Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gemma not taking enforced retirement too well

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Acosta wrote: »
    quote="LuasSimon;114887201"]The counter protestors look as bad if not worse....far left head bangers!

You don't need to be far left to be disgusted by the NP and want to protest their presence, but it did look like some of the counter protest might have a bit aggressive. Both groups were throwing stuff at each other.

It's the both sides canard that gets trotted out every so often. The people who protest neo Nazis, anti-vaxxers or whatever human refuse are somehow just as bad because feelings.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Or science vs what I read on Twitter.

These little scraps are not about masks or covid or anything else like that. If it was a group of little old ladies protesting masks, no left wing group would show up. They wanted a set piece with the goons of the national party.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

These little scraps are not about masks or covid or anything else like that. If it was a group of little old ladies protesting masks, no left wing group would show up. They wanted a set piece with the goons of the national party.

I'd imagine a group of left-wing little old ladies would show up. Probably wearing masks they knitted themselves.

I'd agree a minority were scumbags there for a scrap but sometimes you need to fight fire with fire.

yep, sometimes you gotta pull on that che guevara jersey

Or that Hitler jersey, if that's your side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Why not let the national party have their march today.......and the other crowd march next saurday??

Why should the sinn fein crowd bother attacking todays march, just have their own march next week ?

Or that Hitler jersey, if that's your side.

Neither side is my side, I have a job and a house and a family and a life. I went to a few Socialist Youth gatherings at the central bank in Dublin as a teen but i've outgrown that type of ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Neither side is my side, I have a job and a house and a family and a life. I went to a few Socialist Youth gatherings at the central bank in Dublin as a teen but i've outgrown that type of ****.

Most of us have been fortunate enough to live in a time and place where picking a side hasn't been necessary. That may be about to change.

I meant the royal "your" in the post above, I have no idea of your politics. With your job etc, etc, you should be firmly on the side of science, common sense and cop on. Better to be associated with that "type of ****" than the far-right "type of ****".

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Most of us have been fortunate enough to live in a time and place where picking a side hasn't been necessary. That may be about to change.

I'm on the side of the people that dont follow some 20th century utopian ideology.

I meant the royal "your" in the post above, I have no idea of your politics. With your job etc, etc, you should be firmly on the side of science, common sense and cop on. Better to be associated with that "type of ****" than the far-right "type of ****".

Is it not a free country we have where those who dont like masks can hold a protest if they wish ?.....or are Sinn Fein the only crowd that are allowed hold protests??

I wear a mask but i dont care if those who dont want to protest, thats their right but some of those counter protestors today were baying for trouble and looked more like nazis to me than the original protestors.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,777 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

They’ve the one with the crutch!

https://twitter.com/aciquestion/status/1314857818411991042?s=19
    You mean this utter scumbag? A charming individual...it's amazing how she doesn't need the crutch when running away when GOD getting arrested by gardai

gmisk wrote: »
    You mean this utter scumbag? A charming individual...it's amazing how she doesn't need the crutch when running away when GOD getting arrested by gardai
    The state of that

I'm on the side of the people that dont follow some 20th century utopian ideology.

You don't have to follow any to be rabidly against either. You don't have to be a communist to be anti fascist. On the side of reason and truth and freedom is the side I'll be picking and sometimes it's necessary to fight to protect those. Maybe not on the street but you don't protect them by shrugging your shoulders and saying 'nothing to do with me' when the very conditions of your life and all you value come under attack.

I am vehemently opposed to fascism

But I am not anti-fascist.

Those are two different things.

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Is it not a free country we have where those who dont like masks can hold a protest if they wish ?.....or are Sinn Fein the only crowd that are allowed hold protests??

No idea why you keep mentioning Sinn Fein here, I couldn't give a flying f*ck about SF. What you're asking here is can a group who, for some unknown reason, do not like masks get together, cause outbreaks of a deadly virus and help it continue its spread in the wider community? I would hope not. Their right to not comply in this situation should be trumped by everyone else's right to life.

I am vehemently opposed to fascism

But I am not anti-fascist.

Those are two different things.

Hopefully you, I and many others will never have to lose sight of that fence in opposition to fascists.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

This is kinda' confusing: surely if someone barks some mandatory command to you; it does not mean it is actual law ?

This is also confusing. But the guidelines are guidelines only for now at least. Most people are responsible and mature enough to follow them for the greater good, but some see it as a huge conspiracy theory, breaking their civil and constitutional rights. The Court of Appeal ruling should give us a clear picture of the (entire lack of) substance of the Gemma/Waters position

No idea why you keep mentioning Sinn Fein here, I couldn't give a flying f*ck about SF. What you're asking here is can a group who, for some unknown reason, do not like masks get together, cause outbreaks of a deadly virus and help it continue its spread in the wider community? I would hope not. Their right to not comply in this situation should be trumped by everyone else's right to life.

The crew of counter protesters didnt look like they were interested in anyones right to live...they looked as if they were going to attack anyone who looked sideways at them....football hooligans by the carry on of them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭francois

I'd imagine a group of left-wing little old ladies would show up. Probably wearing masks they knitted themselves.

Funny to see the glorious leader Justin hiding behind his supporters who were hiding behind the Gardai

LuasSimon wrote: »
    The crew of counter protesters didnt look like they were interested in anyones right to live...they looked as if they were going to attack anyone who looked sideways at them....football hooligans by the carry on of them

That describes people on both sides and doesn't cause me to change my view on what I've said above. Right to life above right to bear your chin in a crowded area.

ParkRunner wrote: »
    This is also confusing. But the guidelines are guidelines only for now at least. Most people are responsible and mature enough to follow them for the greater good, but some see it as a huge conspiracy theory, breaking their civil and constitutional rights. The Court of Appeal ruling should give us a clear picture of the (entire lack of) substance of the Gemma/Waters position

And some people are using the uncertain times as a means of stirring up discontent and agititating with disinformation.

francois wrote: »
    Funny to see the glorious leader Justin hiding behind his supporters who were hiding behind the Gardai
    Ah of course that tiny little nazi in his first communion suit is all (high pitched) talk as usual

francois wrote: »

Good old JB. Stick a tiny moustache on that lad and he looks eerily familiar.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,541 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

gmisk wrote: »

I know we give Gem Gem's a hard time but's she probably a little off in the head but that Dee one is one nasty yoke.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    And some people are using the uncertain times as a means of stirring up discontent and agititating with disinformation.

Ireland is starting to resemble a mini US or UK because of it.

I don't think we've got that far, yet, and I still think there is time to turn things around but the process is well underway. Brexit will be the big litmus test here.

I know we give Gem Gem's a hard time but's she probably a little off in the head but that Dee one is one nasty yoke.
    Ah they are equally as bad as each other in their own way.
    GOD has the intelligence to slightly temper a few of her more insane thoughts (believe it or not!).
    Dee has zero intelligence, just a thick angry scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Lord Fairlord

ParkRunner wrote: »

I don't follow the guidelines because I believe that they aren't for the greater good.
    The Courts, for some time now have made some of their decisions from a positivist and not Natural Law basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

I don't follow the guidelines because I believe that they aren't for the greater good.
    The Courts, for some time now have made some of their decisions from a positivist and not Natural Law basis.

Perhaps if more people had followed the guidelines then the country wouldn't be in level 3 and heading for more.

As regards influenza

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-07-23/coronavirus-restrictions-cause-flu-cases-to-drop-australia/12480190