Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

That would be my thinking too.
    I have an A4 Avant with a quarter of a million miles on it and the multichronic is still working so far, albeit on a reconditioned box

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Shameless plug. This was my uncles he's owned it since around 2009. Given to myself, he's bought a new Tucson, proceeds from the sale towards finishing bits in my house :pac:.

Price is enthusiastic but it's easier to drop it than go back upwards. Will do a good deal for a boardsie.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-toyota-rav-4/25330694

Sold this evening for €1550.

Unbelieveably, to the same fella who bought my Celica 5 years ago, by pure chance. What are the odds.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    NzZhYjZmOWMyMzMwOTE1NTVjM2U3NjA0ZjM5MDdiODTYVBkNaO3AqspyUciSNpNMaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDg5NDAyOTd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Not sure if this one was posted or not
    2007 2.2 diesel RAV 4 with 170k miles
    NCT until Feb 2021 and taxed until end of March 2021!
    The current owner (bought 15th June and 138 lifetime ads, so assuming they are a trader) is saying it was a 1 owner car from new
    Asking is €1900. Considering it's a grand a year for tax, and there's 8 and a half months tax left on it, might be worth a shot

Posted it last month

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113856219&postcount=5271

Surprised it’s not sold tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

This is now down to 899!! It will soon be worth it just for the car tax alone :eek:

I would really love this. So tempted. I feel like an S80 should be auto though

That's why I even mentioned the fact it might have been posted. Had a funny feeling it was alright
    Very surprised it's still here after that length of time too especially as it beats all other diesel listings pricewise PLUS has road tax until the end of March next year!

I would really love this. So tempted. I feel like an S80 should be auto though

Ah but the road tax until next Feb and the mega low mileage though! :D

OWU1ZjVlOTBjZThkZjFhMDIwMjM1YTMwODgwMzM4ZGZrjBKqdIJQDKi6Mp79V6-raHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTEzNDA1Nzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

07 Saab 9-3 Diesel Estate (2008 MY)
    NCT until April 2021
    Same owner for almost 9 years
    120bhp version. These will do around 50mpg with ease
    High mileage at 240,000
    Asking €1450. Would be a nice buy at around a grand. Might be worth adding to a watchlist to see if it drops

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭Behind you Joey

Another bit of Saab for you. Seems to be in great condition with low miles. I think those 2.0t engines are fairly reliable also.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-2007-saab-95-2-0t-low-km-new-nct/24348272

Another bit of Saab for you. Seems to be in great condition with low miles. I think those 2.0t engines are fairly reliable also.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-2007-saab-95-2-0t-low-km-new-nct/24348272

ODEyYTMwNzVmZDljMDg3MWMwMDhlY2JiOTg0MWU2NTR43x8FxfTNYjmHHA4qLsVuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDU1MzY3Njh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Very clean looking 2007 Saab 9-5 with only 75,000 miles!
    NCT until March 2021
    Lots of work carried out over last few months including new turbo fitted and sump cleaned
    2 keys and service history
    €1490

I actually posted that 2 weeks ago and was full sure it would sell quick especially with the low mileage and work carried out on it. Surprised it hasn't sold and they haven't dropped the price either :confused:

OTdiNmEzYjRmODZjMzYzNjI5OTQ4MjE5NWZkYTY1NWHXTUdhKnK6qq5OumSMy6dLaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTEzNTUzOTl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Odd one here. Sold last week, but if they are flipping it, they can't be making a whole lot!
    99 Avensis with 117,000 miles
    NCT until February 2021 and a couple of weeks tax
    Asking €490

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

• Registered Users Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Plenty of "new shape" 2007-2008 Mondeos on Donedeal priced under 1500.

Are they that bad, or just undervalued?

I know these are 12 years old cars now, but still aged well, think that model was available until 2014.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

wonski wrote: »
    Plenty of "new shape" 2007-2008 Mondeos on Donedeal priced under 1500.

Are they that bad, or just undervalued?

I know these are 12 years old cars now, but still aged well, think that model was available until 2014.

So many of them and old now.
    Great cars just we were flooded with them and value drops like a stone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭barry181091

So many of them and old now.
    Great cars just we were flooded with them and value drops like a stone.

Also means we are flooded with nice cheap parts ;)

Tempted.

The only issue is lack of petrol options.

Most are underpowered 1.6, 2.0 not to be seen.

Still tempted.

Not familiar with Mondeos at all myself, but from reading on here, I believe the 1.8TDCi uses what are known as "wet belts", where the timing belt is replaced by 2 belts, 1 of which is immersed in oil. Maybe somebody with more knowledge on them can fill in the gaps here?
    Is it the 1.8 diesel version only?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Surprised it hasn't sold and they haven't dropped the price either :confused:

No point in dropping the price too much or too often - you only end up getting the would be 'Arfur Daley"s ringing with even lower offers in the hope you accept and they punt it back on DD at your original price. And 90% of these lads are penniless timewasters anyway.

Every car has a buyer, it takes time to find them sometimes. I've waited up to 3 months....

Stick to a reasonable price - if someone is GENUINELY interested they will come look at it, and maybe make an offer. It's up to you then to decide your price.

Otherwise, if you just want rid of it in the first place, just put it up at a low price and be done with it.

Not familiar with Mondeos at all myself, but from reading on here, I believe the 1.8TDCi uses what are known as "wet belts", where the timing belt is replaced by 2 belts, 1 of which is immersed in oil. Maybe somebody with more knowledge on them can fill in the gaps here?
    Is it the 1.8 diesel version only?

Yes 2.0 best option.

1.8 as you say has 2 belts and need looking after. Costly too.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-ford-fiesta-nctd-february-2021/25364586

NTlkYWQxZmJkZGNlMjlkOWFjODZlMjE5ZDIwNzZhZTWFhZD1ec_0B8SvL-oAk0ftaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTEzOTYwMjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

New shape petrol Fiesta with NCT til February 2021, €1950

Looks decent in the pictures. Must be one of the very first of this shape being 08

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/04-audi-a6-estate/25356996

NTFhYTNkOGM3OWViZTY4ZjZmYzdhN2Q3YjkyNTM4N2FwRQEOJ0ibI1SU-6Rddwg2aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTEzMzA1ODZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking diesel A6 with nice spec. NCT til December, €1500

These are a lovely car in this spec (final edition). Same owner for the last 13 years, claims of recent timing belt and service. Could be a nice buy if it checks out

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭pah

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-accord-automatic-executive-tax-06-21/25321091

What's the auto like on the Accord?

Short NCT but 12 months Tax!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭Behind you Joey

I actually posted that 2 weeks ago and was full sure it would sell quick especially with the low mileage and work carried out on it. Surprised it hasn't sold and they haven't dropped the price either :confused:

I was in Galway today and contacted the seller to view this car, he responded "sorry not today, the Saab will be available from next week only." Quite odd given that's it's been up for over 2 weeks and you'd imagine he'd be keen to sell. I think there's something fishy about it.

Could be car in regular use not available to view at short notice.

Could be anything or nothing really.

No need to overthink it, if you have a bad hunch from the phonecall skip that one and look elsewhere.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/peugeot-205-new-nct/25369467

MDI1NTlhNjE5NWVjOTc5ZTNjODlmMDliMTE5ZWI2MjMWA2Q-3JbqiOr-hR5XcM_zaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTE0NDA0ODV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nice looking 205 with NCT til March 2021, new tyres and a load of recent work, €1350

Could be an interesting runaround if bought for a grand or so

MDI1NTlhNjE5NWVjOTc5ZTNjODlmMDliMTE5ZWI2MjMWA2Q-3JbqiOr-hR5XcM_zaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTE0NDA0ODV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nice looking 205 with NCT til March 2021, new tyres and a load of recent work, €1350

Wow.... Something really nice about that

Keep her dry till 30....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

I love that.

Sold my 1st car at 17 and it was a 106 same colour..... Was also a 96....

I hadn't even a car licence... Didn't drive any I sold till I had.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Sold my 1st car at 17 and it was a 106 same colour..... Was also a 96....

I hadn't even a car licence... Didn't drive any I sold till I had.

That yoke is giving me flashbacks to my first car as well, a silver 1996, 106 as well. Had that coded immobiliser in it!

That is pretty cheap surely, given the rarity, love for them and its condition.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

That's the best thing posted here, or in the classic thread, in a while. That passenger door would need to be pulled, or it my crappy phone again?

Either way, that's an excellent find Duke. I'd love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

That yoke is giving me flashbacks to my first car as well, a silver 1996, 106 as well. Had that coded immobiliser in it!

That is pretty cheap surely, given the rarity, love for them and its condition.

I've just taken ownership off a 97 one. 13 years idle parked in a warehouse.
    519947.jpg