Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antifa [Mod Warning on post #1 - updated 08/08/19]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭notobtuse

20Cent wrote: »
    Did they attack to police or did the police attack them?
    Don’t know for sure but I’d bet the farm it was left wing protestors attacking police. The newspaper here had an article of a local that had been arrested there for attacking the police, and noted protestors confronted the police.

https://www.mcall.com/news/local/mc-nws-kraft-arrest-boston-straight-pride-parade-20190903-rsbk6p4tj5cznbem265i3l2fue-story.html

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Ah, fair enough so, you must be right, having a come back and all

Anyone who hates antifa is right apparently

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Danzy wrote: »
    The war started by the radical left and right joining up together to invade Poland.

Until they fell out with each other.

A falling out that continues to this day.

I assume you failed junior cert history.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 83,603 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    Another video of how antifa behave when they outnumber people

Already discussed last week. Just as easily staged with himself cameraman and a would be perp inside of a given crowd. No logic in turning his back to a knifer he thought had murderous intent. No charges filed, no police involved; Just a call for political interference at the highest levels and shared with youtube for likes subs and views.

Ironicname wrote: »
    If you believe antifa are anti-fascist in anything but name, you aren't naive, you're delusional or idiotic.

Is this you finally admitting that the Nazis were not socialists?

Overheal wrote:
    Is this you finally admitting that the Nazis were not socialists?

You have me confused with someone else I think.

Ironicname wrote: »
    You have me confused with someone else I think.

Just a joke in general; very accustomed to hearing the talking point that socialism leads to genocide because Nazis were “national socialists”

Where these people all get their talking points from I don’t know (the inside lining of a can of Natural Light?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

Overheal wrote: »
    Already discussed last week. Just as easily staged with himself cameraman and a would be perp inside of a given crowd. No logic in turning his back to a knifer he thought had murderous intent. No charges filed, no police involved; Just a call for political interference at the highest levels and shared with youtube for likes subs and views.

I can see why you are the mod of conspiracy theories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    I can see why you are the mod of conspiracy theories

If you were familiar with Overheal's posts, he pretty much never actually believe the theories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Watched a video about some socialists protesting Ice agents checking immigrants on cross country greyhound buses. The protesters want Ice shut down.
    They would like to see the removal of the us border and open crossings with all new arrivals recieving instant us citizenship and benifits.

The guy asking the questions didn't agree with them so they shouted him down calling him a fascist and told the cops that he was harrasing them.

This is the mentality of some folk out there.
    Insane.

Funnily enough I saw a twitter post with hundreds of comments complaining about Garda immigration officers checking people on a bus traveling from the north to the Republic. There was outrage from many about the fact.

Once it was pointed out and explained that Ireland isn't in the Schengen area they changed tune to the gardai or racial profiling people.

Stop the lights

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Watched a video about some socialists protesting Ice agents checking immigrants on cross country greyhound buses. The protesters want Ice shut down.
    They would like to see the removal of the us border and open crossings with all new arrivals recieving instant us citizenship and benifits.

The guy asking the questions didn't agree with them so they shouted him down calling him a fascist and told the cops that he was harrasing them.

Insane.

Funnily enough I saw a twitter post with hundreds of comments complaining about Garda immigration officers checking people on a bus traveling from the north to the Republic. There was outrage from many about the fact.

Once it was pointed out and explained that Ireland isn't in the Schengen area they changed tune to the gardai or racial profiling people.

Stop the lights

Post up a link to the vid then.
    Been telling ye about grifters.
    I can spot them a mile away.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Speaking of grifters…

AOC on Twitter urged people to send money to bail out antifa thugs that got arrested for beating up cops.

https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2019/sep/2/alexandria-ocasio-cortez-ayanna-pressley-push-fund/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

https://youtu.be/5FIfrZr_lk8 there ya go

10 seconds in.
    Yep a grifter.

Seemed very tame, thought "the left" would have executed him or something.
    He was able to go around into the crowd with no fear, irritating people and they were patient with him

Cops going onto buses to ask people to product their papers, seems pretty fascist, you'd think the freedumb brigade would be against that.

20Cent wrote:
    Cops going onto buses to ask people to product their papers, seems pretty fascist, you'd think the freedumb brigade would be against that.

Freedumb. Grifters.

Jesus.

mad muffin wrote: »
    Speaking of grifters…

AOC on Twitter urged people to send money to bail out antifa thugs that got arrested for beating up cops.

https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2019/sep/2/alexandria-ocasio-cortez-ayanna-pressley-push-fund/
    Yup… she supports physical violence against police. And this is the future of the Democrat party.

I see the South Dakota Democratic Party will be closing the doors at both of its last offices in the state due to financial troubles, leaving the state with no Democratic Party offices. There IS sanity in the heartland.

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

notobtuse wrote: »
    Yup… she supports physical violence against police.....

Link or are you a liar?

Yep more spin....
    It was unclear how many of those arrested were affiliated with antifa

The Washington Times, another lunatic fringe right wing rag....
    owned by,
    The Unification movement, also known as the Unification Church (UC), is a worldwide new religious movement whose members are sometimes colloquially called "Moonies". ... In 1994 the HSA-UWC was replaced by Moon with a new organization, the Family Federation for World Peace and Unification (FFWPU).

You free speech people really like listening to these folk?
    It's quite worrying how much sway all these conservative religious organisations have on the 'free speech' defend a fascists rights folk and them singing their tunes. It's a massive con.

Yep more spin....

The Washington Times, another lunatic fringe right wing rag....
    owned by,

You free speech people really like listening to these folk?
    All reports from all the sources I've seen indicate the arrests were of protesters. Those who participated in the parade weren’t protesters.

Seems that way. I guess the parade people can live with their fear and insecurity.

Now explain her helping bailing out antifa and supporting violence towards police?

Seems that way. I guess the parade people can live with their fear and insecurity.

Now explain her helping bailing out antifa and supporting violence towards police?
    I think AOC's act is self-explanatory.

Her act differs from what you state. If you're just making stuff up you should be clearer you're not the POTUS, but if you want to drop to his level of credibility you'll not be taken seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Calling someone a 'grifter' as a means of argument is about as weak as it gets.

The first person I seen this been said about was Larry Elder, a guy who backs up everything he says, and all he tends to get met with is a barrage of accusations that he's an Uncle Tom and a Grifter.

You might as well be saying 'I have no argument against the points you have made' when you resort to that weak ass shit.

The first person I seen this been said about was Larry Elder, a guy who backs up everything he says, and all he tends to get met with is a barrage of accusations that he's an Uncle Tom and a Grifter.

You might as well be saying 'I have no argument against the points you have made' when you resort to that weak ass shit.

'Scum' is okay though? Reads the same as 'chancer' to me. Free speech wha? Words hurt? ;)

Insane.

Stop the lights
    They said that in the video or you made it up

Disagree.
    There are a lot of these characters about.
    Get a microphone and a camera, go into a group of people being annoying then getting some footage to share and go viral.

They aren't real reporters using journalistic methods or ethics.
    They just want the followers and exposure usually to sell something.

Infowars is a good example they sell vitimin pills and loads of stuff.
    They are bad faith actors.

A lot of them on the right for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

They aren't real reporters using journalistic methods or ethics.
    They just want the followers and exposure usually to sell something.

News channels sell advertisement whats the difference ?

SexBobomb wrote: »
    News channels sell advertisement whats the difference ?

If a news channel consistently lies people might stop watching it, probably not a good business model but Fox news manage it so maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

If a news channel consistently lies people might stop watching it, probably not a good business model but Fox news manage it so maybe.

Same could be said about CNN, but whats the difference between selling advertisements on tv and these online news channels selling to followers?

It’s simple… there really is no difference. Their real sin revolves around the fact the US media is supposed to be liberal, left, and in the pockets of Democrats. Everything else is considered illegitimate for any reason made up in the minds of the disingenuous.

Don't watch cnn but if they lie to increase ratings then it's just a bigger version of it.

Taking one example.
    Say you have video of a guy with his fists wrapped to fight laying into some antifa and one of them knocks him out. You cut out the first bit of footage and just show this guy on the ground. Title the video antifa attack innocent old man.
    What would you call someone who does things like that?
    Certainly not a journalist.

Andy Ngo shared a video of the spartan guy and his daughter. Antifa attack man and little girl he titles the video. He didn't wait to find out who she was or how they ended up in the middle of a bunch of antifa. Turns out the guy has white pride tattoos and boasts about beating people online, the "little girl" turns out to be his 25 year old daughter who pepper sprays people.