Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women-only Train Carriages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

klaaaz wrote: »
    Men get attacked by violent men not women. Understand that some men are the problem creating problems for all of us hence the streets are not safe. Your wife/mother/daughter have to always get a taxi in the dark due to the threat of said men(some are sexual predators) prowling on them, not women.

Men do get attacked by other men and for the most part the scum out and about are men but there are also women in those groups who can be just as vicious. The answer is proper policing and enforcing the rule of law. Sure i would love for it to be safe for everyone to walk down the street any time they like but i know its not.

Just because your a certain sex doesn't mean you should have a bullet proof shield and be exempt from any attacks. I know exactly how dangerous things can be which is why i would be telling my daughters and if i had a son to take a taxi.

The problem i think most have with the line of thinking your going on is that men are essentially disposable. We are good enough to take a knife to the gut or a severe beating to protect the women but bastards otherwise.

you should stop overtalking the women in this thread imo

pushing your unsupported agenda at the expense of the actual female voices speaking makes you a poor ally imo

What? Women everywhere in this country have to take precautions especially when on their own and super especially in the dark. Men do not have that fear of being attacked because they are men.

It's a man's world regarding every day freedoms, the truth is that once the dark evenings happens women desert the streets en masse due to the genuine fear of male violence, it's only safe when women go out in groups, it's that bad.

To counter the genuine fear it needs the good men to actually stand up to misogynistic men who carry the threat of sexual assault on lone women.

you need to stop demonising/fetishizing men and male bodies. its so simplistic that tbh its almost hatespeech.

we are real people and exist outside of your ugly binary caricature of either rapist or punchbag for the supposed sins of our gender as projected by people like you

shame on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Well then, just look around you. Why do women majorly travel around in cars instead of walking?
    They do not feel safe walking around in the dark due to the real threat of male violence.

Imagine we had female police officers and they had to do night shifts... in the dark. Luckily we protect the fairer sex from that type of thing.

Open your eyes, men go out when its dark, women tend not to,

Who was I mooching on Camden St last Friday night then?!?!
    Who is doing the mugging and harassment, its men using their male privilege.

Are the men getting their heads kicked in using their male privilege too?
    male terror has dominated women's lives.

You terrify me. I'd be scared to be within 100 feet of you in case I happened to look in your direction after dusk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Is this a sign of a progressive society such as Sweden, with their women-only music festivals?
    Go forwards, by going backwards type of thing.

are you mansplaining?

Oh you're one of those people. Sorry for engaging you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Omackeral wrote: »
    Oh you're one of those people. Sorry for engaging you.
    I don't think they're for real - the posts are too parodyish. And also, are they male or female? If male, how self loathing can you get? Or is it a case of men except for them...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

What? Women everywhere in this country have to take precautions especially when on their own and super especially in the dark. Men do not have that fear of being attacked because they are men.

It's a man's world regarding every day freedoms, the truth is that once the dark evenings happens women desert the streets en masse due to the genuine fear of male violence, it's only safe when women go out in groups, it's that bad.

To counter the genuine fear it needs the good men to actually stand up to misogynistic men who carry the threat of sexual assault on lone women.

Klaaaz I was sympathetic to your fears in the beginning but this is getting ridiculous. You're painting a picture of a dystopian world where once the sun goes down women retreat indoors for fear of the rabid men who come out at night.

I agree men need to stand up to other men but so do women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

No they don't on their own, you don't speak for other women, are you mansplaining?

The people responding to you are women. I know this because they say they are in the thread.
    It's like clockwork every year that most women don't go out on their own after dark due to the genuine fear of male violence. The streets do be deserted come October when the clocks go back, i've noticed it in my own burb, women are terrified of the threat of male violence.

That’s hysterically untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

FTA69 wrote: »
    A woman I know this week had some creep on the Tube videoing her feet and legs and being a generally sleazy c*nt.

Is that illegal?

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

I sincerely hope the "klaaaz" posts on this thread are a parody.

But I fear not. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Bambi wrote: »
    There's an argument to be made for having public transport that segregates black people from everyone else given their over representation in violent crime, are you going to make that argument? After all it's the obvious logical conclusion to your idea

It's f***king moronic.

It’s not “my idea”, it’s an idea I’ve seen implemented in some of the world’s major cities and which I haven’t completely made my mind up on yet.

What’s moronic is dragging race into an argument about the sexual harassment of women. If we follow on your logic having women’s changing rooms and women’s refuges or women’s swimming pool times are basically akin to racial segregation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I think it would be unfair on innocent men. It is currently fair that the assholes are even distributed across the train. It wouldn't be fair if men had to deal with twice the assholes so that women didn't have to deal with any. I'd feel much safer in a mixed gender train than I would in a male only carriage.

It would probably smell worse too. I've had a few smelly men sit beside me but I can't ever recall a smelly woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

In Kuala Lumpur some trains have women only carriages but from what I can see they are more for the Muslim majority women who would prefer no males pushing up against them than for fear of assault. Most Malay females follow the Islamic dictat of not shaking hands or touching a male that is not their family/partner. As a country they are mostly very respectful, especially in public.

India is a different story. Any night trains I have been on I have booked family carriages for safety as trying to sleep as a single female traveling alone is risky. At least most men will behave if their wife/mother/kids are around.

I wished there was a women's only bus in Sri Lanka when I found a man's hand up my top. He got a thump to the balls. It didn't deter him, he tried again and got another thump. He followed me onto my next bus and as it was empty waiting to go, he sat across from me and started to ****. I took a photo and told him was going to the police. He soon f**ked off up the front of the bus.

They have seats at the front of the bus reserved for monks but I sat in them from there on in and gave any monks a look of "go f**k yourself" if they even thought of asking me to move.

I don't think Ireland needs them but some countries do. Some countries also need to empower the women to defend themselves. I have no problem kicking the crap out of anyone who crosses me. Grabbed a guy by the balls so hard nearly pulled them off when I was 16 coz he grabbed my privates, ground a guys balls into the carpet in a hotel room when he tried to assault me and grabbed a mugger by the throat against a wall in Bali until he gave my male friend his phone back.

Am a bit of a tough bitch coz have had to be. Been assaulted and abused too many times.

Sorry rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,729 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Men do not have that fear of being attacked because they are men.

Men are more likely to be attacked by strangers than women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

Klaaaz, please tone down the hyperbole and engage with other posters. Dont just keep repeating the same points again and again. Or dont post in the thread. Up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I sincerely hope the "klaaaz" posts on this thread are a parody.

But I fear not. *sigh*

I quite like hysteria. Women are far better at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Can we have one carriage for me and a separate one for the c*nts (everyone else).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

How about a jackeen only carriage? Rather than having them ruin the journey for the rest of us, we could have them put in a special carriage at the front of the train. One where they can hoover back cans and share their legendary ‘wit’ with each other while the rest of us can enjoy our journey in comfort.

Yes please, nothing worse than sitting beside a smelly culchie heading home for the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The_Brood wrote: »
    And what happens when you get smashed in the face for it? Who do you think is going to help? The Guards? Good luck if they arrive half a day later at best.

But if you are sure the guards won't come for that, are they going to arrive on being informed that a man went into this proposed female only carriage?

The idea is unworkable. Segregation is a thing to move away from in 2019 - not towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

topper75 wrote: »
    The idea is unworkable. Segregation is a thing to move away from in 2019 - not towards.

The idea isn’t unworkable if it has been made to work in other countries. It’s simply a question of how could it be made to work here, and the answer to that I suspect is “with great difficulty!” :pac:

Assimilation is so 2010, segregation is the new way forward now. Social justice types tend to bore easily and be easily distracted. They’ll latch on to anything that’s new and trendy while it’s en vogue. Most people however, apply a degree of common sense to these situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Slightly different setting on the Aircon, pink fluffy seat covers, feminine hygiene dispensers in the loo, slightly lower overhead storage above the seats, stilleto proof carpet, free scented moist wipes on the buffet trolley, tough female train guard, specially for that carriage (in case of cat fights).

Man on call for any IT/technical issues/ blocked loo :D

Sheeps wrote: »
    Women don't need to be segregated from men. They do that kind of nonsense in Saudi Arabia.

Segregated public toilets and Boys and Girls only schools would suggest that we already do engage in some segregation. We are just so used to where we do it - they do not jump instantly to mind as counter examples.

But we do not need to look as far as Saudi Arabia. Many places in the EU have multi-story carparks with Women Only parking areas for example. As far as I have seen myself the spaces are wider and much more brightly lit than the standard parking spaces around them. Some places in the EU have men only and women only nights at cinemas sometimes too.

All that said I am in agreement with you in that we do not need segregated carriages I think. Further if I was the kind of man to want to sexually assault a woman - then I would likely be something of a pathetic coward - so the first thing I would likely be looking for would be a woman travelling without male company. Pointing out a carriage that is by definition full of such women - would kinda be making my job easier for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Why do modern women persist in seeing every interaction they have with men as sexual harassment or assault. Not every man is a rapist in waiting and as we women we need to stop acting like they are. It’s unfair and unnecessary.

We do not need segregated carriages on trains, that’s just madness. If someone is making you uncomfortable either speak up or move away, simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

They can have their women only carriages as long as the men can have their men only pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭wyf437gn6btzue

Last time I travelled to dublin (from north dublin) on the (absolutely packed) train I was flanked by two women doing their makeup and another two who spoke about their illustrious escapades at a few decibels higher than necessary.

Women only carriage? Brilliant idea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Edgware wrote: »
    They can have their women only carriages as long as the men can have their men only pubs.

And golfclubs ie Portmarnock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

Understand that some men are the problem creating problems for all of us hence the streets are not safe.

Assuming you're not on a wind-up:
    Your abject fear of mankind is obviously having a great impact on your standard of living. It's not the case for millions of other women in this country.

Although it's not perfect, you're living in the "top tier" of countries when it comes to safety and equality. Compare it to the countries where segregated trains are a thing.

If your fear prevents you living a normal life here, you'd be unable to do so anywhere else. I would strongly suggest that the biggest thing affecting your quality of life is you. But it can be fixed if you're willing to speak to somebody to address your own state of mind.

Think they are on a wind-up. And a man!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Fann Linn wrote: »
    And golfclubs ie Portmarnock.

Men only golf clubs would be great. It’s not politically correct to say it, but nothing spoils a round of golf like being stuck in behind two female four balls. Hugely frustrating experience, and you hit the links because you want to relax, not the opposite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭puppieperson1

great idea especially with all this diversity we 'd be safer in our own carriages & one for the people who dont know what they are the trans lot!!!! they could share their horror stories together and we wouldnt have to listen and then put all the lads farting and belching and talking football together in a third carriage - BLISS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Edgware wrote: »

Twas a fell day they were let in.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I don't approve of this kind of thing at all, but it would be a lot more palatable if there were an equal number of "men only" carriages created - still fairly sh!tty, but at least it wouldn't be making a very toxic statement and inherently discriminating by affording one gender a resource and not the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,550 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Man on call for any IT/technical issues/ blocked loo :D

How can he do his job if he's not allowed into the carriage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

FTA69 wrote: »
    A woman I know this week had some creep on the Tube videoing her feet and legs and being a generally sleazy c*nt. He was caught out by another woman and a row erupted needless to say. Nearly every woman I’ve asked in London has had some sort of harassment on public transport; groping, staring, fellas w*nking, being followed, been commented at etc. It’s clear it’s a fairly substantial problem.

I’m just back from Mexico City and it was such an issue there they brought in women-only carriages and everyone I asked about it thought they were great and a welcome respite. Is there a need or scope for it in Ireland?

Women only carriages would be a godsend. Any man who does the daily commute on public transport will know only too well the panic that sets in when an unwarranted erection rears its ugly head, usually when the destination is almost reached and he must stand up to alight. I've been buying the Irish Times since the age of 16 because of this. When they proudly proclaim they have a segment to cover just about anything, they ain't fûckin lying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

FunLover18 wrote: »
    I completely agree that there are women who live in fear and rightfully so and I don't buy the nonsense that some posters here are spouting that this problem doesn't exist in Ireland because Irish men are grand - complete bullsh*t. But women only carriages doesn't address the problem, it just creates a diversion around the problem. It also sets a dangerous precedent in that next buses will be segregated by gender, then workplaces and again I completely understand why this would be appealing to women. I'm not coming at this from a "not all men" angle. The behaviour that leads to this fear needs to be addressed and moving the victims of it isn't the best way to do that.

You’re right it sets a dangerous precedent towards having a segregated society and that is backwards and won’t address the problem. Better to run an education campaign and teach manners to these men. Shouldn’t have to do this but sadly if that’s where we are now at we should do it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

kowloon wrote: »
    How can he do his job if he's not allowed into the carriage?

He's gender fluid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

All you have to do is identify as a woman for the duration and threaten to sue anyone that tries to stop you for discrimination

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭tritium

bluewolf wrote: »
    i thought when women only ones were full the women in normal ones were considered more asking for it otherwise they'd be in a women only one

that doesn't sound like the way to go
    we should focus on the perpetrators not the women

Wait, surely the men were all in the men only ones. If you’re going to do segregation better do it properly after all

It’s a daft idea. As someone said , teach people not to be assholes and enforce the rules is better, the amount of drunk assholes (male and female) I see on all types of public transport is frankly depressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭tritium

There is a genuine fear amongst women at males up to no good, men need to control themselves with their misogynistic and chauvinistic control of women, keep control of their urges within their pants!

Tonight, there are women hailing taxis and buses afraid to walk home in the dark because some men will attack them firstly because they are women and secondly to sexually assault them.

Which is why separate carriages are a godsend for women, keep the prevalence of attack to a minimum!

Wow, so much nonsense and hate in a post. In spite of the efforts of some groups to persuade us otherwise, we don’t live in the last days of Soddom and Gomorrah. Crime rates have fallen and people are statistically far safer then even a generation ago.

Nah misandristic nonsense like what you’ve posted gets more Facebook likes and government grants than cold hard facts I guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

Really depressing thread tbh. So much for 50 years of social progress. I guess it's back to Victorian society or some version of the middle East.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Il Fascista

This stuff really goes against the push towards gender neutral toilets, which is oddly being pushed by the same people. "Progressivism" must be one of the most inconsistent ideologies that's ever existed. A bunch of lunatics who have no clue where they are truly heading.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

What about the other 63 genders?

It's because the terms progressive and liberal in the US have become completely abused and distorted to the point that they are getting often applied to something that's looks more like it's politically correct and ultra conservative.

It'll get to the stage that everyone's so caught up in identity politics and safe spaces that they're all offended by and terrified of everyone else.

Maybe we should all just drive cars, stay online and never interact with other humans in any way? That's kinda where some of this stuff is headed. Endless fear of the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Maybe we should all just drive cars, stay online and never interact with other humans in any way? That's kinda where some of this stuff is headed. Endless fear of the other.

We're easier to control when we're in fear.

Really depressing thread tbh. So much for 50 years of social progress. I guess it's back to Victorian society or some version of the middle East.
    How come? Nearly everyone seems to disagree with such an idea for here. Certainly nothing to suggest we are going back to Victorian society or becoming like the Middle East!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

What about the other 63 genders?
    they dont exist

How come? Nearly everyone seems to disagree with such an idea for here. Certainly nothing to suggest we are going back to Victorian society or becoming like the Middle East!

Well, you've someone citing problems in countries with completely different cultural issues around women's rights that would still be regarded as developing or emerging economies and then applying the problems that women are facing there it here.

Is being sexually harassed on Irish public transport actually an issue? I can't say I've ever seen it and I can't say I've ever had anyone tell me it's happened to them either.

The issue that we absolutely do have on public transport is with agressive, drunken behaviour and that's not exclusively male either. I've been confronted with hugely problematic behaviour from groups of usually teenage girls too.

A few example: my grandmother being attacked by a group of girls on a Dublin bus, a friend of mine being given abuse about her Northside accent, a woman smoking on a bus who I asked to put our her cigarette and she threatened to "punch the head off" me.
    I was on the Luas from Dundrum and a bunch of teenage girls pushed the emergency stop when the tram was going full speed because they though it was funny.

I was stuck next to a woman on the Dublin Cork train who just kept drinking and giving everyone abuse and set the smoke alarm off in the toilets over and over. She absolutely wreaked too.

On the other side of it, I also witnessed a guy being really racist towards an African woman on a Luas one day a few years and a salt of the earth central Dublin woman tore absolute strips off him and literally had him run off the tram, complete with applause.

We need transit police here as we've a general issue with scumbag behaviour that's actually rather gender blind.

The issues here are about lack of visible security on some public transport and people being left totally isolated on trains, as we've seen on the DART.

I'd rather have a debate about the issues we actually do have. Solving those would make everyone feel safer on public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭hgfj

Women only carriages would be a godsend. Any man who does the daily commute on public transport will know only too well the panic that sets in when an unwarranted erection rears its ugly head, usually when the destination is almost reached and he must stand up to alight. I've been buying the Irish Times since the age of 16 because of this. When they proudly proclaim they have a segment to cover just about anything, they ain't fûckin lying.

Would it not be an even worse panic to get an unwarranted erection in a mens only carriage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

There is a genuine fear amongst women at males up to no good, men need to control themselves with their misogynistic and chauvinistic control of women, keep control of their urges within their pants!

Tonight, there are women hailing taxis and buses afraid to walk home in the dark because some men will attack them firstly because they are women and secondly to sexually assault them.

Which is why separate carriages are a godsend for women, keep the prevalence of attack to a minimum!

This post is the perfect example of how modern day feminism is affecting the minds of some women.