Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Could you continue as hackney tax ?

No

• Registered Users Posts: 51,221 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Could you continue as hackney tax ?

Remaining PSV tax becomes null and void once ownership changes over to a private owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭younggalway

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Nope.

Googling the reg can sometimes throw stuff up.
    Mileage at last NCT should be on the disc. Cert should show some previous test mileages too.

Link to the ad?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-volvo-xc90-automatic/24831772

Looking at 06/07 XC90's. I have absolutely zero need for one but I've always had a soft spot for them. I'm aware of potential injector issues in the D5 engine as well as gearbox niggles if the routine maintenance hasn't been done.

This particular car looks fairly rough so I'd imagine you could put the asking price back into it to bring it up to scratch. Still seems to be priced low however so I'm imaginging it has big miles, was hoping there could be a quick way of finding out before ringing.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Looking at 06/07 XC90's. I have absolutely zero need for one but I've always had a soft spot for them. I'm aware of potential injector issues in the D5 engine as well as gearbox niggles if the routine maintenance hasn't been done.

This particular car looks fairly rough so I'd imagine you could put the asking price back into it to bring it up to scratch. Still seems to be priced low however so I'm imaginging it has big miles, was hoping there could be a quick way of finding out before ringing.

Looking at the seats we are talking way over 400k ;) And there is a reason it isn't listed in the ad. I guess 500+

You can always call, but if it is rough in the photos, can only imagine what it is like in reality...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

wonski wrote: »
    Looking at the seats we are talking way over 400k ;) And there is a reason it isn't listed in the ad. I guess 500+

You can always call, but if it is rough in the photos, can only imagine what it is like in reality...

To be fair the leather seats terribly on those Volvos. I’ve seen yokes with 120/30k on the clock and the seats were in terrible nick.

I’d imagine the mileage is high on that car though

To be fair the leather seats terribly on those Volvos. I’ve seen yokes with 120/30k on the clock and the seats were in terrible nick.

Would you say it could be improved slighly with a good valet or is that pure wear of the leather?

Cracks a plenty, a die may help a little but they're well past any saving.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

I assume this is slow, real slow.

But for maybe 500 quid can you go too wrong? Especially as a weekend hike/dog walks etc car.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-2006-linear-sport-estate-1-8/24876782

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭jharr100

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s80-2-4-dsl-auto/24267450

2.4 Diesel S80 .
    Test out , but 3 months added.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭jmreire

Agh the taxi fake Bentley......

PSV so has the chape tax ....

But on the positive side, MB engine and transmission......:)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Hackney

It's actually a limo, licenced until July, the plate begins with L, H for hackney T for taxi obviously. Shame it's the diesel, the V8 hemi petrol is a beautiful drive, not as thirsty as you'd think either.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,199 ✭✭✭✭Esel

The seller of the Chrysler 300 was using it as a wedding car. Two of them in his other ad.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Kilboor wrote: »

But for maybe 500 quid can you go too wrong? Especially as a weekend hike/dog walks etc car.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-2006-linear-sport-estate-1-8/24876782

He has it listed as 150bhp but it's the regular 1.8 engine which is 120bhp (I have one here myself at the moment).
    I actually bought one of my cars from this guy a few years ago. I reckon he genuinely doesn't know the correct rating for the non turbo version and it's just a mistake.

Most of the cars he sells are all decent runners, but tend to have a few scratches and small marks on them. That's a decent car for that money. One thing about him, he prices his stuff and does not offer a whole lot if you're into trying to bargain, but I'm sure it could be bought for maybe 650. I really doubt he would even go down to 600, never mind 5 :D

[EDIT]Oh, and in reference to your comment about them being slow, yep, at 120bhp especially in the estate version, they will never break any records![/EDIT]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

jharr100 wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s80-2-4-dsl-auto/24267450

2.4 Diesel S80 .
    Test out , but 3 months added.

It's actually 4 months they are adding to all cars, so you'd have it until beginning of October

• Registered Users Posts: 73,447 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Kilboor wrote: »

Kinda similar to a 1.6 Avensis.

I had one back in 2008, they’re a pox of a yoke.

It appears to be gone now, guess we'll never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭jmreire

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Kinda similar to a 1.6 Avensis.

I had one back in 2008, they’re a pox of a yoke.

What kind of problems did you have with your's? I always thought that Saab build a decent car, but as I've never owned one, I just don't know ....and in case I am ever tempted,,, :rolleyes:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-1-9-tdi-linear-sport/24937196

NzQzOTRiODc1MTRmYmUxNjJiNzZjZmE5ZTNkOTcwOGRSxgVS8K3VXeFJlDAdIVTfaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDc3ODAxMzN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2010 1.9 Diesel
    125k miles.
    Nct 09/20 and only €280 tax. Beautiful car.

Although the pictures it does look like the front bumper is slightly out of place.

If anyone is interested in this, drop me a pm.

I kind of compared it to the ones in s40 I have, it is lower class car, but the seats look similar. Mine doesn't look that bad and is at 320k+.

Of course it depends on how the car was used etc, but no mileage in the ad equals astronomical. My guess only, but 400+ at least.

No signs of wear on mine sterling wheel, only on the buttons a bit so can't judge it by it.

Needless to say these seats look bad. Really bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,447 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

jmreire wrote: »
    What kind of problems did you have with your's? I always thought that Saab build a decent car, but as I've never owned one, I just don't know ....and in case I am ever tempted,,, :rolleyes:

No problems at all, plus it was from my job so it wouldn’t have cost me either way.
    It just was a letdown of an engine, the turbocharged ones are so much nicer, and help you overlook some of the shortcomings of the car like some of the interior quality, the iffy gear change etc.

Overall I like the 93, just that engine ruins it for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭GavMan

CoBo55 wrote: »
    It's actually a limo, licenced until July, the plate begins with L, H for hackney T for taxi obviously. Shame it's the diesel, the V8 hemi petrol is a beautiful drive, not as thirsty as you'd think either.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/chrysler-300c-hemi-5-7-v8-340bhp/24718606 go for it!!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-skoda-octavia-vrs/24983249

Y2RkYTdiOTJlMzFjMmI3MzZmNTFjNzlhNTZjYzMyODD3NSIBEfEY3SkcD2VSd9_aaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDgxMjEwODl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking diesel VRS with NCT til May 2021, reasonable miles and claims of recent service and belt, €1850

Still good looking cars IMO. I wouldn't mind trying one

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia/24982404

ZjYyMTk2YjM5ZjdlMzJiYTMxNjNlZjAwYzcwN2ZiMWZboOnJEGkMY6lviBZJN1RVaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDgxMTUxOTF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Another one, in that blue. Diesel, €1650

I think I like the silver more

• Registered Users Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

449k on the clock!

Truckermal wrote: »
    449k on the clock!

Not only that all warning lights are on with engine running... Not a good look.

Truckermal wrote: »
    449k on the clock!

Jaysus, didn't notice that! Looks very well for something with that mileage though to be fair to it

Not only that all warning lights are on with engine running... Not a good look.

Yeah. Blown bulb, airbag light, abs/traction control and some random one that could be anything...

Not a good sign.

Also did Skoda know that steering wheels can be used to control radio volume etc back in the day... I don't remember last time I have seen car of that vintage with no controls at all. And that's supposed to be one of the top of the range models...

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s40/24985715

N2I0ODYyZTFjNDAxZmJiZDY1MjdhNTMxMzNjMDdjYThi9pA6KH4AVVf4oVxccLy8aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDgxNDMwODJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

ZGUyZDNlNGQ3ZTgwY2M5YjEyMzM2MGEwZWU3ZDY5NDnOKQXYOliiQvyT4Z4KTH4UaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDgxNDMwODZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Well spec'd and very tidy looking petrol S40 with test til October (extended til February 2021), €999

This looks really nice.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/24986532

MDU0NmI5Y2FjYjkwMjQ2YjEyZTM5NmUyMDc3MDJhMzFR97disI2oWFy8IMM0-vY5aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDgxNDk5NzV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1 owner C180, test til January, bit of tax, €625

Looks very tidy. A grand old yoke for the price of a Punto

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s40/24985715

Well spec'd and very tidy looking petrol S40 with test til October (extended til February 2021), €999

This looks really nice.

The brother in law bought one of these last week, albeit much worse value for money (€1900 for a 2008) and I was surprised at what a nice car it was.

I'd never been in one but had some kind of assumption that they were a Focus is a pretty dress and maybe they are but I have to say it was a really really nice car. The interior felt very solid, nice yoke on the road too. Pleather, climate, 17 inch wheels.

It was 1.8 petrol, badged "1.8F", which I think is a dubious enough engine choice but it ran well for 200 k kms.