Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fire alarm courses

Options
  • 28-06-2019 1:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭

Hi.
    I’m a qualified electrician and I’m looking to get into fire alarm systems. Wiring and commissioning them. What would be they best course and with whom? And how long of a course is it? I would like to be qualified in installing fire alarms and commission them myself

Thanks in advance for ur advise.

Comments

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Hi.
    I’m a qualified electrician and I’m looking to get into fire alarm systems. Wiring and commissioning them.

There is very little in wiring them. It will vary a bit depending on the make but the manufacturer can advise you on that. Most likely you will find them extremely cooperative as this enables them to sell more of their product. All modern systems are addressable, only the smaller or older systems aren't.

For addressable systems, all detection heads are wired the same way on a ring or radial circuit. Then each head is addressed, normally by setting dip switches. Then each address has a description associated with it.

Non-addressable systems will only identify which zone has activated, not which detector. Obviously addressable heads and system cost more.

There is a bit of a knack to making off MICC (mineral insulated copper cable) such as pyro but it is not used as extensively as it was.