Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,517 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

jon1981 wrote: »
    Here's the question for Leo:

What if she refuses to stand down? Can she be fired? If she's fired, on what grounds? FG would have to be extremely careful because Bailey could take a case and we all know she has experience in taking cases against people!). So FG may have no option but to wait until the next election.

nobody can 'fire' her

she can be removed from the Parliamentary Party

Can’t wait for the news at 1pm on RTÉ to replay this.
    This story shows no sign of dying. FG need to find a way of killing this quickly.

You can listen to it here https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/0527/1051931-maria-bailey/

Virgin Media news saying FG were not aware she was doing the interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

She managed to withdraw her claim and somehow make herself look even worse due to her doubling down in that car crash of an interview. Quite the feat.

"Humanity has been crossed".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,322 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Madigan pimpin her business around the Dáil :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

lawred2 wrote: »
    nobody can 'fire' her

she can be removed from the Parliamentary Party

Isn't that pretty much the same thing? Or would she still hold her seat, albeit as an independent?

Isn't that pretty much the same thing?

With pay

Isn't that pretty much the same thing?

No. She's a TD. That can't be taken from her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

We need more women in politics, they are more transparent and honest, the media and feminists say. #LOL

lawred2 wrote: »
    No. She's a TD. That can't be taken from her.

So she'd become an independent?

pretty much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Is there a mechanism for the electorate in her constitutency to force a by-election?

She fails to see that it is her own dishonesty that has painted the target on her own back. Nothing else. The waffle about dark campaigns to take her down is hilarious.. She's a nobody. She's not newsworthy in any sense.

What has made her newsworthy is how her greed, dishonesty, arrogance and hubris has undone her. Her own actions.

"very clear about my values"

indeed

Is there a mechanism for the electorate in her constitutency to force a by-election?

I was just thinking that, many would have voted for her also because of the FG membership. If she's kicked out then...

Though I still think LV would need solid grounds to kick her out. She hasn't been convicted of fraud so that can't really be used against her. But what can given what we know?

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Lads, laaaads, it's up to a judge to decide if she was holding items in both hands or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭Odhinn

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Haven’t heard such arrogance since Padraig Flynn with his three houses

Fair play to Sean O’Rourke

His only fuck up was not to ask her why, if she was only looking for expenses, she was looking for 64k instead of the 7k she says they totalled.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Isn't that pretty much the same thing? Or would she still hold her seat, albeit as an independent?

It’s not uncommon for people to get expelled from parties. Happens now and again

She would still hold her seat as an independent. FG cannot take her seat, only the voters of Dún Laoghaire can do that

Madigan has a sign on the FG notice board in the canteen "have you had a fall..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,377 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Suckit wrote: »
    Christ, sounds like she's using her Cousin Harris's statements with a little of her own flavour thrown in.

Feel sorry for ME.
    I'M victim here.

https://twitter.com/SeanDefoe/status/1132975716365144065

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

I was down in Garryvoe at the weekend and I was HORRIFIED that there were young children using swings UNSUPERVISED!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Odhinn wrote: »
    His only fuck up was not to ask her why, if she was only looking for expenses, she was looking for 64k instead of the 7k she says they totalled.
    He was playing it well not going into it too aggressively. She did all the hanging herself, she can't accuse him of ganging up on her. All he needed to do was to keep her talking and more she said worse it got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

This is amazing, i called this on another online forum but essentially i said she would try and turn herself into the victim on this one and show shes a strong independent woman (because Ireland loves its strong fair women who are put down by a man).

Normally though they wait a little bit before going on the offensive, and work with their colleagues to try and rehabilitate their image.

Damn them keyboard warriors https://www.thejournal.ie/maria-bailey-sean-o-rourke-4655253-May2019/.

meeeeh wrote: »
    He was playing it well not going into it too aggressively. She did all the hanging herself, she can't accuse him of ganging up on her. All he needed to do was to keep her talking and more she said worse it got.

There was point sor went totally silent and she sang and sang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'll answer that the way Maria Bailey would:
    "I was following legal advice"

That bullshít didn't wash with John Delaney last month, it won't work here either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

The absolute brass neck. She has to go. The arrogance and assumed invinciblity of this FG crowd is astonishing.
    The interview is just amazing though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 greenboat

Hi, this leech sounds like she is the alter ego of John Delaney!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

"I am a STRONG female politician, and I will not be bullied"

F*ck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,205 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

the judge will decide whether she was holding the swing with both hands

would love to see judge Judy try the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

We need more women in politics, they are more transparent and honest, the media and feminists say. #LOL

I don't think what is it isn't between her legs played a part in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Hardtochoose

Birneybau wrote: »

It’s bad when her own cousin (Harris) has turned on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭golfball37

Sean O Rourke missed two open goals. Twice she mentioned all she wanted was medical expenses of 7k but he never said why were u claiming 60k?

She scored enough own goals herself but he missed the big question imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Suckit wrote: »
    "I am a STRONG female politician, and I will not be bullied"

F*ck off.

Is that not a quote from South Park.

golfball37 wrote: »
    Sean O Rourke missed two open goals. Twice she mentioned all she wanted was medical expenses of 7k but he never said why were u claiming 60k?

She wasn't seeking compensation apparently :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Birneybau wrote: »

It’s bad when her own cousin (Harris) has turned on her.

At one point he was about to break his hole laughing when asked what he thought of the interview. I couldn't believe it.

cmac2009 wrote: »
    Is that not a quote from South Park.

Vice principal strong woman... Genius

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

So Josepha madigan was her solicitor at the time , you can't make this **** up.

He didn't in a way, it's even better her didn't as most people listening are like your lying ****.

She is a condescending ****e though, how dare the rte pleb have this level of insolence and ask her question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭Odhinn

But yer man did get her to admit those expenses were covered by her private medical insurance, so she wasn't in fact out of pocket to that amount.

One thing I'll say also is that party HQ won't be happy with a TD saying our papers are essentially not trustworthy.

reaction on the interview now on radio one

This should come as no surprise. These people have utter disdain for the ordinary working person. How dare they be questioned on it.

Calhoun wrote: »
    One thing I'll say also is that party HQ won't be happy with a TD saying our papers are essentially not trustworthy.

Yeah, she's turned the media against her there. In times when she needs a friend, she's not really helped herself.

"Humanity has been crossed", an instant classic. I'll whip out that line the next time I receive a bad pour in the local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,614 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

This should come as no surprise. These people have utter disdain for the ordinary working person. How dare they be questioned on it.

You can tell from the figures on housing that she's doing a great job as CHAIR of the Committee on Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government:
    https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/committees/32/housing/members/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Rumour has it the Diageo Marketing team are to sponsor the now infamous swings and put Bailey's Cream logo's on the floor:

Bailey's... For when you need a pick-me-up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,916 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Clips on news at mo

Car crash material

She comes across as an entitled rude cow

I’d say she was well drunk on the night. She can’t even recall how many glasses and bottles she had in her hands ffs.

Hope the voters turf her out ASAP

Yeah, she's turned the media against her there. In times when she needs a friend, she's not really helped herself.

Especially at a time when the government are trying to say that traditional media is more trustworthy than crap online.

so she had a bottle of beer in one hand and a bottle of wine in the other and she was reaching for her friend and something about mobile phone. you don't have to be a judge to figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭cmac2009

But yer man did get her to admit those expenses were covered by her private medical insurance, so she wasn't in fact out of pocket to that amount.

As she said, not everything is covered by private medical insurance, she just wanted her 60k excess covered. Which is reasonably fair given the seriousness of the injury and no-fault nature of the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,614 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

so she had a bottle of beer in one hand and a bottle of wine in the other and she was reaching for her friend and something about mobile phone. you don't have to be a judge to figure it out.

For someone from FG to figure out they're in the wrong takes a full court press and a judicial inquiry...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Did I hear someone say that she received approx €160,000 in a settled claim from her ex employers Aer Lingus ?