Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump Presidency discussion Thread VI

• Site Banned Posts: 7 Tucker Carlson

August 16, 2018

Elisabeth Warren is a radical socialist masking as a Democrat and with in American politics that makes her an outright communist even more radical than comrade Bernie. If you look at the American Communist party website they what Warren proposes explicitly.

Warren and her husband have a combined net worth between so not short of a few dollars herself. That's one of the main reasons she is unelectable as president of the United States.
    The way she refuses corporate donations is very dangerous - corporations are the soul off America - it's like censorship her not taking money off them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

The way she refuses corporate donations is very dangerous - corporations are the soul off America - it's like censorship her not taking money off them

Not sure if you're serious or not. Curse her for representing the individuals rather than than the odd citizen that is corporate interests.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Just like his namesake, Tucker Carlson will be going off the air

• Registered Users Posts: 8,938 ✭✭✭20Cent

Sand wrote: »
    Connor Betts just killed 9 people in her name in Dayton, Ohio. Warren has just recently described Trump as a white supremacist and Bett's online history reveals a deep seated hatred of white supremacists. He was radicalised by Twitter. With Warren classifying Trump as a white supremacist, and Betts attacking a bar which is nominally associated with Trump supporters...

Well, Warren needs to distance herself from support for violent attacks on Trump supporters/white supremacists. Right?

Just coincidence his sister and her boyfriend were there?
    Don't think it could be something to do with his relationship with them?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,207 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Sen. Elizabeth Warren just proposed the largest seizure of private assets in human history
    August 16, 2018

Elisabeth Warren is a radical socialist masking as a Democrat and with her wealth tax in American politics that makes her an outright communist even more radical than comrade Bernie. If you look at the American Communist party website they state what Warren proposes explicitly.

Warren and her husband have a combined net worth between $4 million and $11 million so not short of a few dollars herself. That's one of the main reasons she is unelectable as president of the United States.

The stuff that you quoted is all lies? Did you even read the act that you linked? This is what it says
    Very large American corporations must obtain a federal charter as a “United States corporation,” which obligates
    company directors to consider the interests of all corporate stakeholders: American corporations with more than $1
    billion in annual revenue must obtain a federal charter from a newly formed Office of United States Corporations at
    the Department of Commerce. The new federal charter obligates company directors to consider the interests of all
    corporate stakeholders – including employees, customers, shareholders, and the communities in which the company
    operates. This approach is derived from the thriving benefit corporation model that 33 states and the District of
    Columbia have adopted and that companies like Patagonia, Danone North America, and Kickstarter have embraced
    with strong results.
    https://www.warren.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/Accountable%20Capitalism%20Act%20One-Pager.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 11,350 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Sand wrote: »
    The reality is the vast, vast majority of mass shootings in the US are carried out by non-whites. And even those carried out by whites (less than half a dozen in the past 12 months) are majority leftist in origin.

No the majority were claimed to be leftists which turned out to be false. All domestic terrorism last year was far right in nature https://www.adl.org/news/press-releases/right-wing-extremism-linked-to-every-2018-extremist-murder-in-the-us-adl-finds
    Connor Betts for example is clearly a violent far left activist. Warren must face the same criticism as Trump does, given a mass shooter was such a fan of her work. Ironically, both the NZ mosque shooter and the supposed El Paso manifesto criticised Trump. Neither shooter were fans of Trump.

What has Warren said or done that's akin to Trump's actions or rhetoric?
    The threat of violent white supremacists and the white male shooter is clearly a media trope. Media only takes an interest when the shooter is white, and so the narrative of the angry white male can be applied. Multiple mass shootings have occurred in the US since the Dayton and El Paso shootings, but no international media coverage because the narrative does not fit. Fake news for want of a better term. You're probably more likely to be killed in the US by a falling meteorite than a white male shooter. It is Jussie Smollett all over again.

Pulse nightclub shooter wasn't white. Virginia tech shooter wasn't white, San Bernardino shooters weren't white, Fort Hood shooter wasn't white and yet there was wall to wall news coverage of those events.

5 of the top 10 deadliest mass shootings in American history have taken place since 2016 so obviously the media are all over it.

I was in the States when Columbine happened (Vegas actually Luxor hotel next door to where the deadliest attack would take place 18 years later) and the shock was clear then. There have been nine deadlier mass shootings since Columbine.

The odds on being caught up in Islamic terrorism is miniscule too. Do you think maybe the media should stop reporting when those incidents occur? After all between 2001 and 2014 there 3,043 people killed on US soil due to terrorism, that includes 9/11. 440,095 deaths due to firearms during same period.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,394 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

IIRC he had already made an attempt already, found unconscious in his cell a couple of weeks back.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

everlast75 wrote: »

The conspiracy theorists will be out in force..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭weisses

pixelburp wrote: »
    IIRC he had already made an attempt already, found unconscious in his cell a couple of weeks back.

Which makes this more suspicious imo ... suicide or silenced ?

probably better suited for a different forum

• Registered Users Posts: 19,394 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Yep.

Which in theory, when placed on suicide watch after that, would make it really difficult?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Quin_Dub wrote: »

Anybody who isn’t a conspiracy theorist on this one is a fool.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Conspiracy will be a very seductive line of thinking all the same, given the levels this guy operated at.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Man who could blow up so many of the super rich somehow kills himself despite been on suicide watch...you got to have questions over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,833 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

On the Epstein death I don't normally believe in conspiracy theories but when I saw the alert on my phone in my head I did say "that's interesting." It'll be interesting to see if it was suicide was there a suicide note.

Anybody who isn’t a conspiracy theorist on this one is a fool.
    Conspiracy will be a very seductive line of thinking all the same, given the levels this guy operated at.

Totally accept that.. The timing is interesting to say the least with the releases of the court documents in the last day or two

However I just think that to someone like Epstein, the thoughts of losing his freedom and the privileges of wealth would be to much to bear

• Registered Users Posts: 13,448 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Yes, maybe there were nefarious forces behind Epstein's suicide.

Deep breath. This evil creature is DEAD. We are no longer sharing the atmosphere with him. He raped and abused children for years.

Good fcuking riddance! Today is a good day.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,938 ✭✭✭20Cent

Igotadose wrote: »

Deep breath. This evil creature is DEAD. We are no longer sharing the atmosphere with him. He raped and abused children for years.

Not really.
    It would be better if he was still alive to testify against all the other people involved. He must have been under constant watch how he managed to kill himself seems very strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

It's not a good day for his victims who will find it very difficult to get justice now.

In other news.. yet another example of Trump not understanding anything.

Below is his response to the news that a number of countries have issued Travel advisories to their citizens in the wake of the recent Mass shootings.

Donald Trump threatened to strike back at countries issuing travel advisories against the US with “reciprocal” advisories.

Countries including Uruguay, Venezuela and Japan have issued advisories surrounding travel to the US following multiple mass shootings in the country last weekend that killed 31 people.

When asked about them, according to the Hill, Trump replied: “Well, I can’t imagine that. But if they did that, we’d just reciprocate.”

“We are a very reciprocal nation, with me as the head. When somebody does something negative to us in terms of a country, we do it to them,” he added.

“Look, our country has been taken advantage of by foreign countries, even allies –including allies, and in many cases, more than anybody else,” Trump said. “We’ve been taken advantage of for many, many years, and it stops. It stopped.”

Japan warned of “the potential for gunfire incidents everywhere in the United States”, and described the country as a “gun society”.

Uruguay told its citizens to be aware of “growing indiscriminate violence, mostly for hate crimes”.

Venezuela similarly warned of “the recent proliferation of violent acts and hate crimes”.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

In other news.. yet another example of Trump not understanding anything.

Below is his response to the news that a number of countries have issued Travel advisories to their citizens in the wake of the recent Mass shootings.

He might as well have said "I don't know what a travel advisory is. So I'm going to bluff a response because it sounds negative"

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Brian? wrote: »
    He might as well have said "I don't know what a travel advisory is. So I'm going to bluff a response because it sounds negative"

Exactly.. What's the reciprocal US advisory for Japan going to be?

" Be careful when you go to Japan, as you'll be under almost zero risk of assault or murder and you'll probably have a great time. It's a bit expensive though.. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Two things for me tbh, I'd prefer for him to spend his life in jail than the easy way out. Other concern is that it could potentially make it more difficult to convict his clients as he's a key witness to some degree.

" Be careful when you go to Japan, as you'll be under almost zero risk of assault or murder and you'll probably have a great time. It's a bit expensive though.. "

In fairness, it's not all that different from every other politician who has had to bluff knowledge, when caught on the hop by a journalist. Difference being of course, this politician is an extremely petty, over confident man incapable of diplomatic puffery.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

I really don't think suspicions about the circumstances of Epsteins death constitute 'conspiracy theory'.

That's just what *they* want you to think.... ;-) ha!

(Good riddance, no loss. But I'm sure there are interesting stories being buried with him.)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,523 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

They may kill you with politness.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Its not that he killed himself, he was 9n 24 hour suicide watch and was found hanged in his cell.

Isn't that what suicide watch is supposed to prevent? So what happened?

Maybe it simply was a guard fell asleep on the job but then such a high profile prisoner should have been focused on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Its not that he killed himself, he was 9n 24 hour suicide watch and was found hanged in his cell.

Maybe it simply was a guard fell asleep on the job but then such a high profile prisoner should have been focused on.

I'm fairly sure suicide watch doesn't involve eyes on 24/7. It's just a different cell type with more frequent visits by the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Surely if you are suicide watch,,,then you are checked for not having items you can kill yourself with on the regular...especially if you are someone as high profile? I don't want to sound all Oliver Stone, but its very fishy this story.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

It's not possible to stop suicides in jail if the person is determined enough. There aren't the resources available to watch 100% of the time.

Interesting analysis here about nobody having any standing now to contest search warrants or admissibility of evidence.