Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random EV thoughts.....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Looks like VW's new standardised battery cell is going to throw LG and SKI firmly under the bus

https://insideevs.com/news/495028/volkswagen-surprised-suppliers-unified-cell/

The analysis suggests that the legal dispute between the two companies hampering battery supplies in the US didn't go down well with VW

Personally I think it's slightly overblown, VW's power day seemed to focus mainly on Europe so there's still the US and Asian markets to provide for

Also VW is planning to build it's batteries in partnership with other companies, which could include LG or SKI

However, there's likely a fair bit of factory capacity built up to satisfy VW's existing orders which will now be shopping around for new customers

I imagine they'll be fine finding new customers, it's not like battery demand is going to go down anytime soon

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

Personally I think it's slightly overblown, VW's power day seemed to focus mainly on Europe so there's still the US and Asian markets to provide for
    Their Chinese partner's solution to stopping charge spots being ICE'd looked good.
    Electrify America recognising Mustang Mach-e once you connect the cable without having to faff around for an RFID card or mobile App is interesting too and firmware updates better bring that to ID.4 and Ionity.

Those guys speculating in the Investment sub-forums should note that the future for the majority of the world is Iron batteries with practically no precious metals and some of the content which they consider "scarce" isn't really all that scarce.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

innrain wrote: »
    I drive a Kona. I got my driving license on a Daewoo Matiz, then owned a Fiat Punto. But I will not call Kona large family car.

Other than height its the size of a Corsa,

Their Chinese partner's solution to stopping charge spots being ICE'd looked good.

I missed that bit, what was their plan?

Electrify America recognising Mustang Mach-e once you connect the cable without having to faff around for an RFID card or mobile App is interesting too and firmware updates better bring that to ID.4 and Ionity.

Yeah this is where charging needs to be in the next few years, although I wonder if it'll really work out better in the ecosystem of lots of different charging providers and needing to sign up to different plans

Those guys speculating in the Investment sub-forums should note that the future for the majority of the world is Iron batteries with practically no precious metals and some of the content which they consider "scarce" isn't really all that scarce.

Yeah LiFePo cells get a lot of abuse but I personally think they're brilliant. Cheap, robust, no fire risks, easy to handle, perfect for many applications including stationary batteries and budget EVs

Yes they're not the best performance for EVs, but again the vast majority of people who would buy something like a VW Polo don't travel long distance and don't need huge battery capacity or ultra fast charging

I missed that bit, what was their plan?
    pre-book through app and small barrier on a pole opens for your car as it arrives.
    with 30% ice'd in China it appears to be needed and between ICE'd points and broken points the likelyhood of charging successfully was about 30%. That must be infuriating for EV drivers in China.

pre-book through app and small barrier on a pole opens for your car as it arrives.
    with 30% ice'd in China it appears to be needed and between ICE'd points and broken points the likelyhood of charging successfully was about 30%. That must be infuriating for EV drivers in China.

It's a nice plan, maybe charge a booking fee which you credit against charging to stop people booking the charger and then not using it

I remember hearing a lot of car parks in China had installed chargers but not wired them since it was either required under building regs or they could avail of a grant or something

It's a nice plan, maybe charge a booking fee which you credit against charging to stop people booking the charger and then not using it
    ...or deduct good citizen points for those who decide to ICE charging points.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

Is anyone here waiting to see if solid state batteries become a thing.

There a few YouTube clips on them this is just one that I haven’t watched but it bring you to other vids.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=42&v=x8FEyaZxqAU&feature=emb_title

There a few YouTube clips on them this is just one that I haven’t watched but it bring you to other vids.
    No one credible appears to be making promises for commercialisation for the next 5 to 7 years. If your current car can last that long then feel free to postpone your purchasing decision.
    fi they are commercialised they will be adopted even if it means competitors have to pay large royalties to patent holders because the benefits of solid state are just too big to ignore.

So they're already a thing, a company in France is making them for Daimler electric buses

In terms of holding out for them, it's best to remember that even when EVs powered by solid state batteries come out, they'll likely be confined to the high end vehicles for several years if not decades

As well as the expense required to build up the manufacturing capacity to build new battery types, it will also put a lot of downward price pressure on "old" liquid electrolyte battery makers which is now seen as obsolete

So the current batteries will be around and still being manufactured for a long time yet IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 21,990 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

So, "Random EV Thought"
    I'd love to fly over to the UK, buy this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ford-F-250/193964305830 pickup and put this twizy in the back https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2012-Renault-Twizy-Urban-Battery-Owned-Full-Service-History/224359104033

ELM327 wrote: »
    So, "Random EV Thought"
    I'd love to fly over to the UK, buy this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ford-F-250/193964305830 pickup and put this twizy in the back https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2012-Renault-Twizy-Urban-Battery-Owned-Full-Service-History/224359104033

A 7.3l Diesel, the engine must weigh more than the rest of the truck! :eek:

Do an electric conversion of the pickup and give us a before and after of the VRT estimate :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,990 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Good lord no. The IDI is the best part of that truck. I had one before. Non turbo, 180bhp but will never break down and pull down a house.

VRT is 200.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭lukas8888

I'm definitely for focusing the subsidies on lower priced cars to force manufactuers to focus on that segment, but it seems that £35k might be too low given the levels of adoption in the UK at the moment

Am I right in saying they also cut £500 from the grant, I'm fairly sure it used to be £3000?

Hopefully the Irish government doesn't get any ideas about cutting the SEAI grant
    Sunday business post front page story speculating that the SEAI 5k grant is to be scrapped for cars costing more than 50K.
    i can see the logic but hopefully they will let it run until end of 21 as planned, or anyone with cars over the threshold for late summer delivery might have to find another 5K.My new car is due in July so i am hoping for no change for some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,125 ✭✭✭✭KCross

lukas8888 wrote: »
    Sunday business post front page story speculating that the SEAI 5k grant is to be scrapped for cars costing more than 50K.
    i can see the logic but hopefully they will let it run until end of 21 as planned, or anyone with cars over the threshold for late summer delivery might have to find another 5K.My new car is due in July so i am hoping for no change for some time.

Not at all suprising if it does happen. The UK appear to be doing the same thing.

The UK government have been gradually reducing their EV grants over the last few years and we have been following closely behind with VRT relief on PHEV's now gone. Capping the grant is a logical next step to force the OEM's to reduce their prices and hopefully not just target the high end market to meet their emissions targets.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I couldn’t care less what EV hits the road once it hits the road, we are taking incentives away while still at way too low a penetration rate and there were plenty of incentives we never went with.
    ICE cars will continue to dominate if this erosion of incentives continue, stupid idiots that be:rolleyes:

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

slave1 wrote: »
    I couldn’t care less what EV hits the road once it hits the road, we are taking incentives away while still at way too low a penetration rate and there were plenty of incentives we never went with.
    ICE cars will continue to dominate if this erosion of incentives continue, stupid idiots that be:rolleyes:
    Many of the PHEVs here are only bought for the Benefit in Kind reductions and grants. They never plug in except where it allows them to get a free parking space on the ground floor in parking houses. Remove incentives for PHEVs and keep the incentives for the EVs under 40 or 50k.

I was listening to the Renaulution presenatation and they were happy to admit that their margin on their electrified vehicles was much higher than for ICE cars. If we are going to make fortunes for Manufacturers it should be directed at consumers who actually due run their cars without burning petrol/diesel.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Many of the PHEVs here are only bought for the Benefit in Kind reductions and grants. They never plug in except where it allows them to get a free parking space on the ground floor in parking houses. Remove incentives for PHEVs and keep the incentives for the EVs under 40 or 50k

We don't have a BIK exemption for PHEVs so we never really had the problem of tax dodge PHEV's like was seen in the UK.

This was well flagged in the budget last October.

liamog wrote: »
    We don't have a BIK exemption for PHEVs so we never really had the problem of tax dodge PHEV's like was seen in the UK.

There was one in 2018 afaik.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Kramer

Sunday business post front page story speculating that the SEAI 5k grant is to be scrapped for cars costing more than 50K

That could push a non white, entry level Model 3 SR+, with FSD, up to close to €65k :eek:.
    Ouch :(.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

This was well flagged in the budget last October.

Was it? The VRT rebate removal was for sure, but I don’t remember anything about the SEAI grant being removed

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭lukas8888

MJohnston wrote: »
    Was it? The VRT rebate removal was for sure, but I don’t remember anything about the SEAI grant being removed
    The SEAI grant was only guaranteed to run until end of this year.My reading of the vague Business Post story suggests that the grant might expire in July. This would seriously impact any new buyers with cars ordered for delivery in July onwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,542 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Kramer wrote: »
    That could push a non white, entry level Model 3 SR+, with FSD, up to close to €65k :eek:.
    Ouch :(.

Anyone ordering FSD at the same time as they order their new Tesla needs their head examining as they'll have to pay additional VRT for a €7,500 feature that they can simply buy VRT free the day they collect their car.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

There was one in 2018 afaik.

The BIK Exemption was introduced in the Finance Act 2017. It applied solely to electric vehicles using the definition
    ‘electric vehicle’ means a vehicle that derives its motive power exclusively from an electric motor;”,

It was amended in 2018, to
    “(iv) notwithstanding subparagraph (ii), where a car made available during the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021 is an electric vehicle and the original market value of the car does not exceed €50,000, no amount shall be treated as emoluments of the employment,

(v) notwithstanding subparagraph (ii), where—

(I) a car made available to an employee during the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2020 is an electric vehicle,

(II) the original market value of the car exceeds €50,000, and

(III) the car was first made available to the employee during the period 10 October 2017 to 9 October 2018,

no amount shall be treated as emoluments of the employment, and

(vi) where a car made available during the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021 is an electric vehicle and the original market value of the car exceeds €50,000, the cash equivalent of the benefit of the car ascertained under subsection (3)(a) or (4)(a), as the case may be, shall be computed on the original market value of the car reduced by €50,000.”.

So between Jan 1st 2018 and Dec 31st 2019, there was a BIK exemption for electric vehicles, after Jan 1st 2019 it only applies to the first €50,000 of the original market value.

They've pushed the expiry date out a few years. It could be argued that a series hybrid such as the I3 REX is eligible under the finance act definition of an EV

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭cannco253

https://www.volkswagen-newsroom.com/en/press-releases/initial-contact-the-mobile-charging-robot-presenting-a-vision-6736

I haven't heard any mention of these mobile charging robots anywhere, I wonder how much of this is dreaming.
    Lots of Terminator themed music in the video...

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭kop-end

Has anyone heard any update on Skoda Enyaq availability this year? I Heard the 2000pcs for Europe have been booked since launch day but also hearing of some cancellations of those who jumped into the ID4 or holding for Ioniq 5
    I rang 2 Skoda dealers this morning but both had no update.

I accidently ended up in a traffic light grand prix situation with a Garda car yesterday. At the first set of lights he wasn't expecting it and I'd left them for dust before hitting the legal speed limit. At the second set he was revving the engine like a boy racer. Wifey told me to back off when I hit 45km/h instead of carrying on to 60km/h

liamog wrote: »
    I accidently ended up in a traffic light grand prix situation with a Garda car yesterday. At the first set of lights he wasn't expecting it and I'd left them for dust before hitting the legal speed limit. At the second set he was revving the engine like a boy racer. Wifey told me to back off when I hit 45km/h instead of carrying on to 60km/h

And by the 3rd set of lights he'd been arrested :)

Brave sould racing the guards, I always figure they're trying to bump up the numbers when they start messing about trying to wind people up