Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pearse Doherty questions Insurance CEOs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭pearcider

Insurance used to make a lot of their money from interest on investments. With interest rates at zero to support the massive fake debt economy they, much like the banks, are goosed. They blame fraud because they can’t do anything about interest rates and criticism of the central planners is pointless. The whole world is in a massive liquidity trap. Raise interest rates and crash the global economy. Or keep them low and gradually destroy the balance sheets of savers and financial institutions. Wait until they bring in negative interest rates. Then the fun starts.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

enricoh wrote: »
    If there's that much money to be made in insurance in ireland surely uk n eu insurers would flock here to make a killing.

Did someone say Cartel?
    enricoh wrote: »
    They're not though, only reason being our payouts are rediculous, 4.5 times that of the uk for whiplash. Make whiplash payout the same as the uk,

Car insurance is more expensive in the UK than Ireland.

But yeah, whiplash, something something.

Look over there
    >

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭christy c

Forget about the personalities for a moment and think about the facts.

That's the key point here, I would never vote for him or his party because of the populist nonsense they came out with post bailout. However he has shown them up big time here

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Doherty's questioning ironically shows the insurance companies' are themselves guilty of lying and fraudulently gouging their own customers, but what will the ramifications be ? FG and FF have known that this practice has been going on but have done nothing, indeed it was EU authorities who raided the offices of insurance companies here while our own regulators were asleep on the job.

Plus, the legislation to find people in contempt of court who file fraudulent has still not been enacted, which is itself a disgrace you have to lay at the feet of the defacto FG FF coalition gov.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,000 ✭✭✭Cordell

You need to watch the video again regarding the 20%.
    Doherty backed them into a corner and they had no explanation.
    They were like rabbits in the headlights. No answers.

Fair play to him for calling them out on their lies and generally for tearing them a new one.

But, my understanding is this: they see 20% fraudulent claims, yet they choose not to fight them far various reasons, mainly cost I suppose. Also, if they settle they can't report it to the Garda, right? Still, they count them as fraudulent.
    Exposing the lies is not enough.

I think they have an explanation that they cannot give: settling suspected claims can mean they are enabling of insurance fraud. They cannot admit this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Boggles wrote: »
    Did someone say Cartel
    Earlier we heard that 17 property insurers made €84m in profit - that's an average of €5m each.

They must be the biggest, most incompetent cartel ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭patmahe

No strong allegiances to any political party here but I am very impressed with Pearse taking these squirming fecks apart, and none of them, not one had an answer to his points.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Earlier we heard that 17 property insurers made €84m in profit - that's an average of €5m each.

Is there many whiplash injury claims in property?

The cartel(s) in the insurance sector are highly specialised and only conspire around one sector and within that sector they just concentrate their efforts on one claim type.

OK. No longer confused.

The cartel(s) in the insurance sector are highly specialised and only conspire around one sector and within that sector they just concentrate their efforts on one claim type.

OK. No longer confused.

You do realize this isn't my opinion?

One insurer left the market citing the cartel as the reason, and then sure there is the whole EU investigation into cartel activity.

Again, I'm not making this up or asking you to believe me.

You do realize this isn't my opinion?

One insurer left the market citing the cartel as the reason, and then sure there is the whole EU investigation into cartel activity.

Again, I'm not making this up or asking you to believe me.
    Yeah - that just makes it someone else's opinion.

Yes an insurance company that operated in the market and the EU Commission, as well as numerous elected officials who have studied the practice and questioned the main players.

Now I have all ready conceded that trumps my knowledge of the situation.

So tell me exactly how it doesn't trumps yours?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

And way way late to the party come our distinguished media who should have been on this years ago, if they were anything like decent journalists.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/una-mullally-insurance-industry-claims-about-fraud-do-not-add-up-1.3949429?fbclid=IwAR0wPrXjVrxevZHaBOuxYbMvkOOMZOK977oykl29w-SGrLkblwb-OdJ-tLc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

meeeeh wrote: »
    It was also exaggerated claims and higg settlements. Yesterdays report shows awards st lower courts increased again in 2018. Liability insurance made loss in 2017. People love to produce how much insurance profits increased in percentage points but it's after a years of loses or minimum profits. I'm not defending insurance companies but if you think Pierce Doherty grandstanding brought us any closer to resolution you are deluded.

You think someone doing their job is grandstanding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

They certainly didn't cover themselves in any glory there but as per usual, people are taking the literal definition of something and like a dog with a bone they run with it.

Fraudulent claims are not only related to false claims ie an incident did not happen or an incident did happen but was completely engineered (set up) by the claimants.

Fraudulent claims encompass things like someone being tipped from behind in slow moving traffic. An incident / accident did occur and that is not in question however was the incident / accident of sufficient force to cause a neck or back injury, to cause PTSD, to cause the quality of someone's life to be significantly, negatively impacted?

Most likely no, but the incident did occur and it is the third parties right to claim for it.

Maria Bailey is a prime example. An incident did occur however she lied as to the extent of her injuries and how they affected her. That is a fraudulent claim however it is not something the guards would entertain as she did not break any laws, she may have embellished / out right lied about her injuries but thats as far as it goes.

That is the major issue.

I absolutely guarantee that when awards are capped for the likes of whiplash, and a harder line is taken by judges with relation to claims that are obviously soft, and when real penalties for people that try to defraud insurers are introduced, premiums will reduce. Bookmark this post and come back in a couple of years when hopefully these measures have been introduced and we will see.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

There will be zilch effect on their business if the sitting government don't act.

As pointed out by the poster who posted their profit figures, they have the capacity to take a massive hit alright...at yours and my expense.
    The relationship with insurance is more complicated. They are currently just about the only entities assertively contesting claims. As for the expense it does seem to be in very specific areas and it's not clear why that can't be addressed. Health insurance aside, I've seen little rise in premia, quiet the opposite actually. I also think it's about people inclined to settle with the added legal commission only to find their premia shoot up.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Maria Bailey is a prime example. An incident did occur however she lied as to the extent of her injuries and how they affected her. That is a fraudulent claim however it is not something the guards would entertain as she did not break any laws, she may have embellished / out right lied about her injuries but thats as far as it goes.
    .The law, the Civil Liability and Courts Act 2004, under sections 14 and 25, makes it a criminal offence to invent accidents, feign injuries, or exaggerate elements of either

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

smurgen wrote: »
    You think someone doing their job is grandstanding?
    That is his job - grandstanding!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭bluefinger

The issues with our insurance industry are complex and myriad, and not the sort of thing that can be broken down into populist soundbites during a short speech. He makes a valid point if looking at the issue from the outrage seats.

Not a sf voter, but surely in the myriad of issues you refer to, the role of insurance companies reporting fraud and being transparent around pricing are a couple of them? I think Doherty did this well here.

I absolutely guarantee that when awards are capped for the likes of whiplash,

Really? We keep being hit with the "stat" whiplash payouts are 4.5 times more than the UK.

Car insurance is more expensive over there than here.

Riddle me that?
    and a harder line is taken by judges with relation to claims that are obviously soft,

The vast vast majority of claims don't get near a court or a Judge.

The biggest claims that do are usually medical negligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Can't agree with the bolded part. If you crash into someone or cause them injury in some way, you should be liable for their injuries....full stop. Trying to weasel out of liability because they suffer from brittle bones or whatever is pretty low.

It's not weaselling out of it. It is terribly unfair that someone is entitled to extra damages compared to a less fragile person just because of an underlying problem. In the context of motor insurance, considering the money that funds such claims comes from other drivers, it is unfair on the other drivers. Perhaps set a standard of a reasonable person instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

Every days a school day. One has to wonder then why clear cut cases like this are not pursued. Would it be down to the fact that she withdrew the claim I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,844 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Really? We keep being hit with the "stat" whiplash payouts are 4.5 times more than the UK.

Car insurance is more expensive over there than here.

Riddle me that?.

Is it more expensive? In my experience I've always known their insurance premiums to be less than ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Inquitus wrote: »
    Aye not a fan of Sinn Fein, but he did an excellent job there. He'd do a much better job than Mary Lou I feel.

Mary Lou would go into outrage mode straight away. P.D. did well to given him credit. Always wondered why he wasn't chosen as leader instead of Mary Lou. On a side note, I see that the SF council have conducted an internal review and Mary Lou is doing fine. Hope she remains in place as leader for many years to come.
    meeeeh wrote: »
    I bet there is no point in reporting suspected fraudulent claims. Besides what happens when claims are just exaggerated, it's not like Maria Bailey and similar will be prosecuted for exaggerating their injuries.

Nothing happens in Ireland. You won't go to jail and you'll still get quotes. SF would be one of the first parties complaining if an insurance fraudster was sent down.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That’s just deflecting in fairness.
    We are being ripped off and the excuse for ripping us off doesn’t hold water.
    The Govt should have dealt with this matter but chose to turn a blind eye.
    It’s the worker who needs his car most and who is being ripped off, the same worker that Leo said he’d look after.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Every days a school day. One has to wonder then why clear cut cases like this are not pursued. Would it be down to the fact that she withdrew the claim I wonder?

My first guess would be it's because she's a sitting member of a govt party, with friends in the right places.

My second guess would be because of the same friends in high places previously mentioned are embroiled in it too.

They're only guesses mind you, I can only imagine the reaction from FG had this involved the likes of Paul Murphy or Pearse Doherty.

Guards would have been giving the likes of them the 'early knock' by now would be my third guess.

Either way, currently it appears FG endorse one (not counting Farrell) taking spurious (and arguably fraudulent) insurance claims against small businesses, based on exaggerating their injuries - a criminal offence based on the below.

It was dropped because she withdrew the claim and pursing a case like that would be a waste of money.
    My first guess would be it's because she's a sitting member of a govt party, with friends in the right places.

Wrong.
    My second guess would be because of the same friends in high places previously mentioned are embroiled in it too.

Wrong again.
    Guards would have been giving the likes of them the 'early knock' by now would be my third guess.

For insurance fraud?

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Berserker wrote: »
    It was dropped because she withdrew the claim and pursing a case like that would be a waste of money.

Wrong.

Wrong again.

For insurance fraud?
    Why did she make a claim in the first place then?
    And why all the lies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Berserker wrote:

Or that the Dean was intent on fully defending themselves and had CCTV footage of the 'accident' . Bailey's SOR interview did her enormous damage as well. Plus the lies submitted to the court doubtful that they were helpful to her claim.

Why did she make a claim in the first place then?
    And why all the lies?

She thought she'd get a few euro for herself. On receiving some more attention, the lies came out to try and cover things up and when things got really hot, she dropped the claim.