disappointed about, and what had caused me to fight back some tears, is that I didn't, I couldn't, get to enjoy the experience. That was my major, overarching wish, to enjoy it whilst embracing the challenge, but that was taken from me by my stupid stomach, and can't be given back.
    But. Here's the but. I also have come to realise in the past 2 days that it was a privilege to get to finish it, even if it was under less than perfect circumstances. Ais_Byrne7's experience was sobering (relieved you're okay Ais :o), and quite a few reports of better runners than I not finishing.

I've said all along that I'd do one marathon. Just to knock it off the bucket list. But, I also feel now that I've unfinished business with DCM.
    Will I do it again? No. Maybe. Yes. :p
    Actually, it now seems that I have to let the stupid new lottery system make the decision for me :rolleyes:

You actually barely mentioned your hernia at all. I'm so sorry you'd such a rotten time it during DCM. You trained so hard and so well, it's really unfair that this happened to you. I'm not sure I'd have finished if I'd experienced that kind of pain, so honestly, well done for that. You should be really proud of yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Ais_Byrne7

Hi guys,

Dropping in to say hi, I’m alive - and after a week of wallowing I finally feel like I’ve turned a corner and back to my old self!

Thanks for all the lovely messages and kind words, really feel the support from my fellow runners. I’ve decided to hell with the official finish chip time for this one...what’s a few metres eh?

I’ve decided to get out the running shoes next week, the medal too! I’ve also booked my spot for next year to give myself the option! What I’ve learned is CALM DOWN on sight of the finish line and I’ll bring that to my next race.

Appreciate you all and I hope you’ve had a great week of celebrating your incredible victories xx

• Registered Users Posts: 11 TillyDcm

|TillyDCM|04:59:59|04:58:16

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭jackc101

13872|jackc101|04:15:00|04:18:58
    |TillyDCM|04:59:59|04:58:16

• Registered Users Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

DCM Race Report (better late than never)

Pre-Pre-Race

One of the things I had to sort out for DCM was accommodation. I had an online friend from a now-defunct forum who I'd kept in contact with for years but never met. When I mentioned I was doing DCM he offered to put me up. I demurred as I didn't want to put him out but in the end accepted. I'm glad I did as it was one of the highlights of the weekend to put a face to the name.
    About a month before DCM I started a new job and started working what felt like 12 hour days. This affected a few things: making time for runs (luckily we were into the tapering period), proper meals (usually I was just grabbing something on the go) and marathon prep. It meant I didn't really have any time to think about the marathon but since I didn't have time to think about it I also didn't have time to worry about it. So it had the side-effect of making me quite relaxed as the race approached.

WJiQa47.gif

In the days leading up to DCM this thread and the whatsapp group chat got very busy with lots of talk of nervousness and excitement and difficulty sleeping etc. I was feeling none of this and it momentarily crossed my mind if there was something wrong with me but I didn't really give it much thought.

WYlI0ux.gif

My original plan was to take the train up but then I was told I was working on the Saturday so that scuppered that and I wondered if I'd make the expo in time to collect my race number. Thanks to Mr Guappa for offering to collect them for me if I couldn't make it up in time. Luckily I finished my jobs by 2pm and made the RDS by 5.30pm. When collecting my race bag the lady asked if it was my first marathon and then asked my name. She then took the microphone and asked for a cheer for me doing my first DCM. A little embarrassing. The other guy behind the desk told me I should be at the start point for 7.50am at the latest. This ruled out any pre-race photos for Sanctuary Runners or the Boards novices.

Pre-Race

In retrospect I could probably easily have made these as there was a delay letting us in to the baggage area. I had my hoodie, arm warmers and gloves on and was in a tight crowd so not really feeling the cold although I had no leggings.

We were eventually left in and actually walked past the green wave start point and were waiting quite a while for things to start up. Security seemed quite lax and we only once got asked to show race numbers. While waiting I got talking to two guys also doing their first DCM. One was hoping for a sub 3.30 and had done all his training runs at 5 min/km pace. I was about to say something about how this was not a good idea but realised we were a few minutes away from the start point and there was SFA he could do about it now so I bit my tongue.

mCuMDA7.gif

He had an unusual first name so I could find his result after and he did 3.31 so I guess it does work for some. The other guy I was talking to had only got his ticket the week before from someone who couldn't do it. I'd forgotten a few things to bring with me on road to Dublin, phone charger and Garmin watch charger being the main things. I'd brought my nipple plasters but forgot to put them on in the morning. My fellow novice kindly offered me some running tape that did the job.
    Despite all the training going pretty well I really hadn't fully decided what pace I was going to run at. This was one of my "to do" things that never got done. I can honestly say I wasn't concerned with finishing time. I would have been happy with anything sub 4 and would have been ok with sub 4.30 if it came to that. So pretty soon we were moving up to the start line. The 3.40 pacers were just in front of me with the 3.50 pacers a little further back. Last minute decision was to start off with the 3.40 pacers and see how things progressed. With that the hoodie was tossed over the railing and we were off.

First Half
    Splits (8.28, 8.13, 8.31, 8.07, 8.06, 8.55, 8.10, 8.21, 8.14, 8.24, 8.12, 8.08)

The first mile was over before I knew it and we were motoring along. I recall it still feeling a bit nippy along here as were were still in the shade from the buildings and so the extra layers were going to remain in situ for a while more. The first few miles were comfortable although I don't really recall much of it. The arm warmers got discarded after about 3 miles or so while I held onto the gloves for a good while longer. Pretty soon we were hitting the Phoenix Park and somewhere along the way I'd passed out the 8.40 pacers.
    I was feeling that I needed to make a pitstop so stopped at the portaloos here. No bog roll. Hmmm... Decided to forego the pitstop and rejoin the race. The 8.40 pacers were now ahead of me and we were heading up Chesterfield Avenue. I gradually tagged on again to the 8.40 pacers again over the next mile or two. We exited the park and came up to a left turn which I assume was Castleknock village and just got hit by a wall of noise. I just couldn't help grinning from ear to ear with that level of support. It must be what rock stars get everytime they take to the stage.
    Looking back on the elevation graph for this section of the race there's quite a few uphill sections. Tbh I didn't feel them at all or really notice them. The running group was fairly tight, albeit not feeling too congested, which meant it wasn't a simple matter of scanning the road ahead for rises and falls.
    At mile 8 I did a system check. Yep, this is not an easy run but it's a marathon so you gotta expect to be out of your comfort zone. But I still felt relatively comfortable and was going at a good rhythm. No cause for concern. I was looking forward to the halfway point as a psychological marker - get there and it's just a half marathon left.
    At some point along here I was wondering if the pacers were going too fast - 8.20 seemed a bit zippy so I asked one of them and he confirmed that they were doing 8.20 pace. Finally the halfway point was in sight. Just coming up to it I saw someone from my cycling club in the crowd up supporting his wife. I gave a shout out but he didn't hear me. We crossed the half way point and I did wonder if I could keep this going for another 13 miles.

Second half
    Splits (8.21, 8.18, 8.03, 8.14, 7.59, 8.06, 8.01, 8.35, 9.37, 11.35, 10.55, 10.23, 9.08, 7.51)

One of the casualties of not having/giving enough time to strategy planning was that I hadn't brought any zero tabs with me to add to the water I was taking. Tbh I had grown to hate the taste of the zero tabs. I'd run my last 18 miler LSR without any gels or liquids and felt fine but that was LSR pace rather than MP. For this race I had gotten a flip belt and loaded it up with high 5 gels. I'd been taking these every 30 minutes approximately and taking a water bottle at every water point and keeping hydrated. I'd mentally broken up the race into 8 mile sections. The first 8 miles had gone well and the second 8 miler was now within sight. A systems check showed that while the tops of the quads and lateral hip area was feeling the race they hadn't got any worse than earlier. I was simultaneously fiddling with a gel and water bottle on mile 16 when I noticed that it was almost over. Mile 17 was when I started to allow myself believe that I'd finish in sub 3.40 as I had by now overtaken the 3.40 pacers and was averaging 8.16 min/mile and feeling pretty good. I recalled reading previously that most of the hills would now be behind us. Things were looking reasonably good and, if anything, I was picking up the pace and feeling strong.

qq06tVE.gif

I saw the "Mr Guappa says relax...." sign held by ReeReeG I think when passing what I now presume was Milltown. The brain wasn't quite in gear so I think I came out with something like "Oh, Mr Guappa, heh" or something equally nonsensical. I was still feeling ok but the course was now becoming a bit more undulating and all around me runners were hitting rough patches.
    I was feeling it but things were still ok until, suddenly, somewhere along Roebuck Road, they weren't and this happened:

7eanDWm.jpg

I don't have any qualms about walking during a race if needed. I walked Foster's Avenue to the Radison Blu and started shuffling onwards again from there. I crossed the flyover by UCD and had to walk again on the down ramp to Nutley Lane. I managed to get going again from Nutley Lane but had another brief walking break on Merrion Road. Looking back that doesn't seem that much walking but it felt like a lot more on the day. At this stage I didn't care about anything except for it to be over. I wasn't really taking notice of the crowds or where I was - the only thing I was really interested in was where was that f**king finish line? Finally I saw the 26 mile marker. Thank Christ!! With the relief I automatically upped the pace and surprised myself to find that I was now running at 6.35 min/mile pace. Where was that energy when I needed it a few miles earlier? Someone shouted my name, I looked around but there was just a crowd of faces, and I assumed they're read it off my number. Found out afterwards it was the lad I'd seen at the halfway mark. There was still some more to run before reaching the blue carpet but I was able to cruise in and had to dodge around a few people including the guy who annoyed me by abruptly turning across me when he saw someone he knew in the crowd just before the end.
    I remembered to raise my arms at the end but didn't remember to smile. The arm raise was so half-hearted and tbh at this point I just felt horrible, ill, wrecked and no energy even to be relieved that it was over or genuinely celebrate.

Post Race

I collected my medal and shirt and headed, zombie like, over to the baggage claim area. First I had to find a toilet as the feeling of needing a loo stop had stayed with me for much of the race. I actually think this was a result of using the flip belt which I'd only used on one long run as I got it late in my training. Even when I'd used it I didn't have it loaded with gels. Effectively I was using this for more or less the first time for the marathon and it was a mis-step. Also I had never taken this many gels on one run previously. Taking as many as I did was also a mistake as my stomach started feeling bad in the last quarter of the race. I didn't take as much as a selfie at the marathon. Fortunately a kindly garda posed with me after the race for this quick photo of me at the finish.

After using the loo I was still feeling crap and feeling poor enough to consider going to the medical tent. I asked where it was and was told that I'd have to go the long way around to get back to it. I had zero interest in doing that so had a Lazarus like recovery and proceeded to walk to McGrattans. I think only mr paul was there when I got there and I couldn't find anyone I recognised from our group. I didn't know there was an upstairs but tbh I wouldn't have been very sociable at this stage. I had a hotel room booked off O'Connell street and headed back there and had a long hot shower followed by a dinner. This had the effect of bringing me back to life. I strolled back to McGrattan's later and had the pleasure of meeting mr paul, greentea is just wrong, ReeReeG, Mr Guappa, Laineyfrecks and the gentleman skyblue46 (not nearly as scary in real life :P)

Conclusions

So, the inevitable question - would I do it again? A marathon? Almost definitely. DCM? - perhaps but most probably not. The summer training schedule meant I had to sacrifice too many events for the sake of the marathon. If there was some way of getting around this then I'd do DCM again but, if not, then my next one will be a spring marathon with the training over the winter.

Was it worth it? Ah yeah, definitely. I managed to get most of the training runs done (guesstimate of around 95%) and enjoyed the process. My approach to running has changed (honestly!) and it's not all about improving times on each and every run.

What would I have done differently? Tbh I wouldn't now change how the day went despite suffering a bit at the end. For any future attempt I would definitely make sure I have some electrolyte tabs to take with the water which I think was a crucial error. I would also practice fueling exactly as I would do it during the race. I'd ditch the flip belt as I think it puts a bit too much pressure on the abdomen and leads to an uncomfortable feeling. Naturally the early pace was a factor although I'm not certain it was the critical one.

In case I'm giving the impression that I was unhappy or disappointed with my marathon - I was not. I'm very happy with the time - 3:48:17 (Unofficial). Tbh I had my eye on a 3.45 finish but any time between 3.30 and 4.00 I would have been happy with.
    Memory of a tough finish quickly dissipates so that wasn't really an issue and, in a perverse way, is good to have experienced.

I'm hugely impressed by the amount of time and effort our three mentors put in over the last 5 months. Keeping track of strava uploads for 40 runners, advising them individually, responding to queries and constantly keeping an eye on things and advising. There was some amount of hours put in there for no pay. Huge thanks to Mr Guappa, ReeReeG and Huzzah! for all the effort. It has not gone unappreciated.

I'm also impressed by the efforts put in from my fellow novices and am pretty much in awe of those of you that kept the runs going despite busy jobs and families to take care of. At least I just had to look after myself but with family demands it takes a lot more effort. Kudos to all of you. Onwards and upwards in your running journeys and bring on the Grads plans!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

DeepBlue wrote: »
    DCM Race Report (better late than never)

Pre-Pre-Race

One of the things I had to sort out for DCM was accommodation. I had an online friend from a now-defunct forum who I'd kept in contact with for years but never met. When I mentioned I was doing DCM he offered to put me up. I demurred as I didn't want to put him out but in the end accepted. I'm glad I did as it was one of the highlights of the weekend to put a face to the name.
    About a month before DCM I started a new job and started working what felt like 12 hour days. This affected a few things: making time for runs (luckily we were into the tapering period), proper meals (usually I was just grabbing something on the go) and marathon prep. It meant I didn't really have any time to think about the marathon but since I didn't have time to think about it I also didn't have time to worry about it. So it had the side-effect of making me quite relaxed as the race approached.

WJiQa47.gif

In the days leading up to DCM this thread and the whatsapp group chat got very busy with lots of talk of nervousness and excitement and difficulty sleeping etc. I was feeling none of this and it momentarily crossed my mind if there was something wrong with me but I didn't really give it much thought.

WYlI0ux.gif

My original plan was to take the train up but then I was told I was working on the Saturday so that scuppered that and I wondered if I'd make the expo in time to collect my race number. Thanks to Mr Guappa for offering to collect them for me if I couldn't make it up in time. Luckily I finished by jobs by 2pm and made the RDS by 5.30pm. When collecting my race bag the lady asked if it was my first marathon and then asked my name. She then took the microphone and asked for a cheer for me doing my first DCM. A little embarrassing. The other guy behind the desk told me I should be at the start point for 7.50am at the latest. This ruled out any pre-race photos for Sanctuary Runners or the Boards novices.

Pre-Race

In retrospect I could probably easily have made these as there was a delay letting us in to the baggage area. I had my hoodie, arm warmers and gloves on and was in tight crowd so not really feeling the cold although I had no leggings.

We were eventually left in and actually walked past the green wave start point and were waiting quite a while for things to start up. Security seemed quite lax and only once got asked to show race numbers. While waiting I got talking to two guys also doing their first DCM. One was hoping for a sub 3.30 and had done all his training runs at 5 min/km pace. I was about to say something about how this was not a good idea but realised we were a few minutes away from the start point and there was SFA he could do about it now so I bit my tongue.

mCuMDA7.gif

He had an unusual first name so I could find his result after and he did 3.31 so I guess it does work for some. The other guy I was talking to had only got his ticket the week before from someone who couldn't do it. I'd forgotten a few things to bring with me on road to Dublin, phone charge and garmin watch charger being the main things. I'd brought my nipple plasters but forgot to put them on in the morning. My fellow novice kindly offered me some running tape that did the job.
    Despite all the training going pretty well I really hadn't fully decided what pace I was going to run at. This was one of my "to do" things that never got done. I can honestly say I wasn't concerned with finishing time. I would have been happy with anything sub 4 and would have been ok with sub 4.30 if it came to that. So pretty soon we were moving up to the start line. The 3.40 pacers were just in front of me with the 3.50 pacers a little further back. Last minute decision was to start off with the 3.40 pacers and see how things progressed. With that the hoodie was tossed over the railing and we were off.

First Half
    Splits (8.28, 8.13, 8.31, 8.07, 8.06, 8.55, 8.10, 8.21, 8.14, 8.24, 8.12, 8.08)

The first mile was over before I knew it and we were motoring along. I recall still feeling a bit nippy along here as were were still in the shade from the buildings and so the extra layers were going to remain in situ for a while more. The first few miles were comfortable although I don't really recall much of it. The arm warmers got discarded after about 3 miles or so while I held onto the gloves for a good while longer. Pretty soon we were hitting the Phoenix Park and somewhere along the way I'd passed out the 8.40 pacers.
    I was feeling that I needed to make a pitstop so stopped at the portaloos here. No bog roll. Hmmm... Decided to forego the pitstop and rejoin the race. The 8.40 pacers were now ahead of me and we were heading up Chesterfield Avenue. I gradually tagged on again to the 8.40 pacers again over the next mile or two. We exited the park and came up to a left turn which I assume was Castleknock village and just got hit by a wall of noise. I just couldn't help grinning from ear to ear with that level of support. It must be what rock stars get everytime they take to the stage.
    Looking back on the elevation graph for this section of the race there's quite a few uphill sections. Tbh I didn't feel them at all or really notice them. The running group was fairly tight, albeit not feeling too congested, which meant it wasn't a simple matter of scanning the road ahead for rises and falls.
    At mile 8 I did a system check. Yep, this is not an easy run but it's a marathon so you gotta expect to be out of your comfort zone. But I still felt relatively comfortable was going at a good rhythm. No cause for concern. I was looking forward to the halfway point as a psychological marker - get there and it's just a half marathon left.
    At some point along here I was wondering if the pacers were going too fast - 8.20 seemed a bit zippy so I asked one of them and he confirmed that they were doing 8.20 pace. Finally the halfway point was in sight. Just coming up to it I saw someone from my cycling club in the crowd up supporting his wife. I gave a shout out but he didn't hear me. We crossed the half way point and I did wonder if I could keep this going for another 13 miles.

Second half
    Splits (8.21, 8.18, 8.03, 8.14, 7.59, 8.06, 8.01, 8.35, 9.37, 11.35, 10.55, 10.23, 9.08, 7.51)

One of the casualties of not having/giving enough time to strategy planning was that I hadn't brought any zero tabs with me to add to the water I was taking. Tbh I had grown to hate the taste of the zero tabs. I'd run my last 18 miler LSR without any gels or liquids and felt fine but that was LSR pace rather than MP. For this race I had gotten a flip belt and loaded it up with high 5 gels. I'd been taking these every 30 minutes approximately and taking a water bottle at every water point and keeping hydrated. I'd mentally broken up the race into 8 mile sections. The first 8 miles had gone well and the second 8 miler was now within sight. A systems check showed that while the tops of the quads and lateral hip area was feeling the race they hadn't got any worse than earlier. I was simultaneously fiddling with a gel and water bottle on mile 16 when I noticed that was almost over. Mile 17 was when I started to allow myself believe that I'd finish in sub 3.40 as I had by now overtaken that 3.40 pacers and was averaging 8.16 min/mile and feeling pretty good. I recalled reading that most of the hills were now behind us. Things were looking reasonably good and, if anything, I was picking up the pace and feeling strong.

qq06tVE.gif

I saw the "Mr Guappa says relax...." sign held by ReeReeG I think when passing what I know presume was Milltown. The brain wasn't quite in gear so I think I came out with something like "Oh, Mr Guappa, heh" or something equally nonsensical. I was still feeling ok but the course was now becoming a bit more undulating and all around runners were hitting rough patches.
    I was feeling it but things were still ok until, suddenly, somewhere along Roebuck Road, they weren't and this happened:

7eanDWm.jpg

I don't have any qualms about walking during a race if needed. I walked Foster's Avenue to the Radison Blu and started shuffling onwards again from there. I crossed the flyover by UCD and had to walk again on the down ramp to Nutley Lane. I managed to get going again from Nutley Lane but had another brief walking break on Merrion Lane. Looking back that doesn't seem that much walking but it felt like a lot more on the day. At this stage I didn't care about anything except for it to be over. I wasn't really taking notice of the crowds or where I was - the only thing I was really interested in was where was that f**king finish line? Finally I saw the 26 mile marker. Thank Christ!! With the relief I automatically upped the pace and surprised myself to find that I was now running at 6.35 min/mile pace. Where was that energy when I needed it a few miles earlier? Someone shouted my name, I looked around but there was just a crowd of faces, and I assumed they're read it off my number. Found out afterwards it was the lad I'd seen at the halfway mark. There was still some more to run before reaching the blue carpet but I was able to cruise in and had to dodge around a few people including the guy who annoyed me but abruptly turning across me when he saw someone he knew in the crowd just before the end.
    I remembered to raise my arms at the end but didn't remember to smile. The arm raise was so half-hearted and tbh at this point I just felt horrible, ill, wrecked and no energy even to be relieved that it was over or genuinely celebrate.

Post Race

I collected my medal and shirt and headed, zombie like, over to the bag claim area. First I had to find a toilet as the feeling of needing a loo stop had stayed with me for much of the race. I actually think this was a result of using the flip belt which I'd only used on one long run as I got it late in my training. Even when I'd used it I didn't have it loaded with gels. Effectively I was using this for more or less the first time for the marathon and it was a mis-step. Also I had never taken this many gels on one run previously. Taking as many as I did was also a mistake as my stomach started feeling bad in the last quarter of the race. I didn't take as much as a selfie at the marathon. Fortunately a kindly garda posed with me after the race for this quick photo of me at the finish.

After using the loo I was still feeling crap and feeling poor enough to consider going to the medical tent. I asked where it was and was told that I'd have to go the long way around to get back to it. I had zero interest in doing that so had a Lazarus like recovery and proceeded to walk to McGrattans. I think only mr paul was there when I got there and I couldn't find anyone I recognised from our group. I didn't know there was an upstairs but tbh I wouldn't have been very sociable at this stage. I had a hotel room booked off O'Connell street and headed back there and had a long hot shower followed by a dinner. This had the effect of bringing me back to life. I strolled back to McGrattan's later and had the pleasure of meeting mr paul, greentea is just wrong, ReeReeG, Mr Guappa, Laineyfrecks and the gentleman skyblue46 (not nearly as scary in real life :P)

Conclusions

So, the inevitable question - would I do it again? A marathon? Almost definitely. DCM? - perhaps but most probably not. The summer training schedule meant I had to sacrifice too many events for the sake of the marathon. If there was some way of getting around this then I'd do DCM again but, if not, then my next one will be a spring marathon with the training over the winter.

Was it worth it? Ah yeah, definitely. I managed to get most of the training runs done (guesstimate of around 95%) and enjoyed the process. My approach to running has changed (honestly!) and it's not all about improving times on each and every run.

What would I have done differently? Tbh I wouldn't now change how the day went despite suffering a bit at the end. For any future attempt I would definitely make sure I have some electrolyte tabs to take with the water which I think was a crucial error. I would also practice fueling exactly as I would do it during the race. I'd ditch the flip belt as I think it puts a bit too much pressure on the abdomen and leads to an uncomfortable feeling. Naturally the early pace was a factor although I'm not certain it was the critical one.

In case I'm giving the impression that I was unhappy or disappointed with my marathon - I was not. I'm very happy with the time. Tbh I had my eye on a 3.45 finish but any time between 3.30 and 4.00 I would have been happy with.
    Memory of a tough finish quickly dissipates so that wasn't really an issue and, in a perverse way, is good to have experienced.

I'm hugely impressed by the amount of time and effort our three mentors put in over the last 5 months. Keeping track of strava uploads for 40 runners, advising them individually, responding to queries and constantly keeping an eye on things and advising. There was some amount of hours put in there for no pay. Huge thanks to Mr Guappa, ReeReeG and Huzzah! for all the effort. It has not gone unappreciated.

I'm also impressed by the efforts put in from my fellow novices and am pretty much in awe of those of you that kept the runs going despite busy jobs and families to take care of. At least I just had to look after myself but with family demands it takes a lot more effort. Kudos to all of you. Onwards and upwards in your running journeys and bring on the Grads plans!!

That’s a heck of a report but is your finishing time a secret, not mentioned at all.

Well worth waiting on DeepBlue. I love your picture with the Garda. LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 DolG

Hi. A huge thanks to the mentors and members for sharing so honestly all the good and bad experiences of DCM 2019. I often wonder why I started running and stayed with it in 2011. I always said I would never do a marathon! 2014 I felt I could call myself a "runner", then wham, a "slipped disc" stopped me in my tracks. My fab physio sorted me and I very gingerly got back. A year later, a fall down the stairs and running on an ankle which had not healed (it felt perfect!) caused my right knee to swell so much I could not bend my knee. A year later the left knee went the same way! Jealous I suppose:p. Another year out. Last November I signed up for the marathon. A friend gave me a running plan for 12 weeks, far slower than I had ever run before. Completed it and extended it myself. End of June I now decided I would try marathon training. Another good friend and experienced runner advised me to extend the LSR gradually x 3 weeks and cut back 4th week. I ran with my club, speed sessions, once a week but decided to do the LSR on my own, needed to run at my own pace. Was dizzy after the first 14 mile run, decided then to do each twice before increasing mileage. Eureka, end of August I remembered the existence of Boards.ie!
    From listening to other runners I knew the marathon was a beast, do everything right and on the day out of the blue you could be struck down.
    My aim was firstly to get to the start line and secondly to finish. It was a privilege not to have a time to aim for. A friend said 5.15-5.30 after reviewing my training, revised from 4.45. Was lucky to have a sports massage every week from mid August. Continued my yoga but switched to the easier class in September.
    Was very relaxed about the training, biggest problem being stomach/gel/loo issues. Kept notes of meals prior to LSR.
    Did 20 mile 4 weeks out as was down to do Novice Country with club 3weeks out. Last LSR was 15m and a very busy weekend woke on Monday with sore throat etc. Off work, antibiotics, great taper:( Wednesday before DCM finished antibiotics, still coughing, will I or won't I run? Oh the indecision. Did 3miles, omg......4, then 3. Continued positively. Collected number, laid out gear, had a checklist, no me at all:P
    Morning of : Up at 6.15, Porridge and slice of white toast, got a lift to the marathon bus for 7 and in to the house we had on Fitzwilliam square.
    Was in wave 4, so last to leave the house with 2 others. No bag drop, no security at that time. Found the 5hr pacers. Had memorised some boards race numbers but didn't see anyone. Was delighted to find Aisling. Cut off socks as arm warmers.
    Miles 1-6 : 11.31, 11:03, 11:17, 10:54, 11:11, 11.25.
    Feeling great, high as a kite, couldn't stop talking! In trepidation Gel no.1. Decided to treat the next 20 miles as LSR, divided into 4x5miles.
    Miles 7-13. 11:26, 10:51, 10:51,10:54,11:06, 10:55, 10:54.
    Castle knock was amazing, did some air guitar going past the band. Hamstrings were niggly, very unusual and left knee was iffy. Saw some poor lady being attended to flat out in the road before we went back into the park. A stark reminder of what can happen. Hill after the underpass was grand. Noticing the signs, "Don't worry, you'll be finished before Brexit" support was fantastic. Decided to take a gel every 45 mins. Great to have the water bottles, took sips.
    Miles 14-22 11:13, 11:16, 11:03, 11:00, 11:08, 11:07, 11:05, 10:53, 11:06.
    In a nice rhythm. Tolerating gels, ate 1/2 salted boiled potato. Tapping the power boards for energy. Loving the DJ booths and music. A work colleague, suddenly appears, couldn't believe it. Hug, and straight back, a bit overwhelmed. Suddenly couldn't breathe. Did a check, no wheeze, lungs fine, it was my throat, was I reacting to gel or potato?? Told myself to stay calm and relax. Sorted! That was scary. On to Miltown, Family outside the Dropping Well. Surprised to see youngest daughter and boyfriend there as they were out until 4am. Emotional. Hubby there too. Hugs all round. Didn't see any Boards ppl as distracted. Up the hill and headed towards the infamous Heartbreak Hill. Still ok. Steady. Ran up H hill, was the only one running. Overtaking people all the time. Ground very sticky from gels.
    Miles 23-End. 10.42, 10:38, 10:43, 10:57, 9:44 Finish time 4:50:32.
    End of Foster's Ave. Friend on bike shouting to keep it up. Now have to dig deep. Feeling the distance, saying "never again", I am too old for this, 61yrs. Hate Nutley, don't know why. Knew the straight run to the end was longer than it seemed. If anyone shouted you are nearly there I may have killed them. Unexpected supporters around Ballsbridge, can't stop keep going, overtook a pal who started with 4:50 pacers but can see she is fine. Big shout out from another runner. Coming up to the bridge Norbert yells at me to keep it up. Overtaking lots, looked at watch thought it said 30 secs to get under 5hrs, legged it up the blue mat, well it felt like I did. It's finished I did it. No tears. Got medal, giddy bag. Made it back to house, dizzy, hardest 500m walk ever. STEPS to front door, had to go upSTAIRS for clothes. Other daughter gave me a light rubdown. Drank chocolate milk and zero tab water. Three of us headed to McGrattans. Asked around, no Boards ppl. Then me Ashling,another super mentor and Ian, my saviours. Mr Guappa is upstairs. OMG, STAIRS again. Great to meet some of you. Drank 2pints of water.

Home on the bus, had to get off and got sick, travel sickness. Had dinner, shower,and off to pub to meet our club runners.
    2K walk Monday. Back of left knee swollen. Legs up the wall and Ice.How will I survive 10hrs at work on my feet Tuesday. Work colleague walking worst than me did his first marathon in 2:57!!
    Wednesday in to town shopping with youngest daughter, feeling great, high as a kite. Another 10hrs on my feet Thursday. In truth I was saved from the sofa.
    9am Sunday. 2.9 mile run. Great to hear from Aisling again. Everyone here did so well, we got so much support and advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Does anyone know how long after the marathon the iTabs for medals are posted?

Clareview wrote: »
    Target 4:29:59
    Actual 4:48:23

Race report

Well where to even begin with this... 1st Marathon attempt and felt everything up to race was good and training runs etc had been really good; taper went well enough; hydration and fuel in last week were good but ultimately last 1/3 of race was a disaster!
    Started the race with a friend who had done the exact same training and we would have been very similar from ability POV (he finished with 4.29).

- First 11KM went exactly to our plan and we were just under 72mins.
    - Next 10km then we picked up in the spots where we said we could and backed off the hills etc and went through the half in just about 2.15.30.
    - Then from here to 30KM I just started to struggle with energy in the legs, couldnt get the pick up to paces that I wanted so told friend to drive on at around 28km;
    - I ended up going through 30km in about 3hrs15mins but then the fun and games really started at about 33km.. It really was like someone turned the Power button off.. felt sick, went very pale (according to friends supporting), couldnt take any more fuel on bar water and had to go with a Walk/Run plan from here to about 40.5km where I then mustered the energy to run in the last stretch.
    - Essentially the last 12.2km took me 1hr33mins!! definitely not what I had envisaged.

Overall the experience was still a good one and some tremendous learnings over the duration of training and racing!! the support on the course was brilliant, thoroughly enjoyed the first 3 hours and the last 8-10 mins.. haha!! We also managed to raise over €6.5k for charity too so that was a positive too.

Just means Im going to have to go again at some point in the future at another marathon; but it has spurred an interest to keep up running more regularly now going forward so going to look to join a club over the next few weeks!

Congrats to everyone on their wonderful races also and some tremendous race reports & stories emerging!!

Well done for battling through. I'm glad the experience hasn't put you off running, That's a phenomenal amount of money to raise for charity - massive congratulations!

fatboyfin wrote: »
    I am really enjoying the race reports - well done to all. And thanks for taking the time to write them up. Cheers to everyone who posted logs, reports, hints and tips, posed questions and provided answers since the start of this board. Especially to the mentors this year, and those from yesteryear. I am looking forward to continuing following people's training logs and watching the running start up again (eventually) on strava.

I am an infrequent poster, but constant lurker and I've no doubt there are many like that picking up valuable advice - especially with the range of experience, paces, training plans etc being talked about.

DCM 2019 - my first Dublin marathon

It was a fantastic day, great crowds and support, Dublin was looking great. A group of 6 travelled down from Belfast with 4 PBs, an improvement on last year's time from a fifth runner who is recovering from a chronic lung condition, and the sixth runner who wouldn't have had a traditional build up to the marathon but still put in a very respectable run. Each with our own targets, plans and outcomes. But we celebrated as a team on Sunday night!

I had a great race - felt it for the last couple of miles, but sure if it was easy, then anyone would be doing it. Instead, the training teaches us resilience, and gives us the fight to dig deep when needed most. I knocked over 30 mins off my Belfast marathon time from 6 months ago so super chuffed, but am basking in the knowledge that this was not by accident - but instead the outcome of many many hours pounding the streets of Belfast at varying (but predetermined and controlled) paces. In the 18 weeks leading up to Belfast marathon I ran 473 miles. Over the last 18 weeks to DCM, I put in 891 miles. It is not quite double.... but it is not too far off. And thankfully the gains were there to see.

You knocked a huge chunk off your Belfast time. Looks like the increased training effort reaped the rewards. Well done.

Karlos80 wrote: »
    DCM19 Report
    Target 4:10:00
    Plan B 4:20:00

Passed the 30k marker at 3:00:01. Mental and physical check. Still felt ok, getting tired and sore but no blisters/injuries. Really noticing the effort required now just to maintain pace. Got a bit emotional here with too much thinking and found it really affected my breathing, nearly like I was panicking.

Got emotional again coming through Ballsbridge knowing I was nearly there and would see the family soon, almost couldn’t breathe again like I was hyperventilating.

The Longest Mile. So many people, so happy, so sore now. Where is the canal?

The last 0.2 miles was 0.4 on my watch. It felt like 5k. The crowd kept me pushing, because the body was spent. Got there. Initial emotion was relief. Then a few tears when I got the goody bag, so happy to see water.

Really happy with the day, don’t think I could have improved on that. Interestingly, the brother in law broke 4 hours.

I got that hyperventilating feeling, too.

Fab run. You also experienced the highs and lows of a marathon but it was a great run. Congratulations!

You're right to mind the achilles. Hope to see you knocking about Strava once it's recovered.

9:30 on a Sunday night feels like an appropriate time for this post :)

Thanks so much to ReeReeG and Huzzah! for all their help over the past six months. You were both excellent mentors and always had the novice's best interests to the front of your minds. It's been an absolute pleasure to work alongside you on this adventure. Your love of running shines through, and I think you've passed that love onto so many of the novices. Super job ladies :)

Thanks also to the many boards verterans who chipped in on a regular basis with advice, guidance and thoughts. I'm sure all the novices found this a very welcoming community.

I'd also like to give special mention to those who started this journey with us, but never realised their marathon dream this year. Hopefully you guys stick with it and do manage to run your first marathon some time soon. It really is something worth persevering with.

And finally - the novices graduates. It's been a total honour to mentor you this year. Watching you all progress (i.e. slow down :pac:) as this journey developed has been such a rewarding experience for me. Whether it's marathon redemption, shorter stuff, or longer stuff :eek:, I'm really looking forward to seeing what you all do next - exciting times :).

Marathoners - it's been a pleasure!

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭3boyz

Thank you Mr. Guappa, your Sunday evening plan became the highlight of my week. I'm not sure what to do with myself this week! Hope you are getting lots of peace and quiet now that you don't have to worry about your novices tearing round their localities at break neck speed. :D. The best of luck with all your future running, you too will go from strenth to strength.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 DolG

Thanks so much to ReeReeG and Huzzah! for all their help over the past six months. You were both excellent mentors and always had the novice's best interests to the front of your minds. It's been an absolute pleasure to work alongside you on this adventure. Your love of running shines through, and I think you've passed that love onto so many of the novices. Super job ladies :)

Thanks also to the many boards verterans who chipped in on a regular basis with advice, guidance and thoughts. I'm sure all the novices found this a very welcoming community.

I'd also like to give special mention to those who started this journey with us, but never realised their marathon dream this year. Hopefully you guys stick with it and do manage to run your first marathon some time soon. It really is something worth persevering with.

And finally - the novices graduates. It's been a total honour to mentor you this year. Watching you all progress (i.e. slow down :pac:) as this journey developed has been such a rewarding experience for me. Whether it's marathon redemption, shorter stuff, or longer stuff :eek:, I'm really looking forward to seeing what you all do next - exciting times :).

Special thank you for the invite to join so late. It was a huge help for my first Marathon experience. You and the other mentors put in a tremendous effort to help everyone. Can’t thank you enough.
    Enjoy the break and best of luck for whatever you are doing next.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Are you.... are you.... breaking up with us?
    :(:(:(

494381.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Sorbet

Couldn't have had better mentors.....thanks all so much. Funny to think that the three of you will always be such a huge part of all our marathon stories, whether they go on or finish here. Some legacy you've left. Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭eabha19

Sorbet wrote: »
    Couldn't have had better mentors.....thanks all so much. Funny to think that the three of you will always be such a huge part of all our marathon stories, whether they go on or finish here. Some legacy you've left. Brilliant.

Completely agree. Ye made my first marathon a fantastic experience- thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Many congratulations to each and every Novice Graduate.
    This has been my favourite boards thread of the year (The Man Utd one hasn't been fun in years :o) Ye have all undertaken a massive journey these past 19 weeks and its been a real inspiration to read all the stories of your huge progress in that time period. I hope ye all feel a real sense of achievement and are still on Cloud 9.
    Don't let this be the end of your journey though, this is only the beginning! I look forward to ye all making massive progress in 2020 and beyond.

Huge congratulations to the 3 mentors. I can't begin to imagine the amount of time and effort ye put into this thread but ye always did it with unbounded enthusiasm and support for each and every Graduate. Ye should be rightly proud reading all the reports, take a well deserved bow guys!