Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I usually try to let all the tragedies and misery in the news pass me by and I rarely go in for mob justice but this case made my heart hurt.

I hope those two endure the worst possible time in prison and the worst life possible when they are free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I've read a few of your last few posts in this thread and I can't make heads or tails of what you're trying to say. Words on the internet? What are you talking about?
    Interesting, seeing as I'm quoting those I'm responding to.

There is all this stupid outrage over people saying the boys should be executed. Literally just words on the internet. The execution isn't happening. These comments on the internet are not being read by the authorities. It's just clumsy expression of understandable anger, yet THAT'S the takeaway on a thread about a bullied young girl who was murdered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 474 ✭✭Former Observer

Now is not the time or place.

Well done on writing the most cringey comment in the entire thread. A true virtue signalling masterclass. The white knight of revenge fantasists everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

MrFresh wrote: »
    Good

No, I think prison for children shouldn't be as restrictive or harsh as prison for adults. I also said Oberstown wouldn't be suitable for those two boys. Did you even read what I posted before you began typing?
    I did ya, I read you were of the opinion they shouldn’t be at the end of a harsh prison sentence. Are you really going to wheel out “they’re only kids sure”? They took the life of a child. They’ve been afforded anonymity and have their lives and background protected. She was torn asunder and her teenage life laid bare, at times it was suggested she might have wanted it (the sexual assault). They’re lower than scum. They’re worse than the majority of the prison population.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 474 ✭✭Former Observer

To all the people suggesting reinstatement of the death penalty, would you be against medical testing on prisoners of serious crimes?

There are a lot of illnesses the cures for which could be researched a lot quicker and with a lot more success if trials were done on human beings instead of mice or monkeys. Surely that would be a better use?

Any takers? Asked in earnest. Not a trick question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

There will always be ways to work around the law. Teenagers are very smart and we Irish like to subvert the rules. In an ideal world, this would be a wake to call for parents to do their job. To look at what their kids are accessing online and who they're interacting with. And more importantly, how they're behaving. Common decency seems to have gone out the window and it's not just the kids. Distributing photos of Boy A (it has finally reached me) is an easy step up take. Insisting on monitoring little Johnny's phone or discussing those "interesting" porn videos is another story.

I also wonder did any adults ever think Boy A was a more than just a bit of an oddball? Or why Boy B was on the garda Pulse system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

We'll, they do have the right to anonymity. That's clear. The law is taking care of them and that's you or I need to know.

If mobs want to attack the lads then they're making criminals of themselves.

These 'lads' are now convicted murderers...
    I for one don't give two rattling fcuks what happens them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Sardonicat wrote: »
    He wasn't present when the interviews were played in court.

Was the panic attack likely over them being played in court? That is what I took from the Times article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,126 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

MrFresh wrote: »
    Boy B basically convicted himself. The Gardaí interviewing him did a fantastic job.

Absolutely. Also, it's very difficult to attach innocent motives to anything he did that day. He didn't like Ana or respect her and knew that Boy A felt the same way. He was up to serious no good from the moment he called into her house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

tuxy wrote: »
    Here's a list of countries with the highest rates of capital punishment, which of these utopias should we base our justice system on?

China
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Iraq
    Pakistan
    Egypt
    United States
    Somalia
    Bangladesh
    Malaysia

It's gas, the same people howling for the death penalty will spend half their time here banging on about sharia law and scare-mongering about it somehow taking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭xalot

That comprehensive Irish Times article is fantastic and very subtlety points to the home situation of Boy B. Paraphrasing from memory but he’s described as highly intelligent and good at school despite coming from a household that didn’t support academia. His father had tried unsuccessfully to get him into sports but he didn’t take to it, his father bought him two smart phones to get him into technology but he lost them. After his awful outburst in the courtroom it seems like his father was a person who didn’t take well to getting his own way.

Read somewhere else that the father said that when asking Boy B what had happened he wouldn’t tell him as he ‘didn’t respect him and didn’t want to share his truth with him’. If I was a suspect in the rape and murder of a child you could be damn sure my father would make me ‘share my truth’.

I also find it very strange that the family chatted to the Gardaí at the doorstep the night Ana went missing (when B was the last person to have seen her). Surely they’d have invited the Gardaí inside? Certainly my parents would be mortified that the neighbors would see the guards outside. This together with the house being listed on the pulse system suggests it wasn’t the good family home the defense were trying to present.

Am not bringing that up in any way to excuse the actions of B. Have no doubts the jury came to right decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Here's a list of countries with the highest rates of capital punishment, which of these utopias should we base our justice system on?

China
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Iraq
    Pakistan
    Egypt
    United States
    Somalia
    Bangladesh
    Malaysia

Well at least they punish people, in Ireland you should rape / molest someone and be walking the streets in 5 or 6 years, while their victim has to live with it for the rest of their life. I fella from my town. He killed someone with a knife and done 5 years. Some punishment he got ,sitting in his cell , stoned all day . He's an oddball and i wouldnt be surprised if he'd kill again. I don't see the death penalty as a deterrent I see if as punishment , take a life, lose yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

joe40 wrote: »
    Maybe this is defeatist but it is impossible for a parent to shield or prevent their children looking at stuff online. They're friends will have phones, a teenager not on social media would be an alone in modern society.
    Most teenagers engage fine with social media and teenagers will be curious about porn, and come to no harm like we all were, it just wasn't as accessible.

The best thing to do in my opinion is maintain good communication. I accept my kids will see porn but I will make sure we talk about this. Discuss that this is not real life, this is not how real relationships take place.
    This is not how men and women relate to each other in real life

Young girls and boys getting sex education from porn must be counteracted by proper education from parents and wider society.

I agree with you. The thing is also a quite, introverted child you might keep off social media easy enough because they themselves don't want all it entails (I have one of those.) but an outgoing extrovert (I have one of those too) will be a totally different ballgame. You are literally interfering with their ability to be part of the friendships they want and need. If I only had my first child I could smugly say all parents should just say no like me but son no 2 has thought me you have to pick your battles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

The execution isn't happening. These comments on the internet are not being read by the authorities. It's just clumsy expression of understandable anger, yet THAT'S the takeaway on a thread about a bullied young girl who was murdered.

I think we all know they aren't going to be executed. The point is the level of anger that people feel that they should be killed for their crime. I haven't witnessed it in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,715 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

China
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Iraq
    Pakistan
    Egypt
    United States
    Somalia
    Bangladesh
    Malaysia

DenseHighIrukandjijellyfish-small.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,240 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Omackeral wrote: »
    Sentences can be appealed, overturned or reduced. Happens often. Not much good appealing if you're already dead.

I'm pretty sure they dont hang you on your way out of the courtroom so appeals would be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

I did ya, I read you were of the opinion they shouldn’t be at the end of a harsh prison sentence. Are you really going to wheel out “they’re only kids sure”? They took the life of a child. They’ve been afforded anonymity and have their lives and background protected. She was torn asunder and her teenage life laid bare, at times it was suggested she might have wanted it (the sexual assault). They’re lower than scum. They’re worse than the majority of the prison population.

You read wrong.

Well done on writing the most cringey comment in the entire thread. A true virtue signalling masterclass. The white knight of revenge fantasists everywhere.
    What a mean comment. But then, what would one expect from someone who started a thread about "that one who was convicted of murder isn't so hot now, wha? Amirite lads?!"

You could have quoted the whole post but nah, cherrypicking for the win. Nowhere did he say anything to condone execution of the boys. He said the anger is understandable, which it is. Not everyone is all cool and indifferent like you.

So fail on the misuse of "virtue signalling" which is actually what YOU are doing. That's what his entire post is about - being more bothered by stupid posts than what happened to Ana.

And of course it isn't the most cringey comment on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

This is typical and a total joke.

Everyone knew long before this that content of all sorts was available to everyone

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2019/0619/1056277-online-safety/

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

NIMAN wrote: »
    You do know that the likes of Zuckerberg and all the other top silicon Valley execs won't let their kids use social media cos they know the damage it does to young minds.

I think more people should take note of that fact.

They are making billions from it, but know it's dangerous.

Yes i was aware of that. It's little talked about unfortunately but tells me all i need to know about what we are dealing with here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

There will always be ways to work around the law. Teenagers are very smart and we Irish like to subvert the rules. In an ideal world, this would be a wake to call for parents to do their job. To look at what their kids are accessing online and who they're interacting with. And more importantly, how they're behaving. Common decency seems to have gone out the window and it's not just the kids. Distributing photos of Boy A (it has finally reached me) is an easy step up take. Insisting on monitoring little Johnny's phone or discussing those "interesting" porn videos is another story.

I also wonder did any adults ever think Boy A was a more than just a bit of an oddball? Or why Boy B was on the garda Pulse system?

A couple of years ago a colleague went to a pre-secondary school parent teacher meeting type thing with all the other parents and some IT security expert.

The IT guy told them that something like 74% of 11 year olds had sent a naked or partially naked picture of themselves on a social media platform.

Pretty much every parent in the rooms shook their heads and said "no - not my kid".

I think we all know they aren't going to be executed. The point is the level of anger that people feel that they should be killed for their crime. I haven't witnessed it in a long time.
    It's hardly surprising that there is such a level of anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Well at least they punish people

You can literally be killed for being gay in some of those countries listed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Watched a documentary recently about the usa olympic gymnastics team doctor, he sexually abused young girls over a period of years,he got 240 years,a minimum of 40 years before he can apply for parole (rightfully so) these 2 guys will be back in society in probably 8-10 years,theres murdering scum only serving 10 years or do every week for horrendous crimes,including murder.the liberals in this country are slowly but surely destroying it.the various ministers for justice over the years have a lot to answer for,but of course they wont.the laws in this country badly needs overhauling,no more namby pamby approach.wont happen in my lifetime unfortunately and the scum will continue to breed and run riot

Sure look at Larry Murphy. He's just one example of how we don't take crime seriously in this country.

He could be having pints in your local right now or sitting in a park watching your kids play. But sure human rights what.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭dickangel

Or why Boy B was on the garda Pulse system?

Must have been something very minor, surely if it was relevant it would have been brought up in court? The Irish Times article lists evidence that they weren't allowed to use, no mention of the prosecution or defence attempting to highlight Boy B's previous iirc.

This is typical and a total joke.

Everyone knew long before this that content of all sorts was available to everyone

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2019/0619/1056277-online-safety/
    Yeah, that's the real problem. What about the poor underage connoisseurs of extremely violent and degrading porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

....... wrote: »
    A couple of years ago a colleague went to a pre-secondary school parent teacher meeting type thing with all the other parents and some IT security expert.

The IT guy told them that something like 74% of 11 year olds had sent a naked or partially naked picture of themselves on a social media platform.

Pretty much every parent in the rooms shook their heads and said "no - not my kid".

It happens but not that high. 75% of 11 year olds sexting, I find that hard to believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭dickangel

Yeah, that's the real problem. What about the poor underage connoisseurs of extremely violent and degrading porn.

Well yeah **** them. Still worth looking into stopping them being able to access it though.

No death penalty please, let these murderers live out as many of their remaining days as possible in custody.

From reading of the case notes, you get the impression that remorse over what they did to Ana is non-existent, the only remorse is over the fact that they were caught. So I hope they spend the rest of their lives haunted if not by what they did to Ana, by what they did to themselves and the fact they were caught.

Wherever they go, whatever years they serve or don't behind bars, may their own minds be a prison.

joe40 wrote: »
    It happens but not that high. 75% of 11 year olds sexting, I find that hard to believe.
    Yeah there is so much "ah shur all teens and pre teens are at it" by people who did same when that young, but they're "all" really really not.

That's what makes the waving away of the extreme porn issue annoying. No it isn't the standard for a kid that young to be getting off on stuff that extreme and dark.