Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread XI (The Finals Countdown)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

He's a real tackle buster. He went through Luke last year like he wasn't even there.

I said it after the game last year that I wouldn't have him near my team. He offers a bit going forward but the rest of his game is just not anything I'd have an interest in.

Defending or chasing back are mere concepts to him. He's poor under the high ball.

Barely a one dimensional player.

Agreed , one or two "busting runs" made for Social media and then 78 minutes of utter mediocrity.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Watched a bit of the 'A' game Vs Munster. Alex Soroka at number 8 is only 19 years old. but looks bigger than most of the back rows in the senior side. Could be a proper brute of a player in a few years.

Leinster haven't played the conditions well it's wet and windy at Thomond Park yet they've insisted on slinging the ball wide. Lots of knock ons and carriers getting ripped of possession.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Clegg wrote: »
    Leinster haven't played the conditions well it's wet and windy at Thomond Park yet they've insisted on slinging the ball wide. Lots of knock ons and carriers getting ripped of possession.

Only caught the last 30. Inaccuracy was the theme of those 30 minutes. Wasn't overly impressive.

Liked the look of Sean O'Brien mk 2/3/4?

Great work rate and seems to have an excellent all around game.

Huge relief too. It must have been 3 or 4 hours since Leinster produced a promising back row

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

Only caught the last 30. Inaccuracy was the theme of those 30 minutes. Wasn't overly impressive.

Liked the look of Sean O'Brien mk 2/3/4?

Great work rate and seems to have an excellent all around game.

Huge relief too. It must have been 3 or 4 hours since Leinster produced a promising back row
    He's the only player who really stood out for me, lots of quality in everything he does. He seems to have unreal pace and amazing hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 onefinemorning

Nice piece on the new SOB in tomorrow Online Match Programme vs Northampton

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/leinster-v-northampton-digital-match-programme/

Starting on page 80.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

He's the only player who really stood out for me, lots of quality in everything he does. He seems to have unreal pace and amazing hands.

Looks to be Dan Leavy 2.0

Always been really impressed in everything he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

Extremely windy here in Dublin 4.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Who limped off there in the warm up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

Not looking good for Harry Byrne pulled up in the warm up there and didn't look comfortable at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭lotmc

Harry Byrne looks like he has pulled up 10 minutes before kick off. Gone into dressing room. Real shame if he has to withdraw, but dosent look good...

They've just shown Byrne doing a very late fitness test. Looks quite uncomfortable running.

Doris has dropped out entirely and Josh Murphy goes to 6.

Harry doing fitness test literally 4 min before kick off

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Anyone setting up match thread?

Ross starts

• Registered Users Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭KH25

Unfortunate for Harry.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

Damn! It was the perfect chance to have a look at what Harry can do alongside more experienced players.

Jaysus that's far too easy

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

2 mins in to a European career and you get a try lol

Ringrose has shipped two knocks in 8 minutes. Think he might need to come off. Might be HIA. JOB too.

Jaysus.

Ringrose is having a nice first game back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

Looking at that replay Jimmy is definetly gone, eyes immediatly shot up once hit.

Right call with Ringrose

This is a feckin disaster.

Two pre-gane pull puts and now two HIA's in the opening 15.

There is a match thread lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

Disagree with Feris there, was ahead of the ball and then off feat.

How are we sorted for the Christmas Derby matches? Looking back on previous years there's going to be lots of squad rotation involved. But we seem to have found ourselves in the midst of an injury crisis especially in the backs. On top of the confirmed long term injuries JOB is probably out for a few weeks now and I wouldn't be surprised if Ringrose is unavailable for at least the Munster game.

The coaches have done a brilliant job integrating younger players into the side. They slot in seamlessly, perform well and we see no dip in squad performance. The competition for places has raised the level of a lot of players actually. But even with that we might be scraping the bottom of the barrel for backs now. Just too many injuries.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Miriam Gonzalez Durantez

At the moment there are numerous areas we can work on but the lineout has to be one of the most glaring aspects we have not addressed. Having said that Kelleher throwing was not the problem yesterday. There seems to be multiple system errors with the lineout as well as the 2 second rows not being assertive or prolific enough for us yet. They are young but I wonder if the problem lies with them or the lineout coaching. It seems to get fixed when Tracy plays but when Kelleher is on there seems to be no communication timing or effective calling. It needs to be addressed if we are to progress in this tournament.