Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Surely now it would be in the interest of Bailey to allow the release of the Cctv footage from the hotel to prove how she has beeen wronged.....!

Wouldn’t anyone who has seen the cctv also know whether josepha madigan was there at the time? Could this be why people are starting to say she was?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,931 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What can be done about the Judiciary though.

How do you guide them better, I think the government have to take a serious strategy with the Judiciary for these awards because right now there is no policy. Its made up on the spot by individual judges. They are able to pick and choose based on perceived precedence. Whilst setting new precedent themselves constantly.

This is the bigger issue here. The guidelines are null. Its the wild west for compensation.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,998 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Wouldn’t anyone who has seen the cctv also know whether josepha madigan was there at the time? Could this be why people are starting to say she was?

No its because neither of them will confirm that she wasn't there people are starting to think she was, they were both FG councilors at the time and the link with madigans firm is what made people start asking that question.

Madigan has the same problem with the question on was she advising Bailey, neither will confirm she wasn't which everyone is going to conclude as meaning she probably was advising her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

From looking at pics of the swings online, it seems there’s some kind of black strips of grippiness adorning the polished wood.. so I’m not sure how far she would have gotten with her “slippy polished wood” claim.
    Although this could have been applied after the fall

If that is the case, and as sickening as it may be, doesn't that give her some level of justification...? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Apparently Madigans and the hotel parent company have history - there's CCTV of the incident which they were planning to show.

Josepha nor Maria will confirm or deny who the lawyer involved with was, Madigan saying client confidentiality, which is understandable.

Why Bailey isn't just saying it wasn't Josepha though is anyones guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    If that is the case, and as sickening as it may be, doesn't that give her some level of justification...? :(

No

• Registered Users Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭golfball37

FG only had a problem with her behaviour after doing a car crash unsanctioned interview. That just about sums up Irish Politics sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Maybe. If she hadn't lied, or more accurately, hadn't exaggerated the level and timescale of her injuries.

Apparently Madigans and the hotel parent company have history - there's CCTV of the incident which they were planning to show.

Josepha nor Maria will confirm or deny who the lawyer involved with was, Madigan saying client confidentiality, which is understandable.

Madigan is up to er neck in it as well....

Another dodgy legal company!!! maybe the hotel should just go after them an destroy them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Suckit wrote: »
    Personally I think she has suffered enough and its time to move on. As a people I think we are better than kicking someone when they are down. She should keep a low profile, see out the rest of her Dail term and then decide if public life is for her.
    Its not just the internet that scents blood, the newspapers are far worse and once they get hold of a story, countless reporters and commentators depend on it as a way of making a living.
    These stories tend to run for 3-4 days and then the papers move on to something else, if you keep a low profile that is. The more she talks about it, the more the media react to it.

I am normally one of the first to sympathise with somebody when things have gone too far, even if they brought it upon themselves, but in this case I have zero sympathy.
    From her corrupt father right up to her misdirected anger on the radio yesterday. The fact that she has previous in making personal injury claims, showed no remorse, blaming everyone else and would have continued the false claim had it not garnered such attention. She needs to resign.

Somebody like that should not remain in Government and should probably have never been elected.

She is probably lucky that the newspapers may have decided to stop where they have, who knows what they could uncover if they were to dig a little deeper. Unfortunately that is probably not going to happen unless they get the go ahead from an Taoiseach or somebody with power, as the journalists in Ireland are petrified of the two main parties, and they have a nice little thing going at the moment with the extra income by becoming a press advisor.
    Maria Bailey should do the right thing and resign now and slink away under a rock, it'll probably not be for long, as no doubt the next FG TD on the conveyor belt will employ her as parliamentary assistant like she did her father.

Sick of giving rotten politicians a second chance. We deserve everything we get. She needs to get out and give somebody else a chance. Who knows, if we get them out one by one we may actually end up with a decent crowd running the Country.

Sure look at the sympathizers beginning to crawl out of the woodwork. The PR guy and Sinead O Carroll on The Tonight Show said Irish people by nature tend to feel sympathy for people involved in scandals after a period of time.

Hugh Mcelvaney, John O'Donnell and Joe Queenan all played the victims despite being caught out in dodgy dealings and were reelected this weekend.

There is something in that.

From Madigan Solicitors: Both options are reasonable, the PIAB is faster, but litigation can yield greater monetary results. In the latter case a solicitor is absolutely necessary to fulfill your claim. In the former, a solicitor is still suggested.

In other words, use a solicitor and it will take longer but we can get you more money. Crooked f**ks.....

Peatys wrote: »
    I'm saying i believe she didn't give an accurate account to her solicitors in the first place. Only when she changed her story last week did they tell her to drop it.

If memory serves, she said to SOR that the affidavit was made three years after the incident and talked several times about how it was to be changed and how it shouldn’t have been made public as it wasn’t correct.

So am I understanding correctly... people can make an affidavit about an incident, then change it before it gets in front of a judge .... yet many claims are settled BEFORE they get to court?!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,704 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Bailey has directly implicated someone from Madigans as advising her she had a clear cut case.

What's not clear, though, is whether the advice she got from Madigan's was based on her false version of events. If they advised her she had a clear-cut case based on what she told them transpired, they acted in good faith and don't have any case to answer, imo.

However, if they knew she was lying and advised her to go ahead with the case regardless, then that's a very different matter indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Bailey has directly implicated someone from Madigans as advising her she had a clear cut case.

If it transpires that Josepha was not only the lawyer dispensing such advice, but also present when she fell off the swing, effectively making her a witness, I'm not sure how long reached the consequences of this would be for her.

It probably was a "clear cut case" if your definition of such is a likelihood of receiving a payout. Obviously a morally bankrupt position but common nonetheless.

That is the problem, some insurance companies are paying out on claims even when there was no negligence on behalf of the business involved.
    A child slipping on the side of a swimming pool is not negligence, just an accident, but payments were still been made.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I'm guessing that would only leave two others, her brother Patrick Madigan and Sarah Marie Kelly (she specialises in Family Law and litigation).
    Patrick would surely have the same alleged axe to grind.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Headline in today's Star: Bailey takes swing at her critic!

exactly, sure you can walk around juggling fire and sue the street you burnt your hands on!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

dublin99 wrote: »
    I don't know what kind of upbringing she has had and what does she teach her own children.

Should someone who clearly cannot tell what is right and what is wrong, and is incapable of seeing her own mistakes (or apologise for them), be allowed to be a TD responsible of important decisions in Government?

Maybe that's a question that should be out to the people of Tipperary about why they vote by for Lowry

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Interesting and this could be the sinister element to the whole thing.

Why did they go to that hotel in particular?
    Was Madigan with her? Is she pulling the strings in the whole thing with Bailey just a puppet?
    Why go on the swing?
    Was it genuinely an accident or something else such as a deliberate albeit incompetent shake down attempt?
    I think pressure will come on Madigan next, if Bailey is just a puppet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Josepha Madigan says TD's swing compensation case 'nothing to do with me'
    Speaking to reporters at the RDS in Dublin on Saturday afternoon, Ms Madigan was asked if she had any role in the case.

She said: "Whether I did or didn't, there is client-solicitor confidentiality so I am not in a position to say.

If she is not the client or the solicitor, then what confidentiality would she be breaking?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Dial Hard wrote: »
    What's not clear, though, is whether the advice she got from Madigan's was based on her false version of events. If they advised her she had a clear-cut case based on what she told them transpired, they acted in good faith and don't have any case to answer, imo.

However, if they knew she was lying and advised her to go ahead with the case regardless, then that's a very different matter indeed.

Yeah I completely agree with you and have actually said just that earlier up the thread, I stated that it was possible that Bailey was lying about what legal advise she was given, and it was equally plausible that they (lawyers) gave the advice based on what bailey told them.

If Josepha Madigan was with her when the accident happened, (and there's nothing to suggest that she was) then his storys only beginning.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,017 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

really one should be holding on with at least one hand rather then double swilling wine and beer and taking selfies and what not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

Shefwedfan wrote: »

In other words, use a solicitor and it will take longer but we can get you more money. Crooked f**ks.....

Not it's not crooked, it's merely factual and is very good advice for someone looking for compensation.

(You may have heard the adage that the man who represents himself in court (or even at the PIAB!) has a fool for a client and an ass for an attorney!)

As a rule judges tend to throw more money at plaintiffs than the PIAB does.

As to why that is ......... go figure. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Bartyman

I wonder did the Dean Hotel's insurance company do any investigation as seen in other false claims.

Meanwhile, this would be near enough to Leo's back garden.

https://www.thejournal.ie/fort-lucan-insurance-4656510-May2019/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

For the life of me I don’t get why she went on SOR yesterday. She is being lampooned and ridiculed up and down the country. She really does require supervision!
    The legal firm also have a lot to answer for. The fact they took her seriously. She comes across as an immature, entitled fantasist with little or no grip on reality.

As has been suggested a central database of failed litigants needs to be established.
    The accuser needs to be required to prove injury than the accused innocence.
    Once said litigation is proved false the accuser pays costs of party accused.
    They should then be hit with a false claim fine of say 10% of the average payout for the injury the claim to have suffered.

Without sufficient deterrent and/or a serious reduction in the levels of awards our composer culture will continue.

Politically she is finished. No chance of her being re-elected to any political position.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Suckit wrote: »

If she is not the client or the solicitor, then what confidentiality would she be breaking?
    Speaking to reporters at the RDS in Dublin on Saturday afternoon, Ms Madigan was asked if she had any role in the case.

She said: "Whether I did or didn't, there is client-solicitor confidentiality so I am not in a position to say.

The headline and the comment don't match :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭zell12

fg2011slogan1.jpg?w=600&h=159
    fg2011slogan2.jpg?w=600&h=164
    methode%2Ftimes%2Fprodmigration%2Fweb%2Fbin%2F4d7be6f9-5b94-3a96-9e26-702b1e8a3db8.jpg?crop=1500%2C1000%2C0%2C0&resize=685

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

I don't think that this is the case for CCTV of a public location. We'd have no Garda Patrol or Crime Call or whatever it's called now if there were issues.

Hopefully we get to see it.

In those cases they are trying to find out who the people are, in this we know its the poor injured TD. I might be wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭abff

Maybe that's a question that should be out to the people of Tipperary about why they vote by for Lowry

I think with Lowry there's a kind of 'us against them' thing going. I can't see something similar applying in this case. I think Ms Bailey has managed to alienate just about everybody. She really should stop digging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The CCTV footage may be useful for the McKillans development negotiations. They have already taken out Maria Bailey and the CCTV may nail another TD.