Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Garda corruption being investigated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Plus they can never seem to get a mortgage with their nurse girlfriend - even with the cornflakes.

Or expand a property portfolio before retirement. It's awful sad.

Those properties were only resting in my portfolio your honor.

Think you might be missing a fairly important word in there somewhere.

Gold star for you! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Jesus they never seem to get a break.
    Name is fairly blackened

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Can anyone post some statistics on whether the level of corruption in the Gardai is greater or lesser than the level of corruption in police forces in other countries?

As a country, we are among the least corrupt in the world, and have been ranked as that for quite some years.

This is great news, as it shows once again that we have the systems in place to detect corruption and deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,996 ✭✭✭Cordell

Supernintendos never get arrested. This is serious stuff.

What about playstations?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Pissartist wrote: »
    Maurice McCabe is leading the investigation.

In a sense yes...without the heroic police work done by Sgt McCabe arrests like this would never have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

steddyeddy wrote: »
    You're only saying that because you had trouble with the Garda! Anyone who wasn't in trouble with the should overlook the murder framing, lying, businesses on the side and sometimes drug dealing! THEY DO A HARD JOB!!!!

Heard it from several long term Limerick residents, time will tell if true ( assuming they don't cover it up)

Ps

Know your being sarcastic

rusty cole wrote: »
    look when the lead detective who's investigating the most notorious shooting in years, is found dead in ballymun Garda station, under suspicious circumstances, you know it goes very very deep indeed. Lets not forget the whole trial of that Hutch lad collapsed of the back of it. So this and the penalty points scandal and the assassination of Morris McCabe by the Gardaí hierarchy and even the G-Soc phone buggin scandal...it's a fooking joke. Why anyone would want to be part of it is beyond me. Funnily enough big as it is, you hear nothing from Paul Williams about any of it! his pen only works against the blue collars dirt bags!

Williams is a life long AGS shill

This is the tip of the iceberg and it's about time.

Watch now as they try to undermine Drew Harris. The media will also go to bat for the gardai, claiming this is isolated to the mid-west region.

Even leaving aside Williams, the Irish media have always been deferential to the guards to a dangerous degree

blanch152 wrote: »
    Can anyone post some statistics on whether the level of corruption in the Gardai is greater or lesser than the level of corruption in police forces in other countries?

As a country, we are among the least corrupt in the world, and have been ranked as that for quite some years.

This is great news, as it shows once again that we have the systems in place to detect corruption and deal with it.
    No prosecutions: 'See, we're not corrupt!'
    Corruption prosecutions: 'See, were' not corrupt!'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

bear1 wrote: »
    Jesus they never seem to get a break.
    Name is fairly blackened

They were untouchable for years and even came very close to burying McCabe who is a national hero now.
    Power corrupts. They will reap what they have sown for many years. Tip of the iceberg I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Do you know what I would like to see?
    Cops on the beat.

I've been to 2 large Irish cities recently (not Dublin), and the amount of unemployed, but obviously fit (because they were wearing tracksuits), young rat-like men having complete control of the city centres was mind boggling.
    They had complete autonomy of these areas; intimidating and harassing people who dare to be in the vicinity.
    And not a damn cop in sight.

Put cops back on Irish streets.
    At least pretend that there is a visual deterrent.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Kivaro wrote: »
    Cops on the beat.

I've been to 2 large Irish cities recently (not Dublin), and the amount of unemployed, but obviously fit (because they were wearing tracksuits), young rat-like men having complete control of the city centres was mind boggling.
    They had complete autonomy of these areas; intimidating and harassing people who dare to be in the vicinity.

Can't do that, that is too sensible a suggestion and it will cost money. We all know in this country if it is going to cost money that is good for country then the people in charge of the budgets wont approve but if its not in the good of the country but will give supporters of say the government party and nice little earner then they are all for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Cops on the beat.

You want these young rat-like men to become Gardai??:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭Floppybits

You want these young rat-like men to become Gardai??:confused:

There is some good in those rat like young men. They can be turned to the force. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

oranova wrote: »
    What is the story with the Garda ranks? Currently they are:

Commissioner
    Deputy Commissioner
    Assistant Commissioner
    Chief Superintendent
    Superintendent
    Inspector
    Sergeant
    Garda

Why is the lowest rank called Garda and not Constable? Why is the rank of Chief Inspector not included? Also, the top ranks need to be reorganised in a fashion similar to the Met Police. This is what the ranks should look like:

Commissioner
    Deputy Commissioner
    Assistant Commissioner
    Deputy Assistant Commissioner
    Commander
    Deputy Commander
    Chief Superintendent
    Superintendent
    Chief Inspector
    Inspector
    Sergeant
    Constable

michael-collins-rea-screenshot1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,594 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Cops on the beat.

They're seemingly on the beat now in Waterford.

Relations in that part of the world said the word has come down from on high to get them out.
    Passing by myself and I spotted a Garda and a Garda reserve with a yellow jacket out on the beat on the street near the park.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Explain what is wrong with my suggestion please.

You haven't said why it would be any better than the current setup. Could well be, but you haven't said why.

Look at the UK police forces? Some of them controlling the size of County Louth but they still have the ranks that I have suggested.

Also, Constable is the title in many police forces worldwide for the lowest ranking officer. Garda is the name of our police force, and Constable/Detective Constable sounds much more professional than Garda/Detective Garda, also it distunguishes the rank, Constable is the lowest rank whereas Garda could be referring to any person in the force, thus you have to refer to them as 'rank-and-file Garda' instead of just being simple and straightforward and just saying 'Constable'.

A lame effort on your part. 1/10.

blanch152 wrote: »

I remember year ago hearing on the radio that with the exception of some south american countries, we were considered quite corrupt. There was some independent agency who checked and that seemed to be the case. I remember this because I was in my car laughing having seen some Columbia cops dragging a guy from the road and shooting him. Apparently he didn't pay them money for one reason or another but I laughed because we were even being mentioned in the same sentence. We see it as cute whorism etc but with all the tribunerals and as we're discussing the gardai now, we'd be some shower. sure look at even how the central bank regulator simply didn't regulate in the pre crash era and even and how Europe have to step in so the insurers can be reigned in from acting as a cartel... it's laughable but it's true, the shyte that we allow to go on.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,012 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Some people don’t seem to know what they want.
    They complain about corruption in the Garda.
    When the Garda investigate and arrest people they complain more.
    Investigations take time and these three have not been convicted yet but fair play to those officers doing the investigating. Hope they’re successful in their efforts to find wrong doers.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

This definitely sounds like a positive step.
    Why is the lowest rank called Garda and not Constable?

Because we’re Irish and not English? I assume that it’s because of the legacy of the Royal Irish constabulary who were seen as an English influence in ireland -influence in Ireland and whose members were targeted in the Irish War of Independence. Naming the Gardaí was important to the recognition of our new police force.
    Also, the top ranks need to be reorganised in a fashion similar to the Met Police.
    why do you think this change is required?

For all we know, it's window dressing and there's worse going on so they need to look pro-active. The Gardaí also investigate themselves, sure even that crap with O Sullivan losing countless phones required in evidence and her hubby burning 6 bags of files!! when that's goin on at senior level, is it any wonder some are selling coke or getting filmed riding CARLA for GARDA in the very uniform they're supposed to uphold! I'd say the hutches had something on that senior detective and told him to kill the case or he'd be found out. Knowing he couldn't do the latter, he ate a bullet perhaps.. I mean this in itself is HUGE, it's bigger and more newsworthy than any DJ moonlight, no disrespect to the dead intended.
    The day after that case was settled, the INDO had 22 pages on it!! they just love a tragedy ending morbid love triangle!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Individuals will be corrupt, organisations must have mechanisms in place to overcome it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

My understanding is that this is about the Kinnahans and the Gardai turning a blind eye to their drug routes and channels. The country is awash with cocaine so there has to be collusion somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭pah

xckjoo wrote: »
    You haven't said why it would be any better than the current setup. Could well be, but you haven't said why.

Did you actually feed this?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

My understanding is that this is about the Kinnahans and the Gardai turning a blind eye to their drug routes and channels. The country is awash with cocaine so there has to be collision somewhere.

Smashed off of their faces altogether.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

archer22 wrote: »
    In a sense yes...without the heroic police work done by Sgt McCabe arrests like this would never have happened.

Heroic ? lolz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Doc07

My understanding is that this is about the Kinnahans and the Gardai turning a blind eye to their drug routes and channels. The country is awash with cocaine so there has to be collision somewhere.

Large scale drugs in any country can only exist with collusion of police(only a small minority possibly required) , legal and financial services. Follow the money like they said in ‘the Wire’.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,098 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Apparently they were taking bribes from the fellas that were robbing the ATM's.