Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If you had to have a movie star parent, who would you choose?

• 14-07-2019 1:17am
    Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭

For me, Robert Duvall.

Gregory Peck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭CinderKone

After the stag do I went to the other night it would have to Oliver Reed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Neames

Richard Harris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Dolly Parton as my mommy.

...and oh yes she is a movie star, 9 to 5 is a gem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Rick Moranis.

His wife died years ago so he gave up acting to focus on raising his kids. Sounds like a good dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Gregory Peck as my father and Lee Remick as my mother

And Natalie Portman as my older sister

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭unjedilike

Bill Katt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The wealthiest one, but not if it's one of the ones in a crazy cult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭matchthis

Chris pratt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 nuyil simp

someone like John Carroll Lynch,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Patrick Stewart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Bill Murray, though his antics might be more embarrassing when he's your dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Jamie Gertz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Peter Griffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Steve Buscemi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Random one...Stanley tucci in Easy A

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Jack Nicholson...I’d say he would have been a crazy, wildass dad. Bette Midler as a potential mother...warm, funny, caring but totally irreverent and takes no ****e. :D

Martin Sheen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Ian McKellen, be pretty sweet having Gandalf as your father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Liam Neeson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Can I have a movie star wife instead? Seems like a much better deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Humphrey Menton

Pat Morita (but in character as Mr. Miyagi).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

branie2 wrote: »
    Gregory Peck as my father and Lee Remick as my mother

Screen-Shot-2016-06-22-at-10.26.27-PM.png?w=944&ssl=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Sean Connery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Anna Pavolva - beautiful, independent ,wealthy, classy, considerate & not adverse to tieing the media in knots with her answers and doing a bit of international gun running & revolutionary antics on the side. Ok - she was a ballerina but starred in lots of films about herself.

I'd like yer man who starred alongside the horse Mr Ed who always seemed very kind, clever and very together in the way he thought- and good craic. Or yer man from the little house on the prairie in the cheque shirt and hat with the waggon (Paw) who always seemed like such a hero and could solve any problem, would always rush through storm or fires to rescue you and could soothe or mend any broken heart.

I can't think of a movie star parent I'd like but I can definitely think of many a movie character parent. Steve Martin in Father Of The Bride :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Harry Callahan

Audrey Hepburn; she would be a very glamorous mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Ryan Reynolds for a dad would be pretty funny

Dick van Dyke for a grandfather would be amazing!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Robert De Niro. Hugely talented. Love all his work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,608 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Leslie Nielsen would have been a funny dad.

I'd love Jamie Lee Curtis as a big sister, I'd say she'd be great craic.

Pamela Sue Martin (Nancy Drew) would have been a great older sister as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,524 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

adam savage
    the tree house master guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,655 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

John candy ala uncle buck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Frank Sinatra.
    Over to Uncle Dean and Sammy when he was away....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Robin Williams, Great entertainment plus handy if the granny died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,655 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Oh oh oh.....Colm Meaney in the snapper/the van/the commitments :)

Liam Neeson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Oprah.

Daniel Craig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Debbie

Erin Gray, who was in Buck Rogers in the 25th Century

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Joan Crawford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Robin Williams, although perhaps without the cocaine habit.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Keanu, and I'd be the best son ever for him <3

William H. Macy; he's the celebrity with the biggest Dad energy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

Henry Winkler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I couldn't stick a weirdo headcase one - i.e American 'movie stars'.
    Most American stars are off the wall let's be honest.
    Brendan Gleeson seems to be a sound ordinary fella. Not 'film star-ish' at all
    I couldn't pick Brendan O'Carroll because you would end up having to act in that annoying programme of his.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Ian McKellen, be pretty sweet having Gandalf as your father

I don't think Sir Ian will be impregnating anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I don't think Sir Ian will be impregnating anyone.

Yes; he's a bit old for that, at this stage...