Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School summer hols are upon us. What to do now with the kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

Charge up the IPad I’d imagine would be most parents’ solution to the problem.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm gonna give my lad a stick. With a nail on the end of it. So he'll be well able to fend for himself should the worse come to pass.

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Get them smartphones OP.

iPhones OR Android depending on what the clique they're in are into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

honeybear wrote: »
    Take them to local GAA matches ... we used to love them, especially the Junior B’s!!!

Yeah, they play hurling and camogie for the local club so again, I have that one covered

Nikki Sixx wrote: »
    Charge up the IPad I’d imagine would be most parents’ solution to the problem.

Sad isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is there a swim camp nearby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

If only Jimmy Saville was alive you could write to "Jim'll fix it " for a few ideas

biko wrote: »
    Is there a swim camp nearby?
    I know it would be going through the motions but they could go swimming in Dublin Bay.
    Get a built in tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

mariaalice wrote: »
    Could they build a fort in the garden, make up complicated games, reading challenges the library has them over the summer have their friends over and they goto their friends the next week, there is an endless amount of things to do.

How are they going to learn to entertain themselves if they are constantly entertained?

Unfortunately Tusla doesn't like kids under 10 alone at home for 10 hours 5 days a week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Problem solved:

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭wildwillow

My children were fairly isolated during holidays due to one being ill, with no immune system so mixing with random children was dangerous. Unfortunately said child did not survive childhood cancer but the memories of the last summer still make us smile.

I decided to treat them as equals and gave them opportunities to get involved with everything that was going on. Part of the routine involved care for the sick child and they just got on with it.

There was no pressure to do anything and often hoovering and cleaning was done to a minimum if something more interesting took their fancy.

The atmosphere in the house was holiday time with everyone being involved in the activities of the day. Surprising how mundane tasks like washing and putting clothes on the line can be fun and a learning curve.

Get them involved in running the house.

Set a routine with a rota for preparing breakfast and then room tidy and put on a wash. They are old enough to learn how to cook.

Involve them in a week of shopping, cooking, serving and clearing meals.

Then hand the decisions to them, keeping to a budget to do a few days meals. Let them research recipies and do charts on calorie content and other nutrients and vitmins.

My now adult sons are accomplished cooks with no fear of trying new recipies.

Organise picnics, nature walks, bird spotting, maybe a piece of the garden for quick growing plants such as lettuce, scallions, peas and radishes and some flowers that they can sell to you.

Enable then in their own persuits rather than trying to keep them entertained.

Any smart phone will capture video so they could make a film from their own story or on their surrounds.

Take out old photos and get them to scan them on the computer and then draw a simple family tree, showing grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins. Get dates of birth and see what wasa front page news that day. Use labelled photos for each person.

Research the type of car or transport grandparents used and get photos off the internet.

Interview grandparents or older neighbours about the old days. Even someone in their sixties will remember using old currency, pounds shillings and pence, and can challenge them to work out simple sums using that old currency.

Might even remember writing with ink and pen and the old irish script.

Keep a written diary each day and add pictures and sketches.

Do a cycle, a walk but with a purpose. Collect wild flowers and dry some.

Set up a safe space to practice football or whatever sport the are interested in.

Use technology to expand their interests, and allow screen time, but not to excess.

Hope that is some help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭tamara25

I’m in the same boat, 1 teenager that is on hols since a month ago & other 2 finishing up Friday. Can anyone recommend some free attractions/activities in Dublin/Meath during the summer for kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

wildwillow wrote: »
    My children were fairly isolated during holidays due to one being ill, with no immune system so mixing with random children was dangerous. Unfortunately said child did not survive childhood cancer but the memories of the last summer still make us smile.

I decided to treat them as equals and gave them opportunities to get involved with everything that was going on. Part of the routine involved care for the sick child and they just got on with it.

There was no pressure to do anything and often hoovering and cleaning was done to a minimum if something more interesting took their fancy.

The atmosphere in the house was holiday time with everyone being involved in the activities of the day. Surprising how mundane tasks like washing and putting clothes on the line can be fun and a learning curve.

Get them involved in running the house.

Set a routine with a rota for preparing breakfast and then room tidy and put on a wash. They are old enough to learn how to cook.

Involve them in a week of shopping, cooking, serving and clearing meals.

Then hand the decisions to them, keeping to a budget to do a few days meals. Let them research recipies and do charts on calorie content and other nutrients and vitmins.

My now adult sons are accomplished cooks with no fear of trying new recipies.

Organise picnics, nature walks, bird spotting, maybe a piece of the garden for quick growing plants such as lettuce, scallions, peas and radishes and some flowers that they can sell to you.

Enable then in their own persuits rather than trying to keep them entertained.

Any smart phone will capture video so they could make a film from their own story or on their surrounds.

Take out old photos and get them to scan them on the computer and then draw a simple family tree, showing grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins. Get dates of birth and see what wasa front page news that day. Use labelled photos for each person.

Research the type of car or transport grandparents used and get photos off the internet.

Interview grandparents or older neighbours about the old days. Even someone in their sixties will remember using old currency, pounds shillings and pence, and can challenge them to work out simple sums using that old currency.

Might even remember writing with ink and pen and the old irish script.

Keep a written diary each day and add pictures and sketches.

Do a cycle, a walk but with a purpose. Collect wild flowers and dry some.

Set up a safe space to practice football or whatever sport the are interested in.

Use technology to expand their interests, and allow screen time, but not to excess.

Hope that is some help.

Brilliant ideas there !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Dump them on an island to fight to the death.

Winner gets a 99 cone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Sell them.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Sell them.

U buying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Just dropped almost 2k on summer camps yesterday. I work from home so technically is a business expense

2k? How many kids so you have and are the camps in the south of France?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Gerry G wrote: »
    2k? How many kids so you have and are the camps in the south of France?

Setup a Call Centre staffed by them. My logic here is that in the US, prison inmates are employed to take calls to book holidays - contracted by travel agents.

I recommend they are used for technical support . if abusive callers ring, they give as good as they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Painting, roof tiling, gutter cleaning, lawn mowing. If they’re any good at it rent them out to the neighbours.

Any complaints or tantrums, present them with a bill for ten years of food, rent and clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Is today the last day of school for primary students or is it on Friday?

I plan to bring my toddler to a nice beach tomorrow but will go to a quieter one if schools are off. (Hate crowds)

mojesius wrote: »
    Is today the last day of school for primary students or is it on Friday?

I plan to bring my toddler to a nice beach tomorrow but will go to a quieter one if schools are off. (Hate crowds)

Mine was done last Friday and next morning at 5.30 am he was on a flight to my sister and fecker is now in Italy because I start working next week.
    Then he comes home in 2 weeks and has football camp and a week of chill. Then he goes to Spain to see my mom for 3 weeks.
    That kid has seen more of this world than I did at this point.

is_that_so wrote: »

that camp looks like good craic, i'd have loved that

do ye need childminders for after the camps then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Johnathon Swift had a solution. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Abba987

And people bought into the idea that women could have it all and be happy. A career and kids.

But it's the poor kids that suffer. Raised from birth by nannies, creches, school teachers and then chucked into summer camp.

Parents out working all the time, never have time for their kids. Then they wonder why the kids are all ****ed up with ADHD and Asperger's and 10 different allergies.

Don't agree with the asperegers bit but the rest ..... fxxking feminists. I would love to be at home all the time for my children. I work as little hours as possible but can't afford to give it up

And people bought into the idea that women could have it all and be happy. A career and kids.

But it's the poor kids that suffer. Raised from birth by nannies, creches, school teachers and then chucked into summer camp.

Parents out working all the time, never have time for their kids. Then they wonder why the kids are all ****ed up with ADHD and Asperger's and 10 different allergies.

Try harder.
    Have you checked lately what life in reasonably busy areas with jobs cost?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

This you?

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-RFinO6ndivk/USKM93ZU0dI/AAAAAAAADPQ/2a9HS8oQO3I/s1600/andrew-dice-clay-001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,150 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

No, it's not a business expense. But thanks for demonstrating how self-employed people play fast and loose with tax rules at the expense of others.

So just to be clear - you're saying that working parents are causing ADHD, Asperger's and allergies by - working?

No, it's not a business expense. But thanks for demonstrating how self-employed people play fast and loose with tax rules at the expense of others.

So just to be clear - you're saying that working parents are causing ADHD, Asperger's and allergies by - working?

Explains that work-allergy seems to be inherited in certain clans.

The first guy is tongue in cheek, the second is just taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

The little angels are already out late wrecking havoc last night, what parents lets 10-13 year olds out till midnight, what's the though process there?

5 kids !
    Better stop that "working from home"

Why do people have kids if they are unwilling/too busy to look after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Do what lots of other parents do, use technology to distract them so you can get some peace and quiet, and then blame said technology when your kids get addicted to it. That's how to parent in 2019 yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

In this lovely weather, the beach

It sounds like parenting is an alien concept to most parents. When the kid isn’t in school, the childminder’s house, summer camp, what am I supposed to do with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Gerry G wrote: »
    Summer hols again, 2 months of trying to figure out what the hell to do with the kids again. Any tips and ideas for good days out that don't cost a fortune or anything would be even better?

The absolutely cheapest thing I can think of is 'going to the shop'

Have no sweets in the house but give 50 cents to go to the shop at some stage during the day for sweets.

Would that do for 2 months?

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    The absolutely cheapest thing I can think of is 'going to the shop'

Have no sweets in the house but give 50 cents to go to the shop at some stage during the day for sweets.

Would that do for 2 months?

Another idea is get them set up a shop at home put loose sweets in bowls give them some loose change small coins one or two cents they price the sweets and sell to each other. Set up a table and put out a toy cash register or give them pen and paper and let the shop keeper add up the cost. Haven’t done it with my kids this summer but you got me thinking am going to set it up later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The cinema - great family-friendly films on at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Blaizes wrote: »
    Another idea is get them set up a shop at home put loose sweets in bowls give them some loose change small coins one or two cents they price the sweets and sell to each other. Set up a table and put out a toy cash register or give them pen and paper and let the shop keeper add up the cost. Haven’t done it with my kids this summer but you got me thinking am going to set it up later.

I did this with the neighbours but with Lego.

You'd have so many parts and pieces and trade them between each other.

I was the mean b*stard who'd hold on to all the money (yellow bricks) and fully built vehicles etc. the trick was to break up a good vehicle every now and sell off the bits to everyone else at a huge mark-up.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I did this with the neighbours but with Lego.

You'd have so many parts and pieces and trade them between each other.

I was the mean b*stard who'd hold on to all the money (yellow bricks) and fully built vehicles etc. the trick was to break up a good vehicle every now and sell off the bits to everyone else at a huge mark-up.

Little young entrepreneurs LEGO camp!!

Going low tech here and lower cost than drones: buy some cheap kites. In fact Google how to make them if you are patient enough. The kite can't fly off by itself like a drone as it has a line.