Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭nehemiah

joe40 wrote: »
    Ireland's justice system is similar to most of western world, excluding America. We're not going back to capital punishment anytime soon.

Some people would appear to prefer Saudi Arabia type justice, or something out of the middle ages.

They prefer Saudi Arabian-type justice except when it's Saudi Arabia carrying it out. Then it's symbolic of how backwards Islam is. Go figure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

A lot of anger on here.
    Hardly noteworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

There is a 0% recidivism rate for people who receive the death sentence.

Capital punishment doesn't work, just look at America which has one of the highest murder rates in the world.

A justice system is not a revenge system.

I actually think a few posters are actually trolling here with their talk of executing 14 year olds.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 RiCriostoir

GreeBo wrote: »
    She hit adolescence and became a target because she was a tall, blonde, foreign, attractive & different girl.

I remember reading somewhere that Boy B picked on her, cause "She dressed slutty and was more developed"....

There is a whole genre of revenge thrillers that cater for these people.

It is nauseating to watch them jump up and down, attempting to out-emote each other on the level of bile they possess and their sick 'solutions'.

I hope the boys in question are removed from society for a long, long time and I believe that as they mature they will be haunted by what they did.

I feel very sorry for that poor girl and her parents - it is beyond imagining.

Having a frothed-up mob baying in the background does nothing to help them.

yeah

as stated im sure a few times in response to this hot take

"lets not lose sight of the ~real~ bad guys here"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭20silkcut

I wonder how much Ana Kriegel's social isolation made A and B feel that they had a licence to what whatever they wanted with her.

Bullying is a shocking curse on anyone.
    Hopefully all those who engaged in will have a long hard look at themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

GarIT wrote: »
    Their images are being shared. Can't people get in trouble for that?

Yes, a possible prison sentence for anyone caught. If you have evidence of it happening call the Gardaí non emergency number.

It's on social media and the guy who posted it has his pic and name up. I guess he doesn't know lol. It might not be them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,834 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My preference is life means life and each and every day they are made to work on boring menial tasks which is of benefit to society. I’m sure ppl can suggest many tasks that these convicts could be put to work on, possibly shackled up yes and supervised by armed prison guards when working on roads etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,715 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Their images are on social media. The cat is out of the bag. Didn't even take 24 hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

theguzman wrote: »
    It brings closure, 100% effective and no reoffending, knowing these pieces of thrash are alive after what they did. We need to bring back the Death Penalty and use it, there is people beyond any sort of rehabilitation, humans are socialised animals, you have good and you have bad, there is a high risk that these will kill again when released so why allow someone else's life to be taken and families destroyed. It is not just this case but we should be hanging all murderers and paedophiles, in a proper society you make the perpetrators suffer for their crimes. There is no law and order or justice here with the disgusting short sentences, the death penalty should be used here again.

Whilst i agree with the death penalty you can't just bring it back for all murderers. I would however bring it into force for all convicted pedos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,304 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It brings closure, 100% effective and no reoffending, knowing these pieces of thrash are alive after what they did. We need to bring back the Death Penalty and use it, there is people beyond any sort of rehabilitation, humans are socialised animals, you have good and you have bad, there is a high risk that these will kill again when released so why allow someone else's life to be taken and families destroyed. It is not just this case but we should be hanging all murderers and paedophiles, in a proper society you make the perpetrators suffer for their crimes. There is no law and order or justice here with the disgusting short sentences, the death penalty should be used here again.

We would be hanging innocent people at some point. As someone said already the birmingham 6 and guildford 4 would have been killed. Every year there are people on death row in the Us who are exonerated because new evidence is found or old evidence is reassessed because of new technology.

Trump called for the death penalty in the Central park jogging case. In that case all 5 guys were exonerated when another guy came forward and confessed and they linked him to the crime through DNA. If the death penalty had've been used then that would be 5 innocent boys who would have been killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

She hit adolescence and became a target because she was a tall, blonde, foreign, attractive & different girl.

I remember reading somewhere that Boy B picked on her, cause "She dressed slutty and was more developed"....

This is why I said he didn't help himself and wasn't very smart when he described her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Capital punishment doesn't work, just look at America which has one of the highest murder rates in the world.

A justice system is not a revenge system.

I actually think a few posters are actually trolling here with their talk of executing 14 year olds.

Capital punishment doesn't work because you have years and years of appeals in the US. You have people sitting on Death Row for 20 years.

If you limited it to one appeal and that was it, it would have a greater impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,512 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Capital punishment doesn't work because you have years and years of appeals in the US. You have people sitting on Death Row for 20 years.

If you limited it to one appeal and that was it, it would have a greater impact.

you would also be executing more innocent people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

This is why I said he didn't help himself and wasn't very smart when he described her.

Boy B basically convicted himself. The Gardaí interviewing him did a fantastic job.

Feisar wrote: »
    Nothing at all about being hard, I want them removed from society, if we had the tech to freeze them forever like in Minority Report that'd be grand. Unfortunately we don't, solitary till they die seems cruel, bullet is really the best option for everyone. A poster above goes on about rehabilitation to ensure they don't re-offend. If only there was a way to ensure this...

There's no way to ensure rehabilitation, in the same way that there is no way to ensure that every murder conviction is 100% correct, which is why the death penalty was removed in the first place.

FWIW, the recidivism rate in Ireland is at it's lowest amongst prisoners convicted of homicide. Can't find exactly the number of convicted murderers that kill again after being released but I would imagine it's very low. I'm sure it has happened (and I'm sure my ignorance will be highlighted pretty quickly) but it's much lower than the average recidivism rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

I dont go along with the want to execute these two murderers, although my first instinct was to think to take them out and shoot them.

For crimes like this, i think life should mean life.

They should spend the rest of their time imprisoned and should never have the opportunity to experience a 'normal life', they have taken someone else's life intentionally and in the most cruel and horiffic way.

Life imprisonment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Grayson wrote: »
    We would be hanging innocent people at some point. As someone said already the birmingham 6 and guildford 4 would have been killed. Every year there are people on death row in the Us who are exonerated because new evidence is found or old evidence is reassessed because of new technology.

Trump called for the death penalty in the Central park jogging case. In that case all 5 guys were exonerated when another guy came forward and confessed and they linked him to the crime through DNA. If the death penalty had've been used then that would be 5 innocent boys who would have been killed.

The tiny amount of innocents who would die is a small price to pay to kill these people and the amount of lives the death penalty would save is far in excess of any innocent who may die. With modern methods it is highly unlikely that such mistakes would be made. Line them up and hang them and no thirty years on death row, hanging should be done within 1 week of sentencing.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 RiCriostoir

I know, but to hear this a from 13 year old boy is scary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

you would also be executing more innocent people.

probably not it just takes longer to execute innocent people at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The tiny amount of innocents who would die is a small price to pay to kill these people and the amount of lives the death penalty would save is far in excess of any innocent who may die.

Bull****. One wrongly executed innocent person is too high a price to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,948 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I'm in no way defending boy B, but I was always under the impression you had to actually commit the murder to be found guilty.

Is there any evidence that boy B was in any contact with Ana during her murder? Did he take part in the actual act?

I know he lured her there and witnessed the act and so definitely guilty of a crime.

Obviously the judge and legal teams know a lot more about the law than me but this aspect has confused me.

Again not defending anyone just confused about trial.

Involvement in the planning or execution of the crime is the same under the law as the person who actually committed the act.

Google Freddie Thompson and his conviction for the murder of David Douglas

The tiny amount of innocents who would die is a small price to pay to kill these people and the amount of lives the death penalty would save is far in excess of any innocent who may die. With modern methods it is highly unlikely that such mistakes would be made. Line them up and hang them and no thirty years on death row, hanging should be done within 1 week of sentencing.

https://www.nytimes.com/2016/02/04/us/record-number-of-false-convictions-overturned-in-2015.html
    A record 149 people in the United States were found in 2015 to have been falsely convicted of a crime, and of those, nearly four in 10 were exonerated of murder, according to a report released on Wednesday.

The review by the National Registry of Exonerations said the inmates had spent more than 14 years behind bars on average, with some serving more than three decades.

Small price to pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,240 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Bull****. One wrongly executed innocent person is too high a price to pay.

What about the innocent people murdered by released murderers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,822 ✭✭✭Allinall

It is truly worrying that I might be sharing the same society as this idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So you'd have been happy with the Birmingham Six and the Guildford Four being executed?

They weren't guilty of anything. The British knew they were not guilty of anything, but omitted evidence. Do you think A & B were framed?? To what end??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭alroley

The tiny amount of innocents who would die is a small price to pay to kill these people and the amount of lives the death penalty would save is far in excess of any innocent who may die. .

WTF???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭optogirl

just to be clear

your point about how people should be allowed to express themselves on message boards depends upon equating the premeditated sexual assault and brutal murder of a 14 year old girl with the phrase something you "dont agree with/like"

just to be clear, like

No, as you know very well I was not equating the two. I was suggesting that a culture of aggression may have contributed to these boys skewed view on life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

What about the innocent people murdered by released murderers?

Who said anything about releasing them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

I know they're being named and photos shared etc. Not sure I agree with that personally, it's illegal, it won't bring Ana back. Very possible the two convicted have innocent brothers and sisters also. They would have done nothing wrong but their life is going to be hell. I could even see cousins of these people being caught up in this. The mob mentality of hunting their families could have unintended consequences. Already incorrect pictures of other boys are being shared.