Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The Mitzi driver probably needs the cash to pay the fine.... That or they realise they won't get away driving around alone again...
    Now saying that you would think they'd be alone anyway in that shed.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Truckermal wrote: »
    Looking for something bangeromics soon preferably daysul and something fit for bad roads....

https://www.donedeal.ie/trailers-for-sale/tractor-trailer-amp-loader-for-sale/25487975

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭3d4life

Is the glass roof on the civic fixed or does it open ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

3d4life wrote: »
    Is the glass roof on the civic fixed or does it open ?

It’s fixed, it’s one piece of glass.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,513 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-toyota-avensis-d4d-nct-08-21/25975565

Avensis diesel estate, low tax and some test, claimed 2 owners.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-toyota-avensis-d4d-nct-08-21/25975565

That era tend to be troublesome, any taxi I've seen of that same car smoke like a trooper.....

Seems on the chape side too for a Toyota

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭angrybeaver

I’d eat my hat if that car isn’t firing out blue smoke.

I had one for a year. Never again, as boring as the Toyotas before it With a lot less of the reliability.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Gatling wrote: »
    Looks like the one on the Garda road traffic twitter the other day

Excellent spot. Has to be it. No way there's 2 identical piles of sh*te on the island. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

That era tend to be troublesome, any taxi I've seen of that same car smoke like a trooper.....

Seems on the chape side too for a Toyota
    I’d eat my hat if that car isn’t firing out blue smoke.

I had one for a year. Never again, as boring as the Toyotas before it With a lot less of the reliability.

Fresh NCT though.
    How might one hide the billowing blue smoke for the test?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Fresh NCT (September 2021) well specd 2006 520d with 270k Kms

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-bmw-520d-top-spec-just-passed-nct/25976561

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

kaizersoze wrote: »
    Fresh NCT though.
    Have a 2011 myself and it does pump out a plume of blue/ grey smoke from time to time. Online searches would seem to suggest that it is an injector problem or an update needs to be done to the ECU. It seems to happen very intermittently. You could go one journey where it continuously happens each time you accelerate and no smoke on the next journey. Whether the car is hot or cold does not seem to have any bearing. I guess this is the reason they are getting through the NCT.

I think the other posters are being a bit harsh on them. They may not be quite as solid as Toyota's of old but sure what is these days? Having owned mine for 15 months I can honestly say the smoking is the only noticeable problem so far. It does not consume any notable amount of oil and makes for a robust enough family car.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Plenty of them knocking about with massive kms on the clock. They're pretty reliable. Dmf lasts ages in them. Egr valves and dpf's seem to last well in them too. Timing chains do what they're supposed to do as well unlike quite a few other yokes from that era.

Electric handbrake setup is finnicky can throw up all sorts of codes. Door pillar can crack where the front doors are hinged this was a recall job though and should be grand at this stage. Injectors are pricey enough fix and wouldn't be overly robust but it's the same for all modern diesels.

Main problem is finding one that was half looked after. Loads of ropey used and abused clocked uk ones knocking about and rakes of ex taxis too.

Get a good one and they're grand solid cruisers.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭angrybeaver

kaizersoze wrote: »
    Fresh NCT though.

True, There’s must be a way. I tried the usual dipetane etc and a few others to no avail. It was very intermittent as the others have pointed out so could be just luck of the draw on the day of the test.

Injectors do give trouble in them, but I suppose the other big hitters, EGR, DPF & DMF had no problems with.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

kalkat2002 wrote: »

Japanese import?

2008 alfa romeo 159 jtd

Not sure if nct xtended

650eur

http://www.adverts.ie/21578306

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

2008 alfa romeo 159 jtd

Not sure if nct xtended

650eur

Great Diesel Engine in these. Put 250,000 Miles on mine. Bulletproof.

Upper wishbones are shocking though so take it over a few speed ramps and listen for the squeaking. Many owners replace these with non OEMs that wear out after 5-10k tops.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

2008 alfa romeo 159 jtd

Not sure if nct xtended

650eur

Jesus that’s a lot of car for €650.

Be ready to spend a few euro on it though. Having been an owner of an Alfa GT for a few years I can testify to them being “soft” let’s say.

As a poster above mentioned though great engine.

It just won’t be as bullet proof as a boring Toyota. God it’s a nice looking estate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

NCT is out in 2 weeks
    Pity. As said above, they are a great engine. One thing to watch out for is the infamous M32 gearbox in these.

Think that one would be well worth buying and getting the NCT sorted if it checks out

Also, yes, it likes to eat suspension parts all day long. Haha. I still would!!

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    NCT is out in 2 weeks
    Pity. As said above, they are a great engine. One thing to watch out for is the infamous M32 gearbox in these.

Think that one would be well worth buying and getting the NCT sorted if it checks out

I still would too if I needed a new motor. Feels a bit like a Hoovers Garage kinda car. Bring it back from the edge of scrap time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭Top Dog

BuzzFish wrote: »
    Great Diesel Engine in these. Put 250,000 Miles on mine. Bulletproof.
    You think? I never got why people praised these. Maybe the one I had was a lemon, but I found it very lacking in comparison to the Mondeo ST I had prior to it. It wasn't bad as such, but nothing like I was expecting with people lauding it.

On paper the Alfa had 4bhp more I think, never checked the torque difference, but ultimately it was slower, less responsive and thirstier than the 2.2 in the Ford :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I think that engine is on top of the list of most reliable diesel engines.

While some slag Fiat/Alfa for many things, that engine if serviced regularly should easily do many more miles without major issues.

Someone here is already commenting on the alfa advert ;)

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    NCT is out in 2 weeks

I still would too if I needed a new motor. Feels a bit like a Hoovers Garage kinda car. Bring it back from the edge of scrap time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

It's sold now that lad sells loads of cars..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Truckermal wrote: »

I have bought loads of cars from that seller, a very sound man and decent seller. Pm me if needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Nj-Nm-MGY2-Ym-Y4-Nm-M4-Y2-E3-Yz-Y4-OTM5-Nz-I1-Mz-E2-Nzky-Zj-Xt-KZD8rhn-O4-TQQAa-I-lmsxa-HR0c-Dov-L3-Mz-LWV1-LXdlc3-Qt-MS5hb-WF6b25h.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/25276063

2.0 150bhp Laguna €570 tax
    Test extended til next June
    Looks clean
    4 owners according to carsireland
    Ownership change on the 30/6/20
    Some sort of an abs fault too
    Asking 1000

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2-0-dci-gt-coupe-180bhp-4-ws-/25886967

Laguna Coupe with a lovely spec..

Any thought on these what are they like as a daily hack?