Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Ah here. A hundred thousand people impeccably behaved and your taking issue with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

dan1895 wrote: »
    Ah here. A hundred thousand people impeccably behaved and your taking issue with it.

But but but .... English. Such is their level of hatred for everything British that they can't bring themselves to pass any sort of positive remarks about them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Mrsmum wrote: »
    It has everything to do with the Irish in their minds. Every decent British person would condemn this kind of behaviour but we have Irish fools saying they are right.
    The person your replying to is a Rangers fan so take their view on this with a pinch of salt. Rangers fans revel in these songs and this sort of stuff. I think they even started them.

If anything the supporters of that club are worse than English fans. I seen most of those on twitter supporting these songs being sung are Rangers fans from Scotland with union jack flags on their profiles. The gutter of society.

The person your replying to is a Rangers fan so take their view on this with a pinch of salt. Rangers fans revel in these songs and this sort of stuff. I think they even started them.

Revel in what? The majority of Rangers fans support Scotland, i.e. not the biggest fans of England. As for the songs, wouldn't hear them being sung at Ibrox, as I said at the start of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭OldRio

Some supporters of the English national team reverting back to type. Why are we surprised?
    They didn't dare go to Russia. Couldn't afford to go to Brazil.
    Utter scum.

Berserker wrote: »
    Revel in what? The majority of Rangers fans support Scotland, i.e. not the biggest fans of England. As for the songs, wouldn't hear them being sung at Ibrox, as I said at the start of the thread.
    Most Rangers fans don't give a toss about Scotland. It's probably why the Tartan Army are so well behaved, no Rangers in there to spoil it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

Being well behaved is not some sort of achievement, it doesn't merit being commented on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

They set them up because they were going to do it anyway. So they said we might as well put a few toilets in instead of them pissing over the architecture and having a naked **** on a lamppost.

You havent a clue, the fan zones were set up at UEFAs insistence and it is tradition for Champions League finals at this stage. They literally facilitate fans having a drink and a good time. You alluded to trouble in Madrid but yet with 100,000 odd fans all that is in the media is one single arrest. How do you explain that? I think you're talking rubbish tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Too funny

So many of rhe anti anything English crowd getting a collective hard on because a few drunken **** cause some trouble.

Amazing how you never hear mention of the Irish football hooligans who fight each other almost every other week.

They never have an issue with American sports fans rioting.

No mention of the French supporters rioting after the world cup final.

But mention the English and they are all over the subject like dogs on a bone.

Get a life lads/lasses, release the hatred and get over yourselves, the average English person despise these idiots as much as anyone else so stop making out it's the whole nation.

Truly laughable, but as always pedictable reactions from our usual barstool republicans :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Too funny

So many of rhe anti anything English crowd getting a collective hard on because a few drunken **** cause some trouble.

Amazing how you never hear mention of the Irish football hooligans who fight each other almost every other week.

Get a life lads/lasses, release the hatred and get over yourselves, the average English person despise these idiots as much as anyone else so stop making out it's the whole nation.

Truly laughable, but as always pedictable reactions from our usual barstool republicans :rolleyes:

Wha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

Too funny

Did any of those events you mention get widespread coverage in the media?

Any time you hear of trouble at LOI matches people have a go at those idiots aswell.

Also there is a bit of a difference causing trouble in your own country and causing trouble in a foreign country, the latter is seen as being much worse than the other in most people eyes.

Too funny

Irish football hooligans fight each other every week? Where?

Absurd lies. You Brit bootlickers are so sensitive anytime your precious England is called out on their disgraceful behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Ten year ban on England from all football competitions

Ban the prem league also.

That’ll soften their cough.

Irish football hooligans fight each other every week? Where?

Plenty of videos on youtube.

Absurd lies. You Brit bootlickers are so sensitive anytime your precious England is called out on their disgraceful behaviour.

When you have no arguement, resort to name calling, how very mature of you :rolleyes:

Being well behaved is not some sort of achievement, it doesn't merit being commented on.

Agreed but why would someone have a pop at them?

Ten year ban on England from all football competitions

Ban the prem league also.

That’ll soften their cough.

Another one :rolleyes:

As.if they will close the biggest league in the world, as i said, like dogs with a bone ffs.

Plenty of videos on youtube

Every week yeh?

If i had said "every week"you might have a point, try reading the post again befire replying next time, good lad.

Agreed but why would someone have a pop at them?

Ok almost every week?

Another one :rolleyes:

As.if they will close the biggest league in the world, as i said, like dogs with a bone ffs.

Its all a ruse.

If every country whose fans engaged in this level of violence were banned, it would only be Ireland, the Faroe islands and Gibraltar left in the european championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,483 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Muahahaha wrote: »
    You havent a clue, the fan zones were set up at UEFAs insistence and it is tradition for Champions League finals at this stage. They literally facilitate fans having a drink and a good time. You alluded to trouble in Madrid but yet with 100,000 odd fans all that is in the media is one single arrest. How do you explain that? I think you're talking rubbish tbh.

I think he was hoping for more trouble from Liverpool fans in Madrid I mean his beloved Man Utd fans did the same taking over Barcelona and not a peep from him

Every week yeh?
    His blatant lies and cheerleading for far right English thugs has been exposed. He wouldn't be the first to do it.

Please provide evidence for this slur or retract your statement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Timberrrrr a supporter of the far right hahaha

Hes lost it.

Please provide evidence for this slur or retract your statement.

Please provide evidence of LOI hooligans causing trouble ALMOST every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Aegir wrote: »
    Its all a ruse.

If every country whose fans engaged in this level of violence were banned, it would only be Ireland, the Faroe islands and Gibraltar left in the european championship.

We still wouldn’t be European champions!

Most Rangers fans don't give a toss about Scotland. It's probably why the Tartan Army are so well behaved, no Rangers in there to spoil it.

I must be imagining all the Scotland discussions on the Rangers forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I'm not Irish so this has nothing to do Irish republicanism. Historically Brits have very poor reputation as football fans and were a model to loads of scummy fan groups around Eastern Europe. Similarly English drinking tourists don't gave great reputation either. It's all grand to say the average English person despises them but there is arrogance many of us who live/lived in countries with cheaper alcohol witnessed from groups of English fans or stag parties.

Whatever the reason but England has bigger issues than other western European countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Unsurprising to see the whataboutery from the Irish branch of the Tommy Two Percent fan club in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Too funny

Where did a single person say it was "the whole nation". If anyone is being condemned, as well as the football hooligans, it is the people on here defending those that "the average English person despise" ie those same hooligans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Too funny

There's a bad history there though. Nobody else has been thrown out of European competition for 5 yrs due to the heinous actions of one of their clubs abroad.

I know it's only small subset of the lower orders who engage with this stuff. The vast majority of English don't and are ashamed of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It must be a lot of fun to riot in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

A lot of these trouble maker's come from a militant British army background.

It goes way back through their DNA even in Limerick City which was a garison town,the most hardest people came from the tans and married into Irish families....

You can see that dark Britannia look about them, some are ok but the worst have an English heritage going back 300 year's
    They're different, I can't say they're bad people it's just they're tough and have a hardened DNA structure, as for Cork, Galway and Dublin they're not the same kind of people.

Limerick has a big lineage going back to England....

That's a theory brought to my attention from a historian, not a fact

Hedgelayer wrote: »

It goes way back through their DNA even in Limerick City which was a garison town,the most hardest people came from the tans and married into Irish families....

You can see that dark Britannia look about them, some are ok but the worst have an English heritage going back 300 year's
    They're different, I can't say they're bad people it's just they're tough and have a hardened DNA structure, as for Cork, Galway and Dublin they're not the same kind of people.

Limerick has a big lineage going back to England....

That's a theory brought to my attention from a historian, not a fact

Any evidence for this? I don't know one British soldier serving or retired that has been arrested for football hooliganism.

.Charlo wrote: »
    Timberrrrr a supporter of the far right hahaha

Hes lost it.
    Cringing for you and your ilk on here cheerleading Tommy Robinson and these morons. It wasn't long ago him and his thugs were beat out of Dublin.

And Celtic are a Scottish club not Irish, tool.

Cringing for you and your ilk on here cheerleading Tommy Robinson and these morons. It wasn't long ago him and his thugs were beat out of Dublin.

You're on here calling a man that abhorrs the far right a supporter of them. You need to calm down. You're making a show of yourself. I bet you"re one of the "Ireland has the best fans in the world" brigade lol

Who the fcuk.is cheering on that wanker?

Any evidence for this? I don't know one British soldier serving or retired that has been arrested for football hooliganism.

I never mentioned that.
    Re-read my post.

I think there's quite a few British soldiers who've been up to their own version hooliganism.

This is the wrong thread,but it's not a fact that there wasn't any British soldiers harassing people and goading them in the north during the troubles...

Hopefully the cat isn't left out of the bag here....

My bad

Really, how do you know this? The only lads (two) I've ever heard of getting banning order where Chelsea fans. One of them was a barrister and the other was an accountant (or similar). They were neighbours of my cousins in Fulham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭trashcan

Plenty of videos on YouTube:

Really ? I've only ever see a couple of Rovers/Bohs videos, and they are going back a while. League of Ireland can be accused of a lot of things, but widespread hooliganism is not one.

Now, back to discussing those impeccable English citizens distinguishing themselves again.

trashcan wrote: »
    Really ? I've only ever see a couple of Rovers/Bohs videos, and they are going back a while. League of Ireland can be accused of a lot of things, but widespread hooliganism is not one.

Now, back to discussing those impeccable English citizens distinguishing themselves again.

There was 4 bohs lads jailed in Derry a few years ago for smashing up a pub and assaulting people because they were a different religion.The same fellas are apparently "fighting facism" now.

Ironically holliganism and militants go hand and hand...

Combat 18 for instance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

When England fans sing F the Pope, F the IRA they mean it as an insult to all Irish People, anyone thinks differently is clueless.
    Why can't some people enjoy a beer or three and the lovely weather in portugal without insulting a foreign people. Dregs of society, these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Disgracing their country once again, and now bringing out the full Rangers songbook, including "**** the Pope" which they now sing regularly. Plenty of Catholic English people out there, vile stuff more akin to their National Front days when they trashed Landsdowne road. Taking over an Irish bar and singing anti IRA songs as well. Obsessed....:rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/talkSPORT/status/1136304852567568385

https://twitter.com/seaningle/status/1136352284194025475

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/england-fans-baton-charged-as-violence-erupts-in-porto-1.3916628

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/jun/05/england-fans-baton-charged-portugese-police-nations-league-porto

Are you sure they're English Hooligan football fans or just liberals from Ireland?

At times it's hard to tell the difference.

I never mentioned that.
    Re-read my post.

I think there's quite a few British soldiers who've been up to their own version hooliganism.

This is the wrong thread,but it's not a fact that there wasn't any British soldiers harassing people and goading them in the north during the troubles...

Hopefully the cat isn't left out of the bag here....

My bad

You said

votecounts wrote: »
    When England fans sing F the Pope, F the IRA they mean it as an insult to all Irish People, anyone thinks differently is clueless
    Indeed but plenty of sheltered types on here who've never dealt with them think otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd rather be Roman Catholic than part of some sort of creepy biscuit eating social club who pay tithes and don't bury their dead for 6 weeks.

You said

I think our line of thinking on this subject is indifferent, it's hard to explain where I'm coming from or going with this one....

An evenings fly-fishing could sort it out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

votecounts wrote: »
    When England fans sing F the Pope, F the IRA they mean it as an insult to all Irish People, anyone thinks differently is clueless.
    Why can't some people enjoy a beer or three and the lovely weather in portugal without insulting a foreign people. Dregs of society, these people

Approximately 1 in 10 of those fans would be Catholic. Maybe they stay quiet for that chant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭trashcan

.Charlo wrote: »
    There was 4 bohs lads jailed in Derry a few years ago for smashing up a pub and assaulting people because they were a different religion.The same fellas are apparently "fighting facism" now.

Yeah, I vaguely remember that case. As you say it was a good few years ago. Thankfully incidents like that are rare in our game. Doesn't mean it's not scumbaggey bevahiour of course, in case anyone thinks I'm condoning any trouble that does occur here.