Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munroe Bergdorf dropped by the NSPCC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

_blaaz wrote: »
    Jesus
    How deos someone this dumb get that high up a job?

This is the next line of defence for people who defend this - they were dumb to not hide this. It is all very reminiscent of PIE, the paedophile defence group who tried to infiltrate the LGB movement in the 80's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Why is the NSPCC Twitter page rainbow coloured?

Because employing perverts who dress in rubber and **** on their premises is all inclusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Much like men that constantly, and loudly, call themselves male feminists, I don't trust anyone that continually refers to themselves as "woke" or a "woke bae".

Woke in the tweets, pervert between the sheets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Dante7 wrote: »
    Last week the prominent transgender celebrity Munroe Bergdorf was appointed as a childline ambassador by the NSPCC. There was an outcry, mainly by feminist groups that this was inappropriate due to Bergdorf's history of encouraging children to contact "her" privately if their parents weren't supportive. This goes against all safeguarding guidelines. There were also other issues regarding racist and homophobic tweets posted by Bergdorf.

The NSPCC reviewed this and decided that Bergdorf was not an appropriate ambassador for their Childline service and rescinded the role. Cue the outrage from the woke bros on Twitter who tried to paint this as transphobia. The Guardian, BBC, Owen Jones and several other prominent right-on dudes posted that this was a disgrace, while completely ignoring the concerns that were highlighted.

I can't see any evidence of that being the main reason for people being against her appointment, the only reference to that I can find is a single sentence from a letter to the NSPCC from some crowd called "Safe Schools" - https://twitter.com/SafeSchools_UK/status/1137060370361782272

This organisation doesn't seem to be legit though, it's online presence is less than a week old and appears to have been created for this sole purpose. It's not beyond the realms that this person/people have a problem with trans folk - the line about "social contagion" in that letter certainly didn't sound great. Another prominent critic of the appointment, journalist Janice Turner - who supposedly takes issue with Munro having posed for Playboy - has also been criticised for writing inflammatory pieces about trans people in the past.

I think it's quite possible these people are motivated by transphobia and that's likely what the "woke bros of twitter" are referring to. Of course, what constitutes transphobia is hotly debated at the minute - as evidenced by plenty of threads on here.

I would have thought the same comments that got her kicked from L'Oreal would preclude her from taking a role like this and Im surprised that they weren't the focal point of the complaints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Bullying pieces of sh1t on Twitter. More concerned with the dismissal of Bergdorf than protection of children. I don't think Bergdorf is automatically a risk to children but if she breached the guidelines, she breached the guidelines. And she published racist and homophobic tweets? I'd have to see these but wouldn't folk like Owen Jones take issue with this surely?

And the other person - yeah I don't think that photo proves he's a threat to children either, but what the fuq was he doing publishing it at the time? Idiocy. And so tasteless.

RWCNT wrote: »
    I can't see any evidence of that being the main reason for people being against her appointment, the only reference to that I can find is a single sentence from a letter to the NSPCC from some crowd called "Safe Schools" - https://twitter.com/SafeSchools_UK/status/1137060370361782272

This organisation doesn't seem to be legit though, it's online presence is less than a week old and appears to have been created for this sole purpose. It's not beyond the realms that this person/people have a problem with trans folk - the line about "social contagion" in that letter certainly didn't sound great. Another prominent critic of the appointment, journalist Janice Turner - who supposedly takes issue with Munro having posed for Playboy - has also been criticised for writing inflammatory pieces about trans people in the past.

I think it's quite possible these people are motivated by transphobia and that's likely what the "woke bros of twitter" are referring to. Of course, what constitutes transphobia is hotly debated at the minute - as evidenced by plenty of threads on here.

I would have thought the same comments that got her kicked from L'Oreal would preclude her from taking a role like this and Im surprised that they weren't the focal point of the complaints.

Bergdorf absolutely did encourage children to contact her privately against all child safeguarding guidelines. Bergdorf also posted racist and homophobic content and posed for Playboy. Do you dispute this? Do you think that Bergdorf is an an appropriate ambassador for childline? Do you also think it is appropriate for an official employed by the NSPCC to publicly post videos of himself **** in the NSPCC toulets while dressed in rubber? Give your head a wobble and cop on.

I never said she didn't do those things, what exactly do I have to "give my head a wobble and cop on" for?

As for your questions -

1) I won't dispute those things, although I havn't personally seen anything homophobic she's posted and I can't find anything from a quick skim of google. So, if I must dispute something, maybe that. Happy?

2) I wouldn't have thought so, like I said before, I would have thought her previous controversial comments on race probably would have precluded her. Did you miss that bit?

3) LOL - no, but thanks for asking. Jesus christ, that bloke must want the ground to open and swallow him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

She was sacked by L' Oreal for gems like
    Honestly I don’t have energy to talk about the racial violence of white people any more. Yes ALL white people”.

She added: “Once white people begin to admit that their race is the most violent and oppressive force of nature on Earth… then we can talk”.

L’Oreal fired her and in a statement said the company “supports diversity and tolerance towards all people”.

She also said the suffragettes were “white supremacists” who wanted to deny black people the vote, and described gay Tories as “a special kind of d**khead”.

She later tried to play down her rant, saying it was taken out of context.

Munroe said she was referring to “the fact that western society as a whole is a system rooted in white supremacy – designed to benefit, prioritise and protect white people before anyone of any other race”/

• Registered Users Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Some people try so hard to be open minded that their brains actually fall out.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,385 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

No. Encouraging children to contact a stranger online goes against all safeguarding guidelines. Bergdorf advocated this in their role as a trans celebrity.

That is true but as in the case of childline it depends on the stranger. Never heard of this guy btw so have no idea if it would be good or bad to reach out to him but in a general sense if they are vetted strangers there seems to be no issue.
    How children or meant to know this is anyone's guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

And she published racist and homophobic tweets? I'd have to see these but wouldn't folk like Owen Jones take issue with this surely?
    These are the ones that seem to be the most talked about,. The pic I uploaded is quotes from arguments she has had online with people. More in the linked tweet.
    https://mobile.twitter.com/bettytastic/status/1138738868528848897

D82c9qiXoAEenXP?format=jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

They should've been a spokesperson for mental health issues not child abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

She was sacked by L' Oreal for gems like
    Honestly I don’t have energy to talk about the racial violence of white people any more. Yes ALL white people”.

She added: “Once white people begin to admit that their race is the most violent and oppressive force of nature on Earth… then we can talk”.

L’Oreal fired her and in a statement said the company “supports diversity and tolerance towards all people”.

She also said the suffragettes were “white supremacists” who wanted to deny black people the vote, and described gay Tories as “a special kind of d**khead”.

She later tried to play down her rant, saying it was taken out of context.

Munroe said she was referring to “the fact that western society as a whole is a system rooted in white supremacy – designed to benefit, prioritise and protect white people before anyone of any other race”/

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thesun.co.uk/news/5684670/munroe-bergdorf-transgender-model-sacked-loreal-racism-lgbt-adviser-labour/amp/
    She tried to backtrack and say she meant white people are racist because of socialisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

Autecher wrote: »
    These are the ones that seem to be the most talked about,. The pic I uploaded is quotes from arguments she has had online with people. More in the linked tweet.
    https://mobile.twitter.com/bettytastic/status/1138738868528848897

D82c9qiXoAEenXP?format=jpg

And people call Donald Trump homophobic.
    This NSPCC dingbat is the face of homophobia and racism.

Not the likes of Donald Trump.

And people (the ones not looking the other way, that is) equivocating over the other guy **** in rubber and posting it online. This is a guy meant to be looking after kids' welfare.

As someone above said, the world is getting more and more ****ed up every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

She’s a horrible screeching mess off her head on campus liberalism and American call out culture.

They can all go in the f*cking bin. Back in the 1960s the Black Panthers realised racism was rooted in class society and that they could work with all working class people in the overthrow of capitalism.

They had a better analysis of the situation 50 years ago than these f*cking twats have today. Honest to God. The Labour Party and unions used to be the vehicles of the working class, now everywhere I look there’s some spoilt graduate jumping up and down about nonsense.

F*ck off. I wish Bob Crow was still alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Cryptopagan

FTA69 wrote: »
    She’s a horrible screeching mess off her head on campus liberalism and American call out culture.

They can all go in the f*cking bin. Back in the 1960s the Black Panthers realised racism was rooted in class society and that they could work with all working class people in the overthrow of capitalism.

They had a better analysis of the situation 50 years ago than these f*cking twats have today. Honest to God. The Labour Party and unions used to be the vehicles of the working class, now everywhere I look there’s some spoilt graduate jumping up and down about nonsense.

Cool, we’ll just tell young people suffering with gender dysphoria that they’ll feel better after capitalism is overthrown.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Cool, we’ll just tell young people suffering with gender dysphoria that they’ll feel better after capitalism is overthrown.

Do you know what we shouldn’t do? Tell vulnerable young people to go randomly contacting untrained and unvetted adults and entrust them with secrets. That’s dangerous and goes against all child-Protection protocol by the way.

Bergdorf literally can’t open her mouth without coming out with piles of b*llocks and having her a poster girl for the left does us tremendous amounts of damage.

Do you know what we shouldn’t do? Tell vulnerable young people to go randomly contacting untrained and unvetted adults and entrust them with secrets. That’s dangerous and goes against all child-Protection protocol by the way.

Bergdorf literally can’t open her mouth without coming out with piles of b*llocks and having her a poster girl for the left does us tremendous amounts of damage.

That wasn’t the point you were making a moment ago, which was something about how the left needs to double down on the idea that revolution will deliver us to a socialist utopia where problems like gender dysphoria and transphobia will melt into air.

I don’t know anything about Bergdorf really, and her previous interventions sound very naive at best, but someone with her background and experiences definitely has something to contribute to understanding what young people with gender dysphoria are going through.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

That wasn’t the point you were making a moment ago, which was something about how the left needs to double down on the idea that revolution will deliver us to a socialist utopia where problems like gender dysphoria and transphobia will melt into air.

I don’t know anything about Bergdorf really, and her previous interventions sound very naive at best, but someone with her background and experiences definitely has something to contribute to understanding what young people with gender dysphoria are going through.

This is how mistakes are made.

And people call Donald Trump homophobic.
    This NSPCC dingbat is the face of homophobia and racism.

Not the likes of Donald Trump.

And people (the ones not looking the other way, that is) equivocating over the other guy **** in rubber and posting it online. This is a guy meant to be looking after kids' welfare.

As someone above said, the world is getting more and more ****ed up every day.

In fairness to her, every homophobic quote in that pic was posted when she was living as a gay man - I hear gay guys use "f@g" and "poof" all the time, I don't think it makes them homophobic. The comments about lesbians were supposedly part of a back and forth banter with one of her lesbian friends. The posts and language are still very offensive and I'd expect the sack if my boss found them on my page, but I think it's a bit unfair to conclude that she's a homophobe. It also seems weird that they've highlighted her using the N word, when she's black herself - any accusations of racism should be firmly in relation to the comments that got her kicked from L'Oreal.

Although I'm not a fan of Bergdorf, I think whoever put that picture together has an agenda. It wouldn't be the first time that people have used things like that to impede people they oppose for whatever reason: other recent examples that spring to mind are film director James Gunn and radio host Sam Seder.

This is how mistakes are made.

How exactly? I’m just a random message board poster—me not knowing much about this person doesn’t affect anything. But as a general principle, it would be useful for an organization which purports to help young people with any and all issues they might face to get the perspectives of adults who’ve already been through that same issue, whether that’s exam stress, loss of a parent, or indeed gender dysphoria.

Well 88% of them will feel better and desist after they go through puberty. And yet some people are advocating that they should go on puberty blockers and other meds.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,297 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The perfect news story, people at each end of the scale can all pretend they're outraged and point fingers when really not much has actually happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

How exactly? I’m just a random message board poster—me not knowing much about this person doesn’t affect anything. But as a general principle, it would be useful for an organization which purports to help young people with any and all issues they might face to get the perspectives of adults who’ve already been through that same issue, whether that’s exam stress, loss of a parent, or indeed gender dysphoria.

She gets these gigs because of her popularity with random message board posters and the Twitterati who are seemingly willing to give her a pass on everything because she is trans.

Experience with gender dysphoria doesn’t trump everything else. Just get a trans person that doesn’t have a very visible history of being a grade A dick to do the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bob Crow did sweet FA about it while he was alive. Same as Len McCLuskey and Jeremy Corbyn do now.

They carried this scorpion and now its stinging them. **** them all. The left as a whole stopped giving a **** about ordinary working people a long time ago.

She gets these gigs because of her popularity with random message board posters and the Twitterati who are seemingly willing to give her a pass on everything because she is trans.

Experience with gender dysphoria doesn’t trump everything else. Just get a trans person that doesn’t have a very visible history of being a grade A dick to do the job.

These organizations always recruited celebrities, and in this age of social media influencers, that will include YouTubers, Blue Tick accounts, and the rest. The platform they have makes them influential anyhow, so it makes sense to bring them into the fold of established care organizations, who can provide guidance, training and a supervisory structure. Some young people experiencing distress around gender will end up going to Twitter and other such platforms for help anyhow, so a group concerned with their welfare can’t just ignore them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Good . As much as I'd like to be p.c, there are big questions around the integrity of high profile transactivists and 'gender' clinics and children -and the basic concept of 'genders'. I've taken enough punishment for talking about these questions and this isn't my hill to die on so I'll leave it at that . I'd just encourage people to find their backbones and ask the hard questions without prejudice or hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

It might be an idea to look for qualifications beyond model for being an advisory capacity in a charity. I really don’t understand how people can get these jobs by having some level of fame.