Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2019 - Mentored Novices Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,738 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Thanks sorry, the colour confused me.
    Bananaleaf wrote: »
    Me too, I would have done them marathon pace :o

This came up last year too I think, so I've modified the colours and wording in the plan to hopefully clear up any confusion.

Arsenium wrote: »
    Hi everyone, I’ve followed this thread for the last few years and reckoned that I would contribute to it if I ever decided to do the marathon again.

I did DCM in 2015 so I’m not a total novice. I presume this is ok (see below).

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

5K – May 2019 – 20:00,
    10K Dunshaughlin 10K 44:30,
    Mullingar Half 17/03 – 1:42.
    DCM 2015 – 4:31. Targetted 4:20 and was on target but cramped badly near the end. Lost the group and struggled to get going again after stopping to free the cramp.

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? (No problem if you do) No

How much training do you currently do ? Distances, how many days a week, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level. 4 -5 a week. Between cycling and running and swimming it could be 6 – 7. At the moment I'd be running maybe 25 miles a week.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time? 3:50 ideally. Sub 4:00.

How many days a week can you train? And what plan do you intend to follow? 6. Boards plan