Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conolly hospital blood tests

• 03-07-2019 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,650 ✭✭✭

Apologies if this is the wrong forum - I couldn’t find a general healthcare one.

I saw a consultant at Conolly hospital last week for a check up related to my long term illness. This is my first time on the Irish system having lived abroad for some time.

They said I needed to give a blood sample that needed to be early morning, so gave me the form and sent me on my way. I’m used to this abroad - normally the form has info on opening hours, where to go, what to do etc, but in this case I got home and looked at the form and there’s nothing at all, other than the clinical information about what things they want tested in the sample.

So I can’t find any information on their website, and very conflicting information elsewhere - does anyone know what the hours are and whether you can just walk in?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

You can go into Connolly hospital and ask at reception to go to phlebotomy.
    The phlebotomist will know what blood tubes to take for the various tests.

There is usually a phlebotomy service in the outpatient dept where people come to have their bloods taken before their next consultant appointment.

If he said earlry a.m. I would say to go in just before 9am. Outpatient services usually begin at 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,122 ✭✭✭✭Gael23