Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Sorry to go off topic, but ye all have me worried now about my tax! How do I find the emissions on my car?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Sorry to go off topic, but ye all have me worried now about my tax! How do I find the emissions on my car?

It will be on your tax disc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

CoBo55 wrote: »
    It will be on your tax disc.

And your registration document (log book).

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭migrant

They're usually at the back.

*Sorry, I couldn't resist it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavian/26935836
    2008 Octavia 1.9 TDI;
    245k km;
    NCT 12/21;
    Chape tax and all that;
    Presumably motor tax is meant by toll;
    €1,500 and negotiable.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s an Elegance and all.

Ford Focus ST*

13 owners, has Recardo seats.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-6-diesel-st-rep/26936122

* replica ^

^not a replica

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ford Focus ST*

13 owners, has Recardo seats.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-6-diesel-st-rep/26936122

* replica ^

^not a replica

Got to get me some of these recardo seats they sound fabtastic.....

No way could anyone tell that isn't a st

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

Back to the future edition...

Radio showing 01/02/2016...

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

2004 octavia estate 1.9 tdi

Basic specs but I like it

600 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/22596301

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭The lips

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavian/26935836
    2008 Octavia 1.9 TDI;
    245k km;
    NCT 12/21;
    Chape tax and all that;
    Presumably motor tax is meant by toll;
    €1,500 and negotiable.

Can only imagine it is the100bhp model? What was the bogie engine code on those? AWX?

The lips wrote: »
    Can only imagine it is the100bhp model? What was the bogie engine code on those? AWX?

That one is 105

The one everyone says to avoid because of conrod bearing issues is the BXE and BLS

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭The lips

That one is 105

The one everyone says to avoid because of conrod bearing issues is the BXE and BLS

Thanks, my own pre 08 is due tax and a timing belt so something like this could make a smarter move.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

That one is 105

At Bangernomics money and 200k plus km I wouldn't be worrying too much about engine codes. If it was a weakness it would be after showing by now.

I have a 09 bxe with 420k km on it.(My wife has it for last 4 years, I bought in 2012)

The best thing about that type of car for this thread is how low the running costs are. In putting 300k on that car other than regular servicing myself, 4 shocks last summer and an airbag fault have been only issues.

In comparison with a B5 Passat which had even higher miles it is a much cheaper car to run; I lost count of the number of suspension parts that went into that

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I see a car as a tool.... It gets you where you need to go, if it doesn't and then became unreliable and say let's you down a few more times then it's done... Well in my book anyway.

Megane has had two crashes one quite bad, still going, I changed the headlight as it was smashed beyond use, no fittings or anything left, bumper pulled out a bit.....
    Hit on both sides at the very front.

Getting close to 300k km

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

I see a car as a tool.... It gets you where you need to go, if it doesn't and then became unreliable and say let's you down a few more times then it's done... Well in my book anyway.

Megane has had two crashes one quite bad, still going, I changed the headlight as it was smashed beyond use, no fittings or anything left, bumper pulled out a bit.....

Getting close to 300k km

That's what you call taking a thread title literally:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Smacks of stupidity to me... How hard is it to click on a link?
    Anyway I found out last November that my terrible planet destroying diesel has remained unchanged in regards to road tax, happy enough with that. ( I clicked the link, Lara Croft showed me where it was)

So you'd rather call the person looking at incorrect data stupid, than the person responsible for it?
    It is pure incompetence on the part of a government agency, to have 2 different rates published on their official media, regardless of whether its a web page, pdf or otherwise. Dont shoot the messenger.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,597 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

YThmZjkwNGRlNDBhYTUxZDEzZjU5YTNlZDVjOTJiYzkYMTU_QXIsdRohpYvK7RnIaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjQwMzUwMzZ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

2013 Audi A2, brand new NCT, €1,150

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

She's been here before.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭highdef

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    Back to the future edition...

Radio showing 01/02/2016...

You're way off....it's 2006!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

She's been here before.

I think your predictions last time were right Rows!

Was that A2 up for €300 or something recently?

Nah that was a blue 1.4 petrol. This one has just been up for a few months, think it started at €1400

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

About a month ago I got chastised for having the cheek to say it was overpriced and wasn't worth a grand in my opinion.

Lads piled on board then to chastise me until eventually it was called a classic but the real classic was when it was declared "the nct cert seems to back up the mileage as genuine".

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Getting close to 300k km

I could never bring myself around to call my car a tool :D Could never upset it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

ZGRhZDZiODJmZDM1ZDljNDEzMzRhOTMwZmU1MTYzYTW_IffdBkFgx0OMW6nSHAkJaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjc2NzQzMzh8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-volvo-s40/26956504

Low mileage (166k kms)Volvo s40, NCT to March 2022 and tax until May. 1760. Maybe down to 1550-1600 with bargaining?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭keano25

Kilboor wrote: »
    ZGRhZDZiODJmZDM1ZDljNDEzMzRhOTMwZmU1MTYzYTW_IffdBkFgx0OMW6nSHAkJaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjc2NzQzMzh8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Low mileage (166k kms)Volvo s40, NCT to March 2022 and tax until May. 1760. Maybe down to 1550-1600 with bargaining?

Some parts of the paint looks like it was washed with a Brillo pad.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭kil

Definitely had a slap on the passanger rear quarter panel, bonnet looks dodgy too. I can nearly smell the polish off the engine bay

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Kilboor wrote: »

Very rare you see a car advertised here that's full as a tit with fuel !

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-state-4x4-2007/26954221

YjMyODA3Mzk4NWMyOTA0Mzk2NTUyNzY5Nzg0MTYxODN2Z8cGl_o7_djinv2Ff0Y9aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjc2NTA5MzF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Well spec'd Octavia 4x4 estate, NCT til December, €2000

Not sure what its 4x4 capabilities will be like, but an interesting looking yoke nonetheless