Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At what price point do you stop going to Dublin pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Where do you even find a decent pint these days never mind a cheap one.

Ya the first always tastes good but after a while your sitting there thinking this is ****e!

Ive tried a lot of different beers over the years now especially with the choice being better in pubs and off licences but the standard is awful in most places.

Actually I've found only decent drink I've gotten recently was in pubs ran by Galway Bay or similar brewery's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

The pint were over €7 in Temple Bar over 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

3.60 for pints of stout in Cumiskey's pub on Dominick street, 1.2km north of Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

For many it's pointless to be pintless in the city, so the upper price point of the pint is probably very high.

Joking aside, it would want to be a very special pub for me to spend more than €6.50 on a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Even at €4.50 you should be getting a voucher for a free hand job down the local rub 'n' tug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Guinness is €5.40 in the North Star on bleedin Amiens St, about €4.30 a few yards up the road in Cleary's.
    I was in McNeill's Capel St recently, lovely spot. But Guinness is €5.30 there.

See, this is thing that boils my piss. It's clearly a case of publicans just gouging people. There's absolutely no justification for it at all other than simply putting up the price.

Personally, I blame this craft beer shite. When hipsters started paying 6 and 7 Euro a pop for a Wizards Piss or whatever, the publicans just thought well, the fools will pay that for the run of the mill stuff too.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    I had few hours to kill after just missing my train one Tuesday the other week. Wandered into The Temple Bar around 8pm, place was packed, music was great but pint of Guinness was €6.90. I didn't order second one but many people there were.

Obviously tourists don't care if place is packed on Tuesday night.

When you're a tourist, you're in a sorta "feck it" frame of mind. You're only in the country a wee while so you spend your money a little differently and possibly more stupidly.

People have mentioned Paris on the thread and I've been there and paid stupid money for a 1664. But, after a while you cop on and search out more reasonably priced places, off of the avenues etc. Or drink wine, which is amazingly cheap in a lot of places.

spodoinkle wrote: »
    We went on a stag to Amsterdam 3 years ago, came out of train station into first pub we scene on what I think is the city central square area, I'll get these lads, 10 pints of Heineken, €90!!!!!!!

I'd have walked out and told him to stick them up his aars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

When getting a burger and a couple pints to watch a match costs €25+. Happier at home lying on the couch in that case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

I go to the 51 bar on and off. Sometimes to watch a champions league match during the week when it's quiet.

But Friday night or Saturday night I couldn't be arsed with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,214 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If a beer is anymore then 5.50 maxxxx then fuçk off no, that be lager too. I just wouldn’t subject friends and relatives to any more of a rip off. 22 quid for 4 pints of liquid, MAX I’m spending and that’s using an example allowing for city prices.

what dyou drink, ten pints a night when you're out?

tenner difference between 5.50 and 6.50 a pint at that, over say seven hours drinking. 1.40 an hour.

small change. life is short lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The only times I go to a pub nowadays is when there is a match on late and I'm finished work late, so I'll have 1 pint and watch a second half.

That and work leaving parties, we have a lot of them.

I can get 4 cans for €5, instead of having 1 pint. It will last me the night instead of 30-40 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

People will keep paying. If a pint was 100 euro they would keep paying.

No they wouldn't, they'd drink ethanol like our comrades in the east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

4.10 or 4.20 in the Lark Inn, Meath street, earlier in 2019.

There is value out there.

Glimmerman on Stoneybatter also a good pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭purplepanda

£3.80 Carlsberg / Carling, Amstel £4 in the Gooner Valley local, but cheaper spit & sawdust pubs are £2.90 a pint, Weatherspoons is also cheaper but no atmosphere in there!:eek:

Go down Camden its £4.90/5.40 plus, West End / City crazy £6-7plus unless you go Sam Smiths / Weatherspoons pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭redarmyblues

I was in City centre pubs for the first time in a while last month, I was shocked by the 7e prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Id rather drink at home than Witherspoons. Its an absolute sh*thole with absolutely zero atmosphere.

Find an area and bring your own atmosphere at those prices.

€7.60 in the Norseman, temple bar, I'm still affected by it.

Robbin baxstards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,214 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was in City centre pubs for the first time in a while last month, I was shocked by the 7e prices.

Yeah, that’s shocking.

If there are 300 people in through a pub say on average a day. Say an average of four pints per customer... that equates to 9000 euros takings per day. At the above prices that’s 3,276000 revenue per annum on average and that’s me being conservative it could be more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Few pints a Tuborg at 3.50 a pint in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭TheChosenOne_

imme wrote: »
    Find an area and bring your own atmosphere at those prices.

Have actually never been to any of the Weatherspoons in Ireland yet. What are the prices like for drinks? Is it much cheaper?

Shipyard pale ale €2.50

Staropramen €2.95

That is their blanchardstown place as from Zomato.
    City centre prices will undoubtedly vary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

The ones in Ireland are excellent!

Do they sell Guinness?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

€4.50 for pint of the day in Porterhouse. Can't complain about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

The only times I go to a pub nowadays is when there is a match on late and I'm finished work late, so I'll have 1 pint and watch a second half.

That and work leaving parties, we have a lot of them.

I can get 4 cans for €5, instead of having 1 pint. It will last me the night instead of 30-40 minutes.
    30 -40 minutes to drink a pint !!!. You should start drinking something you like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Strumms wrote: »
    Yeah, that’s shocking.

If there are 300 people in through a pub say on average a day. Say an average of four pints per customer... that equates to 9000 euros takings per day. At the above prices that’s 3,276000 revenue per annum on average and that’s me being conservative it could be more.

Would there be many bars with those numbers all year round, six to seven days a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

It's not a 'place for a pint' as such but, €6.50 for less than 500ml in 3 Arena is taking the proverbial.

Tastes rank that one pour stuff.

Paid €6.50 for a pint of Guinness in Toddy's recently. Horrible it was, watery and the head disappeared faster than an '99 in fat kid's hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Tony EH wrote: »
    Do they sell Guinness?

No, quite famously, they don't. But that's fine, other stouts are available and half the fun is checking out their beer menu.

Two things about Wetherspoons though, they have somehow managed to engineer in soullessness, which is fine if you like that airport bar style atmosphere. Also they are owned by Tim Martin, a mercenary b@stard, pro-brexit blowhard and by many accounts a dreadful employer.

So, I'd much rather give over 5.20 or whatever for a pint of plain in a solid family run house off the beaten track in Dublin than 3 quid to the spoonies.

As for Temple Bar prices, any Irishman who ventures in there knows exactly what they're going to get and unless they've brought the vaseline, deserves it.

• Site Banned Posts: 16 lipso tokko

I'll just leave this here. !!

The Auld Oscar Wilde is not a typical local Dublin pub — in fact, you’d be hard pushed to find a typical Dub within five miles of it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Cina wrote: »
    Dublin was great craic during the recession. Prices were decent, the pubs that were still open were generally good spots, and there were plenty of great deals (especially for students) like €2 drinks on certain nights, in most spots.

Now I just find it's all gotten a bit.. stuck up its hole. Loads of those great pubs have jumped on the craft beer bandwagon and everywhere is just trying to look like P-Macs. Any decent spot is totally jammed and about 6 quid for a Guinness. It's not really worth it anymore.

I've almost lost count of the amount of nice pubs I've gone into that they decide to "renovate" i.e. make darker, add weird furniture, stick in some 7 quid random craft beer and a few board games and suddenly it becomes wedged and devoid of the character it used to have. A shame.
    Agreed hate all those hipster **** pubs springing up all over Dublin. Very pretentious.

I think you just need to find out the pubs with decent prices and head there. Random pub crawls are very expensive. As for Temple Bar well we all know it's a tourist robbing place. Can always pop in for 1 pint though if you want.

Anything over a 5er for Guinness is like being mugged on the street.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    No, quite famously, they don't. But that's fine, other stouts are available and half the fun is checking out their beer menu.

Two things about Wetherspoons though, they have somehow managed to engineer in soullessness, which is fine if you like that airport bar style atmosphere. Also they are owned by Tim Martin, a mercenary b@stard, pro-brexit blowhard and by many accounts a dreadful employer.

So, I'd much rather give over 5.20 or whatever for a pint of plain in a solid family run house off the beaten track in Dublin than 3 quid to the spoonies.

As for Temple Bar prices, any Irishman who ventures in there knows exactly what they're going to get and unless they've brought the vaseline, deserves it.

That's me out then.

I've never tasted a stout that I've liked other than Guinness. That Plain stuff in the Porterhouse is disgusting. I couldn't drink a half, never mind a session's worth. The Oyster stuff isn't much better. Beamish is awful. Murphy's is rank.

As for Tim Martin, yeh I've heard he's a right cock. But, TBH, it's my wallet I'm thinking of and if I'm going to be ripped off for a pint of liquid nearly everywhere in town, it doesn't make me think much of other publicans either.

Drank in the Temple Bar once, cos a Spanish friend wanted to. This was years ago and even then it was a load of bollocks. We had one pint and I asked are you done? She said yes...

...and sorry. :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

That's me out then.

I've never tasted a stout that I've liked other than Guinness. That Plain stuff in the Porterhouse is disgusting. I couldn't drink a half, never mind a session's worth. The Oyster stuff isn't much better. Beamish is awful. Murphy's is rank.

The issue here seems to be that you do not actually like stout.

That's me out then.

As for Tim Martin, yeh I've heard he's a right cock. But, TBH, it's my wallet I'm thinking of and if I'm going to be ripped off for a pint of liquid nearly everywhere in town, it doesn't make me think much of other publicans either.

Drank in the Temple Bar once, cos a Spanish friend wanted to. This was years ago and even then it was a load of bollocks. We had one pint and I asked are you done? She said yes...

...and sorry. :D

Beamish tastes nice when its €2.95 a pint that I can assure you. As a Guinness man I usually stick with it in Wetherspoons or maybe Fosters or some lager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Cina wrote: »
    Now I just find it's all gotten a bit.. stuck up its hole. Loads of those great pubs have jumped on the craft beer bandwagon and everywhere is just trying to look like P-Macs. Any decent spot is totally jammed and about 6 quid for a Guinness. It's not really worth it anymore.

I've almost lost count of the amount of nice pubs I've gone into that they decide to "renovate" i.e. make darker, add weird furniture, stick in some 7 quid random craft beer and a few board games and suddenly it becomes wedged and devoid of the character it used to have. A shame.

As somebody that's been going to Dublin pubs for quite a while, I like the increased choice of places. For all the brouhaha about new pubs, they'll never completely replace the traditional pubs.

Although the prices are outrageous, at least you're getting OK food, a bigger and local beer choice and surroundings, you could argue that it's precisely the uncritical defence of dysentery jacks, stale cheese sambos and being overcharged for the same 3 beer choices that has meant Dublin pub goers have been royally shafted for years.

irish_goat wrote: »
    The issue here seems to be that you do not actually like stout.

Well, I never said did in fairness. :D

Beamish tastes nice when its €2.95 a pint that I can assure you. As a Guinness man I usually stick with it in Wetherspoons or maybe Fosters or some lager.

Never been able to stomach it myself, so it could cost 50p and I'd still struggle to down a pint of it.

If Wetherspoons has normal lagers, I might give it a go. It just looks like a really uncomfortable place. All high chairs and tables and whatnot. Not a place for a proper session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Gin is my drink and that means I don’t go to the pub very often as it’s at least €7 for a G&T in a Dublin pub. It just too much. I wish you could get a dash like in country pubs. Maybe some Dublin pubs do that but it seems rare. But I rarely drink anyway these days so it’s not much of an issue for me any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

topper75 wrote: »
    If you have a bit of space to spare under the stairs, it's great fun. When you crack the first bottle top, it's Christmas morning level excitement. Kit isn't expensive either and you only buy that once.

Is it hard to get right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

If Wetherspoons has normal lagers, I might give it a go. It just looks like a really uncomfortable place. All high chairs and tables and whatnot. Not a place for a proper session.

They have Carlsberg and Heineken. 3.25 for a pint of Carlsberg in DL and 3.95 (I think) for Heineken probably more in the city centre though as their branches have different pricing but still cheaper than other cc pubs.

Most Spoons seem to be a bit like an airport bar and I get the impression they don't want you there for very long but grand for pints before a match, concert or going to a nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭sheroman01

Even at €4.50 you should be getting a voucher for a free hand job down the local rub 'n' tug.

If I was getting a pint for that price in Dublin I'd be giving the barman a hand job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

"Would you have a euro for a pint?"

"Here's two, get me a pint too!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

That sounds grand.

There's just one problem.

I don't like Beamish.

Acquired taste.
    If not Guiness why Heineken.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Is it hard to get right?

Not too hard, but it's very easy to get wrong. Sanitation, avoiding too high fermentation temperature (apart from Saisons, and some new Norwegian yeast) and avoiding over exposure to oxygen are the main things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

policarp wrote: »
    Acquired taste.
    If not Guiness why Heineken.?

Or murphys,
    Of the commercially available nitro stouts its the nicest, for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Or murphys,
    Of the commercially available nitro stouts its the nicest, for me anyway.

You must be from Cork.
    Can,t get Murphys any near Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

policarp wrote: »
    You must be from Cork.
    Can,t get Murphys any near Dublin.

I'm from Athlone.
    2 pubs locally sell it.