Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,153 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

BloodBath wrote: »
    You are incredibly naive if you think these animals can be rehabilitated and integrate back into society. Maybe they can move in with you.

They showed not one ounce of remorse , not one ounce of guilt , not ounce of empathy towards Ana mam and dad . Not one single ounce of regret or even a tear of empathy . Boy B spoke of Ana with disdain and used horrible words about her even after her death
    Both these boys will never be rehabilitated in my opinion

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

splinter65 wrote: »
    There’s absolutely no evidence of Ana being in any contact with either boy at school so that is pure speculation on your behalf.
    It is further wild speculation on your behalf that boy a is a psychopath. Nobody in authority in this case has suggested any such thing.
    You stated in previous posts that Ana was groomed. Once again wild ludicrous completely unfounded speculation by you. Absolutely not one shred of evidence to support your theory.
    The video of Ana tied and bound shows no evidence of either boy. No grooming by them. You’re just making stuff up as you’re going along now.

Actually, it is said that she told boy A she liked him before so there must have been some interaction of some kind some time...

Boy A must have known she liked him if he asked Boy B to get her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Calltocall wrote: »
    I find it difficult to have much sympathy for the parents of the perpetrators for a number of reasons but mainly because

A. During boy B’s numerous interviews with the gardai it would of become clear he was lying, changing story when the guards had him cornered etc etc, the guards knew he was lying and continued to probe and well done to them to get him to eventually fess up but even then I’m not convinced he told them the full truth. Where were his parents during all of this, why didn’t they intervene and basically grab him by the scruff of the neck and tell him enough of this **** you tell the guards the truth and face the consequences of what you did to that poor girl but no instead they sat back and allowed him to concoct his web of lies under their watchful eye, it’s shameful, you know your kids and you know when they are lying yet they allowed him to continue with his little charade. If that’s what their parenting amounted to then it’s no surprise what they are left with, an empty vessel of a child who does not fear telling lies and has no core sense of human decency /values/beliefs because he wasn’t taught any and without these we’re basically animals. For this I have little to no sympathy for them.

B. Boy B’s Fathers outburst in court summed it all up for me and it’s a true sign of degenerate behavior when rather than accept responsibility for your own actions you pass the blame onto others, he had no sense of sympathy for the victim who’s child had been brutally murdered, all the hallmarks of a degenerate no wonder the kid ended up in the situation he’s in when there’s no leadership from his parents

Again, I’ve no sympathy for them.

My feelings exactly. As much as I appreciate that no parent ever sets out to find themselves sitting in court with their 13 year old child being found guilty of murder, I think it never once occurred to him to spare a thought for the parents of the dead child, sitting so near to him. I think he saw them as the enemy almost. Their dead daughter was the cause of his inconvenience.

All this talk of having A and B hanged, locked up forever, they are "animals", "scum" etc. gets us nowhere. It only serves to placate the mob. The best thing would be for them to serve their sentence, during which time they should be rehabilitated such that they will no longer be a threat to the public. Hopefully they will enter back into society under new identities and be able to contribute something. There has been enough destruction because of this sorry indecent, it is time now to move on and make the best of it that we can. That would be the best way to remember Anna IMHO.

Personally i have no interest in their rehab. I'd lock them up for 50 years if it was up to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭mrjoneill

Suckit wrote: »
    Boy B must have been a really devious little f**ker. 3km he walked with her. She must have been ecstatic. God knows what sh*t he was filling her with/answering her questions.

Jesus.

Absolutely a devious b@stard that led a naive girl to her death chatting & smiling as he did. And he was the smarts guy of the 2. He really believed he could manipulate the world. He tried the same in Garda questioning to set the agenda, stating Ana was a weirdo, she had no friends, no one liked her, she was a slut for to ofset the Garda concerns as she was of no consequences. It was all his world. And he showed no remorse after it it was as if nothing happened and this was after a brutal savage murder that covered the room with blood spatter. In questioning he never expressed any remorse for what Ana suffered or her family. He never broke down in all of this and we still don't know the full story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Stheno wrote: »
    He is served 13 years in total.

I'd expect boy A to get a similar sentence there appears to be a lot of similarities between the crimes.

Boy B I am not sure about

This was quoted earlier from a newspaper article
    The two boys will be sentenced on July 15. While life sentences are mandatory in Irish law for adults in cases of murder, juveniles are treated differently.

In preparation for the sentencing, the presiding judge, Paul McDermott, has asked for probation, psychiatric and school reports on the two boys, which will be used, along with character witnesses and statements from those close to the victim, as guidelines.

Afaik Judges have discretion where minors are being sentenced for Crimes such as murder ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,174 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

All parents of children in Oberstown get free taxis to visit them. Paid by us.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

gozunda wrote: »
    This was quoted earlier from a newspaper article

Afaik Judges have discretion where minors are being sentenced for Crimes such as murder ...

You're right they do have discretion

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

splinter65 wrote: »
    My feelings exactly. As much as I appreciate that no paren ever sets out to find themselves sitting in court with their 13 year old child being found guilty of murder, I think it never once occurred to him to spare a thought for the parents of the dead child, sitting so near to him. I think he saw them as the enemy almost. Their dead daughter was the cause of his inconvenience.

Yes, it’s all quite chilling. The dirtbag didn’t even have the awareness that across from him sat the parents of a child who was savagely murdered and taken from them, what sort of a cretin, words fail me and he’s supposed to be the adult, no wonder the kid ended up the way he did. A damning indictment of society today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

Couldn't care less tbh, they have to live with the fact their scum children viciously murdered an innocent girl to death.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭mrjoneill

You are incredibly naive if you think these animals can be rehabilitated and integrate back into society. Maybe they can move in with you.
    First thing in rehabilitation is accepting what u done and it was wrong in this case an abomination.

I don’t understand that . What is wrong with a bus ? Parents of very sick kids don’t automatically get taxies to visit them ? This country is a mess

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Boggles wrote: »
    Asking for lego doesn't make one appear innocent. It just means they like lego.

As for Childish?

He is a child.

It's not like he asked for Peppa Pig.

There's a lot of 10-14 year olds around here, they're horrible little things, the stuff that comes out of their mouths is vile, their behaviour can only be described as feral, I assure you none of them play with legos. There is a naivete about the innocence of children, especially those in Dublin, that creates an image of children that no longer exists.

El_Bee wrote: »
    There's a lot of 10-14 year olds around here, they're horrible little things, the stuff that comes out of their mouths is vile, their behaviour can only be described as feral, I assure you none of them play with legos. There is a naivete about the innocence of children, especially those in Dublin, that creates an image of children that no longer exists.

Sorry but I live in Dublin and there are plenty of good , decent normal kids in Dublin . We are not all feral or wild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Lego isn't just a toy. Lego could be how he concentrates or to keep himself calm.
    Some lego models can be very complex. It could also be a sign of his intellect.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Sorry but I live in Dublin and there are plenty of good , decent normal kids in Dublin . We are not all feral or wild

Can we swap houses?

Some seriously disturbing things in this thread. I can see why anonymity is afforded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,528 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Really?

I'll need to see some sort of evidence before I get angry at this.

Have you any?

Really?

I'll need to see some sort of evidence before I get angry at this.

Have you any?

Told by person who works there.

Some seriously disturbing things in this thread. I can see why anonymity is afforded.

Why are you in their corner? Or do you just like rubbing people the wrong way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

Well, the fact of the matter is these two guys will probably be out in their twenties. This is the actual state of affairs. Whether you think that is right or not is irrelevant. It is what it is. Now, when they are released, do you think they are more likely to commit another crime if they have been isolated, beaten, mistreated etc or if they have an education, years of therapy and transferable skills.

Told by person who works there.

Oh right.

I'll hold the outrage so.

MrFresh wrote: »
    Well, the fact of the matter is these two guys will probably be out in their twenties. This is the actual state of affairs. Whether you think that is right or not is irrelevant. It is what it is. Now, when they are released, do you think they are more likely to commit another crime if they have been isolated, beaten, mistreated etc or if they have an education, years of therapy and transferable skills.

I wish the details of the rehabilitation of Thompson & Venables (the Bulger Case in England) were published, did they received the exact same treatment? As it stands we just don't know why one is seemingly rehabilitated and one clearly isn't.

Oh right.

I'll hold the outrage so.

Do whatever you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

The only disturbing thing is what those 2 ****ing scumbags did to this innocent girl. Save your sympathy for her and her family, these animals deserve nothing but death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

I wish the details of the rehabilitation of Thompson & Venables (the Bulger Case in England) were published, did they received the exact same treatment? As it stands we just don't know why one is seemingly rehabilitated and one clearly isn't.

Interesting parallel. If I recall, the boys were similar in their psychology. One was immature and not as intelligent. The other one was stoic and showed no remorse. He seemed more like Boy B. Venables was the first one and has reoffended multiple times. He has also revealed his own identity to people. He is a complete mess. We know nothing of Thompson. So did rehabilitation work or did he just learn how to commit crimes without being caught?

MrFresh wrote: »
    Interesting parallel. If I recall, the boys were similar in their psychology. One was immature and not as intelligent. The other one was stoic and showed no remorse. He seemed more like Boy B. Venables was the first one and has reoffended multiple times. He has also revealed his own identity to people. He is a complete mess. We know nothing of Thompson. So did rehabilitation work or did he just learn how to commit crimes without being caught?

I'm sure they were held in separate facilities, so there could have been a difference in the treatment they received, or they could have received the same treatment, and some people are just incapable of rehabilitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,402 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Venables woukd never engage in any meaningful way. Would never discuss the murder of James nevermind acknowledge his role in it. Thompson did.

In their case it really does seem to be divided evenly between nature and nurture. Thompson (and please, before anyone attacks me for defending what he did in any way, because I'm not! ) came from a background of mind boggling daily physical abuse to the degree that it had become normalised and obviously had damaged him to the degree that he did what he did. What's really disturbing in relation to his background is that Social Services KNEW what he and his younger sibling were being subjected to. They KNEW that he was already starting to externalise and show signs of deeply disturbing behaviour yet he was left in that situation with little to no intervention. In his case, the intervention he received while detained seems to have worked. I still think he should have served a number of years in an adult prison.

Venables? Born that way, I think. Throw away the key.

At the time of the murder investigation the Detectives believed that Thompson was the ringleader who lead Venables on. In light of how differently the two have turned out I've come across interviews with some of the Detectives who have since changed their minds on that one.

I'm sure they were held in separate facilities, so there could have been a difference in the treatment they received, or they could have received the same treatment, and some people are just incapable of rehabilitation.

There was a serious review commissioned into Venables.

He was fine inside and responded better than expectations into treatment.

It was when he got out and had to deal with a new identity is one of the reasons he struggled, he was in constant fear he would be outed and murdered and became dependent on drugs and drink.

Like everything there is no black and white, but I would agree some people can't be rehabilitated, that doesn't mean as a society you don't try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

The only disturbing thing is what those 2 ****ing scumbags did to this innocent girl. Save your sympathy for her and her family, these animals deserve nothing but death.

FFS, they are children, show some class.