Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

That Octavia is not worth the smell of €4k, jaysus it looks in ****e

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP discussed the same car in their umpteenth thread about buying a car here:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058066273

• Registered Users Posts: 22,281 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Can anyone tell me why the "amount paid" amount is scratched out on the tax disc?
    Probably a flaw on the clear plastic of the holder (or less likely the window glass).

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd say it's just left over adhesive from the previous disc holder.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-skoda-octavia/24553369

Nzk3MWY0YzYwYzNkMTc1NDZmY2MxYzkzOGQ1OTdhNGFRaMuohU5cRUJcsHrsZckbaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDUwMDcwODh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

New model Octavia here with high(ish) miles but NCT til October for €1750

Looks a lot more presentable than the €3750 example too

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-skoda-octavia/24553369

Nzk3MWY0YzYwYzNkMTc1NDZmY2MxYzkzOGQ1OTdhNGFRaMuohU5cRUJcsHrsZckbaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDUwMDcwODh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nicer colour, and the rear wiper motor looks like it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I dunno. The body of neither is perfect and seller of the wine one did not upload any interior snaps while the beige one looks pretty clean inside. Granted though the wine one is asking less than half the price which is immense. Good spot. I always liked that wine colour in cars but was often told I was old man for doing so!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I’d love to clean those alloys.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

colm_mcm wrote: »

Easy Tiger...

Play it cool, not creepy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Would be great if you came around and did mine instead :)

( what would you do to clean the 20 year patina that has built up ? )

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

0lddog wrote: »

( what would you do to clean them ? )
    Water:pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

You can buy a liquid foam type stuff and soak them with it for a while( take the wheels off car when doing it) and then wipe and wash off, the dirt should just dissolve off. If not fully wash thoroughly and let dry and repeat a few times till sparkling clean.

Take wheel off, use something like Iron X, agitate with a paintbrush. Power wash off. Deeply satisfying.

That said, the wheels on my S Type were some of the worst I’d seen for brake dust away from the easy to reach bits. I had to go at it with jif to get a layer of the baked in ****e off so cleaner would work.

Never used anything other than water. Iron-X claims are impressive :), is the liquid foam something like Mr Muscle oven cleaner ? ( Not sure about Jif - to many hard to get to corners in the detail ? )

Thanks all, sorry for taking the thread O/T

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Never used anything other than water. Iron-X claims are impressive :), is the liquid foam something like Mr Muscle oven cleaner ? ( Not sure about Jif - to many hard to get to corners in the detail ? )

No just alloy wheel cleaner. Some are a foam type stuff other a liquid. But they are strong stuff so be ready to wash it off straight away after using it as if left on it would strip the paint. It will tell you that on the instructions.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

What have i just walked in on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Interslice wrote: »

Just grab the box of tissues and read on.....

Interslice wrote: »

Just a bit of chit chat about filth :P

The jif was a last resort! I’d say the wheel cleaner I was using then wasn’t the best either.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Nice 1 owner C180.

6 months tax, 7 months NCT, Full Service History, All leather. Under a grand...

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-c180-ncttax/24554359

OOPS I see he's made a mistake and put the miles down as KM's.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,989 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Some sort of idiot anyway.
    But how will the lads know he's cool?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭GavMan

Padre Pio sticker in the window

Well minded so

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭TigerTim

almostover wrote: »

Nice ad for the Volvo which looks very clean. Great range of pics.

Absolutely hate the description for the BMW which is all in caps. In my area it's always the chancers who capitalize the ads.

T,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭bidiots

But but but the spec is ENORMOUS..... Sweet Jesus

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

bidiots wrote: »
    But but but the spec is ENORMOUS..... Sweet Jesus

Yeah it includes METALLIC PAINT, , REMOTE CENTRAL LOCKING, ELECTRIC WINDOWS AND ELECTRIC MIRRORS AND AIR CON. I wonder what other cars have these amazing features :pac:

This is a real bug bear of mine, my first car a 97 honda civic had all of those for feck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

GavMan wrote: »
    Well minded so

I've one of those on mine, was there when I got it.
    If she could talk, she probably wouldnt say I've minded her well the last couple of years :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭1874

almostover wrote: »

That Volvo looks very clean for a 14 year old car, unfortunately insurance companies would probably have a field day with quotes.
    Any ideas what the 1.8 petrol an car overall is like? are they a flex fuel engine, Ive heard of issues with them, but not sure what it was offhand OR if this is one.
    Is it slightly highly priced?