Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

jbaileymbailey.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Leo said on the radio earlier that many FG candidates in Dublin reported that this issue came up on the doorsteps. He said he was going to talk to Maria next week. He sounds angry. Major own goal that will run and run to the GE.

FG used to be called FF-lite. They are certainly now taking on all the failings that beset FF when they were in power.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Leo said on the radio earlier that many FG candidates in Dublin reported that this issue came up on the doorsteps. He said he was going to talk to Maria next week. He sounds angry. Major own goal that will run and run to the GE.

FG used to be called FF-lite. They are certainly now taking on all the failings that beset FF when they were in power.

The horse bolted a long time ago. He should be angry at himself. Statements of anger sound like crocodile tears.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Exactly. We get what we deserve because the electorate is these type of people. The govt is a reflection of the people. If they don't like what they see when they scrutinise the quality and actions of their elected, then they shouldn't like what they see when they look in the mirror.

The buck doesnt stop there Lucretia. When they are affiliated to parties and are members of the cabinet, they are held to highers standards. Those standards these days seem to be not to get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Simple_Simone

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Varadkar talked so much and has delivered nothing. I remember Kenny obviously. Coven too. I’d have been very young when haughey was in power. The young seem to like varadkar and his propaganda and spin must actually work on them. Voting for him while living at home with manny and daddy into their thirties. In kip house shares etc. we probably get what we deserve. The leaders of 1916 would be turning into their grave if they knew what their vision of this country had descended into! Rats offering nothing but talk and bluster, scared to offend anyone!

If you don't remember Haughey then I suspect that your memories of "the leaders of 1916" are likely to be somewhat sepia-coated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

No party is any different. Its the expectations of the electorate that is out of kilter. The politicians are as good/bad as the people who elect them. It's hypocritical to expect them to be different to the people they are drawn from and represent.
    Blaming a 'party' or leader is just nonsense. Voting for someone else, whose only claim to fame is never having been in power, or not having been so for long enough for people to forget the details, is no way to vote.
    It's just spinning the roulette wheel in unrealistic hope that what you don't know will be better. FF, FG, Lab, Greens, all do a good job. Or as good as Ireland can manage anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

If you don't remember Haughey then I suspect that your memories of "the leaders of 1916" are likely to be somewhat sepia-coated!

The 'leaders' of 1916 were murderous terrorists, who held the country back for 70 years. I would take any guiding line from those thugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

The 'leaders' of 1916 were murderous terrorists, who held the country back for 70 years. I would take any guiding line from those thugs.

Won our freedom from a nation who tried to wipe us out. Heroes one and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Fair play T.R.O.L. you're still reeling them in. ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar to speak to Maria Bailey over dropped swing claim against Dublin hotel https://jrnl.ie/4653997

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

If that was true she should be booted out of the party

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar to speak to Maria Bailey over dropped swing claim against Dublin hotel https://jrnl.ie/4653997

“Now, Maria, you’ve been a very very bold girl for going on the swing, falling off and pretending to have hurt yourself...

...go and tell the public and your constituents you are really really sorry for being so naughty and will never do such a bold thing again and you’ll get a big lollipop at the next elections” :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    If that was true she should be booted out of the party
    "booted out" Be careful. She has a bad back and is under medical care

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Does he reckon she shouldn’t have given up such a nice little earner so easily ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

she's going to be threatened with not being invited to his special one birthday parties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Sad thing is that the people in the other parties in Ireland would be even worse, if you look at Bertie , Brian Cowen, the shinners etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

janfebmar wrote: »
    Sad thing is that the people in the other parties in Ireland would be even worse, if you look at Bertie , Brian Cowen, the shinners etc

all the same mentality the whole lot of them, just some of them are better at not getting caught than others

• Registered Users Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭golfball37

• Registered Users Posts: 19,654 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The Wiki page has since been edited back to what it was, which is now mainly all about the legal case and verifiable sources linked back to national media articles writing about her disingenious claim of falling off a swing. Which means it is now there for all eternity, such is the internet.

I'd imagine her kids are going to cop some flack in school for the rest of their days over this and about 20 years from now her grandkids will google her and see the fraudulent activity that Granny Maria was involved in. This episode now sticks with her for life. What a pillock she is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

She will probably sue us all for hurting her feelings = The auld bint .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I find it both incredible and disappointing that so many people see stories like this as a shock to what they thought Leo was about!

Leo Vardakar is solely concerned with his personal profile. His twitter handle (as Taoiseach and with posts in that capacity) is "campaignforleo" ffs!
    As a minister under Enda, he always had a comment about someone else's department (which is why the media love him so much), but achieved feck all in his own.

He has no particular beliefs or stance on anything and is led by opinion polls (particularly concerning himself). His comments on this case again expose him for the weak, ineffective leader he is. He should be calling for an internal investigation within FG regarding her future in the party.

I remember thinking that during his various ministerial tenures Leo should have had the title "Minister for Health/Transport/Defence/Social Protection" changed to "Spokesperson for Health/Transport/Defence/Social Protection". He did virtually nothing and was a dab hand at passing the book back to the HSE, CIE, Tusla, etc. I've met him on nights out a couple of times before he was Taoiseach and he does come across as quite nice and affable... to me it's the only explanation for how he has got this far. Oh and being tall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

wiggle16 wrote: »
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I find it both incredible and disappointing that so many people see stories like this as a shock to what they thought Leo was about!

Leo Vardakar is solely concerned with his personal profile. His twitter handle (as Taoiseach and with posts in that capacity) is "campaignforleo" ffs!
    As a minister under Enda, he always had a comment about someone else's department (which is why the media love him so much), but achieved feck all in his own.

He has no particular beliefs or stance on anything and is led by opinion polls (particularly concerning himself). His comments on this case again expose him for the weak, ineffective leader he is. He should be calling for an internal investigation within FG regarding her future in the party.

I remember thinking that during his various ministerial tenures Leo should have had the title "Minister for Health/Transport/Defence/Social Protection" changed to "Spokesperson for Health/Transport/Defence/Social Protection". He did virtually nothing and was a dab hand at passing the book back to the HSE, CIE, Tusla, etc. I've met him on nights out a couple of times before he was Taoiseach and he does come across as quite nice and affable... to me it's the only explanation for how he has got this far. Oh and being tall.

Personality gets you places. How many times have you seen the best and most capable but not as outspoken candidates overlooked for the candidate who shouts the loudest and has some personality but is absolutely useless.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,860 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nah, it'll be forgotten in a week unfortunately. All she/he has to do is try and weather it until the next scandal/opportunity to deflect comes up (although he's rapidly running out of easy-win social referenda to use!)

FG have ALWAYS been as bad if not worse than FF (which is some achievement!). Look back at things like the Lowry scandal for example. The only difference is we haven't seen as much of it as they historically never get into power, except as a protest vote against FF (as they did in 2011).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Edgware wrote: »
    "booted out" Be careful. She has a bad back and is under medical care

Sure since Swingate©, she's down to only competing in short 10k's and standing only for Longitude. Poor lass

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

People who strived for independence and a vision of a better/fairer Ireland held the country back? No way. They didn't hold the country back. The holding backers came years later.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

You're applying the modern term of "terrorist" to an early 20th century political event. If an armed group attempted to effect change in Ireland today in the same way as the Rising leaders did in 1916, they would be rightly condemned, but that is what would happen today, we're past that now. You can't apply our current attitudes or morals to the past in that way. Ireland was a very different country with people living under very different conditions to what we have today, ie, as a disenfranchised former colony in the empire of a foreign nation. To call them thugs isn't even revisionist, it shows a profound ignorance of history.

At the end of the day, people fought and died for the right to democratic self-determination that we take completely for granted today. You don't have to idolise them but there is a good reason we memorialise them in the way we do.

(Going VERY off-topic here!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Should hotels put sidebars on all beds in case people fall out of bed in the middle of the night due to not being supervised ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭abff

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Should hotels put sidebars on all beds in case people fall out of bed in the middle of the night due to not being supervised ?

Only if Maria Bailey is planning to stay there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

She’s gone about this whole thing in a roundabout way ... titter