Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gemma not taking enforced retirement too well

• Registered Users Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I see that lad who looks like a hobo Warren Chambers is banned off YouTube (again!). He’s a big Gemma fanboi.

Google him. Some interesting stories with chainsaws and bbqs.

Who?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

At least his writing is researched and referenced, the basics of good journalism. I don't always agree 100% but he always has a valid point to make and hasn't been parroting out a sponsored agenda.

Comparing Gemma to FO'T is like comparing David Icke to Gary Lineker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭Muscles Schultz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭double jobbing

"Alt ****e scum"

Veronica and her yankisms sounds as societally detached from reality as Gemma to be honest. The far right and the far left are both prime breeding grounds for the opinions of the unemployable and the indignent.

For every Gemma O'Doherty there's a Leah O'Doherty.

For every Anti Corruption Ireland there's a Connolly Youth Movement. Just depends if you blame RTE or billionaires for your crap life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

"Alt ****e scum"

Veronica and her yankisms sounds as societally detached from reality as Gemma to be honest. The far right and the far left are both prime breeding grounds for the opinions of the unemployable and the indignent.

For every Gemma O'Doherty there's a Leah O'Doherty.

For every Anti Corruption Ireland there's a Connolly Youth Movement. Just depends if you blame RTE or billionaires for your crap life.

You should watch the video you quoted and show us the equivalent you're talking about.

Fine people on both sides. Fine people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

davedanon wrote: »
    Fine people on both sides. Fine people.

OK so you don't seem to be able to, but it wasn't you I was asking it of so the question still stands to the other poster.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Birneybau wrote: »
    They're actually a band, TPM, have seen them twice and spoken to them. Sound, funny lads. They also have a trad band, the Mary Wallopers.

tpm are actually unreal, while I completely disagree with its message 'all the boys on the dole' is an absolute track.

f*ck RTE is solid gold too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Turn up to a gemtrails court case and ignore government mandated social distancing: front page news bad people

Turn up in numbers for a protest and ignore government mandated social distancing : Pat on the back

Turn up to a gemtrails court case and ignore government mandated social distancing: front page news bad people

Turn up in numbers for a protest and ignore government mandated social distancing : Pat on the back

I don't think either of those groups got a pat on the back ???

Rte covered the protests. Will the front pages tomorrow be condemning people? Not a hope in hell

It's clear double standards.

If we see a spike in cases in two weeks time we know where to pin the blame.

Rte covered the protests. Will the front pages tomorrow be condemning people? Not a hope in hell

It's clear double standards.

If we see a spike in cases in two weeks time we know where to pin the blame.

ohh sorry I misunderstood, you mean the George Floyd/BLM protest, yeah not a chance in hell of RTE condemning that.

this Branco cartoon explains it hilariously, that said I do agree with the lockdown measures and don't view most of them as 'oppression'
    04-minn-protest-dt-600.jpg

ohh sorry I misunderstood, you mean the George Floyd/BLM protest, yeah not a chance in hell of RTE condemning that.

this Branco cartoon explains it hilariously, that said I do agree with the lockdown measures and don't view most of them as 'oppression'

People were posting that they couldn't attend family members funerals yet rte are out covering mass protests on the streets. The hypocrisy.

Wont be a peep about it

If that's your conception of hilarity.....then I genuinely pity you, sir.

And as for the other thing, well, context is always crucial. No-one, least of all the organisers, imagined that so many thousands would turn out for the protest. Virtually all wore masks, and distancing was maintained as much as possible, although it just broke down at the embassy due to the numbers. Given that these people were showing solidarity with the killing of an innocent man, and our non-white brothers, sisters and others....compared to Gems/Waters' miserable and hateful campaign. Well, I'm going to give them a pass, quite frankly.

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Gemma is an entertaining little trollop and she should be allowed to tweet as much as she likes. She is not important enough to cause anything other than mild disapproval.

A distinctly younger demographic too. I could have been the oldest person (57) there, AFAIK. There won't be any spike from today.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Well, I'm going to give them a pass, quite frankly.

And when everyone takes that approach, rules and guidlines apply to nobody.

Omackeral wrote: »
    And when everyone takes that approach, rules and guidlines apply to nobody.

Everyone isn't taking that approach.

If that's your conception of hilarity.....then I genuinely pity you, sir.

And as for the other thing, well, context is always crucial. No-one, least of all the organisers, imagined that so many thousands would turn out for the protest. Virtually all wore masks, and distancing was maintained as much as possible, although it just broke down at the embassy due to the numbers. Given that these people were showing solidarity with the killing of an innocent man, and our non-white brothers, sisters and others....compared to Gems/Waters' miserable and hateful campaign. Well, I'm going to give them a pass, quite frankly.

They shouldn't get a pass. It's not about the reason . The country is in lockdown. Grand parents, parents dead from the virus. People out of work. Mental health strained. Worry and uncertainty. Yet these people took to the streets and ignored government mandated lockdown. They don't get a pass.

Show support from your homes. If there is a spike or unnecessary prolongation of the virus and more die or lose their jobs we know who to blame.

Absolute insanity and a lack of respect for fellow Irish citizens, for health care workers and for their own families.
    I'm just using gemtrails supporters as a comparison.
    Not a word will be said by the media or government
    Il say no more about it. The hypocrisy says enough

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Everyone isn't taking that approach.

You're basically saying the rules don't apply to these people in your mind because it suits your narrative. So should everyone get to pick and choose or just you?

What I'm saying is that today, in Dublin, thousands of miles from the action they were protesting about, many thousands of people were moved enough to congregate in huge numbers to protest the murder of George Floyd. Nearly all wore masks. Nearly all were young. There are going to be many, many instances of young people flocking to beaches and parks over this weekend. At least the people today were doing it for a damn good reason. America is on fire, Trump is pouring petrol on the flames, and the world needed to respond. Today people responded. I applaud that.

George floyd or Donald or any of you and your "protestors " wont bring back someone's mother,father or grand parent. Anyone who attended should know better and in my opinion is a disgrace.

My wife's mother and aunt both died of covid within a week of each other. Go f*ck yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

"protestors "

Is there something fake or inauthentic about their protest action to deserve inverted commas ?
    Is it any less legitimate a protest than the anti-war protests during GWB and Blair's Jingoist foray into the Middle East ?
    Did they get inverted commas?
    Is a white supremacist president promoting racial divisions and violence against an oppressed minority any less worthy of opposition than similar protests against Apartheid ?....did they get inverted commas ?
    in my opinion that is all of the context that is need for the rest of your post...
    Anyone who attended should know better and in my opinion is a disgrace.
    If they maintained social distancing and hygiene precautions, how is it any more risky than a trip to the shops ?
    Maybe you subtly condone DT's actions and responses and feel like its time the jackboots came down on American Society to return Law and Order. or that Looting should mean Shooting.
    Or maybe you are just scared about what this is going to mean.
    I am.
    The Western Superpower, the vanguard of the current global economic system is on fire.
    If Putin had a wish list, it would have looked exactly like this.
    Global reactions will be extreme (China and Russia taking advantage everywhere they can).
    I fear a significant conflict will result by August/September when these populations look at their winter food and energy resources and supply chains.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

My wife's mother and aunt both died of covid within a week of each other. Go f*ck yourself.

Condolences to you and your wife but that makes it even more insane that you support a protest that has the potential to see even more people die. Absolute insanity.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,786 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Not sure what shes at here. Is there a theory that George Floyd isn't dead?

https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1267738322463580162

The Nal wrote: »
    Not sure what shes at here. Is there a theory that George Floyd isn't dead?

https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1267738322463580162

Was he a ‘gay porn star ‘ ? Seems like something she just threw in for homophobic effect

Also why is mabs in there, I know a lot of the others do have a very left agenda and fund bussing / rent a mob protest groups but mabs... the fnancial advice people...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭blueythebear

I excoriated gemma and her troops for their breach of the rules and rightly do i believe. The gardai did nothing to avoid making a martyr of her.

I equally condemn this black lives matter march for the same breaches of the covid rules. I dont care the reason for the march. It should not have happened. The gardai did nothing to avoid the irony and PR disaster of arresting peaceful marchers in an anti police brutality protest.

In terms of this march however, i disagree with there being a march here at all unless its by US citizen ex pats. What the f*** has it got to do with any irish person? And why dont these same people march to protest when similar events occur elsewhere in the world?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,990 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Was he a ‘gay porn star ‘ ? Seems like something she just threw in for homophobic effect

Also why is mabs in there, I know a lot of the others do have a very left agenda and fund bussing / rent a mob protest groups but mabs... the fnancial advice people...

I googled and my first reaction was "I didn't know the BBC did porn." :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭Homelander

When did Gemma get this particularly...crazy? I mean, she was always wacky, but the last year or so, it's a complete detachment from reality on a whole new level, to the point that she needs intervention.