Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer 2019 - General Discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 48,234 ✭✭✭✭km79

Feels milder than yday in the west
    Slightly less bite in the wind

• Registered Users Posts: 23,702 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Gonzo wrote: »
    Today Ireland is the coldest country in Europe overall.

yep Iceland is beating us with a balmy 17C on the east coast of Iceland.

We're only 2 degrees warmer than lapland (the rest of Scandinavia is same as us or slightly warmer. Northern Scotland really only sticks out as the one area that is cooler than us. Temperatures are beginning to stage a slight recovery in France and Spain.

A tad over 10c near Dublin Airport. Dull and rainy.

Very different to this time last year.

No sign of it turning settled and warmer anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

I’m guessing it’s colder in some locations today than Christmas Day?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

A tad over 10c near Dublin Airport. Dull and rainy.

Very different to this time last year.

No sign of it turning settled and warmer anytime soon.

looks fairly grim alright, Met Eireann's forecast on RTE is poor, they are predicting tomorrow to be a degree or two colder than today and drizzle to persist in eastern areas for most of tomorrow.

Temperatures mostly in the 10 to 14C range between now and next Tuesday. Looks like improving temperatures later next week, but looks to be mid to high teens for the rest of the month and plenty of showers or longer outbreaks of rain.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I’m guessing it’s colder in some locations today than Christmas Day?

in all honesty most of December felt milder than this June so far. Both day and night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Suns peeped out now here near Arklow
    Wasn’t expecting that today!
    Just 0.8mm of rain

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the fire will be lit tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 7,184 ✭✭✭pad199207

Today looks to be my coldest June day on record.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Munsterman12

Definitely emigrating to spain when I retire!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

sideswipe wrote: »
    I don't want to be a drama queen but **** this for a game of soldiers, I refuse to grow old in this country......well full time anyway, my saving fund for a holiday home somewhere that gets a summer starts today- suggestions for locations gladly accepted! Perhaps the Canaries, I'd even consider Scandinavia- get proper winters and summers....decisions, decisions..........

I have long since decided on that course of action..will retire with about 10 years or less...currently shopping for holiday home in Murcia...have viewed lots of properties...this is no country to grow old in..wet cold corrupt gombeen ripOff ... feck that...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

pad199207 wrote: »
    Today looks to be my coldest June day on record.

Temperature
    Throughout the month of June daytime temperatures will generally reach highs of around 18°C that's about 64°F. At night the average minimum temperature drops down to around 9°C, that's 49°F.

In recent times the highest recorded temperature in June has been 26°C that's 78°F, with the lowest recorded temperature 2°C, about 36°F.

http://www.myweather2.com/Holiday-Destinations/Ireland/Dublin/climate-profile.aspx

Freezing cold in City Centre

• Registered Users Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

11 degrees on the 12th of June in Cork City atm. Summer would want to appear any day now (preferably after the 14th/21st June when im finished LC hehe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

11 degrees on the 12th of June in Cork City atm. Summer would want to appear any day now (preferably after the 14th/21st June when im finished LC hehe)

You LC students clearly didn’t study hard enough this year to give us our annual good weather! Unfortunately as a result, it has been decided that the next leaving cert classes will have to suffer an Indian summer of 30c in September as punishment :D:D

Lashing now in CC

rain getting heavier here too once again.

Gavsweather latest update is not promising at all, especially for us in Ireland as we see the Atlantic dominating from next week onwards and hints once again of a repeat of the current conditions into the first week of July with the jet diving well south of us once again with northern blocking perhaps intensifying into the first week of July. I really hope that doesn't happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,373 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Heavier here now. It's been raining solidly all day.

F**k this to be honest

Lads that is an absolute disaster of an outlook

• Registered Users Posts: 24,373 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

rain getting heavier here too once again.

Gavsweather latest update is not promising at all, especially for us in Ireland as we see the Atlantic dominating from next week onwards and hints once again of a repeat of the current conditions into the first week of July with the jet diving well south of us once again with northern blocking perhaps intensifying into the first week of July. I really hope that doesn't happen.

where is that?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,922 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

High of 10.4c here today, so far, in Dublin 16 (since 0900).

Another frustrating thing is the fact that we can’t really say the weather is always ****e here. Last summer proved just how beautiful it can be here.

Just this round of weather would make anyone cry.

lawred2 wrote: »
    where is that?

this is it, looks a bit more promising for maybe the south of England and wales, but looking at the charts, Ireland is never far away from low pressure, and the first week of July looks almost like a repeat of the current situation. It's so far out in FI tho, but at the same time it's not very comforting that signals a month from now are still poor enough.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8CBLDZjBak&t=1043s

Video also mentions that the GFS Operational we've been used to is being put to bed and what was known as the GFS Parallel will be the new operational, first one rolling out around now.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,702 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

33ajw8.jpg

pad199207 wrote: »
    Another frustrating thing is the fact that we can’t really say the weather is always ****e here. Last summer proved just how beautiful it can be here.

Just this round of weather would make anyone cry.

The past week has been far too cold for the time of year, even for us. Temperatures should be back to more normal values next week and beyond with mid to high teens, instead of 9-14C which many of us have had over the past week or more. Sadly there is no signs of settled conditions but getting rid of these very low daytime temperatures is a start.

While the outlook for next few weeks looks poor, more traditional Irish summer conditions, I am still remaining hopeful that the second half of summer will bring something more seasonal for us.

The past week has been far too cold for the time of year, even for us. Temperatures should be back to more normal values next week and beyond with mid to high teens, instead of 9-14C which many of us have had over the past week or more. Sadly there is no signs of settled conditions but getting rid of these very low daytime temperatures is a start.

While the outlook for next few weeks looks poor, more traditional Irish summer conditions, I am still remaining hopeful that the second half of summer will bring something more seasonal for us.

True. You can bet your bottom dollar that we will see the 9-14c range come December

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Cloudy but bone dry in Arklow all day
    Grand for working outside as long as you have a fleece
    Currently 11.8c

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭eon1208

If that's the case my plans for the meadow are gone already on 12th June. I will wait till mid summes day hoping for a change. It could still improve I hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Kutebride

Rain all day. Dublin 2 and Meath. A waste of a long evening indoors. Dark and dreary.
    Making the silage over in the west I'm hearing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Such a miserable June and it really is a shame with the longest day of the year so close to not be out enjoying the long evenings. Would drive you to drink!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

A moderate breeze has developed in Castebar making it feel colder, getting gusts of 62 km/hr currently, but today has been thankfully dry.