Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Britain ever just piss off and get on with Brexit? -mod warning in OP (21/12)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

blinding wrote: »
    You are not waving , you are drowning .

You admit that the Eu is full of useless politicians and yet you support these useless politicians .

There is a Tower in Paris I will sell ya . Nobody will miss the Eiffel Tower .Yours for a song .;)

Well Jasus if the choice is between some useless lads in the EU and a bunch of dangerous lunatics like Ann Widdecombe and Nigel Farage I know which one I'd be going for.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Should you not be advocating a break up of the uk? Surely the uk is as bad a union as the eu and the people of wales, scotland and ni should be ruling themselves and not being told what to do by beurocrats in London?

blinding wants to go it alone. With no politicians at all I think. He/she doesn't know the difference between the EU and Europe...so could be a bumpy ride. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Perhaps, as long as you're happy that we become collateral damage. At the end of the day one certainty is that we can't change either our geography or our history. And both those factors will have a big influence on how things pan out for us here on the western fringes of Europe.

Anyone who pretends otherwise has their head stuck firmly in the sand.
    Such is life. Theres been enough pissing and moaning about wanting a complete break from the eu, so give it to them. Any continued integration is going to be brought up time and again and used as an excuse for anything bad that happens in the uk. So give them no excuses, a complete cut off and let them go it alone to be the empire again with no access to the simple things that the eu offers that actually affect people in real life, like travelling to spain on a whim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Should you not be advocating a break up of the uk? Surely the uk is as bad a union as the eu and the people of wales, scotland and ni should be ruling themselves and not being told what to do by beurocrats in London?
    If Northern Ireland get 50% + 1 then away they go .. They don’t even need 52% and the Biggest Vote for anything in Northern Ireland .

Same for Scotland . Would the SNP have expected Independence if the got 52% and the biggest Vote for anything in Scottish History ?

Same deal for Wales if they want it .

Thats how Democracy works folks .

Try explaining it to the Eu will youse !

blinding wants to go it alone. With no politicians at all I think. He/she doesn't know the difference between the EU and Europe...so could be a bumpy ride. :D

We could all (that's all 4.5million or so of us) meet in somewhere central like athlon every Friday and decide all the things to happen in the country for the following week. Pass a few laws etc.

Be grand.

Well Jasus if the choice is between some useless lads in the EU and a bunch of dangerous lunatics like Ann Widdecombe and Nigel Farage I know which one I'd be going for.
    Politicians that you can Vote out in your own Country , Obviously .

We could all (that's all 4.5million or so of us) meet in somewhere central like athlon every Friday and decide all the things to happen in the country for the following week. Pass a few laws etc.

Be grand.

If he/she doesn't know the difference between Europe and the EU, are we sure they can make it to Athlone?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

If Northern Ireland get 50% + 1 then away they go .. They don’t even need 52% and the Biggest Vote for anything in Northern Ireland .

Same for Scotland . Would the SNP have expected Independence if the got 52% and the biggest Vote for anything in Scottish History ?

If you think a very narrow referendun victory either way will solve NI's problems then you haven't been following Brexit.

I don’t blindly follow useless politicians as you do . I like Politicians that I can Vote out . Democracy and the Freedom that goes with it are beautiful .

You don't control them after you elect them though. Same as the MEPs we send to the EU.

You also agree that those politicians you elect get to select the executive and to appoint officials without any further input from you.

It's a conspiracy I tells ya!! :rolleyes:

If you think a very narrow referendun victory either way will solve NI's problems then you haven't been following Brexit.
    Is that you Leo ? You sure don’t want those Six Counties .

If it's about democracy then surely a 2nd referendum in the uk should have your support if the polls show remain would win now?

Or is everything a 1 shot deal, never to be revisited?

Like MEPs?

Why go that wide? Why bit have every town or country completely autonomous and not ruled from a far off place like london?

I don’t blindly follow useless politicians as you do . I like Politicians that I can Vote out . Democracy and the Freedom that goes with it are beautiful .

Not a clue do you have about what you are saying. Kneejerk, tinfoil hat cluelessness tbh.

This stuff is akin to the people on twitter with their notmytaioseach hashtags and saying how they didnt elect him as taoiseach without any understanding of how a Taoiseach is elected.

Like MEPs?
    The Only Mep in the European Parliament that has ever done anything of Note is Nigel Farage . And he wants to get his Country out of there as soon as possible .

650 Nodding Donkeys.

Nod Yes for Good wage / Gold Plated Expenses / Gold Plated Pensions / Gold Plated Payoffs when they leave the Gravy Train obviously .

The only Politician of Note there can’t wait to get his Country Out .

The Only Mep in the European Parliament that has ever done anything of Note is Nigel Farage . And he wants to get his Country out of there as soon as possible .

650 Nodding Donkeys.

Nod Yes for Good wage / Gold Plated Expenses / Gold Plated Pensions / Gold Plated Payoffs when they leave the Gravy Train obviously .

Lots of words without saying anything.

Who's elects the MEPs that ireland send?

Lots of words without saying anything.

Who's elects the MEPs that ireland send?

Sarkosy!

If it's about democracy then surely a 2nd referendum in the uk should have your support if the polls show remain would win now?

Or is everything a 1 shot deal, never to be revisited?
    The last EEC referendum was 44 years ago . Seems about right .

In any case , lets say for the sake of argument Remain won 52 / 48 the next time . Why would Britain stay in the Eu when it did not leave when leave won 52 / 48 .

It would just have to be re-vote after re-vote for the rest of time .

The British people are not Eu Lapdogs . They will not be Commanded when and how to Vote by the Eu . Thats for Irish Lapdogs .

In any case , lets say for the sake of argument Remain won 52 / 48 the next time . Why would Britain stay in the Eu when it did not leave when leave won 52 / 48 .

The British people are not Eu Lapdogs . They will not be Commanded when and how to Vote by the Eu . Thats for Irish Lapdogs .
    So it's only democracy when it suits?

If the will of the people is now 52 - 48 to remain, how is that not democracy?

Not a clue do you have about what you are saying. Kneejerk, tinfoil hat cluelessness tbh.
    Take a breath and try to swim , you are still drowning .;)

So are you against or for a 2nd referendum in Britain?

Did you have a Democratic Referendum in your sleep ?

Did you promise the People that their decision would be implemented ?

Was it the Biggest Vote for anything in British History ?

Why should this Referendum be implemented when the last one wasn’t ?:eek::eek::eek:

So are you against or for a 2nd referendum in Britain?
    Not before another General Election .

All the MPs that lied about Respecting the Referendum should have to face the Electorate in a General election . Lets see what they promise to do in that General Election .

The British people were promised that their decision to leave the Eu would be implemented at the referendum and at the last General Election .

Brexit is going to happen . The British people are not Eu Lapdogs .

Did you have a Democratic Referendum in your sleep ?

Did you promise the People that their decision would be implemented ?

Was it the Biggest Vote for anything in British History ?

Why should this Referendum be implemented when the last one wasn’t ?:eek::eek::eek:

The referendum result was implemented. The British PM and team went to Brussels and negotiated a deal all were happy with and agreed.

Then your hero Farage and others conspired to block that deal and are contiuing to do it.

Democracy?

All the MPs that lied about Respecting the Referendum should have to face the Electorate in a General election . Lets see what they promise to do in that General Election .

The British people were promised that their decision to leave the Eu would be implemented at the referendum and at the last General Election .

What about the MP's (and others , incl your beloved Farage) that lied, deliberately didnt entertain any talk if there being any negatives to Brexit and cheated to win the referendum?

They knew full well a simple vote and leave the eu wasnt possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Is there a hidden message in use of capital letters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

Ah sure they're fine with just suspending parliament and forcing this though in a country that's fundamentally a parliamentary democracy and where the executive is supposed to be absolutely accountable to parliament and lives within parliament and in a situation where the PM would be from a party that wouldn't even hold a majority.

We all know democracy works by voting once and then having absolute dictatorship based on that vote for ever and ever, right?

I mean we had a vote on our constitution in 1937 and it's been locked into law ever since, never to be changed again, right? Other than the 36 referenda to amended it over the years.

I mean you had the first UK general election in 1708 and the Whigs won. Isn't that good enough for you?

If the Brexiteers are so confident that they understand the will of the British people, then surely they'd have complete confidence in being able to win a general election or a second referendum.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Is there a hidden message in use of capital letters?
    Yes , Both Myself and Leonardo Di Vinci use Them . Well Leonardo Before he Died .;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

650 Nodding Donkeys.

And Ann Widdecombe, don't forget Anne.