Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer 2019 - General Discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭alentejo

No doubt at this stage looks like September will be summer!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,968 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Just looking at the charts on the TV weather, imagine the snowfest if this setup was in mid January?!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Just looking at the charts on the TV weather, imagine the snowfest if this setup was in mid January?!

The temperatures would also be something else. In the past week we've seen temperatures under 2C at night in parts and daytime temperatures as low as 9C, we would be having ice days if this was December, January or even February.

Our upper air temperatures gives a good idea of why we are so cold right now. You have to go as far as the north pole to get uppers as cold as what is over Ireland right now. Even most of Greenland and Iceland has warmer uppers than us. It got close to 20C today in Iceland, meanwhile Ireland has struggled to get much past 11C in most parts.

GFSOPEU12_33_2.png

• Registered Users Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donegal Storm

Pretty much a repeat of yesterday in Letterkenny, dry but dull, cold and windy. Off to the Med at the weekend thankfully

• Registered Users Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭cml387

Well this is a first. A general decision to switch on the central heating for an hour to warm the house up, in June. This is unreal.

Can Sryanbruen give us a record low maximum temperature for June?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

So to everyone who whinged about the heat last year - are ye enjoying wearing ****ing jumpers in June now? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,560 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

cml387 wrote: »
    Well this is a first. A general decision to switch on the central heating for an hour to warm the house up, in June. This is unreal.

Can Sryanbruen give us a record low maximum temperature for June?

Here's the low maximum temperature records for several long-term Irish stations. 11 June 1977 a very common date to many of them.

PFz9y6h.png

Note: Valentia Observatory, Malin Head and Markree Castle records above are not confirmed as their full records are not available.

Data from Met Éireann.

500mb height reanalysis for 11th June 1977 and 850hPa temperatures.

archives-1977-6-11-12-0.png?

archives-1977-6-11-12-1.png?

Would have been a shocker to experience without a doubt after the summers of 1975 and 1976. Fortunately, that summer improved somewhat in July and August with rather sunnier conditions compared to the exceptionally dull, wet and cool June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

So to everyone who whinged about the heat last year - are ye enjoying wearing ****ing jumpers in June now? :D

I'm loving it. Hope it continues! Love cold rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,100 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Zipppy wrote: »
    I have long since decided on that course of action..will retire with about 10 years or less...currently shopping for holiday home in Murcia...have viewed lots of properties...this is no country to grow old in..wet cold corrupt gombeen ripOff ... feck that...

My parents live there, great value for money, if you need any info hit me up. In fact I'm the only muppet in my family that lives in this horrible kip now. I'm outta here too, hoping to retire in my 50s and never look back. I have always detested the climate here and have been lucky enough to spend many summers living in warmer climes, the impact it has on your quality of life is astonishing.
    Even last summer, a few weeks of nice weather and we'll be talking about it for 50 years, it stopped in July and went back to the usual crap. Wasn't a great summer really, just a few weeks of nice weather, that's how I felt about it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Mobhi1

The rain seems to be gone now. Just cloudy and cold. It's currently 11.2C. The high today was 11.4C. And to think that back in 1977 it was only 9 degrees. I was thinking that it couldn't get any colder in June.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

I have friends semi retired out there and others looking over there...
    Growing old in the sun living an outdoor life appeals a lot...
    Bring it on...
    Whereabouts are your parents?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donegal Storm

sryanbruen wrote: »
    Here's the low maximum temperature records for several long-term Irish stations. 11 June 1977 a very common date to many of them.

6th of June 1987 was another miserable one with a high of just 9C in places

archives-1987-6-6-12-0.png

• Registered Users Posts: 14,100 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Zipppy wrote: »
    I have friends semi retired out there and others looking over there...
    Growing old in the sun living an outdoor life appeals a lot...
    Bring it on...
    Whereabouts are your parents?

Not far from Cartagena, close to the airport that closed down last year. My brother lives in Malta so all I get are pictures from these places of beaches and patios and big meals outside and all the lovely things you can do in a good climate! Meanwhile it's like bloody Mordor or something around here it's so dark and miserable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭MidMan25

Not far from Cartagena, close to the airport that closed down last year. My brother lives in Malta so all I get are pictures from these places of beaches and patios and big meals outside and all the lovely things you can do in a good climate! Meanwhile it's like bloody Mordor or something around here it's so dark and miserable.

Weather thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭endainoz

Kutebride wrote:
    Rain all day. Dublin 2 and Meath. A waste of a long evening indoors. Dark and dreary. Making the silage over in the west I'm hearing

Sure are! Rain was lucky to hold off, bit of a howling wind out there now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,206 ✭✭✭✭km79

pad199207 wrote: »
    Another frustrating thing is the fact that we can’t really say the weather is always ****e here. Last summer proved just how beautiful it can be here.

Just this round of weather would make anyone cry.

AND I MISSED THE BLOODY HEATWAVE
    and came back to people pissing and moaning about it

km79 wrote: »
    Feels milder than yday in the west
    Slightly less bite in the wind

Well that changed.....I went to watch a match down the road. Despiite having a jumper and a body warmer I gave in and went home after HT
    FROZEN

• Registered Users Posts: 13,560 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Gonzo wrote: »
    The temperatures would also be something else. In the past week we've seen temperatures under 2C at night in parts and daytime temperatures as low as 9C, we would be having ice days if this was December, January or even February.

Our upper air temperatures gives a good idea of why we are so cold right now. You have to go as far as the north pole to get uppers as cold as what is over Ireland right now. Even most of Greenland and Iceland has warmer uppers than us. It got close to 20C today in Iceland, meanwhile Ireland has struggled to get much past 11C in most parts.

Several stations in western Greenland reached over 20c 🙄

https://twitter.com/kilkennyweather/status/1138895789755965442?s=21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

It’s started to rain again here. I’m not sure how cold it is out but it’s cold enough to have the heat on. It’s also very dark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Horrible day for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭appledrop

I was thinking what it is that makes this May/June so bad + realised it's everything! The wind has finally died down but I never remember so many days with such a cold wind that bits through you. That's the first thing. Then we have had all the rain. Yes we have had rainy summers but not usually accompanied by such cold winds + freezing temperatures. To top it all off everyday is dull with very little sunshine. All combined together =misery!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

To be fair May was dry.

Today is the worst summers day I remember for a long time. Rain all daylight hours in summer is rare here in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭appledrop

To be fair May was dry.

Today is the worst summers day I remember for a long time. Rain all daylight hours in summer is rare here in Dublin.

Eh you must have a very short memory we had nearly this exact same day less than 2 weeks ago on 4th June! 24mm of rain that day in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,968 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

"Zipppy wrote: »
    this is no country to grow old in..wet cold corrupt gombeen ripOff ... feck that...

If gombeenism isn't your bag, I REALLY wouldn't choose Spain as a new home! But then the weather might make you forget the local fecklessness ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Artane2002

Larbre34 wrote: »
    If gombeenism isn't your bag, I REALLY wouldn't choose Spain as a new home! But then the weather might make you forget the local fecklessness ;)

Sapporo in Japan is my ideal climate. They get metres of snow each winter on average and they get mid twenties for summers on average.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

still raining here in Meath, hasn't let up all day, most of it light, but complete misery from one end of the day to the other and properly cold too.

more of the same tomorrow for Leinster, but it may dry up later on in the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Artane2002 wrote: »
    Sapporo in Japan is my ideal climate. They get metres of snow each winter on average and they get mid twenties for summers on average.

It has a lovely beer museum as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,166 ✭✭✭pad199207

Look at all that lovely warm air and brilliant thunderstorms all the way into Norway and Sweden.
    I give up....

Nearly slept in due to it being so dark in the room
    This time of year the brightness is usually creeping on either side of curtains after 6
    Still look night time right now

• Registered Users Posts: 18,162 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

km79 wrote: »
    Nearly slept in due to it being so dark in the room
    This time of year the brightness is usually creeping on either side of curtains after 6
    Still look night time right now

Hard to get up I'd agree!