Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

No point in trying to better yourself is there ?

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

Blaizes wrote: »
    Crazy really, they can't even get the basics right! Pity the next generation too.

Is not all doom and gloom, plans are afoot to increase the Irish housing supply to 4 times current capacity.

Oh hang on, I got mixed up there. It's actually a new Hadron Collider that is four times the size of the last one they are planning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Blaizes wrote:
    Op never said anything about living within walking distance of his work, he just wants a decent place to live, hardly an unreasonable demand.

The OP is a teacher, 28 weeks of the year in a classroom. His money will go further outside of the city. He seems to think he is 'entitled' to a home where he works.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 415 ✭✭johnmck

The OP is a teacher, 28 weeks of the year in a classroom. His money will go further outside of the city. He seems to think he is 'entitled' to a home where he works.

So I'd be more entitled to one if I sat on me home, smoking John Player and putting a few bets on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Hardtochoose

Dublin needs teachers, guards, nurses etc. if they all moved down the country the city would grind to a halt. There needs to be affordable houses in Dublin for the likes of the OP.
    Such a horrible sneering attitude you seem to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

BattleCorp wrote: »
    And most of the advice has been to either house share or move further out of the capital and commute.

The OP has a good job, so it shouldn't be too difficult to put a roof over his head.

It's not a good situation for him though if you read throug the ops opening posts.In the UK he would be called a key worker and accommodation would be available to him within a reasonable distance of his place of work, this was at least the case when I worked there. Salaries of teachers are also higher in places like London for key workers as an extra allowance is given to take into account ct higher accommodation costs.Something like this is needed here or we could face a situation where we don't have adequate staff for our hospitals, schools etc in the Dublin area, who knows maybe even other cities too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Well that went over your head. The council estates are ghettos. What caused the worst areas in the country were/are council estates. You will be pushed to find any area built by the councils that are consider even vaguely nice.

They should never create a dumping ground for people reliant on the state ever again. We are still dealing with the mistakes made in the past 50 years later.

If we don't build council housing estates, where do we put people who want social housing?

Honest question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Hobosan wrote: »
    I'm just having laugh. We're landing probes on asteroids and using the large hadron collider, yet we just can't seem to master the art of providing homes.

It's a funny situation!

It's ideology that prevents people being housed. The bankrupt new Irish State solved it's housing crisis in the 30s and again in the 60s with social housing, we need a better version of that to avoid the issues brought up but basically we have the money and the technical know how. But we're ideologically opposed to housing the population, too socialist, we all became plastic yankees with individualist values in the boom times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well that went over your head. The council estates are ghettos. What caused the worst areas in the country were/are council estates. You will be pushed to find any area built by the councils that are consider even vaguely nice.

No there are loads in Dublin, even in places like Dalkey, Clontarf, Raheny etc. I would imagine the reason is they were eventually sold to private buyers so the type of people living there changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Blaizes wrote: »
    There isn't though, I posted a while back on another thread about a couple I know both working who couldn't find a place to live.Thirty, forty people in a queue to view one house in a town in rural Ireland I couldn't believe it There was a Daft report in the news recently just around three thousand places to rent in the whole country.

Daft isn't the bible you know! Maybe some rural towns have a bit of a shortage but plenty have housing available to be bought and done up. Local enquiries would often work better as places not necessarily advertised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I don't see things in Dublin changing as long as there's people who are happy that even with a good job you can't afford to live in the city. I moved away from Ireland long ago but I hear these stories more and more lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

johnmck wrote: »
    I finish teaching at 4, that doesn't mean I finish working at 4. Some nights I dont finish working some nights until 10pm , with marking , prepping etc. You've not worked in education, so you wouldn't know the additional work that goes on outside the classroom

What do you teach? I had teachers, and I don't say they were the best educators but they certainly were good at doing their work within school hours.
    If they had good control over the class, they could set an assignment to work on in class, while marking any exams that needed to be marked during class hours.

Prepping for the first time you have a year (e.g. 5th year, Higher level) takes a while, but once you have your lesson plans and handouts in a big folder, you basically just have to turn up to teach.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,603 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's a subject that can easily make one miserable by spending too much time thinking about it. I'm trying to be more positive as I get older.

I live in London where the situation is no better. Any houses where I live are well over a million pounds and they're just bog standard houses. Nothing special at all. It's really crappy as people in their thirties should be thinking about whether or not to have children instead of languishing in crummy house shares.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Dublin needs teachers, guards, nurses etc. if they all moved down the country the city would grind to a halt. There needs to be affordable houses in Dublin for the likes of the OP. Such a horrible sneering attitude you seem to have.

Thousands of people commute everyday myself included is it above public sector workers to do the same?

I live in London where the situation is no better. Any houses where I live are well over a million pounds and they're just bog standard houses. Nothing special at all. It's really crappy as people in their thirties should be thinking about whether or not to have children instead of languishing in crummy house shares.

Only 4 years ago I had a one bedroom place for 900 pounds a month in South London which was quite nice. 20 min walk from tube and 27 min cycle to Oxford Circus where I worked. You wouldn't get anything like it here now, but I assume London has gotten worse in the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

I've been out of work now for the best part of 3 years now..done countless courses ..and I can't get a job for love nor money..its seems when you reach a certain age no one wants to know you, very disheartening

frosty123 wrote: »
    I've been out of work now for the best part of 3 years now..done countless courses ..and I can't get a job for love nor money..its seems when you reach a certain age no one wants to know you, very disheartening

Keep plugging away. Something will turn up.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,603 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Only 4 years ago I had a one bedroom place for 900 pounds a month in South London which was quite nice. 20 min walk from tube and 27 min cycle to Oxford Circus where I worked. You wouldn't get anything like it here now, but I assume London has gotten worse in the last few years.

That's pretty fortunate. I'd say there's been maybe a hundred added to that rate for the same thing now.

Like, I've seen shared ownership schemes where you buy 60% of a flat and rent the remaining 40%. Then there's the English ground rent nonsense. I can't see how none of the politicians here realize how unsustainable this is.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

No there are loads in Dublin, even in places like Dalkey, Clontarf, Raheny etc. I would imagine the reason is they were eventually sold to private buyers so the type of people living there changed.
    All the worst areas in those areas. Edenmore in Raheny being a very easy one to spot. Your best defense of them is they are nice because privately owned now which proves my point further.

Areas need to be mixed and not dumping grounds as they have been in the past. The fact social housing was sold is a huge issue. Guess who wanted that, the public as they saw it fair people could buy the homes they lived in. People sold for huge profits.

Never forget social housing was built as replacement for tenements. By selling it off social housing stock was lost forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

Thousands of people commute everyday myself included is it above public sector workers to do the same?

It is. I have to walk to each of my teachers houses for lessons, as they refuse to commute to work.

I should have finished school at 18, but since their homes are such a long distance away, I won't be finished secondary education until I'm 94. I'm 57 and currently walking to Limerick for a Junior Cert maths lesson tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

It's a subject that can easily make one miserable by spending too much time thinking about it. I'm trying to be more positive as I get older.

Hopefully Brexit knocks a few hundred grand from those prices ;)

Areas need to be mixed and not dumping grounds as they have been in the past. The fact social housing was sold is a huge issue. Guess who wanted that, the public as they saw it fair people could buy the homes they lived in. People sold for huge profits.

Fecked if I would want to burst my balls working and spend my life savings on a nice house in a housing estate only to have the local council dump the contents of a halting site into the house beside me.

And I make absolutely no apologies for that attitude.

That's pretty fortunate. I'd say there's been maybe a hundred added to that rate for the same thing now.

Like, I've seen shared ownership schemes where you buy 60% of a flat and rent the remaining 40%. Then there's the English ground rent nonsense. I can't see how none of the politicians here realize how unsustainable this is.

tbh I never had trouble getting places to live in London, but from what I'm reading about the market here now it's a total disaster.

Edenmore in Raheny being a very easy onell the worst areas in those areas...

I might live there myself... It's actually grand, just a few local gurriers but it's deathly quiet at night and close to some really great stuff like the sea and parks etc. When I was a kid it was way worse, but honestly it's a bloody bargain now for what I paid for it, and most of the houses are being sold to good people these days, barring a few, most of the loonies who used to live there are dead and buried. I'd much rather be there than further out in a not as "rustic" area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Fecked if I would want to burst my balls working and spend my life savings on a nice house in a housing estate only to have the local council dump the contents of a halting site into the house beside me.

And most of us wouldnt look for an apology either. But I know plenty hard working people in council houses who hate that they havent the income to get out and leave the estate to the dirtbirds who prey on them.

Fair enough but don't be surprised by anybody else's attitude about other people. My cousin is a plasterer and through his dealings he was able to buy a very expensive house in a very expensive area. The residents dont like the fact he has a work van visible on the street whether parked in the drive or road. The won't talk to him and he claims they are just up themselves. In reality he can't have a conversation without cursing so I would say it is more to do with that.

I would guess you would think that is just snobbery but it is no different to your view.

Edenmore in Raheny being a very easy onell the worst areas in those areas...

I might live there myself... It's actually grand, just a few local gurriers but it's deathly quiet at night and close to some really great stuff like the sea and parks etc. When I was a kid it was way worse, but honestly it's a bloody bargain now for what I paid for it, and most of the houses are being sold to good people these days, barring a few, most of the loonies who used to live there are dead and buried. I'd much rather be there than further out in a not as "rustic" area.
    Go for it only 2 shootings there this year that I recall so it has gotten quite for sure. It is a bargin because it is so rough and the state the houses are in the area. If you have kids would you really feel they are safe there? I have family and work colleagues who live there but they all admit it is still rough. Roddy Doyle based his books on the area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 415 ✭✭johnmck

frosty123 wrote: »

Really sorry to hear that. Hope you find something suitable soon. Never give up

Go for it only 2 shootings there this year that I recall so it has gotten quite for sure. It is a bargin because it is so rough and the state the houses are in the area. If you have kids would you really feel they are safe there? I have family and work colleagues who live there but they all admit it is still rough. Roddy Doyle based his books on the area.

Pretty sure he based it on Kilbarrack. I have 2 friends that live in the area with kids and they're doing fine. Some known local gobsh*te went into the pizza place and shot at people for some reason that's right.
    The state of the houses, thanks m8. Mine is actually quite nice. Some of the ones refurbed and sold recently are as good as it gets really. It's only a few streets really surrounded by good areas. Raheny village and dart are a 10 min walk away too.
    Where do you live?

Away from council housing estates strange there are no nutters locally shooting up businesses here.
    If you can't see the area is rundown then it suits you fine. Wouldn't live there myself even though it close to so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

topper75 wrote: »
    You are not seeing your opportunities OP and only see crisis - each and every one of those kids you are teaching buys drugs.
    Why can't the dealer be you?
    Most dealers would kill (probably even literally) for market access like yours.
    In 18 months you'll be turning the key in the door of your Killiney mansion.
    You won't have just bettered yourself; you'll have bested yourself. *exhales doobie smoke*

This made me laugh out loud.ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭cgcsb

The cheapest house available in the area is on for more than a quarter of a million euro :pac:

Away from council housing estates strange there are no nutters locally shooting up businesses here.
    If you can't see the area is rundown then it suits you fine. Wouldn't live there myself even though it close to so much.

I consider myself extremely privileged at the moment to live there in peace with a small mortgage, so I'm happy as Larry. I have friends mortgaged up to the nines who bought in the last boom from my area living up in Balbriggan etc, f*ck that. I suppose I grew up nearby so these type of places are normal to me. You mustn't have been there in a while though, half the houses have been done up to a high standard lately and there's always work been done.
    You're coming across as a bit of a snowflake I have to say.

cgcsb wrote: »
    The cheapest house available in the area is on for more than a quarter of a million euro :pac:

Honestly if you knew the area it's a bargain compared to what they charge for areas with far less to offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I have heard that Edenmore used to be terrible in the 70s/80s but that it has improved greatly since.

Admittedly I'm not from Dublin, but when it comes to areas as bad as described, I only hear of the usual suspects (don't need to list them) but never Edenmore.

I lived in Santry, and covered Edenmore when running - seemed grand.

Fair enough but don't be surprised by anybody else's attitude about other people. My cousin is a plasterer and through his dealings he was able to buy a very expensive house in a very expensive area. The residents dont like the fact he has a work van visible on the street whether parked in the drive or road. The won't talk to him and he claims they are just up themselves. In reality he can't have a conversation without cursing so I would say it is more to do with that.

I would guess you would think that is just snobbery but it is no different to your view.

I've no problems with plasterers or people who swear during a conversation. I've been known to swear on occasion myself. I do however have a problem with living next door to the contents of a halting site.

I consider myself extremely privileged at the moment to live there in peace with a small mortgage, so I'm happy as Larry. I have friends mortgaged up to the nines who bought in the last boom from my area living up in Balbriggan etc, f*ck that. I suppose I grew up nearby so these type of places are normal to me. You mustn't have been there in a while though, half the houses have been done up to a high standard lately and there's always work been done.
    You're coming across as a bit of a snowflake I have to say.
    I was there 6 months ago and it is still rundown. Improved but still rundown. The shops are a complete eyesore. Half the houses are still rundown. The improvements to the area are because people are moving away. It is still 30 years away from being gentrified. For me to be a snowflake I would need to be a lot younger by about 25 years. You not seeing the area in a neutral way is the issue here. It is and has always been a rough spot. I have family living there and know it very well. Not saying nice people are absent from there

I am also quite happy with my small mortgage that I can pay off in 2 years. It doesn't make any difference on the area I live.

Yeah the shops are an eyesore I'd love to see it razed, but it's greatly improved and for people like me with a limited budget I think I did really well. I'd never be able to live in a really nice part of Dublin that's as close to the dart and se sea or town, f*cking EVER, so I have to make the most of what I have, and it's actually pretty great. Tell your fam their neighbour the Monk says hello (not that Monk)

I have heard that Edenmore used to be terrible in the 70s/80s but that it has improved greatly since.

Admittedly I'm not from Dublin, but when it comes to areas as bad as described, I only hear of the usual suspects (don't need to list them) but never Edenmore.

I lived in Santry, and covered Edenmore when running - seemed grand.
    That seems like a very weird run to do are you sure? Why would you run down to a housing estate miles and miles away from where you are living as opposed to the lovely park in Santry and around a few times. You really would be going out of your way to run to Edenmore and avoiding nice runs to get there. Seems really odd thing to do

Why is it odd he'd run down springdale road? maybe towards the sea? or maybe cut through from tonlegee to get to the st anns? Why on Earth would he bother making up stories about running through edenmore anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭PHG

I find this suspect. I have been living in South London on and off for the last 7 years and there every 2/3 weeks with an interest to buy next year. I was meant to rent there 2 months ago again and decent one beds now coming in at 1100/1200 min.

Was it 900 because it came unfurnished, which is an additional cost in itself.

I am referring to areas like Tooting, Brixton, Streatham etc., essentially Northern and Victoria Lines. Did you mean East/ South East London like Poplar?

Why has this thread become about Edenmore ?

PHG wrote: »
    I find this suspect. I have been living in South London on and off for the last 7 years and there every 2/3 weeks with an interest to buy next year. I was meant to rent there 2 months ago again and decent one beds now coming in at 1100/1200 min.

Was it 900 because it came unfurnished, which is an additional cost in itself.

I am referring to areas like Tooting, Brixton, Streatham etc., essentially Northern and Victoria Lines. Did you mean East/ South East London like Poplar?

Coldharbour Lane, the Camberwell end. Why would I lie? This was 4 years ago bruv.

Why has this thread become about Edenmore ?

Because it’s an affordable area what’s a bit naughty or something. Let’s move on though please.

Yeah the shops are an eyesore I'd love to see it razed, but it's greatly improved and for people like me with a limited budget I think I did really well. I'd never be able to live in a really nice part of Dublin that's as close to the dart and se sea or town, f*cking EVER, so I have to make the most of what I have, and it's actually pretty great. Tell your fam their neighbour the Monk says hello (not that Monk)
    Which is perfectly fine and my first house was bought on similar grounds and an ex corporate house. When we moved we realised how we got accustomed to the bad area. Simple things like being able to ask teenagers not to sit on your wall without it turning into a series of threats were revelations. No teenagers hanging around the shop making vague threats etc...we had gotten used to all of that but now not even a vague concern. Peaceful living

But to me Edenmore looks like this
    22 Edenmore Park
    https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZkNHCCnBgVM8mQEG7

Rundown houses with rusting satellite dishes with the odd house done up but normally in a gaudi way with fake pillars trying to look like Dallas. Quick rule of thumb if any neighbour has the "Lady on the Rock" statue in their window you live in a rough area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I genuinely do sympathise with you and your situation but why did you settle in Dublin? You appear to be single and so can/could move anywhere. I realise you now have a permanent job but that permanent job is not worth a Shiite when you have no-where to live. Move down/up the country and you will easily be able to afford a nice house/home to buy/rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭chicorytip

johnmck wrote:
    If they're not work shy , then what are they ? Tell us all, please

People genuinely seeking work, people who are unable to work due to long term illness or disability (mental illness and addiction can be categorised thus), people who have a genuine housing need which they cannot provide for themselves from their own resources. Those are three examples for you. It may well have been the case, in the past, that some would regard signing on and claiming benefits for life as an attractive career choice despite being perfectly fit and able to take up employment somewhere.Those days are long gone. It's simply no longer possible.

Which is perfectly fine and my first house was bought on similar grounds and an ex corporate house. When we moved we realised how we got accustomed to the bad area. Simple things like being able to ask teenagers not to sit on your wall without it turning into a series of threats were revelations. No teenagers hanging around the shop making vague threats etc...we had gotten used to all of that but now not even a vague concern. Peaceful living

But to me Edenmore looks like this
    22 Edenmore Park
    https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZkNHCCnBgVM8mQEG7

Rundown houses with rusting satellite dishes with the odd house done up but normally in a gaudi way with fake pillars trying to look like Dallas. Quick rule of thumb if any neighbour has the "Lady on the Rock" statue in their window you live in a rough area.

Alright thanks for pointing out how much of a dive i live in mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

OP would you consider living in another country or this that not an option? You could make really good money in Asia or the Middle East and not be worrying about making rent or finding somewhere to live.

Alright thanks for pointing out how much of a dive i live in mate
    It is what it is no point lying about it. If it was full of doctors and lawyers we'd be talking about that. It patently isn't full of highly paid professionals.