Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antifa [Mod Warning on post #1 - updated 08/08/19]

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Okay, 20Cent, you can't say I didn't give you a chance to answer the question, but that's okay, we know you support the violence used on Ngo as you have made it clear on Boards numerous times that you support violence on anyone you think is a Fascist / Nazi. Here's just one example:
    20Cent wrote: »
    White supremacists and fascists have only ever been defeated with violence. Having a chat with them doesn't work. It always tries to reinventitself in another more socially acceptable form. Richard Spencer and nathan damigo are clean cut chaps who you could bring home to your mother. Their vile hateful beliefs sugar coated. Allowing people like this to go mainstream or to normalise their behavior is not an option. Antifa showed them for what they are. Always bash the fash.

And here you are on this very thread referring Ngo as a Nazi in response to Calhoun's post:
    Calhoun wrote: »
    By physically harming him its just ramping up the ammunition being used by the right against the left.
    "Being nice" never really worked against nazis in the past.

So no need to answer the question direct. We know your views...... and ironically they are quite fascist.

20Cent wrote:
    Well I suppose if one can't make a coherent argument they will just make stuff up. I blame Fox news myself for dumbing down discourse it's gotten even worse since.

Ah sure they probably aren't even journalists by your standard anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Well I suppose if one can't make a coherent argument they will just make stuff up.

CWlgkI6WsAA12p7.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Oh and let's not forget, his excuse for not caring about Ngo's bloody beating:
    Not feeling sorry for him tbh.
    His actions resulted in a girl having her back broken.

Course when it's pointed out that Ngo did not dox that girl, it doesn't change his mind at all, he still doesn't care, which means the above post, attempting to justify his lack of empathy.... was a lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Kimsang

I was having an argument in politics forum before this attack about Quillette reporting on the antics of Antifa.

This is the message I received like by many there and unchallenged by all;
    Oops! You do know that Quillette isn't exactly respected being a flakey libertarian 'magazine'. You do know that the author of the article was subsequently found to be a right wing troll who is banned from Twitter and the article was widely discredited as being malicious and unresearched nonsense? You do know that, ironically, the journalists mentioned in the 'article' were subsequently harassed?
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110481034&postcount=9227

All the same ad hominem arguments that 20c here is making. 20c is not a minority opinion. 20c is just honest.
    Its shocking that journalists would agree with anti fascist rhetoric(Note:poster meant with sarcasm, I note to stop mods banning me again.) There should be more balance. Why do these journalists so rarely bring up Hitler's positive attributes....
    16 thanks
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110480903&postcount=9226

Okay let's nail this. You posted nonsense from an article written by a bona fide far right troll. He is a far right troll. Full stop. His 'research methodology' is ludicrous at best. You didn't know that. You know now. So your point is wrong. 100% wrong because it is based on the troll's 'article'.
    Let's see. Who to believe? A far right troll writing in an ultra libertarian 'magazine' whose HQ is some woman's couch. Or the Colombia Journalism Review, The Huffington Post or The Independent. So hard, must choose...
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110489701&postcount=9306

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Kimsang wrote: »

Cheering on the far left, antifa for example, is just as morally repugnant as cheering on the far right. They are mirror images of each other, they operate the same way, the ideological differences are largely superficial, and they would repress people if either got their hands on power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

markodaly wrote: »
    Despite the E. W. Scripps School of Journalism in Ohio University awarding Cronkite the Carr Van Anda Award "for enduring contributions to journalism." in 1968
    Arizona State University also named their journalism school after him.

I'd rather take their view on the matter on board rather than your own victorian view.

Meh...you work away so.....good to know yous dont think qualifactions are necessary.....sure il open up a clinic and work away as a doctor....sure acording to you qualifications aremt necesssry and outdated thinking needing them

_blaaz wrote: »
    Meh...you work away so.....good to know yous dont think qualifactions are necessary.....sure il open up a clinic and work away as a doctor....sure acording to you qualifications aremt necesssry and outdated thinking needing them

Your poor comprehension of the written word is again your undoing.

I never said that 'qualifications aren't necessary' but they are not the be all and end all, as my previous posts attested to.

It is your own doltish victorian ideas about qualifications that need to be reflected on.

Well I suppose if one can't make a coherent argument they will just make stuff up. I blame Fox news myself for dumbing down discourse it's gotten even worse since.

Do you ever watch CNN? it's news consists of here's what Trump did today and here's why it's bad. For example they had a whole piece on why him not bombing Iran was a bad thing.

The whole children in cages thing and taking children from their parents (3% of cases as opposed to 1% under Obama according to the Guardian) shows me its not just Fox news at it.

Not claiming Fox news isn't biased - but CNN is as bad as them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Okay, 20Cent, you can't say I didn't give you a chance to answer the question, but that's okay, we know you support the violence used on Ngo as you have made it clear on Boards numerous times that you support violence on anyone you think is a Fascist / Nazi. Here's just one example:

And here you are on this very thread referring Ngo as a Nazi in response to Calhoun's post:

So no need to answer the question direct. We know your views...... and ironically they are quite fascist.

Very interesting. All of the above has now been logged.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Cheering on the far left, antifa for example, is just as morally repugnant as cheering on the far right. They are mirror images of each other, they operate the same way, the ideological differences are largely superficial, and they would repress people if either got their hands on power.

50 Murders is the same as a few slaps.

And thats the attitude Ngo and his cohorts spread, successfully in many cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

I was having an argument in politics forum before this attack about Quillette reporting on the antics of Antifa.

This is the message I received like by many there and unchallenged by all;

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110481034&postcount=9227

All the same ad hominem arguments that 20c here is making. 20c is not a minority opinion. 20c is just honest.

16 thanks
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110480903&postcount=9226

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110489701&postcount=9306

Thats all true.
    Unfortunately people don't have the literacy skills to recognise when they are being manipulated anymore.

Bet none of ye had even heard of him or Quilette before the incident.

Your poor comprehension of the written word is again your undoing.

I never said that 'qualifications aren't necessary' but they are not the be all and end all, as my previous posts attested to.

It is your own doltish victorian ideas about qualifications that need to be reflected on.
    Mate you literally yeaterday said qualifications arent necessary to be a journalist

One does not need to have a degree in journalism to be a journalist

All these weak attempts at personal insults suggests your point has no substance and now.youve tried to insult me into thinking people.dont need qualifications to do their job

• Registered Users Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

[Mod Warning]

Just read through a day's worth of drivel, interspersed with a few interesting posts. As flexible as the CA forum is trying to be when it comes to what can be discussed, a high percentage of posts in this thread fall well under the realm of personal abuse. From the charter:
    Charter wrote:
    You are free to express your views in a forceful manner provided you remain civil. Hate speech, insults, and purposely inflammatory remarks (i.e., trolling) will not be tolerated.

From here on in, I'm invoking that rule. Feel free to discuss the topic from any angle, but any further personal abuse or purposely inflammatory remarks will be carded, no exceptions. Fair warning and all that.

~Mike

[/Mod Warning]

Mate you literally yeaterday said qualifications arent necessary to be a journalist

And they arent....

Bet none of ye had even heard of him or Quilette before the incident.

I didn't hear of Lyra McKee before she was murdered by wannabe soldiers of destiny.
    It doesn't mean that her murder was a gross affront to the people of Ireland.

You can downplay violence towards journalists all you want, but you sing from the same hymn sheet as the RIRA if you condone violence against Ngo.

And they arent....

Find the notion of people not wanting people to be qualified to do their job bizzare tbh mate....sure if your stuck for a bit of wiring or plumbing work hit me up

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Find the notion of people not wanting people to be qualified to do their job bizzare tbh mate....sure if your stuck for a bot of wiring or plumbing work hit me up

Ok, the argument is not that people want others to have no qualifications, its more that you do not have to obtain a degree or qualifications to work in certain jobs.

This only applies to certain fields where experience or skill can mean that you can be employed in that work.

The definition that certain people have is that if you work in a job then you can define yourself as such an example would be photographer, salesperson, journalist.

An example of jobs which do require a qualification as an entry requirement would be an electrician, a doctor, a plumber a nurse. You cannot get a job as a nurse without the qualifications necessary, you can get a job as a salesperson without a degree in sales.

50 Murders is the same as a few slaps.

And thats the attitude Ngo and his cohorts spread, successfully in many cases.

How about One hundred million murdered by communism over the last century, and that's the low end of what academics estimate. Fascists and Communists are just as repulsive and warped as each other. Antifa and skinheads have more in common with each other than they do with people in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,839 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Communism is just fascisms older and more murderous brother.

Both offer only dead ends for society.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

How about One hundred million murdered by communism over the last century, and that's the low end of what academics estimate. Fascists and Communists are just as repulsive and warped as each other. Antifa and skinheads have more in common with each other than they do with people in general.
    Danzy wrote: »
    Communism is just fascisms older and more murderous brother.

Both offer only dead ends for society.

Fascism hates everyone else(bar themselves) based on race, gender and sexuality to name a few with the dose of brainwashing religion thrown in just like their modern day descendants who want a return of. Communism was the majority poor fighting the wealthy elite back then, it was the gateway for a better life in that era and yes we know it didn't turn out that way.
    Neo capitalism in modern times has produced huge inequality, this system cannot last forever, it's unsustainable with a few billionaires controlling the vast majority of the wealth. I prefer the socialist model of equality of Scandinavian countries instead of a system based on extreme personal greed.

Ok, the argument is not that people want others to have no qualifications, its more that you do not have to obtain a degree or qualifications to work in certain jobs.

This only applies to certain fields where experience or skill can mean that you can be employed in that work.

The definition that certain people have is that if you work in a job then you can define yourself as such an example would be photographer, salesperson, journalist.

An example of jobs which do require a qualification as an entry requirement would be an electrician, a doctor, a plumber a nurse. You cannot get a job as a nurse without the qualifications necessary, you can get a job as a salesperson without a degree in sales.

Ok....i guess we agree to disagree.....just personally il only called qualified people journalists as i dont understand how its ok to need qualifications for one job....but not for another.... depending on how random posters feel about it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I didn't hear of Lyra McKee before she was murdered by wannabe soldiers of destiny.
    It doesn't mean that her murder was a gross affront to the people of Ireland.

You can downplay violence towards journalists all you want, but you sing from the same hymn sheet as the RIRA if you condone violence against Ngo.

Ogra Fianna Fail are dissidents now?
    Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    It's funny you calling me out about my mask slipping, but you conveniently ignore some of the vile stuff that was said here by fans of the far left. Calls for people to be murdered etc.

It tells us a lot about you.

I was quoting you, hence the comment aimed at you. You don't like antifa because they are violent but like seeing them beat up. Pointing out the hypocrisy.
    I'm against violence.
    The real threat from Antifa is Daddy's Lawyer and their well heeled friends making it awkward for those who do not fall in line.

Yep some street tough warriors right here...

170812092920-03-charlottesville-white-supremacists-0811-restricted-super-tease.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

I was quoting you, hence the comment aimed at you. You don't like antifa because they are violent but like seeing them beat up. Pointing out the hypocrisy.
    I'm against violence.

I am against violence. The videos on which I commented were or Antifa initiating violence and then getting their arse handed to them. It's like me walking up to you and attacking you but then you fighting back, does that make you pro violence? Of course it doesn't.

You should go back few pages and start quoting the pro antifa crowd in here that were all day making excuses for violence and in one case murder, seeing as you are so anti violence and all that I would have expecting you to be all over them.

But I know you definitely will not do that.

I'm against violence.

Yep some street tough warriors right here...

<SNIP>

No one at all said that they were...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I am against violence. The videos on which I commented were or Antifa initiating violence and then getting their arse handed to them. It's like me walking up to you and attacking you but then you fighting back, does that make you pro violence? Of course it doesn't.

You should go back few pages and start quoting the pro antifa crowd in here that were all day making excuses for violence and in one case murder, seeing as you are so anti violence and all that I would have expecting you to be all over them.

But I know you definitely will not do that.

How?
    If one of them said I hate Nazis because they are violent and then said they love seeing them get a hiding, it would be the same thing, however the modus operandi of the white supremacist and Alt-Right is the denigration and bad treatment of people based on skin colour, ethnicity, religion and race. This puts them in the wrong from the get go IMO.
    For me a lot of these groups have members who are up for a fight and feel justified if the cause suits their politics. I disagree with those kinds of people.

No one at all said that they were...
    The real threat from Antifa is Daddy's Lawyer and their well heeled friends making it awkward for those who do not fall in line.

As with the tiki khaki warriors.

How?
    If one of them said I hate Nazis because they are violent and then said they love seeing them get a hiding, it would be the same thing, however the modus operandi of the white supremacist and Alt-Right is the denigration and bad treatment of people based on skin colour, ethnicity, religion and race. This puts them in the wrong from the get go IMO.
    For me a lot of these groups have members who are up for a fight and feel justified if the cause suits their politics. I disagree with those kinds of people.

As with the tiki khaki warriors.

My point is people have been excusing violence since the very beginning of this thread and you've chose to ignore it but then try and pull me up and claim I've been hypocritical. People have literally been saying violence is ok from some people but not others. You've seen people shrug at videos of innocent people targetted by antifa and not a word from you about it.

Its grand, you are unwilling to call out certain posters its obvious. Let's just leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Kimsang

klaaaz wrote: »
    Fascism hates everyone else(bar themselves) based on race, gender and sexuality to name a few with the dose of brainwashing religion thrown in just like their modern day descendants who want a return of. Communism was the majority poor fighting the wealthy elite back then, it was the gateway for a better life in that era and yes we know it didn't turn out that way.
    Neo capitalism in modern times has produced huge inequality,.

While we agree fascists hated(exterminated) people because of their race/ethnicity, communists hated(exterminated) people because of their ideas, what they said.

Capitalism is the driving engine behind all of the world's greatest success stories.

While we agree fascists hated(exterminated) people because of their race/ethnicity, communists hated(exterminated) people because of their ideas, what they said.

Capitalism is the driving engine behind all of the world's greatest success stories.

Communists historically were racists, they just didn't openly proclaim it.When they got into power they often used that power to persecute ethnic groups. In the Russian and Jewish centric Soviet union whole ethnic groups were uprooted and sent to Siberia, many of them died before they even got there. Same for China where the Han used communism to dominate every other ethnic group there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Are you still beating that horse?

The vast vast vast vast majority of journalists do not have journalism degrees. They are journalists because they write for newspapers. All you need for that is writing ability (and not even that in many cases).

I was going to do some research for you on this but it’s fairly simple and you do it yourself. Try researching the background of the journalists on the NYT, the Times, the Guardian, the Irish Times and so on.

Conversely probably most people with journalism degrees are flipping burgers.

Of all the bad arguments here, of all the bad faith arguments too in defense of violence, this has got to be the weakest.