Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I remember chatting to a few English lads at the world cup in Japan. Sound fellas and we all shared a love of football. After a while a couple of other lads show up and start shouting "no surrender to the IRA". Atmosphere completely changed, things very tense. We ended up heading off somewhere else to keep the peace but it just pssed me off no end that a group would fly across the world, spending a few grand in the process and just want to start a ruckus. Meatheads. And that was 17 years ago, so the same fellas kids are probably arsing about in portugal as we speak. Pondlife.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

trashcan wrote: »
    Yeah, I vaguely remember that case. As you say it was a good few years ago. Thankfully incidents like that are rare in our game. Doesn't mean it's not scumbaggey bevahiour of course, in case anyone thinks I'm condoning any trouble that does occur here.

Fella stabbed last year in Phibsboro during a bohs and rovers mill up. Yeah thankfully it's rare but these goons are actually copying what they see across the water even down to what they wear. But yeah they hate the Brits and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

There in one place, getting pissed and leaving the place a tip.

If you and your mates went on a city break to just say Paris. Sat under the Eiffel Tower for a couple of days, getting pissed, jumping into the fountains, throwing your empty cans all over the place, it wouldnt be acceptable, would it?

A football match and replica jerseys do not give people license.

It was the official fan zones. UEFA run them and pay for the clean up. Should the fans bring their empty cans to the stadium for recycling?

Seemed to me a load of people enjoying themselves both Spurs and Liverpool fans where in the vast majority very well behaved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

I think he was hoping for more trouble from Liverpool fans in Madrid I mean his beloved Man Utd fans did the same taking over Barcelona and not a peep from him

Ah that explains it.

Berserker wrote: »
    But but but .... English. Such is their level of hatred for everything British that they can't bring themselves to pass any sort of positive remarks about them.

Except for when they're claiming their teams as their own every other weekend. It's a strange one alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Ex England International Stan Collymore on the button. Knows well about facing down these racists and bigots. Fair play to him.

https://twitter.com/StanCollymore/status/1136378015636738048

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

I'd prefix this by saying I'm not Catholic, I went as far as formally defecting from the Catholic Church having being brought up in a household that never even went to mass. I wouldn't know one end of a tabernacle from the other.

As a somewhat outside observer, as Irishman who isn't catholic, my experience is that there's a significant issue in the UK with anti-Catholic sectarianism in a way that really isn't tolerated or dished out towards other religious groups and it seems to roll all the way back to Tudor-era propaganda when you start to pick it apart and some of it is undoubtedly anti-Irish too.

In a whole load of occasions while living in open minded, liberal, London I have had people trying to tell me about my "catholic guilt". I'm an atheist, openly gay, no fan of organised religion at of any sort, strongly believe in having a secular state and would be far less likely to have any 'catholic guilt' complex than most of the people who were doling this stuff out.

I've als had things like being told that "Ah you're not proper Irish - you're not even drunk mate!" and bing asked to pronounce 'th' over and over even though I don't don't pronounce it as D and even if I did, many of the people who were saying this pronounce it as "F" themselves, as in: "one, two, free! Uncle Arfur is in the barf!"

Even in respected academic and media circles, there's this constant banging on about religion, or more so the 1500s period, in the UK, in a way I don't see in Ireland anymore and I definitely don't see in France or the Benelux.

https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-18789154

"Discussion among eurozone leaders about the future of their single currency has become an increasingly divisive affair. On the surface, religion has nothing to do with it - but could Protestant and Catholic leaders have deep-seated instincts that lead them to pull the eurozone in different directions, until it breaks?"

They don't even seem to bother to pay attention that many of the places they were deeming to be Catholic or Protestant aren't. Germany is decidedly mixed and some of its most economically conservative parts are very historically very Catholic, Austria's historically catholic, so's large chunks of the Netherlands, France is revolutionarily secular with a strongly Catholic history and the most impacted economy, Greece, is mostly Greek Orthodox, but sure why pay any attention to that when it gets in the way of a good stereotype about protestant work ethic and catholic confession boxes?

Meanwhile the Anglican Church is probably the least dramatic of any reformation, it still even describes itself as a catholic church, it's just forked away from the Roman Catholic church but it was never really quite the same as the churches that broke off on profound theological differences, it was about Tudor era power and the fact that Spain, Britain's then arch nemesis empire, basically ran the Catholic Church at the time.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I think the English / British in general could do with actually acknowledging they have a problem with sectarianism.

For all the looking on in horror at Northern Ireland's sectarian issues, a diluted, but still very present version of the same thing seems to crop up across English culture too, particularly after a feed of beers and a bit of jingoism - all of a sudden the filter's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

.Charlo wrote: »
    Fella stabbed last year in Phibsboro during a bohs and rovers mill up. Yeah thankfully it's rare but these goons are actually copying what they see across the water even down to what they wear. But yeah they hate the Brits and all that.

Its actually the casual subculture they follow, no different to the Italians, Dutch, Germans etc

Most of these lads couldnt give two ****s about the international scene either,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Who are ya, who are ya

major bill wrote: »
    Its actually the casual subculture they follow, no different to the Italians, Dutch, Germans etc

I'm well aware of the casual culture, that doesn't mean you have to sing your songs with an English accent which is exactly what was happening last time I was in Dalymount. It's only a a small minority most supporters are grand and dont buy into any of that nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I'm well aware of the casual culture, that doesn't mean you have to sing your songs with an English accent which is exactly what was happening last time I was in Dalymount. It's only a a small minority most supporters are grand and dont buy into any of that nonsense.

Been going dalymount 20 years and have yet to hear songs been sung in English accents but whatever backs up your post!!

Move closer to the gimps in the corner of the Jodi, I can tell you now it happens and it was a running joke among other LOI clubs especially the country teams used to abuse the bohs lads over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Things being stirred up a la the 80s and early 90s again. These lads don't know what the IRA were so the fact that they are chanting about them is quite odd really.

What is startling however is the amount of people in this thread making excuses for the songs under the pretext of 'the Pope is this and the IRA are that'. It isn't an intellectual discussion about the rights or wrongs of those two entities, it is bigotry and sectarianism. More specifically, it is trying to lord it over another group of people when they are tanked up on booze. Disgusting behaviour. (Note they haven't chanted about the Russians interestingly enough). If they did that against other groups it wouldn't be acceptable either.

In theory - if you are in principle against bigotry or sectarianism, you should condemn this behaviour.
    In practice - they would likely target you for being Irish, Catholicism or Northern politics aside. (they aren't discerning between any Irish).

Stop defending them - they are scumbags ruining a city for the time they are in it.

Defending the scumbags chanting these songs also harms the good England fans (of which there are many) who don't taint themselves with sectarianism and bigotry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

thought the english hooligans had all gone to ground, after a few Russians ran them out of Marsellles in '16- they wernt so brave then , but that is the way with any gang of bullies/cowards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 OneEyedORourke

Before everyone starts bad mouthing LOI/football fans with the usual 'it's all scumbags' etc. I'll direct you to the articles below.

GAA brawl

Rugby brawl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,897 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Chatting to an English mate about this today. Asked him how they had the fans away for the euro finals with out any big trouble but the England team fans are straight away at it again.

He said the england fans are basically a different set of people from those who travel abroad for club matches. If you follow a premiership team like Liverpool, they will have a number of away matches in Europe each year. A normal fan will be able to go to a couple of foreign matches a year (money, time, family commitments) and they would definitely choose to go to Liverpool matches over England games.

So it's lower league supporters who are travelling to England games and they only follow England as a second team so they're only there for the piss up in the sun and because they don't care about the football team, they end up being belligerent and causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sure you only need to see the flag and banners - nothing or almost nothing that references the Europe level clubs plenty of Leyton Orient/Millwall level stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

Before everyone starts bad mouthing LOI/football fans with the usual 'it's all scumbags' etc. I'll direct you to the articles below.

GAA brawl

Rugby brawl

Oh well in that case it makes it OK for football fans to act like ***** then, all if forgiven now. I withdraw the criticism of the England fans causing trouble that I posted earlier in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Ban the English national team for 10 years

Close down the prem indefinitely

Build up the serie A and bundesliga and of course the Irish league.

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,802 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Ban the national team for 10 years

Close down the prem indefinitely

Build up the serie A and bundesliga

Problem solved.

Idiotic ideas to say the least :rolleyes:

Actually after Brexit that should be the end of them in European comps anyway

Let them play Australia and the West Indies ffs

And let fifa ban Australia and West Indies for playing them. Make them a total pariah.

Idiotic ideas to say the least :rolleyes:

Not at all. What don’t you understand?

It would solve the English hooligan problem overnight. We don’t want these scum

Not at all. What don’t you understand?

It would solve the English hooligan problem overnight. We don’t want these scum

How do you "close the premiership indefinitely"?

Please just explain that one idiotic idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭trashcan

Wonder how those lads feel about Declan Rice playing tonight ? He's been partial to the odd Ra cheerleading himself in the past.

U do realise there are the following:

1-European football authority
    2-global football authority

Do you even know basic facts about the administration of football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

It's obvious isn't it?

Do you even know basic facts about administration of football?

I do, do you realise some of the biggest clubs in the world are in the premiership? What about all of the other divisions? Do you close those too?

Will you call for Russian, Polish, French premiership to be closed too?

You really haven't thought this idiotic idea through have you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I do, do you realise some of the biggest clubs in the world are in the premiership? What about all of the other divisions? Do you close those too?

You just fire all the players, managers and staff. Then you close all the grounds. Duh.

I’ve just said close down the English prem indefinitely. That would solve the problem along with banning the national team for 10 years.

If you don’t agree you are hopelessly naive, sorry but that’s being honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

oLoonatic wrote: »
    I don't see the problem here.

"F the Pope and the IRA"

Both have caused and/or covered up awful things over the last number of decades.
    If you believe that FF /FG / Lab did not know a lot of what was going on in the Catholic church you are very naive . They had / have their fingers on the pulse of local communities . They’d know a lot less if it suited them but it suited them more to “ know nothing "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Yeah that's totally what I said. Don't be silly.

Only you brought self respect into it.

My point is: why take "**** the IRA" as a slight on us normal non violent Irish people? The IRA have nothing to do with me.

Of course all football hooligans are scum though, and will hopefully be arrested and more.

I don’t think the people shouting “Fück the IRA” are making that distinction.

I’ve just said close down the English prem indefinitely. That would solve the problem along with banning the national team for 10 years.

If you don’t agree you are hopelessly naive, sorry but that’s being honest.

The prem is one league, what about the other leagues? What about the teams in the EFL? You only want to ban the top flight teams but leave the lower league teams playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Do you even know basic facts about the administration of football?

You clearly haven't a bogs notion.

The prem is one league, what about the other leagues? What about the teams in the EFL? You only want to ban the top flight teams but leave the lower league teams playing?

To get rid of the British hooligans out of Europe the best thing is to wind down/end the prem. No more euro jaunts abroad.

Ten years in the wilderness will be of benefit as it will give the British police/security much needed breathing space to get a handle on these hooligans and serve travel bans on them.

In fairness maybe after 5 years they will be able to present a credible case to uefa/fifa that they have the situation under control

Remains to be seen

decent through ball from john sheridan followed by the best days work those guards ever did at 1min10sec
    I notice that when Police beat the sh!te out of them are pretty harmless .

I don’t understand why riot police don’t do this sooner and more often .

Its very effective .

To get rid of the British hooligans out of Europe the best thing is to wind down/end the prem. No more euro jaunts abroad.

Ten years in the wilderness will be of benefit as it will give the British police/security much needed breathing space to get a handle on these hooligans and serve travel bans on them.

In fairness maybe after 5 years they will be able to present a credible case to uefa/fifa that they have the situation under control

Remains to be seen

Ah stop kid your talking shìte and obviously have no clue.

England winning 1-0

Hope that doesnt upset you too much ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Two Premier League teams played last weekend with 100,000 or so of their fans travelling to Madrid and there was no trouble. Why should they be banned for the actions of the national teams fans?

blinding wrote: »
    I notice that when Police beat the sh!te out of them are pretty harmless .

I don’t understand why riot police don’t do this sooner and more often .

Its very effective .

The ironic thing is most of those proudly waving the butchers apron are fascists/nazis of one shade or another !!

I don’t think the people shouting “Fück the IRA” are making that distinction.

You dont know what they are thinking when they say it, when I think of the UVF I dont think of British people I think of fellas in balaclavas with guns.

Ah stop kid your talking shìte and obviously have no clue.

England winning 1-0

Hope that doesnt upset you too much ;)

Off with ye kid. Not interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

You dont know what they are thinking when they say it, when I think of the UVF I dont think of British people I think of fellas in balaclavas with guns.

I think of collusion and all the innocents the british helped them.to kill :(

dan1895 wrote: »
    Two Premier League teams played last weekend with 100,000 or so of their fans travelling to Madrid and there was no trouble. Why should they be banned for the actions of the national teams fans?

Many of whom support teams in the lower leagues, but this guy wants to shut down the premiership:pac:

Hasn't a clue what he's waffling on about and has no idea that he should stop digging.

Better safe than sorry surely

Plenty of “firms” as they say in both those clubs

They usually kick 7 shades of sh1te out of each other in waste ground or isolated industrial estates nowhere near the stadium. It’s all on YouTube if you care to research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

They don't travel well.

_blaaz wrote: »
    I think of collusion and all the innocents the british helped them.to kill :(

This is it

Just a few days ago journalists in NI got back their material investigating collusion. The judge severely criticized the police force involved.

The rot goes so deep

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

plenty irish people would join them singing fck the pope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Better safe than sorry surely

Plenty of “firms” as they say in both those clubs

They usually kick 7 shades of sh1te out of each other in waste ground or isolated industrial estates nowhere near the stadium. It’s all on YouTube if you care to research.
    A handful of cnuts fighting in wasteground is no reason to go banning an entire league of clubs. What do you propose gets done about German, French, Polish, Dutch hooligans who act in a similar way?

Just ban them. Best thing to do. Distribute the uefa funds around the Irish and other euro leagues. Let the Brits play with themselves

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

decent through ball from john sheridan followed by the best days work those guards ever did at 1min10sec

today's guards wouldn't be allowed to touch them or any other skangers now

Nobelium wrote: »
    plenty irish people would join them singing fck the pope
    Is it the dress that gets them horny !