Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 most useful power tools

• 11-05-2019 3:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭

In order of usefulness (as in value for money spend), what are your top 5 most useful (power) tools?

I can only offer an incomplete list:

1) Cordless CombiDrill with two 3Ah batteries (love it!)
    2) SDS Drill (corded)
    3) Demolition and lifting bar --- wonderful for taking stuff apart: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B003CT4D1S

Contributions, (dis)agreements and thoughts are welcome!

Cordless drill/driver
    Circular saw
    Jigsaw
    4-5” angle grinder
    Miter saw

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Shaunoc

Measuring tape
    Pencil
    Handsaw
    Hammer
    Measuring tape

Oops
    Combi drill, SDS, small grinder, circular saw, all of then...this is too hard

• Registered Users Posts: 33,892 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Shaunoc wrote: »
    Measuring tape
    Pencil
    Handsaw
    Hammer
    Measuring tape

Funny....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Battery (cordless) drill
    Impact driver
    Battery angle grinder
    Chop saw
    Bench saw

SDS drill rarely gets used now but on the odd occasion its essential.

An oscillating multi-tool is also an essential but not in the top 5 as its rarely used but when it is there isn't a better tool.

btw OP a Demolition and lifting bar isn't a power tool :)

listermint wrote: »
    Funny....

LOL - measure twice cut once and all that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 42 decmeister

multi tool cordless
    screw gun
    decent measuring tape
    decent hammer action drill
    adjustable spanner

decmeister wrote: »
    multi tool cordless
    screw gun
    decent measuring tape
    decent hammer action drill
    adjustable spanner

Nailgun
    Cheeseburger
    Pack of playing cards
    20 Benson and Hedges
    KVI six pack

• Registered Users Posts: 12,364 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

1. Concrete mixer
    2. "Kango" hammer
    3. Chopsaw: Timber
    4. Chopsaw: Metal
    5. Planer/thicknesser.
    6. Tablesaw.
    7. Domino

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Earmuffs?

1. Concrete mixer
    2. "Kango" hammer
    3. Chopsaw: Timber
    4. Chopsaw: Metal
    5. Planer/thicknesser.
    6. Tablesaw.
    7. Domino

A bunch of Fyffes
    A picture of one hand, with 4 fingers and 1 thumb
    A list of weekdays
    A set of numbers, 1 - 5
    A cheeseburger. You can always use a cheeseburger.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Power screwdriver.
    Cordless drill.
    Honda Versatool.
    Cordless Dremmel.
    Bench grinder.

First two are obvious. The Versatool has made minding the garden a dream. The last two were tools that I've used to improvise and get around non-straight-forward fixes/jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭ampleforth

my3cents wrote: »
    Battery (cordless) drill
    btw OP a Demolition and lifting bar isn't a power tool :)

That is why I said 'useful (power) tools?' --- notice the subtle brackets ;)

ampleforth wrote: »
    That is why I said 'useful (power) tools?' --- notice the subtle brackets ;)

I note also the even more subtle omission of the brackets in the thread title :D

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭ampleforth

I note also the even more subtle omission of the brackets in the thread title :D

My bad ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Lads lads lads think about it the most important tool is the kettle.
    Many a day ruined because some ejit forgot to put it back in the van.

Lads lads lads think about it the most important tool is the kettle.
    Many a day ruined because some ejit forgot to put it back in the van.

Then the radio is #2

I'd agree with you there but there's some specimens that think you need to hear it 6 doors down the road.
    Drives me mad when I can't hear myself think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭jasper100

Spirit level. Crucial, ditto a measuring tape which was already mentioned.

Cordless drill and chopsaw would be the main actual powered tools I would rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,578 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Honda Versatool.

Never heard of it. Boy it's an expensive kit, I'll probably never have it as a result. :(

Prob depends on your trade or the job at hand.
    But for me joking aside
    Carpenter/Builder
    Impact driver
    Cordless Drill
    Cordless jig saw
    12inch chop saw
    Router
    Honourable mention goes to the rail saw.

If the van was cleaned out tomorrow they'd be the first five I'd need to replace to get back working.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Never heard of it. Boy it's an expensive kit, I'll probably never have it as a result. :(

Big outlay alright but makes the ****e garden jobs a breeze and it's a four stroke engine - no messing around with fuel mixes and the like. Starts like me car when I need it to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Mrs Palm's 5 daughters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

mikeymouse wrote: »
    Mrs Palm's 5 daughters.

I'd say it's a power tool by now!

• Registered Users Posts: 31,062 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'd love a table saw, but my most useful tools are my opposable thumbs and I'd like to keep hold of them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

I'd say it's a power tool by now!
    Getting there.

Lumen wrote: »
    I'd love a table saw, but my most useful tools are my opposable thumbs and I'd like to keep hold of them....

You are over thinking things again :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 31,062 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

You are over thinking things again :cool:
    I actually know someone, a professional, who has lost two digits to a table saw. In separate incidents.

i have a fear of electric planers. No accidents however envision the worst everytime i see one

met a Tree surgeon minus 2 digits as well. Professional!?! :o

I used to work in tree surgery and forestry and know quite a few people missing fingers.

With a table saw you need to think about the consequences of every action like what would happen if I slip, the wood sticks (and then you push too hard and slip a common error) and work out what could go wrong and adjust accordingly - you'd do fine at that :D

Only near accident I've had was due to flying wood no fingers anywhere near the saw blade.

Then there are lots of guards, push sticks and such like you can make up to make sure your fingers can never come in contact with the blade.

I used to work in tree surgery and forestry and know quite a few people missing fingers.

With a table saw you need to think about the consequences of every action like what would happen if I slip, the wood sticks (and then you push too hard and slip a common error) and work out what could go wrong and adjust accordingly - you'd do fine at that :D

Only near accident I've had was due to flying wood no fingers anywhere near the saw blade.

Then there are lots of guards, push sticks and such like you can make up to make sure your fingers can never come in contact with the blade.

lucky for you and us you are not called 'my3digits' :D