Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cracked co-worker

• 14-05-2019 4:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭

Fella I work with, goes for a few pints at least three times a week, says he has an average of about ten pints a week. Is it me or is that madness? Guy is in his early 30s.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Sounds like you're working with a full-time mad bastard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

So what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Time to find a new job op, this place sounds like too much fun for you!!

Does he go for the few pints while he's at work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Well going by Ray D'Arcy, he's a raging alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

no need to slag him off for being a lightweight OP

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

Fella I work with, goes for a few pints at least three times a week, says he has an average of about ten pints a week. Is it me or is that madness? Guy is in his early 30s.

Sure that's nothing.

Fella I work with, goes for a few pints at least three times a week, says he has an average of about eleven pints a week. Guy is in his mid 30s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

10 pints a night ? or over the whole week ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

10 Pints a week?? thats ****all for going out 3 nights!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

major bill wrote: »
    10 Pints a week?? thats ****all for going out 3 nights!!

Nursing 3 pints over a night hardly worth going out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

He's just sounds similar to somebody drinking a few glasses of wine at home during the week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

10 a week, meh. Bar I frequented very briefly consumption was up to 20 pints day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

A lot of people will joke but it sounds like he's drinking his life away. A man in his early 30s is still fairly young, and there are many healthier hobbies he should be looking into: running, the gym or perhaps he can take up football or handball or something. Much better than sitting in the pub three nights a week or playing video games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    A lot of people will joke but it sounds like he's drinking his life away. A man in his early 30s is still fairly young, and there are many healthier hobbies he should be looking into: running, the gym or perhaps he can take up football or handball or something. Much better than sitting in the pub three nights a week or playing video games.

I run, swim, lift weights & coach Judo and ten pints a week would be an easy week for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I used to drink that in one sitting in the bad old days.

I run, swim, lift weights & coach Judo and ten pints a week would be an easy week for me
    Fair play, hopefully it will never catch up with you when you get to my age. I'm in my fifties and too many of my old friends are struggling with high blood pressure or diabetes thanks to their years of excess.

Are you Dr Ciara Kelly or Dr Ava Orsmond ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Mind your own bloody business. Next you will be telling him when to go for a dump. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Are you Dr Ciara Kelly or Dr Ava?

They should be down the local havin' the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭EarlyStorms

In Ireland having 10 pints a week would be a very moderate drinker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The OP is full of crap. Posted one earlier about the DUP etc . On the wind up.

Are you Dr Ciara Kelly or Dr Ava Orsmond ?
    I don't know who any of those people are. You don't need to be a doctor to know that drinking to excess is bad for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

10 a week sounds like a very European number. They seem to socialise over beer in a way we don't. Couple of beers a few nights a week and they go home. Don't get the point but I think they actually like beer whereas a lot of Irish, beer is just a part of the night out

Also, the person above is an idiot. In a lot of ways socialising over a few beers is a better use of time than a gym workout. The gym is self consumed and a means to an end, its.solitaru and unsociable. Having a pint with some friends and having a laugh is living

*I say that as someone who drinks very rarely but when you think about it, one is much more fulfilling than the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Nursing 3 pints over a night hardly worth going out

If there is football on fair enough, some lads might want to just get out of house, have a couple of pints and go home.

10 pints a week is very moderate though, I'd go out 1 night and have 7 or 8, so maybe what I am doing is worse.

Either way none of our Business, if a man is happy to do what the OP has said that person is doing, leave them to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ah come on, I have ten pints a week easy and I don't even drink.

Fair play, hopefully it will never catch up with you when you get to my age. I'm in my fifties and too many of my old friends are struggling with high blood pressure or diabetes thanks to their years of excess.

I'm 53

Try harder

Seriously though I know a lad I used to work with that would drink 11 or 12 pints and still drive the 5km back home

I don't know who any of those people are. You don't need to be a doctor to know that drinking to excess is bad for you.

You really must live in a bubble then.
    Try and chill a bit have a few drinks, watch a bit of Netflix's in your tracksuit and put away the books!

I'm 53

Try harder
    Try what harder?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We need to get you smoking and drinking woke. I'm going to bring you out to 'Rashers' one night.

Try what harder?

One upmanship and the lecturing.

10 a week sounds like a very European number. They seem to socialise over beer in a way we don't. Couple of beers a few nights a week and they go home. Don't get the point but I think they actually like beer whereas a lot of Irish, beer is just a part of the night out

Also, the person above is an idiot. In a lot of ways socialising over a few beers is a better use of time than a gym workout. The gym is self consumed and a means to an end, its.solitaru and unsociable. Having a pint with some friends and having a laugh is living

*I say that as someone who drinks very rarely but when you think about it, one is much more fulfilling than the other.

It's nice going for a beer or two and not getting ****faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

Try what harder?

I think, he thinks you're looking down on his lifestyle by saying he's doing something wrong and that he'll regret it in his 50's. My guess anyway

SexBobomb wrote: »
    I think, he thinks you're looking down on his lifestyle by saying he's doing something wrong and that he'll regret it in his 50's. My guess anyway
    Well he shouldn't have made it about himself then if he didn't want people to comment on his lifestyle. This is a forum for discussion, not a blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If he has the time and money, work away.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Balanadan wrote: »
    It's nice going for a beer or two and not getting ****faced.

It's good because your week becomes more lived. If you just wait to get ****faced every Saturday, the weeks and months will go by very quickly.
    Going to the pub for a drink, some grub and a chat should be celebrated. That's our culture. Coffee and whatever else are good too but having a beer is something our ancestors have done for hundreds of years and it's a part of the way we socialise.

Well he shouldn't have made it about himself then if he didn't want people to comment on his lifestyle. This is a forum for discussion, not a blog.

A blog in one sentence? You're full of guff. Also, you were in your 'sixties' on another thread. The mask is slipping.

A blog in one sentence? You're full of guff. Also, you were in your sixties on another thread. The mask is slipping.

He's certainly not selling the healthy lifestyle!

A blog in one sentence? You're full of guff. Also, you were in your 'sixties' on another thread. The mask is slipping.
    When did I ever say I was in my sixties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

What job are you in that pays enough to be able to afford 10 pints at the end of a weeks work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Stephen15 wrote: »
    What job are you in that pays enough to be able to afford 10 pints at the end of a weeks work?

It's only €45

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    It's only €45

Maybe Stephen is used to Temple Bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Stephen15 wrote: »
    he must be jeff bezos or something

For I've spent my life working this dirty old ground, for a few pints a Porter and the smell o' a pound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

I hope my Co-workers have better things to be doing than monitoring my alcohol consumption, unless it's affecting my work, it a weird thing for them to do

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I thought the government were always bangin on about 5 a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭skallywag

It's OK to have 8 pints in a week if it's every 3 weeks I guess? But 10 is wrong.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104334569&postcount=147

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Seriously though I know a lad I used to work with that would drink 11 or 12 pints and still drive the 5km back home

ah yea a c u nt i think you call them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

ah yea a c u nt i think you call them.

Plenty of them around.

10 pints a week isn't much for people of a certain age and/or socio-economic profile.

If you're still drinking that much by your mid-20s you're probably not on the fast track to anywhere. Although it's never acknowledged in tabloids or After Hours, there is a huge section of Irish society which simply never goes near a pub. We get married, raise families, have careers, enjoy family events and, generally speaking, the sort of married couples who go to pubs on a quotidian basis would be from poorer, less educated areas.

But this "boring" Ireland doesn't fit into the "The more drunk an Irish person is the more fun he is" narrative embraced by every vacuous aimless imbecile going. The vast majority of drunk Irish people I meet are just overbearingly obnoxious. After 2 or 3 pints, idiocy, not "fun", becomes more pronounced. And if you need alcohol to have "fun"...