Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 474 ✭✭Former Observer

To all the people suggesting reinstatement of the death penalty, would you be against medical testing on prisoners of serious crimes?

There are a lot of illnesses the cures for which could be researched a lot quicker and with a lot more success if trials were done on human beings instead of mice or monkeys. Surely that would be a better use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yes, yes you do. You don't let them use laptops in their room or give them phones at 13 or they use the phone in front of you.

There are a million ways to manage this, its not rocket science.

My son used the laptop in the main room until he was old enough, 16/17. He didn't have a smart phone.

My dad had net nanny on the computer when my sisters were younger and we were growing up and that was the 90's/ early 2000. So yes it is possible with a bit of effort.

I’m saying he could buy one unbeknownst to the adult in charge.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

Irish prisons are like a holiday camp compared to black dolphin, I know a few lads that were locked up , they said it wasn't to bad, video games , movies , weed and tablets, doesn't sound to bad if that's wat you're into. But I do think if you murder someone in cold blood you should get the death penalty . Keeping someone locked up at the cost of 50,000 a year is a waste of money. Some people are scum and deserve the death penalty . I know there was a lot of mistakes made in the past. But nowadays with DNA and forensics you don't hear about innocent people getting locked up anymore

Firstly it costs more to give someone the death penalty and secondly The Innocence Project would disagree you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

Low IQ eejits.

Actually I’m fairly intelligent 🀓

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

But I do think if you murder someone in cold blood you should get the death penalty .

even if there only 13 years of age ??? not fully developed emotionally/mentally

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Omackeral wrote: »
    Afraid to answer the question I posed? Do you think it's acceptable to execute innocent people? Your innocent family member being hung is fine is it?

And now I wouldn't be happy if a released murderer killed my sibling.... but you're assuming I'm all for releasing murderers there aren't you? Life sentence should mean life sentence.

Yeah I tend to agree.

I actually think that those found guilty of capital crimes or sex crimes should just be fcuked into a hole in the ground and left there tbh.

There's lines in society that people are not meant to cross, once they do that they don't deserve anything resembling the comforts of normal life.

I think (aside from the handful of rabids) most people are worried that these two animals will be out on the streets in 5 years, or by the time they turn 21 at least which is fuelling the discussion of the death penalty etc.

Life sentences are a joke here in Ireland, they don't mean life imprisonment and that's the overhanging issue.

If these disgusting vile pieces of trash were going to be locked up until they were no longer a danger to society then more people would be happy to see them rot.

But they won't, and that's the imminent problem. They'll be released with new identities and the worry that they could be back in the community is real, and justifiable imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Low IQ eejits.
    Would have a much higher IQ than low myself, which equips me with the ability to see that these are just words on the internet about things that are not actually happening, and to have perspective too, y'know, in light of a 14-year-old being bullied relentlessly, then sexually assaulted, degraded and murdered.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Disagree with your phrase 'violence in society' as a useless category.

There is violence that attacks society.

There is violence that protects society.

Not a death penalty merchant myself, would prefer to see them living a disciplined, spartan life, access to books and radio only, and only in return for their doing something menial and thankless that is essential to society.

But away from society.

And something more akin to Black Dolphin than what we have.

This kind of evil should never be essential to society, that's like handing someone a shovel that was used in Bosnia to dig mass graves and fill them in after.
    Here you go Mick, by the way that's a relic from Bosnia, now go plant some tree's.

Access to books yeah give them the Bible and they'll be like your man in Clockwork orange revelling in the scourge and torture on good Friday....

White noise isn't good enough for those animals.

Liberals pffft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,302 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Irish prisons are like a holiday camp compared to black dolphin, I know a few lads that were locked up , they said it wasn't to bad, video games , movies , weed and tablets, doesn't sound to bad if that's wat you're into. But I do think if you murder someone in cold blood you should get the death penalty . Keeping someone locked up at the cost of 50,000 a year is a waste of money. Some people are scum and deserve the death penalty . I know there was a lot of mistakes made in the past. But nowadays with DNA and forensics you don't hear about innocent people getting locked up anymore
    Oh come on...
    https://www.innocenceproject.org/dna-exonerations-in-the-united-states/
    Look at these figures.

Would have a much higher IQ than low myself, which equips me with the ability to see that these are just words on the internet about things that are not actually happening, and to have perspective too, y'know, in light of a 14-year-old being bullied relentlessly, then sexually assaulted, degraded and murdered.

If you have a point I'm not sure what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

fryup wrote: »
    ...and online service providers and social media companies...after all there's no top-shelf on the web

*phones & laptops sold to kids should have built in search filters as standard

imo - smartphones shouldn't be sold to under 16's

Yes as i said yesterday those companies are responsible for whats out there but the buck stops with the parents. Just because every other plonker is letting their 12 year kids have smart phones doesn't mean i have to.

All kids should have no access to social media until 18 years of age imo and it should be backed up by a government agency set up with peoples PPS numbers linked to access. This is an area where we as a country could really lead and be a trail blazer for the world. Will never happen though as the government wouldn't want to upset Zuckerburg and Co

This is a national health issue imo and it is only highlighted when stuff like this happens but I know for a fact of one case in a primary school in Dublin where 11 and 12 year old kids where passing around an image of a 12 year old girl naked and the child began to self harm at 12 flipping years of age.

Parents have to start parenting and stop letting their kids be raised by these devices.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Firstly it costs more to give someone the death penalty and secondly The Innocence Project would disagree you.

Not necessarily, I'm sure when they go inside there's plenty of heroes who'd like to share a canteen and bump into one of these lads on kitchen duty.....

There'll be a lot of people forever haunted by this at that school. Students who felt they should have spoken up, students who went along with the bullying out of fear/looking for social approval etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

MrFresh wrote: »
    Would you be ok if your brother/sister was put to death and then it was later revealed they were innocent? I think maybe it would be better to focus on our prison system. I don't think Oberstown is suitable for these two boys but I don't think the facility needs to be as harsh as prison either.

What? He raped and murdered a child and you’re worried prison might be too harsh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

If you have a point I'm not sure what it is.
    Ah you are, but still...

It's only words on the internet. In the greater scheme of things it's meaningless. I don't agree with it either, but there are more important, real things to be bothered by in relation to this case, rather than message board posts by people understandably angered by this atrocity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Here's a list of countries with the highest rates of capital punishment, which of these utopias should we base our justice system on?

China
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Iraq
    Pakistan
    Egypt
    United States
    Somalia
    Bangladesh
    Malaysia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Ah you are, but still...

It's only words on the internet. In the greater scheme of things it's meaningless. I don't agree with it either, but there are more important, real things to be bothered by in relation to this case, rather than message board posts by people understandably angered by this atrocity.
    I've read a few of your last few posts in this thread and I can't make heads or tails of what you're trying to say. Words on the internet? What are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,940 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

All kids should have no access to social media until 18 years of age imo and it should be backed up by a government agency set up with peoples PPS numbers linked to access. This is an area where we as a country could really lead and be a trail blazer for the world. Will never happen though as the government wouldn't want to upset Zuckerburg and Co

You do know that the likes of Zuckerberg and all the other top silicon Valley execs won't let their kids use social media cos they know the damage it does to young minds.

I think more people should take note of that fact.

They are making billions from it, but know it's dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ah you are, but still...

Words expressive of a reactionary, stupid opinion which people take issue with. It's not all violent fantasizing but very sincere support of the death penalty.

Just go further down that rabbit hole and take your own advice like, most of your posts here seem to be taking issue with message board posts about message board posts while scolding people for not focusing on other more important aspects of the case. Crack your high iq out and spot the irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

gmisk wrote: »

Look I'm not saying in every case, but if you rape someone and kill then, there's DNA evidence etc you should get the death penalty , youre no loss to society. And I think instead of using animals for testing ,they should be using paedos and rapists. People ****e on about humans rights but they should be forfeited if you molest children , rape or murder someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

There'll be a lot of people forever haunted by this at that school. Students who felt they should have spoken up, students who went along with the bullying out of fear/looking for social approval etc.

Initially yes and then soon forgotten. There was a murder in our town years ago, I cant even recalI the year, and only for the victims family lay flowers on the anniversary I think most like me have moved on. Then the young ones put stuff up on FB and after a day or two, back to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

Good

What? He raped and murdered a child and you’re worried prison might be too harsh?

No, I think prison for children shouldn't be as restrictive or harsh as prison for adults. I also said Oberstown wouldn't be suitable for those two boys. Did you even read what I posted before you began typing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

In these cases where emotions run high a few people will demand the death penalty which I am personally opposed to. To a certain extent it is understandable.

However that tends to bring in the virtue signallers, who, while silent enough on the actual crime, oppose the death penalty, big up their IQ, and decry the red top reading masses for their revenge fantasys.

A plague on their houses. Now is not the time or place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Maybe this is defeatist but it is impossible for a parent to shield or prevent their children looking at stuff online. They're friends will have phones, a teenager not on social media would be an alone in modern society.
    Most teenagers engage fine with social media and teenagers will be curious about porn, and come to no harm like we all were, it just wasn't as accessible.

The best thing to do in my opinion is maintain good communication. I accept my kids will see porn but I will make sure we talk about this. Discuss that this is not real life, this is not how real relationships take place.
    This is not how men and women relate to each other in real life

Young girls and boys getting sex education from porn must be counteracted by proper education from parents and wider society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Boy B basically convicted himself. The Gardaí interviewing him did a fantastic job.

They really did. That prick thought he was so smart. When he was shown his interviews in court he had a panic attack. Not so smart after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭droidman123

Watched a documentary recently about the usa olympic gymnastics team doctor, he sexually abused young girls over a period of years,he got 240 years,a minimum of 40 years before he can apply for parole (rightfully so) these 2 guys will be back in society in probably 8-10 years,theres murdering scum only serving 10 years or do every week for horrendous crimes,including murder.the liberals in this country are slowly but surely destroying it.the various ministers for justice over the years have a lot to answer for,but of course they wont.the laws in this country badly needs overhauling,no more namby pamby approach.wont happen in my lifetime unfortunately and the scum will continue to breed and run riot

• Registered Users Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

...and online service providers and social media companies...after all there's no top-shelf on the web

*phones & laptops sold to kids should have built in search filters as standard

imo - smartphones shouldn't be sold to under 16's

This x 100. Surely kids should not be going on the internet unsupervised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

even if there only 13 years of age ??? not fully developed emotionally/mentally

Ye 13 is a bit young. But I think boy A should spend the rest of his life in jail . He comes across as someone who'd have killed someone eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,402 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Boy B basically convicted himself. The Gardaí interviewing him did a fantastic job.

They really did. That prick thought he was so smart. When he was shown his interviews in court he had a panic attack. Not so smart after all.
    He wasn't present when the interviews were played in court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

In these cases where emotions run high a few people will demand the death penalty which I am personally opposed to. To a certain extent it is understandable.

However that tends to bring in the virtue signallers, who, while silent enough on the actual crime, oppose the death penalty, big up their IQ, and decry the red top reading masses for their revenge fantasys.

A plague on their houses. Now is not the time or place.
    I think you'll find that "now is the time or place" [sic]. This is a discussion forum and people are espousing the virtues of the death penalty, it is the responsibility of anyone with a three figure IQ to point out that those views are idiotic.