Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2019 - Mentored Novices Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

Doc76 wrote: »
    Hi room for another? I don’t have a number yet but hoping to get one on July 1. Training anyway and signed up for the race series half in September.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs?
    Have raced loads (including 26.2s along time ago) but PBs are a distant past! Just run/race for fun now. I’ve been running for 25 years.
    Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? no
    How much training do you currently do ? 4 jogs a week (18 miles thereabouts) but also strength train 2x per week and do 3 cardio classes a week (will definitely scale this back as training for marathon progresses if I get a spot)
    What do you want to achieve? I’d love to finish under 5 hours (4:45ish?!) I want to feel good though throughout the race and injury free.
    How many days a week can you train? And what plan do you intend to follow? Realistically 4 days and plan to follow HH novice 1 which I have used successfully in the past.
    What is your biggest worry/fear/doubt (if you have any!) in signing up? It’s been so long since I’ve run a marathon or any race longer than a 1/2 marathon I worry about the last 10k but hope properly training will make it work. Also hope I actually get a number when they reopen entries on July 1!
    Why are you running this marathon? Just to experience a marathon again especially in Dublin as I’ve never done it.