Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things That Trialvilly Annoy You.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think Ulster Bank machines have tenners?

Rarely in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I could have sat there all day and not liked any photo taken for my drivers licence renewal. I picked the first one taken and am going to have to suffer it for 10 years :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

English people working as customer service, In Ireland i mean.
    Queue up to get X,Y done and the person has an English accent.
    Pisses me right off

cjmc wrote: »
    English people working as customer service, In Ireland i mean.
    Queue up to get X,Y done and the person has an English accent.
    Pisses me right off

Do you find them less helpful?

In my industry I deal with a lot of English colleagues - fine on a 1:1 level but professionally are much more standoffish and impersonal with customers. They have a totally different way of doing business. And then you have the converse - I have dealt with English customers who have relocated to Ireland and they can't believe how much the Irish do for them (from a service perspective) compared to the UK staff.

Their snotty attitude , women more then men , and mostly the accent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

People who cant do basic cooking.
    People who use text speak.
    Weather talk.
    Bad table manners.
    Neighbour doing noisey outdoor work at stupid times.
    Hipsters, stoners, vegans, trendy cool young fellas in womens jeans.
    Packet ham, watery plastic dirt.
    People who cant put phone away for more than 2 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Bank of Ireland ATMs

Machine: Would you like:
    • Other amount

Me: I’ll have €40

Machine: MULTIPLES OF €50 ONLY

Me: But you said..

Machine: Here’s your card back

Me: But I want....

Machine: OUT OF SERVICE
    You're lucky it didn't eat it!

They have a much bigger population compared to us: 5 million vs 65 million so they're more obsessive about rules and regulations. Irish people are more likely to take the "it's grand, lets find a way around it" mentality.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    They have a much bigger population compared to us: 5 million vs 65 million so they're more obsessive about rules and regulations. Irish people are more likely to take the "it's grand, lets find a way around it" mentality.

The “computer says no” mentality is rife there. Seriously inflexible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Be right back

People giving their kids McDonald's burgers and chips for their breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

People giving their kids McDonald's burgers and chips for their breakfast.

Arguably better than most breakfast cereals.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

The way a perfectly articulate friend acts when he's on facebook.
    Often messages me for no apparent reason. Hello lady, he says. Then it's, how are you. Then, are you up to anything.

It's painful at times. There doesn't seem to beba point to it.

Also people messaging and tagging me in memes on FB. Its nice to be thought of and I love them dearly but I can see those things in the newsfeed without needing them taking up the inbox and my own page.

TA people posting "Thanks gor adding me" and "Following" on threads. We all get a notification every time someone does it and they could just say hi and thanks on the pinned post, and click Follow from the drop down menu.

Some real misery Porn for all my enemies: My Bus Eireann coach from Sligo to Ballina has broken down in the middle of the country. Stopped on the road folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,920 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    It's not the ATMs fault, it's the person that fills the cash cassette!

It's proper cassette loading procedure to do that, it's to stop the security strips lining up and creating a bulge on one side.

Useless cash fact no. 2: the security strips are also offset slightly to stop this happening too.

Today's TA: People who use "lol" as a form of punctuation.

The “computer says no” mentality is rife there. Seriously inflexible.

That's exactly the attitude I was thinking of.

Rubberlegs wrote: »
    I could have sat there all day and not liked any photo taken for my drivers licence renewal. I picked the first one taken and am going to have to suffer it for 10 years :(

I was having a fight with the passport photo machine and by the time i got one that was "acceptable" I was really annoyed. So now i look like a convict or something forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Want to invite my sister and her bf over for dinner but he's a non-alcoholic vegan, who won't eat carbs. Wtf do I feed him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,170 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Want to invite my sister and her bf over for dinner but he's a non-alcoholic vegan, who won't eat carbs. Wtf do I feed him?

A big block of tofu and a head of lettuce.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

When you go to scrunch a fallen leaf with your foot, and the leaf isn't even crunchy. What a disappointment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Ice cubes and a glass of water!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Oh, and another one: in case you didn't know, vacuum cleaner heads designed for pet hairs cannot deal with human hair at all, especially if it's long. I've to open up two different brushes to try and remove it. Double the work. Dammit.

Ask your sister for his favourite recipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Spent over an hour in that sun for waiting for two busses yes,
    had a horrible head and tummy ache by the time sib got home, was told I should smile more!!!!!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I went to collect girl dog's ashes yesterday, on the way back I went into the local supermarket.
    I hadn't expected the sympathetic looks from women who recognised the discrete(but too big for my handbag) carrier bag.
    Guy at the till queue, invades my space to say 'I see you had your dog cremated, was it dear?'

TA doesn't cover it!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    People who cant do basic cooking.
    People who use text speak.
    Weather talk.
    Bad table manners.
    Neighbour doing noisey outdoor work at stupid times.
    Hipsters, stoners, vegans, trendy cool young fellas in womens jeans.
    Packet ham, watery plastic dirt.
    People who cant put phone away for more than 2 minutes.

Except I am that neighour strimming the hedge at 9o'clock on a Saturday evening and I'm so paranoid about my eating I'd rather eat my dinner on my own rather than at a crowded table, like a dog !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

People in jobs who get away with doing as little as possible. Yet they'll be the most thought of by management and get promotion ahead of other employees who work their butts off.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I Think you mean skinny jeans , when you said i do not like men who wear womens jeans .
    I think standard jeans look better.
    i do not think most women would find skinny jeans comfortable to wear.
    i go to a shop, i buy a usb drive,6 euro,
    the assistant says would you like to buy insurance on this item.
    Why would anyone buy insurance for an item worth less than 10 euro,s .
    It makes no sense .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭its_steve116

The fact that there is nowhere on television for Irish artists to get their music videos shown. I would love to see a show like No Disco or Nightshift on our screens again. Make it viable for the Spotify/YouTube generation

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Middle-aged lads in Dublin jerseys, jeans, and white runners hamming up their jackeen accent and trying to sound like Ronnie Drew. The sort of monumental pains in the hole who view themselves as ‘salt of da ert’ Dubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Anyone ever listen to NPR? The main lad's accent, it's like the most irritating nerdy lame accent ever.

TA , after shaving nicely to go out for the AI, all I can feel is the bit under my lip I missed !

That I didn't know gtts stands for drops, in a recipe or preparation. Was going to post it in the bet-you-didn't-know thread but ta I can't find it.

Why though? Wouldn't it just be easier to use drops? It's only one more letter.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Why though? Wouldn't it just be easier to use drops? It's only one more letter.

That's that real ta for me. I still do not know what gtts means, or why use it, only what it stands for. Yet another thing I should google...after "why is my fridge defrosting erratically"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

That's that real ta for me. I still do not know what gtts means, or why use it, only what it stands for. Yet another thing I should google...after "why is my fridge defrosting erratically"

Just googled it , from the Latin word Guttae , meaning drops , if that's of any help .

Mam of 4 wrote: »

Just googled it , from the Latin word Guttae , meaning drops , if that's of any help .

Thanks Mam. Somehow I respect it more now 'cause it's Latin :D

I guess the endless list of things I wonder about but should just google is a ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

TA is the sneaky hangover. Was ok until 6 this evening and then it kicked in. Its not quite Defcon 1 but I'm not exactly skipping around either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

The Glitch hitting the where are you now? thread :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭gifted

Awake....again...ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

The fact that the news for the next week (at the very least) will be dominated by the Dubs 5 in a row and Brexit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

shells of pistachio nuts that are closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

People that dont answer your FB texts.Are the same ones that want an answer straight away when they text you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Deja Boo wrote: »
    Now it's a TA to see both sexes having to tug at their skinny jeans all the time

I saw a Japanese looking young fella walking down the street in skinny ripped jeans last week and I despaired for the future of the human race. He looked so ridiculous.

Mind you I was on my way back from soccer in shorts, astro turf boots and a twenty year old soccer jersey, so he may have thought the same of me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Opened new packet of digestive biscuits. Biscuits not their usual crunchy selves. Looked at the packet. Seam down the side after parting. Now it's a race against time before they go right soft.

Bit into a fun size Twix and part of my tooth broke off. The centre already contains a filling. No pain but will ring dentist first thing in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Ive done a load of dishes.

Yet more dishes still need to be washed.

When people take/use your things without asking you and then don’t leave them how/where they found them, and THEN have the cheek to act like you’re some kind of psycho for getting pissed off about the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Seeing the bulk of disabled parking spaces outside any store or government building empty

A third of people are not disabled

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Your Face wrote: »
    Ive done a load of dishes.

Yet more dishes still need to be washed.

Welcome to my world.I seem to have constant dishes,pans and pots.Pain in me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Knine

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Seeing the bulk of disabled parking spaces outside any store or government building empty

A third of people are not disabled

Tell me where these are. I often have to do several laps of our shopping centre to find one if I arrive there any time after 10am.