Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭KevRossi

No time like the present to buy a Cabrio.

2003 A4 1.8t, Manual. Leather and A/C. Nice colours. Claimed new belt.
    New NCT from last week to 12/21. €1,450

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-cabrio-coupe-new-nct-22/26997233

MjViOWJmZTU1YjBlYzcwZDVmZjI4MmFkOWY0MjM3MzOGg7R78IcYssK0xVIGZ20RaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgxNjc2OTN8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Or if you prefer the 3.0 V6 there's this with and NCT to March for €2,150. Nice colour combo too. NCT done in September and little mileage since so should be worth a risk. Heavy tax though.

Down from €2,450, so proving difficult to shift. Would be handy if you had a second gaff in Spain.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-audi-a4-convertible-3-0-v6-petrol-new-nct/26109135

ZTU3NWY5NThiOGE5NWNiYTFlZjZjNzkxZTk4OWMxNjBPL6oY8U90yP_iE5PxgErQaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTc5ODg0MDJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Bangernomics update - bought an 05 corolla 1.4 hatch in December 2018, 1400 from a dealership, originally posted on here.
    Passed nct today, so has another years stay of execution. Have spent between 700-800 between standard yearly services, and rear brake caliper sand disc, hand brake kit, ball joint at the front offside, driver door check strap and a few other small bits.
    Drives well and feels nice and tight on the road. Filthy most of the time thanks to two messy dogs but that's not the cars fault!
    Should be good to go for another 12 months of just putting petrol in and go.
    Happy days, for a cheap hack I'd definitely go this route again and recommend it to anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-hyundai-trajet-dsl-aircon-5dr/26950729

Not a very cool car but it looks nice and clean inside and out for what it is. New NCT and one owner from new. Asking €900, open to offers.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-hyundai-trajet-dsl-aircon-5dr/26950729

Not a very cool car but it looks nice and clean inside and out for what it is. New NCT and one owner from new. Asking €900, open to offers.
    Picture #3, just in front of the wheel; is that a load of rust?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Decent 7 seaters are really not easy to come across with a bangernomics budget. That looks very good for the money

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-honda-crv-2-2diesel-4-wheel-drive-high-spec/26893638

ZWIwZTQxNDQ1YTI1ZDdlNmQ1MDIxMWZjMjEzMGU4NjKKmZE5YZfggDW3OJDNUH1ZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjY3MzU4Mzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

OWI5ODg2NjY5YzNmNzA0MGJhYjYyMWI2MWNkYjkxNGH8aJMYUNNXnZySm6wuY-iZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjY3MzU4Mzd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Well spec'd diesel CRV with NCT til November, 1 previous owner, reasonable miles, €1995

Tax is a real killer on these but if you can justify it this could be a nice buy

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Local guy had one as a Taxi, absolute ball of shoite, it broke his heart and wallet. They aren't called the Hyundai tragic for nothing.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-hyundai-sonata-lgp-conversion/27012608

YTc3ZjU4ODYxZGU5OWVkM2QxZTIyZjU4Mjk1MTI4MzVjmLPFGJ_B_aNResPkq6ShaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMzU0NjZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

MWI2M2Y1M2YxYmViOTk0MTUxOWIwYzFjMzE4MjJiZDUoLwylrKA5AZajoTtPDf--aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMzYzNzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Sonata on LPG with new NCT til September, €650

Could be a decent old smoker for a while. I like these

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-hyundai-sonata-lgp-conversion/27012608

YTc3ZjU4ODYxZGU5OWVkM2QxZTIyZjU4Mjk1MTI4MzVjmLPFGJ_B_aNResPkq6ShaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMzU0NjZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

MWI2M2Y1M2YxYmViOTk0MTUxOWIwYzFjMzE4MjJiZDUoLwylrKA5AZajoTtPDf--aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMzYzNzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Sonata on LPG with new NCT til September, €650

Could be a decent old smoker for a while. I like these

€650!! Grand yoke for that money, love lpg.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

What these like on diesel
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-honda-crv-2-2diesel-4-wheel-drive-high-spec/26893638

ZWIwZTQxNDQ1YTI1ZDdlNmQ1MDIxMWZjMjEzMGU4NjKKmZE5YZfggDW3OJDNUH1ZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjY3MzU4Mzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

OWI5ODg2NjY5YzNmNzA0MGJhYjYyMWI2MWNkYjkxNGH8aJMYUNNXnZySm6wuY-iZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjY3MzU4Mzd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Well spec'd diesel CRV with NCT til November, 1 previous owner, reasonable miles, €1995

Tax is a real killer on these but if you can justify it this could be a nice buy

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

GY A1 wrote: »
    What these like on diesel

They’re €790 on co2 motor tax in 08, so that would suggest they’re not very good on diesel compared to newer cars, or stuff like Qashqais, or even RAV4’s of that vintage.

Thats a lovely yoke. Do the back seats come out or go flat or properly up against the front seats?
    I'd ask him to split a years tax and take 500 off it, give him 1500.
    It'll be a hard sell so you never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They’re €790 on co2 motor tax in 08, so that would suggest they’re not very good on diesel compared to newer cars, or stuff like Qashqais, or even RAV4’s of that vintage.

The Qashqai's are nearly all 1.5 though, that miserable Renault engine.

The Rav4's were 2.2 and a bit of a bastard on juice. The Civic 2.2 wasn't too bad but a lot lighter than a CRV. The later 1.6d CRV's run on the smell of juice, a lovely smooth engine with plenty of go as well but obviously they are a long way off bangernomics territory.

The 08 RAV4 has lower Co2 tax than an 08 CRV, so is lighter on fuel - is the point I’m making :)

RAV4 and Qashqai were big enough sellers in that segment at the time so that’s why I’m benchmarking them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭selectamatic

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The 08 RAV4 has lower Co2 tax than an 08 CRV, so is lighter on fuel - is the point I’m making :)

RAV4 and Qashqai were big enough sellers in that segment at the time so that’s why I’m benchmarking them.

Is that an exact science though? I know its a good rule of thumb all the same.

Those crv's get right around 40mpg would a 2.2d4d 4x4 rav4 get much more than that? I doubt it. And aren't they in the same co2 tax band?

The 2.2 sante fe of that era is heavier on diesel than all of them something like mid to low 30's.

Would a fwd 1.5 Quasquai be that great on diesel? Prob struggle to get 50mpg. I'd reckon mid to high 40's which isn't that huge of a gain considering a 4x4 2.2crv would be a much more capable machine. 2000kg towing capacity on them too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

Those crv's get right around 40mpg would a 2.2d4d 4x4 rav4 get much more than that? I doubt it. And aren't they in the same co2 tax band?

The 2.2 sante fe of that era is heavier on diesel than all of them something like mid to low 30's.

Would a fwd 1.5 Quasquai be that great on diesel? Prob struggle to get 50mpg. I'd reckon mid to high 40's which isn't that huge of a gain considering a 4x4 2.2crv would be a much more capable machine. 2000kg towing capacity on them too.

Correct... not real world figures.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Thats a lovely yoke. Do the back seats come out or go flat or properly up against the front seats?
    I'd ask him to split a years tax and take 500 off it, give him 1500.
    It'll be a hard sell so you never know.

That trader always has one or two good bargains. Went down before to see a car, nice setup he has. Left after saying I'll think about it and he came back an hour later with a text and offering 100-200 off the price.

Not sure he will budge 500 though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭TigerTim

"That trader always has one or two good bargains. Went down before to see a car, nice setup he has. Left after saying I'll think about it and he came back an hour later with a text and offering 100-200 off the price."

Not sure he will budge 500 though. I bought Mrs T's bangernomics C-Max from him. I keep an eye on his cars on DD. Often has something interesting, usually with high mileage. Spotted that CRV at the weekend,looks nice. Reckon you might ge €200 off the asking but not much more.

T.

Kilboor wrote: »
    That trader always has one or two good bargains. Went down before to see a car, nice setup he has. Left after saying I'll think about it and he came back an hour later with a text and offering 100-200 off the price.

Not sure he will budge 500 though

Youre right I'd say, didnt realise it was a trader. More likely to budge that much if a private sale.

Oops! wrote: »

Correct... not real world figures.

My mistake, they’re both band E.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-skoda-octavia-2-0tdi-l-ampk-model-new-n-c-t1-22/27020623

NDZmMGQ3NzRmZTE0OTU4NTcwMzdhZGJhM2JlNzZkNjY-aENCaDB4nCEpKFuaQiDhaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg0MjY0MTl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

ZDI1NGRiYjQ4OWQxMDlmZmQ5ZDc5Mjc5NjZlMDc1ZGKi8fzPnSREBuro-0bRkJxiaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg0MjY0MjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2.0 TDI Octavia L&K, nice spec, 1 Irish owner, reasonable miles, NCT til January 2022, €1850

I would never usually post a cc tax Octavia this expensive, but you don't see many in this spec.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-skoda-octavia-2-0tdi-l-ampk-model-new-n-c-t1-22/27020623

NDZmMGQ3NzRmZTE0OTU4NTcwMzdhZGJhM2JlNzZkNjY-aENCaDB4nCEpKFuaQiDhaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg0MjY0MTl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

ZDI1NGRiYjQ4OWQxMDlmZmQ5ZDc5Mjc5NjZlMDc1ZGKi8fzPnSREBuro-0bRkJxiaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg0MjY0MjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2.0 TDI Octavia L&K, nice spec, 1 Irish owner, reasonable miles, NCT til January 2022, €1850

I would never usually post a cc tax Octavia this expensive, but you don't see many in this spec.

Fine looking car in fairness, that radio looks so dated now. Hefty enough price too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Looks like the back has had a lift up.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Fine looking car in fairness, that radio looks so dated now. Hefty enough price too.

The Superb L&K came with a nice double din sat nav unit that looks really well. Don't think it was available for these

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-ml-nctd-1-22-7-seater-auto/27021082

ZDdhMWQ0NWY3OTE5ZGMzZDIyY2Q1ODg1MjE1NmNlMzkxdQKnBBIUMFuXXxvwUtfsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg0MzQxNjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1 owner (until last week) 7 seater ML270 with NCT til January 2022, €1500

With a bit of a haggle you could have it taxed for six months and still be within bangernomics parameters.

The Superb L&K came with a nice double din sat nav unit that looks really well. Don't think it was available for these

I got one for my 09 Octavia from a Polish lad in Cork, transformed the look of the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Squatman

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-ml-nctd-1-22-7-seater-auto/27021082

ZDdhMWQ0NWY3OTE5ZGMzZDIyY2Q1ODg1MjE1NmNlMzkxdQKnBBIUMFuXXxvwUtfsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg0MzQxNjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1 owner (until last week) 7 seater ML270 with NCT til January 2022, €1500

With a bit of a haggle you could have it taxed for six months and still be within bangernomics parameters.

Those yokes are an absolute sow on diesel, and in this case, tax too. Overpriced at 1500 IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭duffman3833

Squatman wrote: »
    Those yokes are an absolute sow on diesel, and in this case, tax too. Overpriced at 1500 IMO.

i think its a good deal at that price with a fresh NCT. Tax isn't the worst but as mentioned for under 2k you could have that on the road for a good few months, get through winter anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

i think its a good deal at that price with a fresh NCT. Tax isn't the worst but as mentioned for under 2k you could have that on the road for a good few months, get through winter anyway

You should buy it.

Seller seems genuine too, he either only started selling cars a couple of weeks ago or just discovered DoneDeal very recently.

What could go wrong? Drives like new.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.