Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti-social behavior out of control [Castlebar]

• 04-07-2019 4:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,383 ✭✭✭

Following a street brawl that occurred in broad daylight in the Market Square area of Castlebar on Tuesday afternoon, a meeting has been organized to discuss the rise of anti social behavior in the town.

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2019/07/04/4176530-castlebar-business-community-to-meet-with-superintendent/

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2019/07/03/4176433-two-men-charged-over-castlebar-street-disturbance/

As a town resident I can confirm that in the last year I have been a victim of a.s.b on multiple occasions so without a doubt it is on the rise. Just last Friday evening I had an altercation with a youth who blocked my path on The Mall when I was out for a cycle. I won't get into the details of exactly what happened but it got a bit hairy before I escaped. A very similar incident happened on the walkway under the bridge by Lough Lannagh just 2 weeks previous. Before that some guys in a speeding car shouted out the window at me "ya effin w**ker" when I was out for a stroll. I could go on but I'd be here all day.

I was just thinking, there must be a lot of people who have similar tales to tell and if so do you report these incidents to the Guards? And do you think the Guards take these incidents seriously enough to do something about it. I haven't reported anything myself as yet as I feel I'd be wasting my time. It's not that I think the Guards are useless, they have assisted me in the past after a theft, it's just that I think to sort these kinds of issues out there needs to be change on a political level to deal with people who have the means to walk around the town all day doing noting but looking for trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Sadly what you say is true at the moment. The same cohort of mostly young men hanging around and intimidating people deliberately and otherwise. I know the gardai are aware of the problem and are trying to tackle it. But it is tough.
    It looks really bad for the town and needs to be addressed by policy makers as well as the law.
    It's a complicated issue though when these people seem to have no opportunity or motivation to do anything except wander the streets all day every day.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Sadly what you say is true at the moment. The same cohort of mostly young men hanging around and intimidating people deliberately and otherwise. I know the gardai are aware of the problem and are trying to tackle it. But it is tough.
    It looks really bad for the town and needs to be addressed by policy makers as well as the law.
    It's a complicated issue though when these people seem to have no opportunity or motivation to do anything except wander the streets all day every day.

Would the men be people who have moved into the area in the last few years by any chance or are we talking true "fishheads"?
    Thats incredible to read to be honest as someone who has spent 25 years in college, working and socialising around Cbar. I have seen a few of the "white socks" lads hanging around but I've never experienced any of the abuse the OP mentions.

Last weeks incident was a traveler dispute from looking at the names.

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭iluvfatfrogs

We must be the only town in the country where its safer to walk the streets at night than during the day!

They just walk up and down the street from approx Noon - 6pm .... around AIB for a while, then down to Dunnes, then maybe back to Vaughans....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

There is a public meeting with the Superintendent upstairs in Bridge St. on the 15th of July for people and businesses to express concerns, I know quite a few retail workers in town who have said intimidation and anti social behavior has increased tenfold in the last year or so.

Personally I would have to say in the last 12 months there has definitely been a marked increase in these groups, anti social behavior and blatant law breaking.

It is not just a certain element either, I have mentioned it before but at the old boxing club over Christmas after dark it was nearly a no go zone, because the Foróige service had been closed over the Christmas break the area had no lighting and you had groups of about 10-20 people were congregating there, these were not people moved into the area nor travellers, they were locals and all about 15-18.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Xenji wrote: »
    There is a public meeting with the Superintendent upstairs in Bridge St. on the 15th of July for people and businesses to express concerns, I know quite a few retail workers in town who have said intimidation and anti social behavior has increased tenfold in the last year or so.

Personally I would have to say in the last 12 months there has definitely been a marked increase in these groups, anti social behavior and blatant law breaking.

It is not just a certain element either, I have mentioned it before but at the old boxing club over Christmas after dark it was nearly a no go zone, because the Foróige service had been closed over the Christmas break the area had no lighting and you had groups of about 10-20 people were congregating there, these were not people moved into the area nor travellers, they were locals and all about 15-18.

Is it an easy statement to say that there is in reality nothing for these kids to do?
    I see in Westport a lot of kids/teens around the skate park, but there is zero intimidation I'm aware of.

Well they had an ice rink right beside them, I mean that just being ironic, but they were happy to just listen to music, drink and smoke.

There is very little for them to do in town but in fairness it has always been like that, especially around the Christmas break

• Registered Users Posts: 8,383 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The social demographic of the ppl I had incidents with were roughly 75% travelers and the rest everyone else. The 2 incidents I mentioned where I was accosted on my bike were travelers.

As for so called fisheads, there are groups of youths that hang around the boxing club on the mall. Sometimes they are absolutely fine and other times they are more up to no good types. I am beginning to recognize them now as one of them wears a hoodie up even on warm days to complete the hard man look. These guys will collectively stare and you oncoming and give you a howya as you pass. Hoodie guy has shouted something at me from a distance on a number of occasions - I seem to be on his radar now. So yeah, low level intimidation.

I note that since the brawl incident last week I haven't seen any travelers in the town.

I have not read the article yet, but retail intimidation is the front page story on the Connaught today.

It looks like playgrounds are not now safe either.

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2019/07/09/4176693-anarchy-on-streets-of-c/

I have not read the article yet, but retail intimidation is the front page story on the Connaught today.

It looks like playgrounds are not now safe either.

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2019/07/09/4176693-anarchy-on-streets-of-c/

The playground at Rathbawn where I bring the kids to is full of bigger "kids" hogging the place and a bunch of travelers took my sons football one day.

The one at the swimming pool I have noted is also becoming a little busy now with teens hanging around.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,157 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

yop wrote: »
    The playground at Rathbawn where I bring the kids to is full of bigger "kids" hogging the place and a bunch of travelers took my sons football one day.

The one at the swimming pool I have noted is also becoming a little busy now with teens hanging around.

The one between Rowan Drive/Irish School? That's gotten fairly bad.

We tend to avoid both over the last 12 months or so.

PARlance wrote: »
    The one between Rowan Drive/Irish School? That's gotten fairly bad.

We tend to avoid both over the last 12 months or so.
    Ya it's v poor. Teen pissn in the corner of it at 3 in the afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,383 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Issues had arisen in a local playground this week too, he said, where children were hit by these 'I can only refer to them as thugs' and the gardaí were called.

The playground, he added, was supposed to have a caretaker looking after it. But these people went in there and belted these young fellas about.

Belted young fellas about! Jaysus. I don't know why I'm surprised.
    Shutdown

Meanwhile, the Castlebar business community is considering a 'shutdown' to highlight their concerns over issues of anti-social behaviour.

That would be something if it happens. Never heard of action like that being taken in the country before. I'm glad to see they are taking the issue seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭irishgeo

http://www.mayonews.ie/news/33962-people-are-petrified

Until the courts stop believing that sob stories from people with 30 previous convictions things will never change.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

As an outsider to Castlebar, growing up it always had the "full of scumbags" tag. It had gotten much better in recent years but sad to hear its coming back. I've never witnessed the intimidation but I have seen the groups around, probably worse now this time of year with the schools off.

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭iluvfatfrogs

etxp wrote: »
    As an outsider to Castlebar, growing up it always had the "full of scumbags" tag. It had gotten much better in recent years but sad to hear its coming back. I've never witnessed the intimidation but I have seen the groups around, probably worse now this time of year with the schools off.

...and they absolutely love the good weather.... any reason to get the Onslow tshirt out....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Haven't been unfortunate enough to run into this kind of thing recently but I've noticed a good few times now that there's a particular group of about 3 or 4 lads who are constantly hanging around the front of Dealz sitting on the bonnet or leaning against any cars that happen to be parked outside.

Saw a poor woman about 3 weeks ago who actually apologised to them as she was trying to get into her car.

People are terrified of their lives to speak up against them.

The Irish Mirror have an article up on it as well on their website, a few extra tidbits on it.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/locals-afraid-walk-main-street-17762281

etxp wrote:

That 'Full of scumbags' comment is absolute nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Visited Castlebar earlier this year and like many other towns seems to have large numbers of young travellers going round as if they own the place and only looking for someone to rob or intimidate .
    Your own local TD and Taoiseach gave them travellers special status so as part of that they may be entitled to terrorize the people of castlebar ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

etxp wrote:

Interesting. Myself growing up it would have been another main town in the north of the county that we always associated (and witnessed) being full of scumbags. I have always felt comfortable whenever in Castlebar compared to the other town.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭yew_tree

Where are th parents of all these youths roaming around the town? Probably the best thing that could happen would be for these thugs to pick on the wrong person and get absolutely hammered....like what happened the thug in Dublin who unfortunately (for him) picked a foght with a US tourist who turned out to be an ex marine.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭yew_tree

Fairly self explanatory...I’m suggesting that these rugs terrorizing Castlebar could do with a good beating themselves....if they keep up their antics then maybe it will happen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

This might sound a tad tinfoil hatty but I could swear the establishment are doing nothing so we will eventually beg for survalience - facial recognition etc. The amount of absolute scrotes wrecking havoc up and down the country with virtually no policing is baffaling... Something must be up with this...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    Interesting. Myself growing up it would have been another main town in the north of the county that we always associated (and witnessed) being full of scumbags. I have always felt comfortable whenever in Castlebar compared to the other town.

Always felt comfortable myself too, but that was the opinion of most.

yew_tree wrote: »
    Fairly self explanatory...I’m suggesting that these rugs terrorizing Castlebar could do with a good beating themselves....if they keep up their antics then maybe it will happen...

Mass beatings on the streets. that's what we need alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Hal3000 wrote: »
    This might sound a tad tinfoil hatty but I could swear the establishment are doing nothing so we will eventually beg for survalience - facial recognition etc. The amount of absolute scrotes wrecking havoc up and down the country with virtually no policing is baffaling... Something must be up with this...
    50 previous convictions is the problem. No other country in the world puts up with that without the offender getting serious jail time. Not the ahh yes judge he was in a bad place had a tough upbringing or was on drugs but is better now so he is sorry for the 50th time. And gets away Scot free.

This is the issue and needs serious addressing on the doorsteps when the time comes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭6541

This whole thing is blown out of proportion mixed with prejudice. These are basically young men with nothing to do.
    This is not a policing or justice matter its a social matter. These lads need to be put to work.
    They have nothing to do - nobody will give them jobs - what hope have they ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

They have nothing to do-that’s such a lame excuse for bad behavior.

They live in a big town with more recreational, educational and social opportunities than most. There’s no excuse for such behavior.

6541 wrote: »
    This whole thing is blown out of proportion mixed with prejudice. These are basically young men with nothing to do.
    This is not a policing or justice matter its a social matter. These lads need to be put to work.
    They have nothing to do - nobody will give them jobs - what hope have they ?

It's not being blown out of proportion when you have Guards in court stating Castlebar has a massive anti social issue currently.

You sound like a defense barrister by the way ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Hal3000 wrote: »

You will find in the vast majority of these episodes that there are Travellers involved but no body wants to face the truth and tackle reality.

Even in Killarney this week you have calls for the Army no less be brought in to try quell an ongoing traveller feud!

https://www.radiokerry.ie/calls-army-brought-deal-ongoing-feud-killarney-estate/