Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

I don't think the courts are protecting the murderers identity. I think not naming the murderers is protecting their families

are all murderers families thus protected?

whats the justification for this exception

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

The real sentence here should have been that they are named once they turn 18. They should have no opportunity to have a normal life after what they have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Letwin_Larry

My innocent daughter deserves protection too.

clearly there was something awry either in these killers genetics or upbringing, or perhaps both.
    i wouldn't want their families moving into my local area. i have a young daughter also.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,012 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

The use of video games here and the easy access to pornograhy at a young age is certainly a contributing factor IMO.

Video games? Are you actually serious you absolute clown. I and and millions of others have played video games our whole lives and we're not out murdering people.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭RickBlaine

There is a big issue I have with anonymity especially were Boy A is concerned.

His semen was found on her body. It is possible that was his first sexual experience with a girl. He'll be locked up at an age where most teenage boys become sexually active and also for a majority (if not all) of his 20s.

So imagine a guy around 30, whose last (and possibly only) sexual experience with a girl was where he killed her in his early teens. He'll have always associated sex with violence since the formative years of his early teens.

This person is now free to meet and date woman who'll have no idea about this.

He'll no doubt receive therapy in prison but I'd be concerned about his attitude towards women, sex and violence as an adult.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

Their innocent families deserve protection.

Innocent families?? They raised those scumbags!

Kauto0709 wrote: »

Are you saying their families purposefully raised their children to be murderers?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,856 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Are you saying their families purposefully raised their children to be murderers?

If you think the family should be protected, then can you give us your view on why Graham Dwyer's family not afforded the same protection given that they also raised him? Should they have been afforded the same protection? If not, why not?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 98 ✭✭Charles Leclerc

And this post proves in no uncertain terms why these lads weren't named.

Unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

Video games? Are you actually serious you absolute clown. I and and millions of others have played video games our whole lives and we're not out murdering people.

How dare you call me a clown, do some research on the case and you will see that there is a point to my argument, i mentioned video games and easy access to porn. I will present some facts from around the case to support this.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ana-kriegel-murder-trial-jury-not-told-of-porn-found-on-boy-a-s-phone-1.3929624

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

No but I'm saying they obviously didn't raise them very well if they think it's ok to murder a young girl in cold blood for the craic!

How dare you call me a clown, do some research on the case and you will see that there is a point to my argument. I will present some facts from the case to support this.

You are a clown. You're an absolute idiot in fact if you believe video games had anything to do with this or any other murder. Some people are evil some of those evil people also happen to play video games. Some of them also happen to play the piano play volleyball but that's not what makes them murderers.

Cannot name them now as they are minors. The judge is and was merely reinforcing this due to the baying mob of keyboard warriors.

Talking out your hole dude. They could have been named at 18 at the discretion of the judge. There is no law that adults cannot be named. If you think it exists, given you are a legal expert advising others to educate themselves on the law, you can feel free to point us to the specific legislation.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭tigger123

How dare you call me a clown, do some research on the case and you will see that there is a point to my argument. I will present some facts from the case to support this.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ana-kriegel-murder-trial-jury-not-told-of-porn-found-on-boy-a-s-phone-1.3929624

There's hundreds of millions of people playing video games every day that don't do things like Boy A did. I'd stroingly suspect if he didn't play video games, he still would have done what he did.

I'm sure Boy A also ate breakfast cereal that morning. Should we also ban breakfast cereal?

i do not think video games or porn per se will cause an otherwise balanced individual to commit such a heinous crime. otherwise half of the pop would be either a killer or be dead.

a killer is a killer. they existed long before the digital age.

No but I'm saying they obviously didn't raise them very well if they think it's ok to murder a young girl in cold blood for the craic!
    Good lord, you're embarrassing yourself.

There's kids dragged up all over this country but don't murder someone. There's numerous outside factors that caused this murder. Read up on the case before spouting more hysterical crap.

tigger123 wrote: »
    There's hundreds of millions of people playing video games every day that don't do things like Boy A did. I'd stroingly suspect if he didn't play video games, he still would have done what he did.

I'm sure Boy A also ate breakfast cereal that morning. Should we also ban breakfast cereal?

would that make him a cereal killer?

Apologies. poor taste.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭Uncle Charlie

I suspect these animals will reoffend as soon as they are released just like Jamie Bulgers killer.

There's kids dragged up all over this country but don't murder someone. There's numerous outside factors that caused this murder. Read up on the case before spouting more hysterical crap.

Do you think that these numerous outside factors were enough for the two "poor little boys" to be allowed to walk away. Was any if it their fault in your opinion? Were they merely a victim of circumstance?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

That's not necessarily true. Some people are just wired wrong - there's basically no hope of people like this ever being anything but scum.

I'm not saying it's not the case that were dragged up, i have no idea if they were or they weren't or what their home lives were like. It it is however quite possible that decent loving parents can just happen to rear a cold blooded killer or a rapist or whatnot through no fault of their own.

Talking out your hole dude. They could have been named at 18 at the discretion of the judge. There is no law that adults cannot be named. If you think it exists, given you are a legal expert advising others to educate themselves on the law, you can feel free to point us to the specific legislation.
    I'm done conversing with you. You used 'lol' in an earlier post therefore you're a moron. I don't debate with morons.

I’m fairness the families do deserve protection and I’d struggle to say anything remotely nice about either of them. But they didn’t commit the crime here, regardless of how they raised their children. But surely there comes a time when the protection of society at large sort of overrides their right to privacy? Wasn’t that the thinking behind the decision to release the names of James Bulger’s killers?

If there had been a third killer who was just 18 on the day of the murder, would his family have deserved the same protection? What about 28 or 38?
    One could argue that for the 18 year old they were more culpable as they had finished their "job" or raising him at that stage whereas for a 13/14 year old they were still working on it......

what are these extraneous, outside factors you speak of?

can you enlighten us please, as i want to make sure my kids or their friends do not fall foul of them. how should we recognise them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

That's just bullshit trying to convince yourself you know more than you do. Educate yourself more like

They can't be named because the judge decided so. It was in his ability to allow them to be named now or at 18. He chose it. It's not an actual law.
    it's literally in the Children's act.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

You are a clown. You're an absolute idiot in fact if you believe video games had anything to do with this or any other murder. Some people are evil some of those evil people also happen to play video games. Some of them also happen to play the piano play volleyball but that's not what makes them murderers.

Children with violent or hostile dispositions can be negatively affected by violent video games. This has to be a factor in this case. So maybe instead of calling me a clown and an idiot you might not jump to conclusions and name calling and consider a different point of view. Again I will repeat that easy access to porn for a minor is troubling also. This is the world we live in, I have no problem with video games and I have played alot but I see kids playing 18 rated games where misogyny and brutal violence are commonplace and explicit.

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/releases/191171.php

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭omega man

The real sentence here should have been that they are named once they turn 18. They should have no opportunity to have a normal life after what they have done.

There’s no way their identities will not become public at some stage in the future through leaks.

As a father of a 14 year old girl and also a 12 year old boy this case deeply effected me. I’ll never forget poor Anna.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

If you think the family should be protected, then can you give us your view on why Graham Dwyer's family not afforded the same protection given that they also raised him? Should they have been afforded the same protection? If not, why not?

Because as an adult people blame him solely but you only have to look at some of the posts here to see people saying they raised them thinking it was okay to do this.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

How dare you call me a clown, do some research on the case and you will see that there is a point to my argument, i mentioned video games and easy access to porn. I will present some facts from around the case to support this.

I have easy access to both video games and porn, have done for donkey years, so do you.

I haven't raped and killed many schoolgirls though, have you?

Similarly an entire lifetime of easy access to knives hasn't caused me to stab anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

To think that these two could pick up where they left off in their mid twenties and start dating some poor, non the wiser young girl is just terrifying.

So scary. Their photos should be made public when they're released.

I've seen the photo of them that was passed around a few months ago. I'm sure people will still be sharing it around to ensure these little scumbags get recognised when they're released.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Well Done to the judge and jury and to the Gardai in this dreadful case .They were professional throughout and so gave no cause to doubt or to get the case quashed .
    Fair play to them all