Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-ford-focus/27049457

2008 Ford Focus 1.6 dsl
    179k miles
    NCT 12/21 and around a weeks tax.
    Asking €1,250

Wouldn't be a fan of a Ford with that high a mileage generally and looks to be bottom of the barrel spec but at that money it may be worth a punt, especially if you were to knock a few quid off.

Worth about 600 euro, tops.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Fair play to you if you manage to get one, 2008 upwards with valid NCT for €600. They aren't advertising on Donedeal anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Worth about 600 euro, tops.

Where are you getting that figure from?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,251 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Is the 1.6 diesel any good or is the 1.8 better, on that focus?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Is the 1.6 diesel any good or is the 1.8 better, on that focus?

1.6 PSA unit. Wouldn't waste my time unless full service history and minded like a baby.

1.8 would definitely be better but don't forget they changed to wet belt so 2 belts changing needed, can't think what year it changed have completely forgot.

Low mileage, long nct, cheap tax with a bit still left, good bit of work done, petrol Focus asking 900 euro.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-new-nct/27052238

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Low mileage, long nct, cheap tax with a bit still left, good bit of work done, petrol Focus asking 900 euro.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-new-nct/27052238
    I'm not sure if that was intended to be a comparison but if it is then it may as well be a case of apples and oranges. Not only is it a petrol that's a year older but it is also one and a half times the asking of the €600 you mentioned at the outset:confused:

Whatever about the merits of a diesel or how terrible that 1.6 PSA can be, those older petrol examples don't compare at all to a cheap tax diesel one.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

2006 vw passat tdi

700 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/22712621

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

1.6 PSA unit. Wouldn't waste my time unless full service history and minded like a baby.

1.8 would definitely be better but don't forget they changed to wet belt so 2 belts changing needed, can't think what year it changed have completely forgot.

Early 2007 built 1.8 TDCI's were the last of the lower chain driven, after that they changed to the wet belt set up...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

It was always clutches and gearboxes you want to watch out for more in the Fords. Well, watch out as much as you can, they were always junk.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

2ndcoming wrote: »
    It was always clutches and gearboxes you want to watch out for more in the Fords. Well, watch out as much as you can, they were always junk.

Wouldnt be afraid if a Focus, straightforward and parts are cheap and easily sourced

• Registered Users Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Where are you getting that figure from?

He clearly always like to be contrary ;)

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-polo-1-4tdi-dune/27054807

OTBlY2ZhNDg5MjEwNDk0YTA3MzhlYjJiYjE2ZDY1MmKklwohi-uNMfT3mkEYp1W1aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg4MzczMjl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

OTdjNGYxZTQ0ZmI3ZjM4NmY0NjM0YzE5MzdkMDhiZGO_jziNYtA-nPm11PvAUO-4aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg4MzczMzR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1.4 TDI Polo Dune, 115k miles, NCT til August, €950

This is a cool looking yoke. If I was in Ireland I'd be working out a way to go and see it!

OTBlY2ZhNDg5MjEwNDk0YTA3MzhlYjJiYjE2ZDY1MmKklwohi-uNMfT3mkEYp1W1aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg4MzczMjl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

OTdjNGYxZTQ0ZmI3ZjM4NmY0NjM0YzE5MzdkMDhiZGO_jziNYtA-nPm11PvAUO-4aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjg4MzczMzR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

This is a cool looking yoke. If I was in Ireland I'd be working out a way to go and see it!

In all my years never seen one, have to say cool looking.
    Love something different. Size is the only downside.... Well for me as really need something bigger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭User1998

Much nicer than the hideous Cross Polo that replaced it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Is the dune 4x4?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Nice to see he hasn't applied the "rare as hen's teeth, find another one" Tax. That 1.4 can be ropey enough but for 950 it's worth the gamble.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Interslice wrote: »
    Is the dune 4x4?

No, it's just visual attire over a standard Polo. Think Rover Streetwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Manual or auto??

2011 fluence diesel

1850 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/22720152

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    2011 fluence diesel

1850 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/22720152

There's going to be a glut of them on the market as they hit their 10th anniversary and shed their door stickers;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

CoBo55 wrote: »
    There's going to be a glut of them on the market as they hit their 10th anniversary and shed their door stickers;)

They’ve been a mixed bag as a taxi, I’ve heard horror stories about them and I’ve heard lads who swear by them, only thing I’ve heard consistently is the autobox are very unreliable.

I Was VB wrote: »
    They’ve been a mixed bag as a taxi, I’ve heard horror stories about them and I’ve heard lads who swear by them, only thing I’ve heard consistently is the autobox are very unreliable.

Most are around this age as taxi, worked hard and are reliable to be fair.

I've given mine dogs abuse, serviced 3 times myself, 80k km done in under 2 years starts every time. As mentioned before it's been crashed twice with me also. Car and a van hit on both front sides.

I got myself a megane III recently
    I brought it to my mechanic in dublin where he works with loads of taxis
    He told me first day he saw in fluence as taxi he started to sweat...but after so many years he had to change his mind and consider them reliable ones if propered maintained with few common issues as any other car model

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Hopefully he closes the bonnet before he sells it.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,419 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-95-automatic-only-168km/27009363

MjVlMmJmZjYxNzlkMDBkOWQ0MjQ0NjE0YTc0OGM4MTeqGuydQlb5dGqy94hNBGX1aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgyOTQ3ODZ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    €650 asking price for a petrol Saab 9-5 estate Auto

Needs a replacement window at the back but if you have windshield cover on your insurance you should be able to get this done for free

NCT up in March but seller says barely any miles done since last NCT and was serviced within a few thousand kilometers also

For the money if it's any good at all, it's worth a punt

For these cars, one of the most common big failures is the Direct ignition cartridge so make sure there aren't any warning lights and maybe bring a torx screw kit with you and take it off and inspect it for cracks or damage.

If it is bad, the price of a new OEM one is under 300 and anyone could fit it themselves in 10 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Akrasia wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-95-automatic-only-168km/27009363

MjVlMmJmZjYxNzlkMDBkOWQ0MjQ0NjE0YTc0OGM4MTeqGuydQlb5dGqy94hNBGX1aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgyOTQ3ODZ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    €650 asking price for a petrol Saab 9-5 estate Auto

Needs a replacement window at the back but if you have windshield cover on your insurance you should be able to get this done for free

NCT up in March but seller says barely any miles done since last NCT and was serviced within a few thousand kilometers also

For the money if it's any good at all, it's worth a punt

For these cars, one of the most common big failures is the Direct ignition cartridge so make sure there aren't any warning lights and maybe bring a torx screw kit with you and take it off and inspect it for cracks or damage.

If it is bad, the price of a new OEM one is under 300 and anyone could fit it themselves in 10 minutes

At that price thats well worth a gamble. Handy yoke with loads of space.
    Gordon Kellett is a well known independent Saab mechanic (not sure if he's still in business?) my brother used him for years with a Saab he had.
    I bought a car of Ray Crofton myself (seems this yoke was last serviced there) and found him great to deal with.
    Both good signs I'd say.

Akrasia wrote: »
    Just make sure the window cover does cover all glass and not just the windscreen as some policies cover windscreen only. Could be very wrong but something tells me that window could be saucy enough to replace.
    It is fairly light on test with it being out on the 5th of March (date the four month extension runs out).