Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Munster - The buildup for the ages!

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭baas baa

That's two big games in a row Munster have completely failed to fire a shot. Worrying to be honest because that's a formidable team.

Still think the problem is at the top to be honest.

What questions do they ask of an organised and disciplined defence, spirited carrying will only take you so far in the bigger games.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

ClanofLams wrote: »
    All might not be rosy but think you are reading too much in to those comments. Two lads who have been involved over ten years (break for Flannery obviously) are departing, last game of season, just standard to pay tribute to them.

He wasn't asked about them though. He completely disregarded the question he was asked and just went in on that.

I've no issue with paying tribute but I just thought the way he answered the question was both odd and interesting at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Faugheen wrote: »
    POM's interview there was interesting.

Was asked about the season and what it meant to players and coaching staff

He just spoke about Flannery and Jones and how much the players will miss them. Not even a hint of a mention of JvG and looking ahead to next season.

There's something not right at Munster imo. I said it months ago and nothing has changed my mind about it.

I didn't see the interview, but that does not sound great. It sounds like JvG doesn't have the players onside or the players have no confidence in him. Both Flannery and Jones resigning is a very bad sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

digzy wrote: »
    He’s an extremely effective player. Great signing for Leinster
    I wish he was one of ours!

Even if he was a Munster player I think I’d have the same opinion of him, play the ****ing game and stop your theatrical grinning because it’s ****ing ridiculous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Doc tripping over his words with the mention of Van Grann

Even if he was a Munster player I think I’d have the same opinion of him, play the ****ing game and stop your theatrical grinning because it’s ****ing ridiculous

Why aren't you bitching about Stander doing it after winning a scrum penalty today so?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Something happened between Conway and Lowe before he made the big tackle and shouted over at Conway.

It looked like Conway might have thrown a punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭ironingbored

:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Something happened between Conway and Lowe before he made the big tackle and shouted over at Conway.

I don't think it was a punch but there was definitely some handbags. Conway has always had a short fuse and Lowe is Lowe.

Faugheen wrote: »
    Why aren't you bitching about Stander doing it after winning a scrum penalty today so?

Because Stander isn’t doing it out of malice, it’s genuine joy. Lowe seems to get a kick out of this big smirking ****head look when he comes out of tackles or confrontations, it’s blood boiling watching him and I don’t understand how any Leinster fan thinks that’s fine. Suppose he is the walking embodiment of the Dublin mentality though - an arrogant ****head with delusions about himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Interesting about Haley. Not acceptable even if the game was dead. Walking off the pitch before Sexton took the conversion was bizarre. As EOS said, he missed the tackle on Lowe. Own your error. Stay on the field until the final whistle and leave with your team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

That's two big games in a row Munster have completely failed to fire a shot. Worrying to be honest because that's a formidable team in comparison to previous years.

Still think the problem is at the top to be honest.

The top two inches for me.

Look at Conway - could have been a good rugby player but decided that he'd rather be a hard man. Where was he for Lowe's try? - chasing shadows in midfield.

Because Stander isn’t doing it out of malice, it’s genuine joy. Lowe seems to get a kick out of this big smirking ****head look when he comes out of tackles or confrontations, it’s blood boiling watching him and I don’t understand how any Leinster fan thinks that’s fine. Suppose he is the walking embodiment of the Dublin mentality though - an arrogant ****head with delusions about himself.

He annoys people and causes them to make fools of themselves and make errors. It works. He should keep doing it always as long as the brainless react or lose concentration.

Buer wrote: »
    Good win. The energy levels surprised me and the Leinster bench made a big impact. The scrum and maul was very strong after the front row changes.

Munster were dead on their feet and checked out by 70 minutes I thought. Stander went down hurt around 72 minutes. He propped himself up on one elbow and watched the play for a few phases before getting up and rejoining play. Himself and Beirne looked fairly p*ssed off at times. Think the referee allowed Leinster some leeway at the breakdown for their angles of entry to deal with them.

Munster had a strong first half(though didn't have the ability to put scores together). Had a feeling about awakening the beast about it and Leinster came out of the blocks in the second. The sin bin and try broke them and they didn't have the bench to turn it around. Having Ruddock and VDF fresh made a big difference for Leinster and Sextons introduction brought a lift as well.

He annoys people and causes them to make fools of themselves and make errors. It works. He should keep doing it always as long as the brainless react or lose concentration.

It clearly works as he's causing a few people to make fools of themselves on here with their comments.

Absolutely he can keep doing it but as one poster said, if he was around in the days before cameras he’d have some manners put on him and wouldn’t do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

Ross Byrne has made good progress this year, managed the game very today too and no hype about him compared to Joey. He's surely on the list to look at in the warm up games.

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Stander was walking around with a smug grin on his mug when Munster won a scrum pen.

If you dish it out, you take it back. Otherwise don't dish it out

By recent Leinster - Munster standards, today's game was noticeably low on sledging. Sexton was off the pitch (DG) and POM didn't seem bothered, in fact I've rarely seen him putting a referee under less pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Oh I don’t place any blame on him, better team won on the day and that’s that. Him however is a different story - he is an arrogant prick walking around with a big **** eating grin. I hope that somebody at some stages wipes that off his face with a seriously hard tackle or better, he is a dick.

It's terrible that he should play rugby with a swagger and with joy. No laughing in rugby please, serious business only.

baas baa wrote: »
    It clearly works as he's causing a few people to make fools of themselves on here with their comments.

There’s no fools here. Anyway I’ll bow out now, hope Glasgow absolutely murder ye next weekend and we’ll see you again next year with hopefully some bit of a better gameplan.

Absolutely he can keep doing it but as one poster said, if he was around in the days before cameras he’d have some manners put on him and wouldn’t do it again.

Think cameras are here to stay unfortunately so doubt he'll be worrying about that.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Erik Shun wrote: »
    A proper Erik Shun is always better than hard tackle

Still useless without a dock

There’s no fools here. Anyway I’ll bow out now, hope Glasgow absolutely murder ye next weekend and we’ll see you again next year with hopefully some bit of a better gameplan.

Maybe a few new SH imports too. I'm getting bored with your current crop.

I wouldn't feel confident hanging my hopes on a Scottish side but you never know, all the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭thegreycity

Your misery is making this victory even more enjoyable. :pac:

I’m not miserable, just calling out the ****head elements of your team and supporters. Couldn’t care less about the result today, it was totally expected when we switched off 7 games before end of season. That doesn’t make Lowe any less of a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

That bitterness is making James Lowe smirk a little more. All the best!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Liam Toland praising Munsters handling skills today on comms when Leinster only had a few scrums. Like passing the ball 3m to the next guy is a very basic rugby skill and should not be deserving of such praise.

Leinster backrow far superior to Munsters IMO and carried far more effectively.

Ruddock and Conan were excellent on the ball

If Toner is not fit for next week we are looking at Ruddock covering 2nd row possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

CatFromHue wrote: »

I don't think it was a punch but there was definitely some handbags. Conway has always had a short fuse and Lowe is Lowe.

They seemed to have words in the handshake line too.

Hope he’s still smirking next week when Glasgow annihilate ye.

I’m not miserable, just calling out the ****head elements of your team and supporters. Couldn’t care less about the result today, it was totally expected when we switched off 7 games before end of season. That doesn’t make Lowe any less of a ****

Lowe is doing exactly the sort of thing that POM or Stander or Kleyn do. Maybe if these munster players concentrated on trying to play rugby Munster might actually make progress.

Oh lol. He's certainly wound you up plenty, fan favourite and a smashing player - hope he never changes!

Posts like these make fans enjoy wins all the more. You really don't get the psychology side of sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

:D I thought you were out of here? Please stay though. I keep seeing James Lowe's grin!

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Lowe is doing exactly the sort of thing that POM or Stander or Kleyn do. Maybe if these munster players concentrated on trying to play rugby Munster might actually make progress.

Pom or Stander don’t come out of every single confrontation or tackle smirking away to themselves because they are professionals. James Lowe on the other hand is a guy playing rugby who is just begging for his teeth to end up in his throat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

It’s true, he’s a wind up merchant and seems like an absolute dickhead to be honest.

Lowe is one of the nicest guy's in the Leinster squad, always has time for everyone. Appreciates the position he is in and helps other where he can.

• Hope he’s still smirking next week when Glasgow annihilate ye.

2603.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,355 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Smirking and laughing!! The affrontery of it all!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Stop. You're embarrassing yourself and perpetuating a stereotype that Munster doesn't need. Walk away, take a breath and chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I was pleased with the result, but sweet jesus now I can't stop smirking.

Nothing better than witnessing someone who can't handle defeat hitting a low point.

Pom or Stander don’t come out of every single confrontation or tackle smirking away to themselves because they are professionals. James Lowe on the other hand is a guy playing rugby who is just begging for his teeth to end up in his throat

Or maybe he's enjoying playing the game?

You won't find a better team player than Lowe by the way. Munster could certainly do with one or two of them.

To answer your earlier post about Stander. He's absolutely trying to get under Ryan's skin. Jean Kleyn was at it today too. It's the mental side of sport. Those two guys lost so I'm not overly bothered about it because their attempts didn't work.

If you really think Munster don't have lads who try to get under the oppositions skin then you're deluded. Every team has them. James Lowe is ours and we absolutely love him for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

As a Munster fan, if your biggest problem about todays game was JL smiling it says an awful lot of your rugby knowledge.

I’m not miserable, just calling out the ****head elements of your team and supporters.

Decent of you to share your expertise on such an esoteric and highly technical aspect of Pro 14 rugby with us!

I'd happily reciprocate, only that I'd rather not stoop to your level.

kmart6 wrote: »
    They seemed to have words in the handshake line too.

I think Lowe was asking him about where he keeps his medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

And in all probability James Lowe walks away with an even bigger grin on his face after returning said manners with interest.

Squatter wrote: »
    I think Lowe was asking him about where he keeps his medals.

They would be the ones he won with Leinster too

Have to admit, watching lowes little tet a tet today makes me love him even more....

Exactly what you want on a Provincial semi final.....

Imagine getting your knickers in a knot over a player smiling, crikey such snowflakery.

James Lowe is 6ft2 and 105kgs, do you really think he’d be losing his teeth easily.

Any chance you would comment on some of the rugby that was played today ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Lj3ZFk6.jpg

That's an infectious smile