Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident at Lost Lane on Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Brian? wrote: »
    Do you ever get in to the solution space? This is where the real hard work needs to be done. Everyone can see the problems with their own eyes, I’m not sure of the benefit of pointing them out repeatedly and am pretty sure they have a negative effect.

No one seems to ever come up with a sensible solution.

Edit: I mean those who oppose multiculturalism never seem to have a sensible way forward

Well you can't find a solution if you fail to identify and address the problem. I believe an Australian style immigration system would be a sensible solution. This means that the upmost effort is made into ensuring immigration is first and foremost at the benefit of the host country and not the benefit of the immigrant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Do you ever get in to the solution space? This is where the real hard work needs to be done. Everyone can see the problems with their own eyes, I’m not sure of the benefit of pointing them out repeatedly and am pretty sure they have a negative effect.

Edit: I mean those who oppose multiculturalism never seem to have a sensible way forward

Well it certainly isn’t sensible to continue forward. To “progress” with the idea because we can’t continue to evolve like that.

My solution is you put a cap on it; cut them off at the source before they even stump up the courage up to try it on in the first place and that way only wiliest few will filter through.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

What is obsession you people have with 'racism'? Pointing out that birth tourism ended in 2005 makes you a racist?

“You people” ? Generalizing, a common trait that amongst the old racist community.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

“You people” ? Generalizing, a common trait that amongst the old racist community.

Yes, you liberal people. So what's the obsession? Did you get beaten up by skin heads in the 70s or something?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Well pointing them out hasn't seemed to make cultures and governments cop on and say "oh hang on a minute, maybe this is a really shit idea, what with given the consistent negative experiences of other nations that have attempted this before?".

Maybe you missed my last paragraph in that post. Main problem with that is over the last couple of decades much of western culture has become insecure and constantly questioning itself so that needs fixing. If such a fix is possible. I doubt it is, as again historically when cultures become insecure and questioning, their end is on the horizon. Other than environmental shifts it's about the biggest indicators of a culture going south. Why is China currently on the ascendant? Of the many reasons one biggie is self confidence around their culture, even if they've nicked a ton of it when it suits. To the point of xenophobic, or at least quite dismissive attitudes to non Chinese(AKA Han hundred family names Chinese). For fun have an oul look at their own governments advice to Chinese tourists going to Europe. The "avoid areas with dark skinned people" and the like. They're very up front about, as are most Asian cultures. Diversity? Only on our terms bucko.

Other solutions? Get real and vigorous about "refugees". Actual refugees coming from actual war zones OK, economic refugees coming from crapholes not OK.

Stop the ferry business in the Mediterranean. When traffickers are handing phones to "refugees" to contact EU naval services that's taking the piss. Do what the Aussies did and cut it off. Designate a holding zone and keep them there and then ship them back. The drownings of people trying to get into Australia fell off a cliff when they implanted that.

Only allow families in. No single men. That'll cut a large percentage out.

Only allow those in with usable skills.

Deport those who are guilty of anti social behaviour. Irish citizens we have to deal with ourselves, but there's zero benefit to importing more of the same.

Collectively invest in the crapholes people are fleeing from. Cut it off at source. Get real about it too. No more lining the pockets of jumped up potentates in big hats and gold brocade with relief and "charity" monies. Consider sending in UN armies to enforce it. Send in educators to educate and train the local folks to build their own countries. If any culture doesn't want that then screw them.

That lot will do for starters.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Has anyone got any concrete proof this attack was by a gang of black youths?

Jesus stick the thing on YouTube or post a few stills. We could easily be taking about real lies.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,988 ✭✭✭circadian

OwlsZat wrote: »

Jesus stick the thing on guy ou YouTube or post a few stills. We could easily be taking about real lies.

I've not seen any actual reports but the usual anti immigration spin machine got into gear pretty quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

circadian wrote: »
    I've not seen any actual reports but the usual anti immigration spin machine got into gear pretty quickly.

If a situation arises and we can source the causation in order to minimise the potential for any further problems into the future then it’s best to act at an opportune time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Hoboo wrote: »
    Because RTE is the state mouthpiece, it's not independent, its told what to do

And there is the rub.
    The state maintains RTE because it allows soft control on content that is put out.
    Because the state controls the grants/ licence fees extended to RTE, this allows the government representatives and state departments to exert soft pressure on what the news agenda is.
    Our news agenda is of the left kind.
    If RTE was taken away, the state would lose that control on the social narrative.
    I am in no doubt that RTE tows the line on the general narrative. Of course the editors have authority on what general content is put out, but on the headline social issues that divide opinion such as Brexit, Trump, Immigration, abortion, LGBT issues, sexual assault allegations, among other things, the message is on song with that of the government.

Those messages are,

Undermine Brexit and promote stories on how bad an idea Brexit is.
    Berate Trump and highlight every mistake he makes, while understating anything positive.
    Only broadcast stories involving immigrants in a positive light whether it be Africa day or some family who done good after coming here fleeing war - but never do a piece on dangerous/ violent immigrants.
    Promote positively the issue of abortion as a right and negatively portray those who would be pro life/ anti abortion.
    Celebrate all things LGBT and trans related.
    Promoting stories of allegations of sexual misconduct against any man made by any woman (sometimes anywhere).

There are others of course. You just have to watch for it.
    For example, where an allegation of sexual assault is made by a woman in any country, you would have to wonder why this would get to be near the top of the bulletins on Irish news.

So when a bunch of lads tip around Dublin with hatchets and petrol bombs, RTE would definitely cover it, at the top of the bulletin no doubt, if they were our own dangerous drug gangs. But if they are new Irish, then because it doesn't fit the message, it may only get a mention online somewhere down the page. Meanwhile, on the TV and radio, we get to hear about a Trans Pride march.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

And there is the rub.
    The state maintains RTE because it allows soft control on content that is put out.
    Because the state controls the grants/ licence fees extended to RTE, this allows the government representatives and state departments to exert soft pressure on what the news agenda is.
    Our news agenda is of the left kind.
    If RTE was taken away, the state would lose that control on the social narrative.
    I am in no doubt that RTE tows the line on the general narrative. Of course the editors have authority on what general content is put out, but on the headline social issues that divide opinion such as Brexit, Trump, Immigration, abortion, LGBT issues, sexual assault allegations, among other things, the message is on song with that of the government.

Those messages are,

Undermine Brexit and promote stories on how bad an idea Brexit is.
    Berate Trump and highlight every mistake he makes, while understating anything positive.
    Only broadcast stories involving immigrants in a positive light whether it be Africa day or some family who done good after coming here fleeing war - but never do a piece on dangerous/ violent immigrants.
    Promote positively the issue of abortion as a right and negatively portray those who would be pro life/ anti abortion.
    Celebrate all things LGBT and trans related.
    Promoting stories of allegations of sexual misconduct against any man made by any woman (sometimes anywhere).

There are others of course. You just have to watch for it.
    For example, where an allegation of sexual assault is made by a woman in any country, you would have to wonder why this would get to be near the top of the bulletins on Irish news.

So when a bunch of lads tip around Dublin with hatchets and petrol bombs, RTE would definitely cover it, at the top of the bulletin no doubt, if they were our own dangerous drug gangs. But if they are new Irish, then because it doesn't fit the message, it may only get a mention online somewhere down the page. Meanwhile, on the TV and radio, we get to hear about a Trans Pride march.

You seemed to have nailed it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Fann Linn wrote: »
    You seemed to have nailed it all.

Well except for the fact that if you don't buy a licence to watch the tripe they pump out they'll throw you into Mountjoy for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Well except for the fact that if you don't buy a licence to watch the tripe they pump out they'll throw you into Mountjoy for the night.

While scum both immigrant and native walk free as they've had a harsh upbringing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Do you ever get in to the solution space?
    This is where the real hard work needs to be done. Everyone can see the problems with their own eyes, I’m not sure of the benefit of pointing them out repeatedly and am pretty sure they have a negative effect.
    No they can't. There are plenty of people out there that think multiculturalism is great, above criticism and label anyone with even the mildest, most sensible criticism as racists and xenophobes.

I've seen solutions offered on this issue, time and time again, on threads like these.
    But good luck explaining solutions to a problem a lot of people don't see as existing in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Yes, you liberal people. So what's the obsession? Did you get beaten up by skin heads in the 70s or something?

Why, are you a skin head? You come across as one and tbh, and a bit of a child going by that post.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Article in Irish times this morn saying the guards are investigating if the incident was linked to the warning the US embassy gave.

Really is laughable stuff. The guards seem to be on the back foot over it all. Why don’t they ring and ya know...ask a few questions and see what the yanks knew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Article in Irish times this morn saying the guards are investigating if the incident was linked to the warning the US embassy gave.

Really is laughable stuff. The guards seem to be on the back foot over it all. Why don’t they ring and ya know...ask a few questions and see what the yanks knew.

It's it's fairly obvious with weapons like that involved and petrol bombs in a nightclub :eek: the intel from the US was spot on. Serious questions need to be asked why the Gardai either A. Where not informed or B. Didn't take it seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It's it's fairly obvious with weapons like that involved and petrol bombs in a nightclub :eek: the intel from the US was spot on. Serious questions need to be asked why the Gardai either A. Where not informed or B. Didn't take it seriously.

The guards were literally taking the p1ss over the warning when it was first reported. Posting stuff on social media etc.

So was the concert promoter-he was actually complaining about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Has anyone posted any news source of the incident? Some posters are claiming migrant youths were carrying hatchets and petrol bombs at the nightclub, there was nothing in the Dublinlive article about that. Unless ye are making it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

Probably had no credit in the one phone they have.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

OwlsZat wrote: »

Jesus stick the thing on YouTube or post a few stills. We could easily be taking about real lies.

https://ibb.co/bKcSPPw

https://ibb.co/Hh7Yd1M

Sorry for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Boxing.Fan wrote: »

Could be from anywhere them pictures, Paris riots possibly?

A bunch of Arsenal fans in some unknown place in the world? Need better evidence.

Fieldog wrote: »
    Could be from anywhere them pictures, Paris riots possibly?

lol

lol

Link to the actual video please?

Heres the article: https://www.thesun.ie/news/4305721/mob-lost-lane-nightclub-petrol-bombs-hatchet/

The Sun, the bastion of real and factual news reporting, pity no actual footage...

You prefer your fake news like BBC telling you how great immigrants are and how educated they are.

They're all masked, how can we tell that they are migrants when they're covered up?
    It said that it's €25 to get into that club, it could be middle/upper class youths that are masked there as €25 is pocket change to them.

klaaaz wrote: »
    They're all masked, how can we tell that they are migrants when they're covered up?
    It said that it's €25 to get into that club, it could be middle/upper class youths that are masked there as €25 is pocket change to them.

There are other parts of the body that is very obvious unless they are painting themselves.

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    There are other parts of the body that is very obvious unless they are painting themselves.

Like the the one arm that is possibly tanned from sunburn? I see a set of white ears though.