Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

smurgen wrote: »
    I absolutely cannot see why anyone would vote against that bill.

I can't see how absolutely anyone could have tried to sue a hotel for negligence, because they thought the laws of gravity were beneath them either, but these are the kind of cretins we have in govt.

Anyone got a contact email that a concerned citizen could write to in an effort to find try and find out when we will know the conclusion of this report?

I'm sure some of the posters here could directly help you. There's even a photo somewhere of the Fine Gael social media team hard at work, and a regular Boards user couldn't resist telling us he was in the photo.

'Fine Gael, Social Media Creative Specialist': 'The Troll of a Lifetime'

A gorgeous irony:
    'Josepha Madigan, the Fine Gael Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, has stated that unless social media is regulated, it “could pose one of the biggest threats to western democracy”.' (Bryan Wall, 'Unsocial Media'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

I see that FG and the Independents in govt voted against the "tip theft bill" yesterday evening.

I seen a couple of photos of the names members of the Dail who voted against it on various social media platforms.

Unfortunately for Maria, the names are in Alphabetical order. "Maria Bailey" being the very first name most people will see when they read it.

Speaking of lists.....

Scroll down to the bottom of the following article

I have long suspected that the power struggle continues within FG. I also suspected that this whole hanging a colleague out to dry actually came from within the party itself. The timing of the leaking of the story coincided with local elections and bad government performance. I believe it served as a possible smokescreen.

Have a look at the divides. Who was whose side. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

STB. wrote: »
    Speaking of lists.....

I have long suspected that the power struggle continues within FG. I also suspected that this whole hanging a colleague out to dry actually came from within the party itself. The timing of the leaking of the story coincided with local elections and bad government performance. I believe it served as a possible smokescreen.

I see Alan Farrell supported Leo

STB. wrote: »
    Speaking of lists.....

Crucially, we see Coveney picking up votes from TDs, senators, and MEPs from all over the country, even in Dublin, where we figure he could pick up at least seven votes.

Those seven are Maria Bailey of Dun Laoghaire, former TD and now senator James Reilly (deputy leader), Dun Laoghaire TD and former ceann comhairle SeBarrett, junior health minister Catherine Byrne, Josepha Madigan of Dublin Rathdown, Tiste Frances Fitzgerald, and Dublin Bay South’s Kate O’Connell.

Mmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

There hasn’t been a post on this thread for fifteen hours! So lads , if I’m out in Sophie’s tomorrow , any tips so that I don’t injure myself on the swing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Idbatterim wrote:
    There hasn’t been a post on this thread for fifteen hours! So lads , if I’m out in Sophie’s tomorrow , any tips so that I don’t injure myself on the swing?

Just behave like a functioning adult.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

Idbatterim wrote: »

hardly worth your while going if you don't fall off it these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

Idbatterim wrote: »

Just remember HUMANITY HAS BEEN CROSSED...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

So the report is not really about what happened when bumbling Maria landed on her arse, it's about finding out who let it be known that she made a very dodgy claim for her clumsiness.

Nothing to do with honisty or openness it's about protecting FG.

It's the biggest problems in Irish politics "party über alles"

From today's Indo.
    Taoiseach Leo Varadkar is attempting to find out how information about Maria Bailey’s compensation claim made its way into the public domain.

An internal Fine Gael probe is looking for the source who Ms Bailey has claimed set out to cause “maximum damage”. The Dún Laoghaire TD dropped her lawsuit over a fall from a swing after the Irish Independent revealed she had run a 10km race within three weeks of the incident.

Mr Varadkar and a string of senior ministers have said the controversy in the final days of the local election campaign hurt the party at the polls. He hired senior counsel David Kennedy “to establish all the facts” around the case before deciding whether Ms Bailey should be sanctioned by the party.

His report was expected to be finalised last week but sources say it could be another fortnight before it is delivered to the Taoiseach. It has now emerged that as part of his work Mr Kennedy is trying to find out whether somebody within Fine Gael was involved in leaking the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭liam7831

Old news don't thing anyone gives a sh1t anymore

So the report is not really about what happened when bumbling Maria landed on her arse, it's about finding out who let it be known that she made a very dodgy claim for her clumsiness.

Nothing to do with honesty or openness it's about protecting FG.

It's the biggest problems in Irish politics "party über alles"

From today's Indo.

Said it from day one - the law and order trousering party only give a chit about insurance fraud if it's committed against one of their own.

Commited by one of their own? Well that's a different matter entirely.

Only sorry that the plebs found out, party of pontificating hypocritical asshats.

From the article:
    "I wonder can you tell me how you heard about the case, and obtained a copy of the pleadings?" Mr Kennedy wrote.

This newspaper will not be co-operating with Fine Gael's attempt to expose potential sources linked to the story.

Madigan:
    The investigation is also understood to be looking at what role, if any, Culture Minister Josepha Madigan played in the lawsuit.

Ms Bailey was represented by her brother's law firm, where the minister worked at the time of the incident.

During her radio interview, Ms Bailey claimed that she "put every faith in that legal system. And I was told I had a clear cut case".

Ms Madigan has refused to say whether she provided any advice to her colleague prior to leaving the law firm in June 2017.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Only sorry that the plebs found out, party of pontificating arseholes.

The same plebs will continue to vote for the same arseholes just like they’ve always done.

Unfortunately for the rest of us, the country gets the government it deserves.

The only way to break (and fix) our broken political system is for people to stop voting for mainstream parties all of whom have proven themselves to be completely corrupt, incompetent and lacking in ability to do the job.

But of course the plebs mentioned above seem to enjoy being shafted by their overlords as they keep voting them back in regardless so it’ll never actually happen.

I’d rather be ruled by the Germans at this stage.

liam7831 wrote: »

That's exactly what FG want, not too sure they'll get it this time though. Too many individuals and small businesses being badly affected by insurance prices.

But who let the plebs know, that's what's important.

To Leo.

I’d rather be ruled by the Germans at this stage.

If the rumours about Deutsche Bank are true the Germans might have enough of their own troubles to contend with.

The Indo have another insurance related tale on their pages this morning.
    Mr Ward (43), a satellite installer of Rivercrest, Tuam, Co Galway, is suing his wife, Geraldine McDonagh, over the accident near Athlone in January 2016 when the couple had returned from visiting a grandparent's grave and had also collected three of their nephews on the way home. Aviva, Ms McDonagh's insurers, are fighting the case.

Noel McCarthy SC, for the insurers and the defendant, said he will be making an application next month to have the case struck out on the basis it is a fraudulent or exaggerated claim. Mr Fortune told the court yesterday he had acted for Mr Ward in 2014 in relation to a previous accident and had only met him three times in all before this case.

Leo needn't be codding himself that he's not surrounded by TDs and minister's of the same calibre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

The Independent is latching onto this story like a dog to a bone and is definitely not letting go. The newspaper will regain the respect of the population again if it continues with the reporting of the audacious misuse of power (corruption and fraudulent actions etc.) by government TDs and officials.

Also, from this morning's article:
    Mr Varadkar and a string of senior ministers have said the controversy in the final days of the local election campaign hurt the party at the polls. He hired senior counsel David Kennedy “to establish all the facts” around the case before deciding whether Ms Bailey should be sanctioned by the party.
    I have to presume that it is us, the Irish tax payer, who are paying for the esteemed senior counsel Mr. Kennedy and his staff during this now protracted investigation. Maybe the Independent could find out the total financial cost to the people of Ireland when this probe is complete. The reputational cost to the country has been high, as it shows to the world how we have the foxes guarding the henhouse.

The Indo have another insurance related tale on their pages this morning.

Leo needn't be codding himself that he's not surrounded by TDs and minister's of the same calibre.

From this story: A solicitor has accepted responsibility for failing to "twig" a client had informed him of two previous accidents following a consultation about suing in relation to a third, the High Court heard.

It is a classic example of how the legal profession in Ireland is complicit in the fraudulent claim system that we have in this country.
    This particular solicitor, Garrett Fortune (what an apt name for this man), was hauled before the judge after he had forgotten about the previous claims by his client. The solicitor said that there was not a snowball's chance of him recognizing his client from the other claims, because he only met him three times.
    I will tell you about a snowball's chance; there is not a snowball's chance of Mr. Fortune being sanctioned by the law society or the courts for his "forgetfulness" in this case.
    Rotten to the core from the top to the bottom is the compensation culture in Ireland.

Not sure I agree.

I think Leo has badly miscalculated the anger out there on this one as rising insurance costs affect almost everyone in the country to some degree and has a massive impact on small and medium business.

That said I’m enjoying watching Leo further destroy any legacy he might have had as he continues to dig his own political grave on this one.

Please keep doing nothing Leo.

And thanks.

If the rumours about Deutsche Bank are true the Germans might have enough of their own troubles to contend with.

They could always blackmail the paddy’s into bailing them out like last time.

Just give us a very expensive loan and we’ll
    pay it back on their behalf seems to be the model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

FG being FG. It's not about what she did, it's about finding the leak. They seem to have p!seed off someone in the indo though which is absolutely hilarious

• Registered Users Posts: 8,033 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Not sure I agree.

I think Leo has badly miscalculated the anger out there on this one as rising insurance costs affect almost everyone in the country to some degree and has a massive impact on small and medium business.

That said I’m enjoying watching Leo further destroy any legacy he might have had as he continues to dig his own political grave on this one.

Please keep doing nothing Leo.

And thanks.

My sentiments exactly.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

They could always blackmail the paddy’s into bailing them out like last time.

Just give us a very expensive loan and we’ll
    pay it back on their behalf seems to be the model.

We / the gubberment paid seven billion euro i interest on servicing the national debt last year. That is 7000,000,000.00 euro. Wait until interest rates rise. Of course Leo and his lover will be long gone with a fat 6 figure pension at that stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

janfebmar wrote: »
    We / the gubberment paid seven billion euro i interest on servicing the national debt last year. That is 7000,000,000.00 euro. Wait until interest rates rise. Of course Leo and his lover will be long gone with a fat 6 figure pension at that stage.

‘His lover’ ?

Eh what?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Are you kidding ?. The entire fg shower will find out exactly how many sh1t's we give ,come the next GE. Veruka more interested in finding a 'mole'than punishing the culprit.

And in his ultra arrogant way, not even attempting to make it look like he gives a fiddlers about the dodgy claims by his team, it's protect the party and march on.

Maria Bailey and that latest indo article trending on twitter.

People full aware and angry they’re looking for the leak not trying to address the problem.

It really isn’t going away and Leo/FG have really screwed up the handling of it.
    It’s going to bite them on the bum hard and soon I’d say.

It's absolutely hilarious to see the Indo do a volte-face on FG. Who exactly in FG p*ssed off the editor, maybe Mr Kennedy should investigate that next. What is it 3 weeks now this is rumbling on?

Its brilliant tho and seemed to happen overnight as soon as DOB no longer had investment / ownership.

That alone tells you something.

Maria Bailey and that latest indo article trending on twitter.

People full aware and angry they’re looking for the leak not trying to address the problem.

It really isn’t going away and Leo/FG have really screwed up the handling of it.
    It’s going to bite them on the bum hard and soon I’d say.
    Varadkar is either so detached from the public that he has no idea that these types of actions only exasperate the situation, or he is just totally incompetent. Either way, he is coming out very badly in his effort to protect his fraudster colleague.